DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
2. Claim(s) 1, 15 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu (US PG Pub. No. 2023/0022077) in view of Fong (US PG Pub. No. 2023/0078193) and further in view of Shimezawa (US PG Pub. No. 2024/0215055).
As per claim 1:
Liu teaches a user equipment (UE) for wireless communication (see Figure 7, user equipment 700), comprising:
at least one memory (see Figure 7, memory 704); and
at least one processor coupled with the at least one memory (see paragraph [0090], memory 704 coupled to processor 702) and configured to cause the UE to:
obtain a position characteristic configuration associated with a resource pool based on configuration or pre-configuration (see Figure 6, step 610, paragraph [0075], the BS 105 may communicate a sub-slot/slot configuration to the UE 115. Said sub-slot/slot configuration may include configured time resources and/or frequency resources (construed as said resource pool) associated with the sub-slots including a sub-slot RP and/or a slot RP, please see paragraph [0075]), wherein the position characteristic configuration includes a set of position characteristics (paragraph [0075] disclose the configuration may further include a starting subchannel index associated with the sub-slot and a number of subchannels associated with the sub-slot).
Liu does not teach and each position characteristic indicates an availability level of a position in a sidelink (SL) slot for simultaneous sub-slot level transmission and slot level transmission.
Fong teaches and each position characteristic indicates an availability level of a position in a sidelink (SL) slot for simultaneous sub-slot level transmission and slot level transmission (see paragraph [0004], the SCI 1 may indicate bundles of PSSCH RBs to be used for the reverse transmissions on full slots and for minislots. Note: Examiner is reading said bundling of subchannels (such as PSSCH RBs) on the full slots and minislots as said simultaneous sub-slot level transmission and slot level transmission. As shown in figure 4 and paragraph [0113], first and second transmissions to the UE may occur on a PSSCH resource bundle 440 which are parallel transmissions and thus simultaneous transmission on both sub-slot and slot).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to implement the bundling of subchannels (as disclosed in Fong) into Liu as a way of improving the reliability for low latency and high transmissions such as those associated with the URLLC traffic (please see paragraph [0113] of Fong).
The combination of Liu and Fong do not clearly teach and perform a sensing-based resource selection or re-selection based at least in part on the position characteristic configuration.
Shimezawa teaches and perform a sensing-based resource selection or re-selection based at least in part on the position characteristic configuration (see paragraph [0212], terminal device 200 performs sensing of each of resources configured by one subchannel and one sub-slot within the sensing window determined. Said sensing window is determined based on control information received from the base station, please see paragraph [0210]).
Thus it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to implement the sensing of resources within the sensing window (as disclosed in Shimezawa) into both Liu and Fong as a way of enabling the terminal device to determine whether or not a resource is in use (please see paragraphs [0212]-[0214] of Shimezawa). Therefore, by identifying the selected sidelink resource, occurrence of collision of data with another terminal device is reduced (please see paragraph [0200] of Shimezawa).
As per claim 15:
Liu teaches a method performed by a user equipment (UE) (see abstract), the method comprising:
obtaining a position characteristic configuration associated with a resource pool based on configuration or pre-configuration (see Figure 6, step 610, paragraph [0075], the BS 105 may communicate a sub-slot/slot configuration to the UE 115. Said sub-slot/slot configuration may include configured time resources and/or frequency resources (construed as said resource pool) associated with the sub-slots including a sub-slot RP and/or a slot RP, please see paragraph [0075]), wherein the position characteristic configuration includes a set of position characteristics (paragraph [0075] disclose the configuration may further include a starting subchannel index associated with the sub-slot and a number of subchannels associated with the sub-slot).
Liu does not teach and each position characteristic indicates an availability level of a position in a sidelink (SL) slot for simultaneous sub-slot level transmission and slot level transmission.
Fong teaches and each position characteristic indicates an availability level of a position in a sidelink (SL) slot for simultaneous sub-slot level transmission and slot level transmission (see paragraph [0004], the SCI 1 may indicate bundles of PSSCH RBs to be used for the reverse transmissions on full slots and for minislots. Note: Examiner is reading said bundling of subchannels (such as PSSCH RBs) on the full slots and minislots as said simultaneous sub-slot level transmission and slot level transmission. As shown in figure 4 and paragraph [0113], first and second transmissions to the UE may occur on a PSSCH resource bundle 440 which are parallel transmissions and thus simultaneous transmission on both sub-slot and slot).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to implement the bundling of subchannels (as disclosed in Fong) into Liu as a way of improving the reliability for low latency and high transmissions such as those associated with the URLLC traffic (please see paragraph [0113] of Fong).
The combination of Liu and Fong do not clearly teach and performing a sensing-based resource selection or re-selection based at least in part on the position characteristic configuration.
Shimezawa teaches and performing a sensing-based resource selection or re-selection based at least in part on the position characteristic configuration (see paragraph [0212], terminal device 200 performs sensing of each of resources configured by one subchannel and one sub-slot within the sensing window determined. Said sensing window is determined based on control information received from the base station, please see paragraph [0210]).
Thus it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to implement the sensing of resources within the sensing window (as disclosed in Shimezawa) into both Liu and Fong as a way of enabling the terminal device to determine whether or not a resource is in use (please see paragraphs [0212]-[0214] of Shimezawa). Therefore, by identifying the selected sidelink resource, occurrence of collision of data with another terminal device is reduced (please see paragraph [0200] of Shimezawa).
As per claim 16:
Liu teaches a processor for wireless communication (see Figure 7, user equipment 700), comprising:
at least one controller coupled with at least one memory (see paragraph [0090], memory 704 coupled to processor 702) and configured to cause the processor to:
obtain a position characteristic configuration associated with a resource pool based on configuration or pre-configuration (see Figure 6, step 610, paragraph [0075], the BS 105 may communicate a sub-slot/slot configuration to the UE 115. Said sub-slot/slot configuration may include configured time resources and/or frequency resources (construed as said resource pool) associated with the sub-slots including a sub-slot RP and/or a slot RP, please see paragraph [0075]), wherein the position characteristic configuration includes a set of position characteristics (paragraph [0075] disclose the configuration may further include a starting subchannel index associated with the sub-slot and a number of subchannels associated with the sub-slot).
Liu does not teach and each position characteristic indicates an availability level of a position in a sidelink (SL) slot for simultaneous sub-slot level transmission and slot level transmission.
Fong teaches and each position characteristic indicates an availability level of a position in a sidelink (SL) slot for simultaneous sub-slot level transmission and slot level transmission (see paragraph [0004], the SCI 1 may indicate bundles of PSSCH RBs to be used for the reverse transmissions on full slots and for minislots. Note: Examiner is reading said bundling of subchannels (such as PSSCH RBs) on the full slots and minislots as said simultaneous sub-slot level transmission and slot level transmission. As shown in figure 4 and paragraph [0113], first and second transmissions to the UE may occur on a PSSCH resource bundle 440 which are parallel transmissions and thus simultaneous transmission on both sub-slot and slot).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to implement the bundling of subchannels (as disclosed in Fong) into Liu as a way of improving the reliability for low latency and high transmissions such as those associated with the URLLC traffic (please see paragraph [0113] of Fong).
The combination of Liu and Fong do not clearly teach and perform a sensing-based resource selection or re-selection based at least in part on the position characteristic configuration.
Shimezawa teaches and perform a sensing-based resource selection or re-selection based at least in part on the position characteristic configuration (see paragraph [0212], terminal device 200 performs sensing of each of resources configured by one subchannel and one sub-slot within the sensing window determined. Said sensing window is determined based on control information received from the base station, please see paragraph [0210]).
Thus it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to implement the sensing of resources within the sensing window (as disclosed in Shimezawa) into both Liu and Fong as a way of enabling the terminal device to determine whether or not a resource is in use (please see paragraphs [0212]-[0214] of Shimezawa). Therefore, by identifying the selected sidelink resource, occurrence of collision of data with another terminal device is reduced (please see paragraph [0200] of Shimezawa).
3. Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu in view of Fong.
As per claim 14:
Liu teaches a base station (BS) for wireless communication (see Figure 8, base station 800), comprising:
at least one memory (see Figure 8, memory 804);
and at least one processor coupled with the at least one memory (paragraph [0100], processor 802 may be coupled to memory 804) and configured to cause the BS to:
transmit a position characteristic configuration associated with a resource pool (see Figure 6, step 610, paragraph [0075], the BS 105 may communicate a sub-slot/slot configuration to the UE 115. Said sub-slot/slot configuration may include configured time resources and/or frequency resources (construed as said resource pool) associated with the sub-slots including a sub-slot RP and/or a slot RP, please see paragraph [0075]), wherein the position characteristic configuration includes a set of position characteristics (paragraph [0075] disclose the configuration may further include a starting subchannel index associated with the sub-slot and a number of subchannels associated with the sub-slot).
Liu does not clearly teach and each position characteristic indicates an availability level of a position in a sidelink (SL) slot for simultaneous sub-slot level transmission and slot level transmission.
Fong teaches and each position characteristic indicates an availability level of a position in a sidelink (SL) slot for simultaneous sub-slot level transmission and slot level transmission (see paragraph [0004], the SCI 1 may indicate bundles of PSSCH RBs to be used for the reverse transmissions on full slots and for minislots. Note: Examiner is reading said bundling of subchannels (such as PSSCH RBs) on the full slots and minislots as said simultaneous sub-slot level transmission and slot level transmission. As shown in figure 4 and paragraph [0113], first and second transmissions to the UE may occur on a PSSCH resource bundle 440 which are parallel transmissions and thus simultaneous transmission on both sub-slot and slot).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to implement the bundling of subchannels (as disclosed in Fong) into Liu as a way of improving the reliability for low latency and high transmissions such as those associated with the URLLC traffic (please see paragraph [0113] of Fong).
4. Claim(s) 2, 3, 17 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu in view of Fong and further in view of Shimezawa and Kim (US PG Pub. No. 2022/0022279).
As per claim 2:
Liu in view of Fong and further in view of Shimezawa in view of Pan teaches the UE of Claim 1 with the exception of:
wherein the position characteristic configuration is configured or pre-configured along with a slot pattern configuration or a sub-slot pattern configuration per resource pool.
Kim teaches wherein the position characteristic configuration is configured or pre-configured along with a slot pattern configuration or a sub-slot pattern configuration per resource pool (see paragraph [0146], the time domain sidelink resource allocation information include a temporal allocation periodicity of a sidelink resource, time resource location of the sidelink resource and time information may be represented in a form of a time resource indicator (TRI) or a bitmap, and the time information may be represented in units of a radio frame, a slot, a minislot or a symbol).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to implement the time domain sidelink resource allocation information (as disclosed in Kim) into both Liu, Fong and Shimezawa as a way of establishing direct communication between terminals from the configured sidelink resources (please see paragraph [0138] of Kim).
As per claim 3:
Liu in view of Fong and further in view of Shimezawa teaches the UE of Claim 1 with the exception of:
wherein the position is represented by a symbol within the SL slot or a sub-slot within the SL slot.
Kim teaches wherein the position is represented by a symbol within the SL slot or a sub-slot within the SL slot (see paragraph [0146], the time domain sidelink resource allocation information include a temporal allocation periodicity of a sidelink resource, time resource location of the sidelink resource and time information may be represented in a form of a time resource indicator (TRI) or a bitmap, and the time information may be represented in units of a radio frame, a slot, a minislot or a symbol).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to implement the time domain sidelink resource allocation information (as disclosed in Kim) into Liu, Fong and Shimezawa as a way of establishing direct communication between terminals from the configured sidelink resources (please see paragraph [0138] of Kim).
Claim 17 is rejected in the same scope as claim 2.
Claim 18 is rejected in the same scope as claim 3.
5. Claims 4 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu in view of Fong and further in view of Shimezawa and Wu (US PG Pub. No. 2023/0232431).
As per claim 4:
Liu in view of Fong and further in view of Shimezawa teaches the UE of Claim 1 with the exception of:
wherein the availability level of the position is indicated as one of the following:
an available position (AP) that indicates the position is available for sub- slot level transmission without affecting a slot level transmission in the SL slot;
or a non-available position (NAP) that indicates the position is not available for sub-slot level transmission without affecting a slot level transmission in the SL slot.
Wu teaches wherein the availability level of the position is indicated as one of the following:
an available position (AP) that indicates the position is available for sub- slot level transmission without affecting a slot level transmission in the SL slot (see paragraph [0173], the UE may determine the resource selection priority levels associated with available resources for sidelink signaling based on the resource reservation information of the available resources, a time domain location of the available resources or both, where the first resource is associated with the higher priority based on the slot being unreserved);
or a non-available position (NAP) that indicates the position is not available for sub-slot level transmission without affecting a slot level transmission in the SL slot (Note: Limitation(s) is/are recited in alternate form and thus not addressed by the prior art(s) of record).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to incorporate the allocation of resources according to priority levels (as disclosed in Wu) into Liu, Fong and Shimezawa as a way of preventing transmission gap from occurring in a channel occupancy time acquired for the sidelink communication (please see paragraph [0005] of Wu).
Claim 19 is rejected in the same scope as claim 4.
6. Claims 5 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu in view of Fong and further in view of Shimezawa and Wang (US PG Pub. No. 2022/0201657).
As per claim 5:
Liu in view of Fong and further in view of Shimezawa teaches the UE of Claim 1 with the exception of:
wherein the availability level of the position is indicated as one of a plurality of integers.
Wang teaches wherein the availability level of the position is indicated as one of a plurality of integers (see paragraph [0064], available slot list may include N integer values representing numbers of offset slots utilized by the UE to determine the select available slot. Each integer value is associated with a respective position in the available-slot list. Paragraph [0067] disclose the slot information may indicate the respective position of an integer value in the available-slot list).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to implement the slot information representing the respective position of an integer value in the available slot list (as disclosed in Wang) into Liu, Fong and Shimezawa as a way of enable the UE to select the available slot from the number of offsets (please see paragraph 64] of Wang).
Claim 20 is rejected in the same scope as claim 5.
7. Claims 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu in view of Fong and further in view of Shimezawa and Wang (US PG Pub. No. 2023/0112319), hereinafter referred to as Wang’319.
As per claim 6:
Liu in view of Fong and further in view of Shimezawa teaches the UE of Claim 1 with the exception of:
wherein the at least one processor is further configured to cause the UE to: determine a resource reservation pattern of a slot level candidate resource including a plurality of pattern blocks (PBs), and wherein each PB occupies one sub-slot of the slot level candidate resource and one sub-channel of the slot level candidate resource.
Wang’319 teaches wherein the at least one processor is further configured to cause the UE to: determine a resource reservation pattern of a slot level candidate resource including a plurality of pattern blocks (PBs), and wherein each PB occupies one sub-slot of the slot level candidate resource and one sub-channel of the slot level candidate resource (see paragraph [0058], the SCI-1 on a PSCCH may include priority indication, frequency resource assignment (e.g., with a quantity of bits based at least in part on a quantity of slot reservations and/or channels), a resource reservation period assignment and identified DMRS pattern).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to incorporate the use of sidelink control information (as disclosedin Wang’319) into Liu, Fong and Shimezawa as a way of providing an indication of one or more resources (i.e., in terms of resource bandwidth, time resources, frequency resources, and/or spatial resources) on the PSSCH (please see paragraph [0056] of Wang’319).
As per claim 7:
Liu in view of Fong and further in view of Shimezawa and Wang’319 teaches the UE of Claim 6.
Liu, Fong and Shimezawa do not wherein the resource reservation pattern includes a plurality of sets of information associated with the plurality of PBs, wherein each set of information is associated with a PB of the plurality of PBs and includes at least one of:
a reference signal received power (RSRP) value associated with the PB, which is determined based on measurement(s)measurements on resource(s)resources associated with reserved resource(s)resources containing the PB for sub-slot level transmission; or a priority associated with an intended sub-slot level transmission on the reserved resource(s)resources containing the PB for sub-slot level transmission.
Wang’319 teaches wherein the resource reservation pattern includes a plurality of sets of information associated with the plurality of PBs, wherein each set of information is associated with a PB of the plurality of PBs and includes at least one of:
a reference signal received power (RSRP) value associated with the PB, which is determined based on measurement(s)measurements on resource(s)resources associated with reserved resource(s)resources containing the PB for sub-slot level transmission (Note: Limitation(s) is/are recited in alternate form and thus not addressed by the prior art(s) of record); or a priority associated with an intended sub-slot level transmission on the reserved resource(s)resources containing the PB for sub-slot level transmission (see paragraph [0058], the SCI-1 on a PSCCH may include priority indication, frequency resource assignment (e.g., with a quantity of bits based at least in part on a quantity of slot reservations and/or channels), a resource reservation period assignment and identified DMRS pattern).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to incorporate the use of sidelink control information (as disclosedin Wang’319) into Liu, Fong and Shimezawa as a way of providing an indication of one or more resources (i.e., in terms of resource bandwidth, time resources, frequency resources, and/or spatial resources) on the PSSCH (please see paragraph [0056] of Wang’319).
8. Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu in view of Fong and further in view of Shimezawa and Wu (US 2023/0247590), hereinafter referred to as Wu’590.
As per claim 10:
Liu in view of Fong and further in view of Shimezawa in view of Pan teaches the UE of Claim 1 with the exception of:
wherein to perform the sensing-based resource selection or re-selection, the at least one processor is further configured to cause the UE to: select at least one slot level candidate resource in a selection window (SW).
Wu’590 teaches wherein to perform the sensing-based resource selection or re-selection, the at least one processor is further configured to cause the UE to: select at least one slot level candidate resource in a selection window (SW) (see paragraph [0071], disclose possible candidate resources may be associated with SL symbols and a sidelink window used to schedule specific time domain resources for sidelink transmission(s) based on energy levels and/or reservations detected during a sensing window).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to implement the teachings of Wu’590 into both Shimezawa and Pan. The motivation for doing so would be to eliminate the impact of collision by deferring transmission of one or more resources (please see paragraph [0047] of Wu’390).
9. Claims 8 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu in view of Fong and further in view of Shimezawa, Wang’319 and Li (US PG Pub. No. 2021/0219268).
As per claim 8:
Liu in view of Fong and further in view of Shimezawa and Wang’319 teaches the UE of Claim 6 with the exception of:
wherein the at least one processor is further configured to cause the UE to:
obtain configuration information for the resource reservation pattern, and wherein the configuration information includes at least one of:
a principle for calculating an available weight (AW) value for each PB of the slot level candidate resource;
or an AW threshold for each PB of the slot level candidate resource.
Li teaches wherein the at least one processor (see Figure 1F, processor 118) is further configured to cause the UE to:
obtain configuration information for the resource reservation pattern (see paragraph [0424], disclose determining the patterned of resources reserved for periodic transmissions), and wherein the configuration information includes at least one of:
a principle for calculating an available weight (AW) value for each PB of the slot level candidate resource (see paragraph [0424], for energy based measurements on the NR-PSCCH and/or NR-PSSCH, SL-RSRP, SL-RSRQ or SR RSSI is measured for each frequency unit per RB, per RBG or per subchannel. Similarly, the measurement on NR-PSCCH and/or NR-PSSCH may be based on certain time unit such as per symbol or symbols, per mini-slot or per slot);
or an AW threshold for each PB of the slot level candidate resource (see paragraph [0424], the measured SL-RSRP or SL-RSRQ are compared to a threshold value. If above the threshold, then it is determined that the resources are not available).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to implement the selection of resources based on measurement on patterned resources (as disclosed in Li) into Liu, Fong, Shimezawa and Wang’319 as a way of enabling the UE to transmit data on the selected resource without collision possible collision with other UEs (please see paragraph [0428] of Li).
As per claim 9:
Liu in view of Fong and further in view of Shimezawa, Wang’319 and Li teaches the UE of Claim 8.
The combination of Liu, Fong, Shimezawa and Wang’319 do not teach wherein the principle indicates that the AW value for each PB is calculated based on at least one of: a position characteristic of the PB which is determined based on position characteristic(s)characteristics of position(s)positions in the PB; an RSRP value associated with the PB; or a priority associated with the PB.
Li teaches teach wherein the principle indicates that the AW value for each PB is calculated based on at least one of: a position characteristic of the PB which is determined based on position characteristic(s)characteristics of position(s)positions in the PB (Note: Limitation(s) is/are recited in alternate form and thus not addressed by the prior art(s) of record);
an RSRP value associated with the PB (see paragraph [0424], for energy based measurements on the NR-PSCCH and/or NR-PSSCH, SL-RSRP, SL-RSRQ or SR RSSI is measured for each frequency unit per RB, per RBG or per subchannel. Similarly, the measurement on NR-PSCCH and/or NR-PSSCH may be based on certain time unit such as per symbol or symbols, per mini-slot or per slot);
or a priority associated with the PB (see paragraph [0428], UE selects a subset of resources as candidate resources from the set of resources based on for example, priority level for new data to be transmitted).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to implement the selection of resources based on measurement on patterned resources (as disclosed in Li) into Liu, Fong, Shimezawa and Wang’319 as a way of enabling the UE to transmit data on the selected resource without collision possible collision with other UEs (please see paragraph [0428] of Li).
10. Claims 11 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu in view of Fong and further in view of Shimezawa, Wu’590 and Liu (US PG Pub. No. 2023/0171774), hereinafter referred to as Liu’774.
As per claim 11:
Liu in view of Fong and further in view of Shimezawa and Wu’590 teaches the UE of Claim 10 with the exception of:
wherein the at least one slot level candidate resource is selected based on at least one of the following principles: prioritizing slot level candidate resources including resources reserved for sub-slot level transmissions on available positions;
prioritizing slot level candidate resources including resources reserved for sub-slot level transmissions associated with lower RSRP values;
or prioritizing slot level candidate resources including resources reserved for sub-slot level transmissions associated with lower priority levels.
Liu’774 teaches wherein the at least one slot level candidate resource is selected based on at least one of the following principles:
prioritizing slot level candidate resources including resources reserved for sub-slot level transmissions on available positions (Note: Limitation(s) is/are recited in alternate form and thus not addressed by the prior art(s) of record);
prioritizing slot level candidate resources including resources reserved for sub-slot level transmissions associated with lower RSRP values (see paragraph [0132], disclose when the projected RSRP is greater than a threshold the transmitter may not use the previously scheduled resources. Instead, the transmitter may retransmit an SCI in a previously reserved mini-slot resource in a control resource pool. Paragraph [0111] disclose a selectable resource is one with projected RSRP less than a preconfigured threshold);
or prioritizing slot level candidate resources including resources reserved for sub-slot level transmissions associated with lower priority levels (Note: Limitation(s) is recited in alternate form and thus not addressed by the prior art(s) of record).
Thus, it would have been obvious to person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to incorporate the selection of sidelink resources based on projected RSRP (as disclosed in Liu’774) into Liu, Fong, Shimezawa and Wu’590 as a way of enabling the terminal to avoid transmission in a position with collision (please see paragraph [0133] of Liu’774).
As per claim 12:
Liu in view of Fong and further in view of Shimezawa and Wu’590 teaches the UE of Claim 10 with the exception of:
wherein the at least one slot level candidate resource is selected based on one of the following principles:
selecting slot level candidate resources with AW values higher than an AW threshold for the slot level candidate resources;
selecting slot level candidate resources with AW values lower than the AW threshold for the slot level candidate resources;
selecting slot level candidate resources according to an increasing order of AW
values for all slot level candidate resources determined in the SW;
or selecting slot level candidate resources according to a decreasing order of AW values for all slot level candidate resources determined in the SW.
Liu’774 teaches wherein the at least one slot level candidate resource is selected based on one of the following principles:
selecting slot level candidate resources with AW values higher than an AW threshold for the slot level candidate resources (Note: Limitation(s) is recited in alternate form and thus not addressed by the prior art(s) of record);
selecting slot level candidate resources with AW values lower than the AW threshold for the slot level candidate resources (see paragraph [0132], disclose when the projected RSRP is greater than a threshold the transmitter may not use the previously scheduled resources. Instead, the transmitter may retransmit an SCI in a previously reserved mini-slot resource in a control resource pool. Paragraph [0111] disclose a selectable resource is one with projected RSRP less than a preconfigured threshold);
selecting slot level candidate resources according to an increasing order of AW
values for all slot level candidate resources determined in the SW (Note: Limitation(s) is recited in alternate form and thus not addressed by the prior art(s) of record);
or selecting slot level candidate resources according to a decreasing order of AW values for all slot level candidate resources determined in the SW (Note: Limitation(s) is recited in alternate form and thus not addressed by the prior art(s) of record).
Thus, it would have been obvious to person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to incorporate the selection of sidelink resources based on projected RSRP (as disclosed in Liu’774) into Liu, Fong, Shimezawa and Wu’590 as a way of enabling the terminal to avoid transmission in a position with collision (please see paragraph [0133] of Liu’774).
11. Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu in view of Fong and further in view of Shimezawa, Wu’590 and Miao (US PG Pub. No. 2024/0114543).
As per claim 13:
Liu in view of Fong and further in view of Shimezawa and Wu’590 teaches the UE of Claim 10 with the exception of:
wherein an AW value for a slot level candidate resource is a sum of AW values for all PBs within the slot level candidate resource, and the AW threshold for the slot level candidate resources equals an AW threshold for each PB multiplied by a number of PBs within each slot level candidate resource.
Miao teaches wherein an AW value for a slot level candidate resource is a sum of AW values for all PBs within the slot level candidate resource, and the AW threshold for the slot level candidate resources equals an AW threshold for each PB multiplied by a number of PBs within each slot level candidate resource (see paragraph [0093], the second terminal device 120 may take second resources from the resource pool in the off duration into consideration. In this case, the second terminal device 120 may determine a second number N2 of the second resources, for example, slots in off durations 712 and 714. The second terminal device 120 may determine a total number N0 of resources of the resource pool in the target time window including second resources and then determine sum of the first number N1 and a weighted second number α1N2 as a third number N3).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to implement the selection of resources in a resource pool by applying weights to the resources (as disclosed in Miao) as a way of achieving a balance between power consumptions and accuracies for measuring CBR (please see paragraph [0107] of Miao).
Conclusion
PRINCE AKWASI. MENSAH
Examiner
Art Unit 2474
/PRINCE A MENSAH/Examiner, Art Unit 2474
/Michael Thier/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2474