DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
The amendments filed on September 3, 2026, have been entered. Claims 1 and 7 have been amended. Claims 2 and 4 have been cancelled. Claims 1, 3, and 5-8 remain pending in the application.
Response to Arguments
Applicants’ arguments filed on August 20, 2026, in response to the Final Office Action dated May 26, 2026, have been fully considered.
Applicant argues, in pages 5 and 6 of the Remarks, “By contrast, in Kinoshita, the "sequential processing" and the "batch processing" are switched based on an "importance level" described in the table T1 (see [0053] and FIG. 6 of Kinoshita). Switching based on an importance level cannot achieve further reduction in delay and power saving. In addition, Kinoshita does not disclose a component corresponding to the "data arrival notifier" of claim 1.”
In response, the claim is rejected in combination of Vasudevan, Wang, and Kinoshita. Primary reference Vasudevan teaches all the elements except controlling the timing of the sleep based on characteristics of the application program, notifying data arrival immediately for application with sequential processing and after predetermined number of packets for application with batch processing. Fig. 3, step 350, of Wang discloses adjusting sleep parameters based on the traffic characteristics. Page 6, first paragraph of Kinoshita discloses notifying data with sequentially processing immediately and notifying after a predetermined interval with batch processing. Fig. 3 of Vasudevan shows I/O queue manager 310 (data arrival notifier). Therefore, one of the ordinary skill the in the art would be able to modify Vasudevan to incorporate the teaching of Wang and Kinoshita to control the sleep timing based on the application characteristic and notifying data arrival immediately for application with sequential processing and after predetermined number of packets for application with batch processing. With the teachings of combination of Wang and Kinoshita, application requires low latency can be assigned for sequential processing treating the application with high priority and application that does not require low latency can be assigned for batch processing treating the application with low priority.
Examiner’s Note about the Format of 35 U.S.C. 102/103 Rejections
Generally, limitations of a claim are reproduced identically and followed by examiner’s explanation with citation from prior art in Italic enclosed by a parenthesis, (), for each limitation. In examiner’s explanation, the mapping of the key elements of a limitation to the disclosed elements of prior art is shown by stating the disclosed element immediately followed by the claimed element inside a parenthesis. Specific quotation from prior art is delineated with quotation mark, ““. If primary art fails to teach a limitation or part of the limitation, the limitation or the part of the limitation is placed inside double square brackets, [[ ]], for better understandability, and appropriate secondary art(s) is/are applied later addressing the deficiency of the primary art.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Such claim limitations are the following limitations in claim 1:
A server delay control device that is disposed in a user space and starts a thread that monitors packet arrival using a polling model, the server delay control device comprising:
a data arrival monitor that monitors a reception queue of a device by polling and acquires data when a packet has arrived;
a data arrival notifier that notifies an application program of the data acquired by the data arrival monitoring unit monitor and passes the data to the application program; and
a sleep manager that causes the thread to sleep when no packet arrives for a predetermined period and cancels sleep of the thread by a hardware interrupt when a packet has arrived, wherein the sleep management unit manager controls a timing of the sleep by permitting the hardware interrupt based on characteristics of the application program.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 5, 7, and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vasudevan et al. (US PGPUB No. US 20190391940 A1), hereinafter, Vasudevan, in view of Wang et al. (US PGPUB No. US 20200396172 A1), hereinafter, Wang, and further in view of Kinoshita (Japanese Patent Document No. JP 2019165411 A), hereinafter Kinoshita.
Regarding claim 1:
Vasudevan teaches:
A server delay control device that is disposed in a user space and starts a thread that monitors packet arrival using a polling model, the server delay control device comprising (Fig. 3 shows compute node 102 (server delay control device) with application thread data):
a data arrival monitor that monitors a reception queue of a device by polling and acquires data when a packet has arrived (paragraph 0048 discloses arrival of a packet in a queue as stated “Regardless, in block 504, the compute node 102 determines whether a network packet has arrived in the queue (e.g., via the NIC 212 of FIG. 2”. Paragraph 0053 discloses NIC 212 (data arrival monitor) );
a data arrival notifier that notifies an application program of the data acquired by the data arrival monitor and passes the data to the application program (paragraph 0049 discloses delivering the packet to an application thread as stated “In block 506, the compute node 102 retrieves the packet from the associated queue and delivers the packet to the requesting application associated with the application thread (e.g., based on the application thread identifier), and the application may act on the packet in block 508”. Fig. 3 shows I/O queue manager 310 (data arrival notifier)); and
a sleep manager that causes the thread to sleep when no packet arrives for a predetermined period and cancels sleep of the thread by a hardware interrupt when a packet has arrived (Fig. 5, steps 512 and 514, disclose putting the thread in to interrupt event wait mode (sleep) when no response received from the application within an expected period of time (predetermined period) as stated in paragraph 0050, “In block 512, the compute node 102 determines whether to switch to interrupt event mode polling. The compute node 102 may determine to switch to the interrupt event mode polling in response to detection or determination of one or more transition events. For example, in some embodiments, the compute node 102 may determine to which to the interrupt event mode polling in response to a determination or detection that application is going to sleep. Additionally, in some embodiments, if the application fails to respond within an expected time period, the compute node 102 may switch to the interrupt event mode polling” . Fig. 6, steps 520 and 530, discloses cancelling the interrupt event wait mode by an interrupt. Paragraph 0052 discloses the interrupt is generated based arrival of packet as shown in Fig. 7. Fig. 3 shows wait mode manager 3134 (sleep manager)).
Vasudevan does not teach wherein the sleep manager controls a timing of the sleep by permitting the hardware interrupt based on characteristics of the application program, wherein the sleep manager compares an elapsed time from when no packet arrives with a predetermined time corresponding to the characteristics of the application program, and in a case where the elapsed time from when no packet arrives is equal to or longer than the predetermined time, the sleep manager enables the hardware interrupt and causes the thread to sleep.
Wang teaches:
when no packet arrives for a predetermined period, wherein the sleep manager controls a timing of the sleep by permitting the hardware interrupt based on characteristics of the application program, wherein the sleep manager compares an elapsed time from when no packet arrives with a predetermined time corresponding to the characteristics of the application program, and in a case where the elapsed time from when no packet arrives is equal to or longer than the predetermined time, the sleep manager enables the hardware interrupt and causes the thread to sleep (Fig. 3, steps 320 and 340, detecting zero polling round i.e. no packet arrival in queue for a number of allowable zero polling rounds (predetermined time) as explained in paragraphs 0029 and 0030. Fig. 3, step 350, discloses adjusting sleep parameters based on the traffic characteristics. Paragraph 0030 discloses the sleep parameter includes sleep time), and
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Vasudevan to incorporate the teaching of Wang. One would be motivated to adjust the sleep parameters based on the traffic dynamics (see paragraph 00 47 of Vasudevan paragraph 0030 of Wang).
Vasudevan does not teach wherein the data arrival notifier makes a notification immediately at the time of packet arrival in a case where the characteristics of the application program are characteristics of sequentially processing packets, and makes a notification when a predetermined number of packets arrive in a case where the characteristics of the application program are characteristic of batch processing of packets.
Kinoshita teaches wherein the data arrival notifier makes a notification immediately at the time of packet arrival in a case where the characteristics of the application program are characteristics of sequentially processing packets, and makes a notification when a predetermined number of packets arrive in a case where the characteristics of the application program are characteristic of batch processing of packets (page 6, first paragraph, discloses notifying data with sequentially processing immediately and notifying after a predetermined interval with batch processing as stated “FIG. 6B is a diagram illustrating an example of a table describing settings related to notification. This notification setting table T1 shows the correspondence between importance, notification timing, notification content, and notification destination. “Importance” is defined in the same way as the importance of an event, and here, three levels (high, medium, and low) are provided. “Notification timing” includes, for example, “sequential processing” that immediately notifies each time an event is detected, and “batch processing” that performs batch notification every day without notifying immediately. The “notification content” may include specific items in addition to the information content of the notification content. Examples of “notification destination” include an IP address and a host name.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Vasudevan to incorporate the teaching of Kinoshita. One would be motivated to do that to adjust notification interval based on priority (see page 6, second paragraph of Kinoshita).
As to claim 3, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated. Vasudevan in view of Wang and Kinoshita teach all the limitations of claim 1 as shown above.
Vasudevan further teaches wherein the data arrival monitor checks whether data has arrived at a reception queue of the device at a predetermined timing based on the characteristics of the application program (paragraph 0047 discloses controlling queue parameters based on application characteristics).
As to claim 5, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated. Vasudevan in view of Wang and Kinoshita teach all the limitations of claim 1 as shown above.
Vasudevan does not teach wherein the data arrival notifier has a packet processing function, executes the packet processing function according to the characteristics of the application program, and does not notify the application program when executing the packet processing function.
Kinoshita teaches wherein the data arrival notifier has a packet processing function, executes the packet processing function according to the characteristics of the application program, and does not notify the application program when executing the packet processing function (page 6, first paragraph, discloses not notifying while processing batch processing).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Vasudevan to incorporate the teaching of Kinoshita. One would be motivated to do that to minimize notification for low priority data (see page 6, second paragraph of Kinoshita).
Regarding claim 7:
Claim 7 is directed towards a server delay control method performed by the server delay control device of claim 1. Accordingly, it is rejected under similar rationale.
Claim 8 is directed towards non-transitory storage medium storing a program for causing a computer to function as the server delay control device according to claim 1. Accordingly, it is rejected under similar rationale.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vasudevan in view of Wang further in view of Kinoshita and further in view of Saitou et al. (US PGPUB No. US 20110258311 A1), hereinafter, Saitou.
As to claim 6, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated. Vasudevan in view of Wang and Kinoshita teach all the limitations of claim 1 as shown above.
Vasudevan further teaches further comprising a logic manager that collects information on the characteristics of the application program and processing information of the thread, and changes a processing logic of at least one functional unit among the data arrival monitor, the data arrival notifier, and the sleep manager in a case of the application program in which a load varies depending on a time zone and a processing method and processing speed vary, based on the information that has been collected.
Saitou teaches further comprising a logic manager that collects information on the characteristics of the application program and processing information of the thread, and changes a processing logic of at least one functional unit among the data arrival monitor, the data arrival notifier, and the sleep manager in a case of the application program in which a load varies depending on a time zone and a processing method and processing speed vary, based on the information that has been collected (paragraph 0075 discloses changing monitoring interval depending on the time zone).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Vasudevan to incorporate the teaching of Saitou. One would be motivated to do that to match the time zone (see paragraph 75 of Saitou).
Conclusion
September 4, 2026
/KAMAL M HOSSAIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2444