Claims 1-15 are pending.
Claims 1-15 stand rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3, 7, 10 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In regard to Claim 3, Claim 3 recites: “wherein the cell reselection priority is identified” (emphasis added). It is unclear whether the cell reselection priority is the “first cell reselection priority” or the “second cell reselection priority” previously recited in Claim 1, which Claim 3 depends from. The examiner will treat the above claim excerpt to state: wherein the first cell reselection priority is identified.
Claim 3 recites: “wherein the cell reselection priority is identified in case that the terminal is in a camped normally state” (emphasis added). It is unclear whether or not the terminal is in a camped normally state is required. The examiner suggests adding in response to into the claim, so that the claim states: wherein the cell reselection priority is identified in response to the terminal is in a camped normally state.
In regard to Claim 7, Claim 7 recites: “wherein a cell reselection evaluation is performed in case that the slice group changes” (emphasis added). It is unclear whether or not the slice group changes is required. The examiner suggests adding in response to into the claim, so that the claim states: wherein a cell reselection evaluation is performed in response to the slice group changes.
In regard to Claim 10, Claim 10 recites: “wherein the cell reselection priority is identified” (emphasis added). It is unclear whether the cell reselection priority is the “first cell reselection priority” or the “second cell reselection priority” previously recited in Claim 8, which Claim 10 depends from. The examiner will treat the above claim excerpt to state: wherein the first cell reselection priority is identified.
Claim 10 recites: “wherein the cell reselection priority is identified in case that the terminal is in a camped normally state” (emphasis added). It is unclear whether or not the terminal is in a camped normally state is required. The examiner suggests adding in response to into the claim, so that the claim states: wherein the cell reselection priority is identified in response to the terminal is in a camped normally state.
In regard to Claim 14, Claim 14 recites: “wherein a cell reselection evaluation is performed in case that the slice group changes” (emphasis added). It is unclear whether or not the slice group changes is required. The examiner suggests adding in response to into the claim, so that the claim states: wherein a cell reselection evaluation is performed in response to the slice group changes.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-6, 8-9, 11-13 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al. (Pub. No.: US 20250150907 A1) in view of Cheng et al. (Pub. No.: US 20240121710 A1), hereafter respectively referred to as Liu and Cheng.
In regard to Claim 1, Liu teaches A method performed by a terminal in a wireless communication system (the terminal to perform the cell reselection, Para. 45, FIG. 2), the method comprising: receiving, from a base station (a network device in a 4G, 5G, 6G communication systems, such as a base station, Para. 26, FIG. 1. First indication information sent by a network device, Para. 44, FIG. 2), a radio resource control (RRC) release message including information on a first cell reselection priority for slicing (the network device may indicate the frequency priority corresponding to the slice and/or indicate the frequency priority corresponding to the slice group to the terminal through the first indication information. The frequency priority may be used by the terminal to perform the cell reselection, Para. 45, FIG. 2. The first indication information carried in the RRC release message may indicate the frequency priority corresponding to the slice group and/or indicate the frequency priority corresponding to the slice, Para. 50, FIG. 2).
Liu teaches receiving, from the base station (network device, Para. 44, FIG. 2), a system information block (SIB) (first indication information is carried in at least one of: a system information block (SIB); a radio resource control (RRC) release message, Para. 47, FIG. 2) for configuring a slice-based cell reselection (The terminal may perform the cell reselection according to the slice-related information, Para. 42. Information related to the slice information carried by the SIB, Para. 48), the SIB including information on a second cell reselection priority for slicing (the first indication information carried in the SIB may indicate the frequency priority corresponding to the slice group, Para. 50, FIG. 2. The first indication information in the RRC release message may override the first indication information carried in the SIB. The first indication information carried in the SIB may be ignored, Para. 84) [the examiner notes that, since the first indication information in the RRC release message may override the first indication information carried in the SIB of Liu, this indicates that the first indication information carried in the SIB is different from the first indication information in the RRC release message], information on a carrier frequency associated with the slice-based cell reselection (when performing the cell reselection, the terminal may consider frequencies one by one according to the frequency priority from high to low (i.e., in a descending order of the frequency priority), Para. 45), and information on a slice group (Information related to the slice information carried by the SIB may include information related to the slice group, Para. 48, FIG. 2. Second indication information carried in the SIB may indicate the slice group supported by the cell, Para. 51, FIG. 2).
Liu teaches identifying a cell reselection priority for the slice-based cell reselection (In S201, a frequency priority corresponding to the slice and/or the slice group is determined according to first indication information sent by a network device, Para. 44, FIG. 2. The frequency priority may be used by the terminal to perform the cell reselection. For example, when performing the cell reselection, the terminal may consider frequencies one by one according to the frequency priority from high to low (i.e., in a descending order of the frequency priority), Para. 45, FIG. 2), based on the first cell reselection priority for slicing (The first indication information carried in the RRC release message may indicate the frequency priority corresponding to the slice group and/or indicate the frequency priority corresponding to the slice, Para. 50, FIG. 2), the carrier frequency associated with the slice-based cell reselection (when performing the cell reselection, the terminal may consider frequencies one by one according to the frequency priority from high to low (i.e., in a descending order of the frequency priority), Para. 45), and the slice group (Information related to the slice information carried by the SIB may include information related to the slice group, Para. 48, FIG. 2. Second indication information carried in the SIB may indicate the slice group supported by the cell, Para. 51, FIG. 2).
Although providing an implicit teaching, Liu fails to explicitly teach a second cell reselection priority for slicing.
Cheng teaches the SIB including information on a second cell reselection priority for slicing (the UE 120 based at least in part on receiving per-slice frequency priority values in the SIB may ignore per-cell frequency priority values transmitted by the serving cell in the SIB or another SIB, Para. 91, FIG. 6. The serving cell may transmit the supported slice information (e.g., including the slice IDs, for each frequency, and the per-slice frequency priority values for each slice ID) in an RRC release message, Para. 92, FIG. 6).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Cheng with the teachings of Liu since Cheng provides a technique for different treatment of processing between slice information in SIBs and slice information in RRC release messages, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Liu to permit the appropriate processing of slice information between SIBs and RRC release messages in relation to contexts of ongoing PDU sessions.
In regard to Claim 2, Liu teaches the second cell reselection priority for slicing is ignored for the slice-based cell reselection (The first indication information in the RRC release message may override the first indication information carried in the SIB. The first indication information carried in the SIB may be ignored, Para. 84).
In regard to Claim 4, as presented in the rejection of Claim 1, Liu in view of Cheng teaches the terminal.
Liu fails to teach the SIB further comprises information on at least one of an allowed cell list or an excluded cell list associated with the slice group.
Cheng teaches the SIB further comprises information on at least one of an allowed cell list (the supported slice information may include a list of frequencies, and, for each frequency in the list of frequencies: a list of physical cell IDs (PCIs) identifying, for each slice ID in the list of slice IDs, one or more cells (e.g., neighbor cells) that support a corresponding slice on the frequency. For example, a signaling format for the supported slice information (e.g., in an SIB) may include a list of {frequency, list of [Slice ID, per-slice frequency priority value, list of PCIs]}, Para. 88. The supported slice information may include a list of PCIs identifying, for each frequency in the list of frequencies, one or more cells (e.g., neighbor cells) that support the slice ID on that frequency. For example, a signaling format for the supported slice information (e.g., in an SIB) may include a list of {slice ID, list of [frequency, per-slice frequency priority value, list of PCIs]}, Para. 89) or an excluded cell list associated with the slice group (the slice ID may be a slice group ID associated with a group of slices, Para. 90).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Cheng with the teachings of Liu since Cheng provides a technique for different treatment of processing between slice information in SIBs and slice information in RRC release messages, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Liu to permit the appropriate processing of slice information between SIBs and RRC release messages in relation to contexts of ongoing PDU sessions.
In regard to Claim 5, Liu teaches A method performed by a base station in a wireless communication system (a network device in a 4G, 5G, 6G communication systems, such as a base station, Para. 26, FIG. 1. First indication information sent by a network device, Para. 44, FIG. 2), the method comprising: transmitting, to a terminal (the terminal to perform the cell reselection, Para. 45, FIG. 2), a radio resource control (RRC) release message including information on a first cell reselection priority for slicing (the network device may indicate the frequency priority corresponding to the slice and/or indicate the frequency priority corresponding to the slice group to the terminal through the first indication information. The frequency priority may be used by the terminal to perform the cell reselection, Para. 45, FIG. 2. The first indication information carried in the RRC release message may indicate the frequency priority corresponding to the slice group and/or indicate the frequency priority corresponding to the slice, Para. 50, FIG. 2).
Liu teaches transmitting, to the terminal (the terminal to perform the cell reselection, Para. 45, FIG. 2), a system information block (SIB) (first indication information is carried in at least one of: a system information block (SIB); a radio resource control (RRC) release message, Para. 47, FIG. 2) for configuring a slice-based cell reselection (The terminal may perform the cell reselection according to the slice-related information, Para. 42. Information related to the slice information carried by the SIB, Para. 48), the SIB including information on a second cell reselection priority for slicing (the first indication information carried in the SIB may indicate the frequency priority corresponding to the slice group, Para. 50, FIG. 2. The first indication information in the RRC release message may override the first indication information carried in the SIB. The first indication information carried in the SIB may be ignored, Para. 84) [the examiner notes that, since the first indication information in the RRC release message may override the first indication information carried in the SIB of Liu, this indicates that the first indication information carried in the SIB is different from the first indication information in the RRC release message], information on a carrier frequency associated with the slice-based cell reselection (when performing the cell reselection, the terminal may consider frequencies one by one according to the frequency priority from high to low (i.e., in a descending order of the frequency priority), Para. 45), and information on a slice group (Information related to the slice information carried by the SIB may include information related to the slice group, Para. 48, FIG. 2. Second indication information carried in the SIB may indicate the slice group supported by the cell, Para. 51, FIG. 2).
Liu teaches, wherein a cell reselection priority for the slice-based cell reselection (In S201, a frequency priority corresponding to the slice and/or the slice group is determined according to first indication information sent by a network device, Para. 44, FIG. 2. The frequency priority may be used by the terminal to perform the cell reselection. For example, when performing the cell reselection, the terminal may consider frequencies one by one according to the frequency priority from high to low (i.e., in a descending order of the frequency priority), Para. 45, FIG. 2) is based on the first cell reselection priority for slicing (The first indication information carried in the RRC release message may indicate the frequency priority corresponding to the slice group and/or indicate the frequency priority corresponding to the slice, Para. 50, FIG. 2), the carrier frequency associated with the slice-based cell reselection (when performing the cell reselection, the terminal may consider frequencies one by one according to the frequency priority from high to low (i.e., in a descending order of the frequency priority), Para. 45), and the slice group (Information related to the slice information carried by the SIB may include information related to the slice group, Para. 48, FIG. 2. Second indication information carried in the SIB may indicate the slice group supported by the cell, Para. 51, FIG. 2).
Although providing an implicit teaching, Liu fails to explicitly teach a second cell reselection priority for slicing.
Cheng teaches the SIB including information on a second cell reselection priority for slicing (the UE 120 based at least in part on receiving per-slice frequency priority values in the SIB may ignore per-cell frequency priority values transmitted by the serving cell in the SIB or another SIB, Para. 91, FIG. 6. The serving cell may transmit the supported slice information (e.g., including the slice IDs, for each frequency, and the per-slice frequency priority values for each slice ID) in an RRC release message, Para. 92, FIG. 6).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Cheng with the teachings of Liu since Cheng provides a technique for different treatment of processing between slice information in SIBs and slice information in RRC release messages, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Liu to permit the appropriate processing of slice information between SIBs and RRC release messages in relation to contexts of ongoing PDU sessions.
In regard to Claim 6, Liu teaches the second cell reselection priority for slicing is ignored for the slice-based cell reselection (The first indication information in the RRC release message may override the first indication information carried in the SIB. The first indication information carried in the SIB may be ignored, Para. 84).
In regard to Claim 8, Liu teaches A terminal in a wireless communication system (the terminal to perform the cell reselection, Para. 45, FIG. 2), the terminal comprising: a transceiver (communication component 1016, Para. 212, FIG. 10); and a controller coupled with the transceiver (processing component 1002 may include one or more processors 1020 to execute instructions, Para. 205, FIG. 10) and configured to: receive, from a base station (a network device in a 4G, 5G, 6G communication systems, such as a base station, Para. 26, FIG. 1. First indication information sent by a network device, Para. 44, FIG. 2), a radio resource control (RRC) release message including information on a first cell reselection priority for slicing (the network device may indicate the frequency priority corresponding to the slice and/or indicate the frequency priority corresponding to the slice group to the terminal through the first indication information. The frequency priority may be used by the terminal to perform the cell reselection, Para. 45, FIG. 2. The first indication information carried in the RRC release message may indicate the frequency priority corresponding to the slice group and/or indicate the frequency priority corresponding to the slice, Para. 50, FIG. 2).
Liu teaches receive, from the base station (network device, Para. 44, FIG. 2), a system information block (SIB) (first indication information is carried in at least one of: a system information block (SIB); a radio resource control (RRC) release message, Para. 47, FIG. 2) for configuring a slice-based cell reselection (The terminal may perform the cell reselection according to the slice-related information, Para. 42. Information related to the slice information carried by the SIB, Para. 48), the SIB including information on a second cell reselection priority for slicing (the first indication information carried in the SIB may indicate the frequency priority corresponding to the slice group, Para. 50, FIG. 2. The first indication information in the RRC release message may override the first indication information carried in the SIB. The first indication information carried in the SIB may be ignored, Para. 84) [the examiner notes that, since the first indication information in the RRC release message may override the first indication information carried in the SIB of Liu, this indicates that the first indication information carried in the SIB is different from the first indication information in the RRC release message], information on a carrier frequency associated with the slice-based cell reselection (when performing the cell reselection, the terminal may consider frequencies one by one according to the frequency priority from high to low (i.e., in a descending order of the frequency priority), Para. 45), and information on a slice group (Information related to the slice information carried by the SIB may include information related to the slice group, Para. 48, FIG. 2. Second indication information carried in the SIB may indicate the slice group supported by the cell, Para. 51, FIG. 2).
Liu teaches identify a cell reselection priority for the slice-based cell reselection (In S201, a frequency priority corresponding to the slice and/or the slice group is determined according to first indication information sent by a network device, Para. 44, FIG. 2. The frequency priority may be used by the terminal to perform the cell reselection. For example, when performing the cell reselection, the terminal may consider frequencies one by one according to the frequency priority from high to low (i.e., in a descending order of the frequency priority), Para. 45, FIG. 2), based on the first cell reselection priority for slicing (The first indication information carried in the RRC release message may indicate the frequency priority corresponding to the slice group and/or indicate the frequency priority corresponding to the slice, Para. 50, FIG. 2), the carrier frequency associated with the slice-based cell reselection (when performing the cell reselection, the terminal may consider frequencies one by one according to the frequency priority from high to low (i.e., in a descending order of the frequency priority), Para. 45), and the slice group (Information related to the slice information carried by the SIB may include information related to the slice group, Para. 48, FIG. 2. Second indication information carried in the SIB may indicate the slice group supported by the cell, Para. 51, FIG. 2).
Although providing an implicit teaching, Liu fails to explicitly teach a second cell reselection priority for slicing.
Cheng teaches the SIB including information on a second cell reselection priority for slicing (the UE 120 based at least in part on receiving per-slice frequency priority values in the SIB may ignore per-cell frequency priority values transmitted by the serving cell in the SIB or another SIB, Para. 91, FIG. 6. The serving cell may transmit the supported slice information (e.g., including the slice IDs, for each frequency, and the per-slice frequency priority values for each slice ID) in an RRC release message, Para. 92, FIG. 6).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Cheng with the teachings of Liu since Cheng provides a technique for different treatment of processing between slice information in SIBs and slice information in RRC release messages, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Liu to permit the appropriate processing of slice information between SIBs and RRC release messages in relation to contexts of ongoing PDU sessions.
In regard to Claim 9, Liu teaches the second cell reselection priority for slicing is ignored for the slice-based cell reselection (The first indication information in the RRC release message may override the first indication information carried in the SIB. The first indication information carried in the SIB may be ignored, Para. 84).
In regard to Claim 11, as presented in the rejection of Claim 8, Liu in view of Cheng teaches the SIB.
Liu fails to teach the SIB further comprises information on at least one of an allowed cell list or an excluded cell list associated with the slice group.
Cheng teaches the SIB further comprises information on at least one of an allowed cell list (the supported slice information may include a list of frequencies, and, for each frequency in the list of frequencies: a list of physical cell IDs (PCIs) identifying, for each slice ID in the list of slice IDs, one or more cells (e.g., neighbor cells) that support a corresponding slice on the frequency. For example, a signaling format for the supported slice information (e.g., in an SIB) may include a list of {frequency, list of [Slice ID, per-slice frequency priority value, list of PCIs]}, Para. 88. The supported slice information may include a list of PCIs identifying, for each frequency in the list of frequencies, one or more cells (e.g., neighbor cells) that support the slice ID on that frequency. For example, a signaling format for the supported slice information (e.g., in an SIB) may include a list of {slice ID, list of [frequency, per-slice frequency priority value, list of PCIs]}, Para. 89) or an excluded cell list associated with the slice group (the slice ID may be a slice group ID associated with a group of slices, Para. 90).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Cheng with the teachings of Liu since Cheng provides a technique for different treatment of processing between slice information in SIBs and slice information in RRC release messages, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Liu to permit the appropriate processing of slice information between SIBs and RRC release messages in relation to contexts of ongoing PDU sessions.
In regard to Claim 12, Liu teaches A base station in a wireless communication system (a network device in a 4G, 5G, 6G communication systems, such as a base station, Para. 26, FIG. 1. First indication information sent by a network device, Para. 44, FIG. 2), the base station comprising: a transceiver (wireless sending/receiving component 924, Para. 202, FIG. 9); and a controller coupled with the transceiver (processors in the processing component 922, Para. 202, FIG. 9) and configured to: transmit, to a terminal (the terminal to perform the cell reselection, Para. 45, FIG. 2), a radio resource control (RRC) release message including information on a first cell reselection priority for slicing (the network device may indicate the frequency priority corresponding to the slice and/or indicate the frequency priority corresponding to the slice group to the terminal through the first indication information. The frequency priority may be used by the terminal to perform the cell reselection, Para. 45, FIG. 2. The first indication information carried in the RRC release message may indicate the frequency priority corresponding to the slice group and/or indicate the frequency priority corresponding to the slice, Para. 50, FIG. 2).
Liu teaches transmit, to the terminal (the terminal to perform the cell reselection, Para. 45, FIG. 2), a system information block (SIB) (first indication information is carried in at least one of: a system information block (SIB); a radio resource control (RRC) release message, Para. 47, FIG. 2) for configuring a slice-based cell reselection (The terminal may perform the cell reselection according to the slice-related information, Para. 42. Information related to the slice information carried by the SIB, Para. 48), the SIB including information on a second cell reselection priority for slicing (the first indication information carried in the SIB may indicate the frequency priority corresponding to the slice group, Para. 50, FIG. 2. The first indication information in the RRC release message may override the first indication information carried in the SIB. The first indication information carried in the SIB may be ignored, Para. 84) [the examiner notes that, since the first indication information in the RRC release message may override the first indication information carried in the SIB of Liu, this indicates that the first indication information carried in the SIB is different from the first indication information in the RRC release message], information on a carrier frequency associated with the slice-based cell reselection (when performing the cell reselection, the terminal may consider frequencies one by one according to the frequency priority from high to low (i.e., in a descending order of the frequency priority), Para. 45), and information on a slice group (Information related to the slice information carried by the SIB may include information related to the slice group, Para. 48, FIG. 2. Second indication information carried in the SIB may indicate the slice group supported by the cell, Para. 51, FIG. 2).
Liu teaches, wherein a cell reselection priority for the slice-based cell reselection (In S201, a frequency priority corresponding to the slice and/or the slice group is determined according to first indication information sent by a network device, Para. 44, FIG. 2. The frequency priority may be used by the terminal to perform the cell reselection. For example, when performing the cell reselection, the terminal may consider frequencies one by one according to the frequency priority from high to low (i.e., in a descending order of the frequency priority), Para. 45, FIG. 2) is based on the first cell reselection priority for slicing (The first indication information carried in the RRC release message may indicate the frequency priority corresponding to the slice group and/or indicate the frequency priority corresponding to the slice, Para. 50, FIG. 2), the carrier frequency associated with the slice-based cell reselection (when performing the cell reselection, the terminal may consider frequencies one by one according to the frequency priority from high to low (i.e., in a descending order of the frequency priority), Para. 45), and the slice group (Information related to the slice information carried by the SIB may include information related to the slice group, Para. 48, FIG. 2. Second indication information carried in the SIB may indicate the slice group supported by the cell, Para. 51, FIG. 2).
Although providing an implicit teaching, Liu fails to explicitly teach a second cell reselection priority for slicing.
Cheng teaches the SIB including information on a second cell reselection priority for slicing (the UE 120 based at least in part on receiving per-slice frequency priority values in the SIB may ignore per-cell frequency priority values transmitted by the serving cell in the SIB or another SIB, Para. 91, FIG. 6. The serving cell may transmit the supported slice information (e.g., including the slice IDs, for each frequency, and the per-slice frequency priority values for each slice ID) in an RRC release message, Para. 92, FIG. 6).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Cheng with the teachings of Liu since Cheng provides a technique for different treatment of processing between slice information in SIBs and slice information in RRC release messages, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Liu to permit the appropriate processing of slice information between SIBs and RRC release messages in relation to contexts of ongoing PDU sessions.
In regard to Claim 13, Liu teaches the second cell reselection priority for slicing is ignored for the slice-based cell reselection (The first indication information in the RRC release message may override the first indication information carried in the SIB. The first indication information carried in the SIB may be ignored, Para. 84).
In regard to Claim 15, as presented in the rejection of Claim 12, Liu in view of Cheng teaches the SIB.
Liu fails to teach the SIB further comprises information on at least one of an allowed cell list or an excluded cell list associated with the slice group.
Cheng teaches the SIB further comprises information on at least one of an allowed cell list (the supported slice information may include a list of frequencies, and, for each frequency in the list of frequencies: a list of physical cell IDs (PCIs) identifying, for each slice ID in the list of slice IDs, one or more cells (e.g., neighbor cells) that support a corresponding slice on the frequency. For example, a signaling format for the supported slice information (e.g., in an SIB) may include a list of {frequency, list of [Slice ID, per-slice frequency priority value, list of PCIs]}, Para. 88. The supported slice information may include a list of PCIs identifying, for each frequency in the list of frequencies, one or more cells (e.g., neighbor cells) that support the slice ID on that frequency. For example, a signaling format for the supported slice information (e.g., in an SIB) may include a list of {slice ID, list of [frequency, per-slice frequency priority value, list of PCIs]}, Para. 89) or an excluded cell list associated with the slice group (the slice ID may be a slice group ID associated with a group of slices, Para. 90).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Cheng with the teachings of Liu since Cheng provides a technique for different treatment of processing between slice information in SIBs and slice information in RRC release messages, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Liu to permit the appropriate processing of slice information between SIBs and RRC release messages in relation to contexts of ongoing PDU sessions.
Claim(s) 3, 7, 10 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu in view of Cheng, and further in view of Jano et al. (Pub. No.: US 20250119805 A1), hereafter referred to as Jano.
In regard to Claim 3, as presented in the rejection of Claim 1, Liu in view of Cheng teaches the terminal.
Liu in view of Cheng fails to teach the cell reselection priority is identified in case that the terminal is in a camped normally state, and wherein a cell reselection evaluation is performed in case that the terminal is in the camped normally state and the slice group changes.
Jano teaches the cell reselection priority is identified in case that the terminal is in a camped normally state, and wherein a cell reselection evaluation is performed in case that the terminal is in the camped normally state and the slice group changes (the gNB that the UE initially camped on and received the slice group specific frequency priorities used by the UE 410 for slice specific cell reselection procedure, Para. 118, FIG. 7. Slice specific cell reselection settings may be achieved, for example, by changing (e.g., setting or adjusting) the slice group specific frequency priorities for a cell or for multiple cells, Para. 121, FIG. 7. The network (e.g., gNB) may adjust slice group specific frequency priorities to avoid (or make it less likely) a situation where a UE camps on a cell (via slice specific cell reselection) that does not support the slice or slice group, Para. 122).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Jano with the teachings of Liu in view of Cheng since Jano provides a technique for slice specific cell reselection procedure involving changes related to slice groups, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Liu in view of Cheng to permit terminals to perform cell reselections when changes to slice groups are made.
In regard to Claim 7, as presented in the rejection of Claim 5, Liu in view of Cheng teaches the SIB.
Liu in view of Cheng fails to teach a cell reselection evaluation is performed in case that the slice group changes, and wherein the SIB further comprises information on at least one of an allowed cell list or an excluded cell list associated with the slice group.
Jano teaches a cell reselection evaluation is performed in case that the slice group changes, and wherein the SIB further comprises information on at least one of an allowed cell list or an excluded cell list associated with the slice group (the gNB that the UE initially camped on and received the slice group specific frequency priorities used by the UE 410 for slice specific cell reselection procedure, Para. 118, FIG. 7. Slice specific cell reselection settings may be achieved, for example, by changing (e.g., setting or adjusting) the slice group specific frequency priorities for a cell or for multiple cells, Para. 121, FIG. 7. The network (e.g., gNB) may adjust slice group specific frequency priorities to avoid (or make it less likely) a situation where a UE camps on a cell (via slice specific cell reselection) that does not support the slice or slice group, Para. 122).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Jano with the teachings of Liu in view of Cheng since Jano provides a technique for slice specific cell reselection procedure involving changes related to slice groups, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Liu in view of Cheng to permit terminals to perform cell reselections when changes to slice groups are made.
In regard to Claim 10, as presented in the rejection of Claim 8, Liu in view of Cheng teaches the terminal.
Liu in view of Cheng fails to teach the cell reselection priority is identified in case that the terminal is in a camped normally state, and wherein a cell reselection evaluation is performed in case that the terminal is in the camped normally state and the slice group changes.
Jano teaches the cell reselection priority is identified in case that the terminal is in a camped normally state, and wherein a cell reselection evaluation is performed in case that the terminal is in the camped normally state and the slice group changes (the gNB that the UE initially camped on and received the slice group specific frequency priorities used by the UE 410 for slice specific cell reselection procedure, Para. 118, FIG. 7. Slice specific cell reselection settings may be achieved, for example, by changing (e.g., setting or adjusting) the slice group specific frequency priorities for a cell or for multiple cells, Para. 121, FIG. 7. The network (e.g., gNB) may adjust slice group specific frequency priorities to avoid (or make it less likely) a situation where a UE camps on a cell (via slice specific cell reselection) that does not support the slice or slice group, Para. 122).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Jano with the teachings of Liu in view of Cheng since Jano provides a technique for slice specific cell reselection procedure involving changes related to slice groups, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Liu in view of Cheng to permit terminals to perform cell reselections when changes to slice groups are made.
In regard to Claim 14, as presented in the rejection of Claim 12, Liu in view of Cheng teaches the slice group.
Liu in view of Cheng fails to teach a cell reselection evaluation is performed in case that the slice group changes.
Jano teaches a cell reselection evaluation is performed in case that the slice group changes (the gNB that the UE initially camped on and received the slice group specific frequency priorities used by the UE 410 for slice specific cell reselection procedure, Para. 118, FIG. 7. Slice specific cell reselection settings may be achieved, for example, by changing (e.g., setting or adjusting) the slice group specific frequency priorities for a cell or for multiple cells, Para. 121, FIG. 7. The network (e.g., gNB) may adjust slice group specific frequency priorities to avoid (or make it less likely) a situation where a UE camps on a cell (via slice specific cell reselection) that does not support the slice or slice group, Para. 122).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Jano with the teachings of Liu in view of Cheng since Jano provides a technique for slice specific cell reselection procedure involving changes related to slice groups, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Liu in view of Cheng to permit terminals to perform cell reselections when changes to slice groups are made.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Hedman et al. (Pub. No.: US 20240196316 A1) teaches a radio resource control (RRC) release message including information on a first cell reselection priority for slicing; receiving, from the base station, a system information block (SIB) for configuring a slice-based cell reselection, the SIB including in- formation on a second cell reselection priority for slicing (adding the slice info (with similar information as agreed slice info in SI message) in RRC release message, Para. 236. If network slice information is to be provided in SIB, then some “slice grouping” is preferred, Para. 244).
Mattam et al. (Pub. No.: US 20240089820 A1) teaches the SIB further comprises information on at least one of an allowed cell list or an excluded cell list associated with the slice group (a SIB or uses any existing SIB to share the list of slices supported by the serving cell and neighbor cells(s) in an area (RA(s)), Para. 124. An IE with each neighbor cell to map the supported group of slices, Para. 130. In case that the priority information is received via the SIB, the each of network slice information further includes at least one of an allowed cell list or a blocked cell list for the network slicing, claim 18). The examiner notes that Mattam shares the same Applicant as the application.
Joshua Smith
/J.S./
7-16-2026
/CHIRAG G SHAH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2477