DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
2. Applicant's election with traverse of claims 1, 2, 4,7-11,14-15,17-19,21-23 and 25-27 in the reply filed on 3/2/2026 is acknowledged. This is found persuasive.
The requirement is hereby withdrawn.
Claim Objections
3. Claim 23 is objected to because of the following informalities:
- Lines 4-5, double occurrences of “wherein”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
6. Claims 1, 2, 4, 7, 22 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by CN112922956 (hereinafter D1).
Regarding claim 1, D1 teaches a rotating mechanism (see figures 3 and 9), comprising a fixed base (see above annotated figure 9), a first synchronization swing arm (3; figure 9), a second synchronization swing arm (4; figure 9), and a synchronization gear (71+72+73+74; figure 9), wherein the synchronization gear comprises a first gear (71; figure 9), a second gear (72; figure 9), and an intermediate gear (73 + 74; figure 9), the first gear, the intermediate gear, and the second gear are all helical gears (see figures 3 and 9), the first gear (71), the intermediate gear (73 + 74), and the second gear (72) are disposed side by side (see figures 3 and 9) and in parallel (see figures 3 and 9), and the intermediate gear (73 + 74) is located between (see figures 3 and 9) the first gear and the second gear and engages (see figures 3 and 9) with the first gear and the second gear;
the first synchronization swing arm (3) is fastened (see figure 3; through rod 712) to the first gear, and the second synchronization swing arm is fastened (see figure 3;; through rod 722) to the second gear; and
the synchronization gear is mounted (see figures 1, 3 and 9)in the fixed base and is rotatably (taught in figures 1, 3 and 9) connected to the fixed base, the first synchronization swing arm (3) and the second synchronization swing arm (4) are respectively located on two opposite sides (see figures 1, 3 and 9) of the fixed base in a width direction (see figures 1, 3 and 9), a rotation direction (taught in figures 1,3 and 9) of the first synchronization swing arm is opposite (taught in figures 1,3 and 9) to a rotation direction (taught in figures 1,3 and 9) of the second synchronization swing arm, and a rotation direction of the first gear is opposite (taught in figures 1,3 and 9) to a rotation direction (taught in figures 1,3 and 9) of the second gear.
Regarding claim 2, D1 teaches the rotating mechanism according to claim 1, wherein the rotating mechanism comprises a folded state (see figure 9) and a flattened state (see figure 1), when the rotating mechanism is in the flattened state (figure 1), the first synchronization swing arm unfolds (see figure 1) relative to the second synchronization swing arm, and when rotating in a direction (see figures 1 and 3) close to the fixed base, the first synchronization swing arm (3) drives the first gear (71) to rotate, to drive the second gear (72) to rotate, to drive the second synchronization swing arm (4) to rotate in a direction (see figures 1, 3 and 9) close to the first synchronization swing arm, so that the first synchronization swing arm folds (see figure 9) relative to the second synchronization swing arm, and the rotating mechanism is in the folded state (see figure 9).
Regarding claim 4, D1 teaches the rotating mechanism according to claim 1, wherein the intermediate gear comprises a third gear (73; figure 9) and a fourth gear (74; figure 9), both the third gear and the fourth gear are helical gears (see figure 9), both the third gear and the fourth gear are disposed between (see figure 9) the first gear (71) and the second gear (72), the third gear engages (see figure 9) with the first gear, and the fourth gear engages (see figure 9) with the second gear and the third gear.
Regarding claim 7, D1 teaches the rotating mechanism according to claim 1,wherein the rotating mechanism further comprises a first rotation lever (left 26; figure 3) and a second rotation lever (right 26; figure 3), and wherein the first synchronization swing arm 3) is fastened (see figure 3) to the first rotation lever, the first rotation lever (left 26) is fastened to the first gear, and the second synchronization swing arm (4) is fastened to the second rotation lever (right 26; figure 3), the second rotation lever is fastened (see figure 3) to the second gear.
Regarding claim 22, D1 teaches the rotating mechanism according to claim 2, wherein the fixed base further comprises a flexible support member (see above annotated figure 8 of D1), the flexible support member is mounted in the fixed base, and when the rotating mechanism is in the folded state, the flexible support member bends and forms an avoidance space (see above annotated figure 1 of D1); and when the rotating mechanism is in the flattened state, the flexible support member unfolds (implicitly taught in figures 1 and 8).
Regarding claim 23, D1 teaches a foldable electronic device (see figure 1), comprising a first housing (see figure 1; left housing), a second housing (see figure 1; right housing), a display screen (implicitly taught), and a rotating mechanism (see figures 3 and 9), wherein the rotating mechanism comprises a fixed base (see above annotated figure 9), a first synchronization swing arm (3; figure 9), a second synchronization swing arm (4; figure 9), and a synchronization gear (71 + 72 + 73 + 74; figure 9),
wherein the synchronization gear (71 + 72 + 73 + 74; figure 9) comprises a first gear (71; figure 9), a second gear (72; figure 9), and an intermediate gear (73 + 74; figure 9), the first gear, the intermediate gear, and the second gear are all helical gears (see figures 3 and 9), the first gear, the intermediate gear, and the second gear are disposed side by side (see figures 3 and 9) and in parallel (see figures 3 and 9), and the intermediate gear (73 + 74) is located between the first gear and the second gear and engages (see figures 3 and 9) with the first gear and the second gear:
wherein the first synchronization swing arm (3) is fastened (see figure 3; through rod 712) to the first gear, and the second synchronization swing arm (4; figure 9) is fastened (see figure 3; through rod 712) to the second gear; and wherein the synchronization gear is mounted (see figures 1, 3 and 9) in the fixed base and is rotatably (see figures 1, 3 and 9) connected to the fixed base, the first synchronization swing arm (3) and the second synchronization swing arm (4) are respectively located on two opposite (see figures 1, 3 and 9) sides of the fixed base in a width direction (see figures 1, 3 and 9), a rotation direction (see figures 1, 3 and 9) of the first synchronization swing arm is opposite (see figures 1, 3 and 9) to a rotation direction (see figures 1, 3 and 9) of the second synchronization swing arm, and a rotation direction (see figures 1, 3 and 9) of the first gear is opposite (see figures 1, 3 and 9) to a rotation direction of the second gear.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
9. Claims 6, 8, 11 and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over D1.
Regarding claim 6, D1 teaches the rotating mechanism according to claim 4, wherein the first gear comprises first teeth (see figure 3), the second gear comprises second teeth (see figure 3), the third gear comprises third teeth (see figure 3), and the fourth gear comprises fourth teeth (see figure 3); and the first tooth teeth, the second tooth teeth, the third tooth teeth, and the fourth tooth teeth are all helical (see figure 3), a helical direction (see figure 3) of the first tooth teeth is opposite (implicitly taught in figure 3) to a helical direction (see figure 3) of the second tooth teeth, and a helical direction (see figure 3) of the third tooth teeth is opposite (implicitly taught in figure 3) to a helical direction (see figure 3) of the fourth tooth teeth.
Even though, D1 does not specifically teach that helix angles of the first teeth, the second teeth, the third teeth, and the fourth teeth are all 15 to 45 degrees, however, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to derive such ranges of helix angles for said teeth, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art, to optimize the rotations for said arms. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Regarding claim 8, D1 teaches the rotating mechanism according to claim 4, wherein the first gear comprises first teeth (see figure 3), the second gear comprises second teeth (see figure 3), the third gear comprises third teeth (see figure 3), and the fourth gear comprises fourth teeth (see figure 3).
Even though, D1 does not specifically teach that the first teeth, the second teeth, the third teeth, and the fourth teeth are all "V"-shaped, however, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to change apply different tooth-shape, such as V-shape, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the shape of a component. A change in shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966).
Regarding claim 11, as mentioned above, D1 teaches the rotating mechanism according to claim 8.
Even though, D1 does not specifically teach wherein a contact ratio between the first gear and the third gear is greater than 1.2, the contact ratio between the third gear and the fourth gear is greater than 1.2, and a contact ratio between the fourth gear and the second gear is greater than 1.2, however, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to derive such ratio, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Regarding claim 25, D1 teaches the foldable electronic device according to claim 23, wherein the intermediate gear comprises a third gear (72; figure 9) and a fourth gear (74; figure 9), both the third gear and the fourth gear are helical gears (see figure 9), both the third gear and the fourth gear are disposed between (see figure 9) the first gear and the second gear, the third gear engages (see figure 9) with the first gear, and the fourth gear engages (see figure 9) with the second gear and the third gear, and the first gear comprises first teeth (see figure 9), the second gear comprises second teeth (see figure 9), the third gear comprises third teeth (see figure 9), and the fourth gear comprises fourth teeth (see figure 9).
Even though, D1 does not specifically teach that the first teeth, the second teeth, the third teeth, and the fourth teeth are all "V"-shaped, however, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to change apply different tooth-shape, such as V-shape, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the shape of a component. A change in shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966).
Allowable Subject Matter
10. Claims 9, 10, 14, 15, 17-19, 21, 26 and 27 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 9, the prior art of record fails to teach, disclose or fairly suggest the rotating mechanism, in combination with all the positively recited elements according to claim 8, wherein each first tooth of the first teeth comprises a first sub-tooth and a second sub-tooth, both the first sub-tooth and the second sub-tooth of each first tooth are helical teeth, and the first sub-tooth is fastened to the second sub-tooth of each first tooth in an axial direction of the first gear; each second tooth of the second teeth comprises a third sub-tooth and a fourth sub-tooth, both the third sub-tooth and the fourth sub-tooth of each second tooth are helical teeth, and the third sub-tooth is fastened to the fourth sub-tooth of each second tooth in an axial direction of the second gear; each third tooth of the third teeth comprises a fifth sub-tooth and a sixth sub-tooth, both the fifth sub-tooth and the sixth sub-tooth of each third tooth are helical teeth, and the fifth sub-tooth is fastened to the sixth sub-tooth of each third tooth in an axial direction of the third gear; and each fourth tooth of the fourth teeth comprises a seventh sub-tooth and an eighth sub-tooth, both the seventh sub-tooth and the eighth sub-tooth of each fourth tooth are helical teeth, and the seventh sub-tooth is fastened to the eighth sub-tooth of each fourth tooth in an axial direction of the fourth gear; and the first sub-teeth engage with the fifth sub-teeth, the fifth sub-teeth engage with the seventh sub-teeth, and the seventh sub-teeth engage with the third sub-teeth; and the second sub-teeth engage with the sixth sub-teeth, the sixth sub-teeth engage with the eighth sub-teeth, and the eighth sub-teeth engages with the fourth sub-teeth.
Regarding claim 10, claim 10 is dependent from claim 9, and therefore, is objected-but-allowable for at least the same reason.
Regarding claim 14, the prior art of record fails to teach, disclose or fairly suggest the rotating mechanism, in combination with all the positively recited elements according to claim 1, wherein the rotating mechanism comprises a first fastening plate and a second fastening plate, the first fastening plate and the second fastening plate are respectively located on the two opposite sides of the fixed base in the width direction, the first synchronization swing arm is slidably connected to the first fastening plate, and the second fastening plate is slidably connected to the second synchronization swing arm: and a first rotation groove and a second rotation groove are disposed in the fixed base, and the first rotation groove is disposed opposite to the second rotation groove; the rotating mechanism comprises a first main swing arm and a second main swing arm, the first main swing arm is mounted in the first rotation groove and is slidable and rotatable along the first rotation groove, and the first main swing arm is rotatably connected to the first fastening plate; and the second main swing arm is mounted in the second rotation groove and is slidable and rotatable along the second rotation groove, and the second main swing arm is rotatably connected to the second fastening plate.
Claims 15 and 17-19 are dependent from claim 14, and therefore, are objected-but-allowable for at least the same reason.
Regarding claim 21, the prior art of record fails to teach, disclose or fairly suggest the rotating mechanism, in combination with all the positively recited elements according to claim 1,wherein the rotating mechanism further comprises a first fastening plate, a second fastening plate, the first fastening elate and the second fastening plate are respectively located on the two opposite sides of the fixed base in the width direction, a first pressing elate and a second pressing elate, the first pressing plate is slidably connected and rotatably to the first fastening plate, and when rotating relative to the fixed base, the first fastening plate drive the first pressing plate to rotate relative to the fixed base; and the second pressing plate is slidably and rotatably connected to the second fastening plate, and when rotating relative to the fixed base, the second fastening elate drive the second pressing plate to rotate relative to the fixed base: and a third rotation groove and a fourth rotation groove are further disposed in the fixed base, and the third rotation groove is disposed opposite to the fourth rotation groove; the rotating mechanism further comprises a first pressing plate swing arm and a second pressing plate swing arm, the first pressing plate swing arm is mounted in the third rotation groove and is slidable and rotatable along the third rotation groove, and the first pressing plate swing arm is slidably connected to the first pressing plate; and the second pressing plate swing arm is mounted in the fourth rotation groove and is slidable and rotatable along the fourth rotation groove, and the second pressing plate swing arm is slidably connected to the second pressing plate.
Regarding claim 26, the prior art of record fails to teach, disclose or fairly suggest the foldable electronic device according to claim 25, wherein each first tooth of the first teeth comprises a first sub-tooth and a second sub-tooth, both the first sub-tooth and the second sub-tooth of the each first tooth are helical teeth, and the first sub-tooth is fastened to the second sub-tooth of the each first tooth in an axial direction of the first gear; each second tooth of the second teeth comprises a third sub-tooth and a fourth sub-tooth, both the third sub- tooth and the fourth sub-tooth of the each second tooth are helical teeth, and the third sub-tooth is fastened to the fourth sub-tooth of the each second tooth in an axial direction of the second gear; each third tooth of the third teeth comprises a fifth sub-tooth and a sixth sub-tooth, both the fifth sub-tooth and the sixth sub-tooth of the each third tooth are helical teeth, and the fifth sub-tooth is fastened to the sixth sub-tooth of the each third tooth in an axial direction of the third gear; and each fourth tooth of the fourth teeth comprises a seventh sub-tooth and an eighth sub-tooth, both the seventh sub-tooth and the eighth sub-tooth of the each fourth tooth are helical teeth, and the seventh sub-tooth is fastened to the eighth sub-tooth of the each fourth tooth in an axial direction of the fourth gear; and the first sub-teeth engage with the fifth sub-teeth, the fifth sub-teeth engage with the seventh sub-teeth, and the seventh sub-teeth engage with the third sub-teeth; and the second sub-teeth engage with the sixth sub-teeth, the sixth sub-teeth engage with the eighth sub-teeth, and the eighth sub-teeth engage with the fourth sub-teeth.
Regarding claim 27, the prior art of record fails to teach, disclose or fairly suggest the foldable electronic device according to claim 23, wherein a first rotation groove and a second rotation groove are disposed in the fixed base, and the first rotation groove is disposed opposite to the second rotation groove; the rotating mechanism comprises a first main swing arm and a second main swing arm, the first main swing arm is mounted in the first rotation groove and is slidable and rotatable along the first rotation groove; and the second main swing arm is mounted in the second rotation groove and is slidable and rotatable along the second rotation groove; wherein the first main swing arm comprises a first rotation body and a first swing body, the first rotation body is fastened to the first swing body, the first rotation body comprises a first slide part and two second slide parts, and the two second slide parts are connected to two opposite sides of the first slide part; wherein the first rotation groove comprises a first slide rail and two second slide rails, and the two second slide rails are respectively located on two opposite sides of the first slide rail and are disposed side by side with the first slide rail in a length direction of the fixed base; and wherein the first rotation body is mounted in the first rotation groove, the first slide part is mounted in the first slide rail, and one second slide part is mounted in one second slide rail.
Conclusion
/HUNG Q DANG/
Examiner, Art Unit 2841
/IMANI N HAYMAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2841