DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-7, 12-13, 15-19, 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by SHRIVASTAVA et al (US 2024/0057034 A1).
Regarding claim 1, SHRIVASTAVA et al (US 2024/0057034 A1) discloses a method performed by a wireless device (see, the UE receives sub-group information via a NAS signaling message comprises the allocated paging subgroup information, section 0056) in a wireless communication system (see, method and system for grouping paging in a wireless network, section 0031, fig. 2, network 100 that includes UE 100 coupled to gNodeB 200 and AMF entity 300), the method comprising: receiving a subgroup ID (see, paging subgroup ID allocated by the core network to the UE, section 0055-058) assigned by a core network (CN) (see, the UE receives paging sub-group information from the AMF entity (Core Network Controlled subgrouping method), section 0054, 0057-0058); receiving (see, the UE receives the paging sub-group information to the UE via RRC message from the gNB, section 0021, noted: the gNB implicitly provides coverage in a cell), from a serving cell (see, the paging-sub-groups for paging over the given cell or paging coverage area, section 0021, 0089, line 3-11+, 0059-receiving by the UE from cell that the UE is camped), a radio resource control (RRC) release message including a suspend configuration (see, the paging sub-group information to the UE includes a RRC message that includes one or a RRC release with suspend configuration, section 0021); determining that the serving cell does not support the subgroup ID assigned by the CN (see, determination that gNB does not support paging sub-group or the paging sub-groups for the UE identify is absent, section 0018, 0022-0023); discarding the subgroup ID assigned by the CN based on the determination (see, discarding of the paging message, section 0076); and entering an RRC_INACTIVE state (see, the configures itself in a sleep mode in response to detecting absence of the paging sub-group identity, section 0060, 0088, 0174, noted: the UE enters the RRC-Inactive mode, section 0080, noted: it is implied that the UE enters or transitions to the RRC inactive state based on the presence or absence of the paging sub-group identity, section 0059).
Regarding claim 3, SHRIVASTAVA ‘034 discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the method further comprises, receiving a paging early indication (PEI) (see, the paging sub-group information can be indicated on paging DDCI and/or early paging indication, section 0142) not including the discarded subgroup ID (see, the UE determines whether the paging sub-group information having at least paging early indication (PEI) to indicate a presence or absence of paging UE’s paging sub-group, section 0022-0023, 0025).
Regarding claim 4, SHRIVASTAVA ‘034 discloses the method of claim 3, wherein the method further comprises, receiving a paging message corresponding to the PEI (see, the UE determines whether the paging sub-group information having at least paging early indication (PEI) to indicate a presence or absence of paging UE’s paging sub-group, section 0022).
Regarding claim 5, SHRIVASTAVA ‘034 discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the subgroup ID is assigned by an Access and Mobility management Function (AMF) (see, the UE receives paging sub-group information from the AMF entity (Core Network Controlled subgrouping method), section 0054, 0057-0058); receiving (see, the UE receives the paging sub-group information to the UE via RRC message from the gNB, section 0021,via Non-Access-Stratum (NAS) signaling (see, allocated paging sub-group information to the UE using a NAS signaling, section 0056).
Regarding claim 6, SHRIVASTAVA ‘034 discloses the method of claim 5, wherein the method further comprises, forwarding, by a NAS layer of the wireless device, the received subgroup ID to a radio resource control (RRC) layer of the wireless device (see, the UE processes the paging message at a radio resource control (RRC) layer, the UE then determines whether the paging message is false (e.g., the paging message does not correspond to the UE), section 0008, 0103).
Regarding claim 7, SHRIVASTAVA ‘034 discloses the method of claim 6, wherein the subgroup ID assigned by the CN is discarded by the RRC layer (see, discarding of the paging message, section 0076).
Regarding claim 12, SHRIVASTAVA ‘034 discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the wireless device is in communication with at least one of a user equipment (see, the UE determines the PEI, PEI to indicate the a presence or absence of the paging UE’s paging sub-group in the paging occasion, section 0057, 0059), a network (see, sending, by the AMF entity, the allocated paging sub-group information to the UE and gNB, section 0049-0050, 055-0057), or an autonomous vehicle other than the wireless device.
Regarding claim 13, SHRIVASTAVA ‘034 discloses a wireless device (fig. 2 to fig. 3, UE 100 coupled to the AMF and the gNB, section 0144, 147-0148) in a wireless communication system (see, method and system for grouping paging in a wireless network, section 0031, fig. 2, network 100 that includes UE 100 coupled to gNodeB 200 and AMF entity 300) comprising: a transceiver (fig. 3, communicator 120 (e.g., RF transceiver) coupled to a memory 130, processor 110 and paging grouping controller 140, section 0144, 0147-0148) ; a memory (fig. 3, memory 130 coupled to a processor 110, section 0144, 0147-0148 ); and at least one processor (fig. 3, processor coupled to memory and the communicator, section 0144, 0147-0148) operatively coupled to the transceiver and the memory (fig. 3, processor coupled to memory and the communicator, section 0144, 0147-0148, the paging controller receives NAS message from the AMF entity 300 carrying paging sub-group identity to the UE, section 0145), and adapted to: receive (see, paging subgroup ID allocated by the core network to the UE, section 0055-058) a subgroup ID (see, paging subgroup ID allocated by the core network to the UE, section 0055-058)) assigned by a core network (CN) (see, the UE receives paging sub-group information from the AMF entity (Core Network Controlled subgrouping method), section 0054, 0057-0058); receive (see, the UE receives the paging sub-group information to the UE via RRC message from the gNB, section 0021, noted: the gNB implicitly provides coverage in a cell), from a serving cell (see, the paging-sub-groups for paging over the given cell or paging coverage area, section 0021, 0089, line 3-11+), a radio resource control (RRC) release message including a suspend configuration (see, the paging sub-group information to the UE includes a RRC message that includes one or a RRC release with suspend configuration, section 0021); determine that the serving cell does not support the subgroup ID assigned by the CN (see, determination that gNB does not support paging sub-group or the paging sub-groups for the UE identify is absent, section 0018, 0022-0023); discard the subgroup ID assigned by the CN based on the determination (see, discarding of the paging message, section 0076); and enter an RRC_INACTIVE state (see, the configures itself in a sleep mode in response to detecting absence of the paging sub-group identity, section 0060, 0088, 0174, noted: it is implied that the UE enters or transitions to the RRC inactive state based on the presence or absence of the paging sub-group identity, section 0059 ).
Regarding claim 15, SHRIVASTAVA ‘034 discloses the wireless device of claim 13, wherein the at least one processor is further adapted to, receive a paging early indication (PEI) (see, the paging sub-group information can be indicated on paging DDCI and/or early paging indication, section 0142) not including the discarded subgroup ID (see, the UE determines whether the paging sub-group information having at least paging early indication (PEI) to indicate a presence or absence of paging UE’s paging sub-group, section 0022-0023, 0025).
Regarding claim 16, SHRIVASTAVA ‘034 discloses the wireless device of claim 15, wherein the at least one processor is further adapted to, receive a paging message corresponding to the PEI (see, the UE determines whether the paging sub-group information having at least paging early indication (PEI) to indicate a presence or absence of paging UE’s paging sub-group, section 0022).
Regarding claim 17, SHRIVASTAVA ‘034 discloses the wireless device of claim 13, wherein the subgroup ID is assigned by an Access and Mobility management Function (AMF) (see, the UE receives paging sub-group information from the AMF entity (Core Network Controlled subgrouping method), section 0054, 0057-0058); receiving (see, the UE receives the paging sub-group information to the UE via RRC message from the gNB, section 0021)via Non-Access-Stratum (NAS) signaling (see, allocated paging sub-group information to the UE using a NAS signaling, section 0056).
Regarding claim 18, SHRIVASTAVA ‘034 discloses the wireless device of claim 17, wherein the at least one processor is further adapted to, forward, from a NAS layer of the wireless device, the received subgroup ID to a radio resource control (RRC) layer of the wireless device (see, the UE processes the paging message at a radio resource control (RRC) layer, the UE then determines whether the paging message is false (e.g., the paging message does not correspond to the UE), section 0008, 0103).
Regarding claim 19, SHRIVASTAVA ‘034 discloses the wireless device of claim 18, wherein the subgroup ID assigned by the CN is discarded by the RRC layer (see, discarding of the paging message, section 0076).
Regarding claim 26, SHRIVASTAVA ‘034 discloses a non-transitory computer-readable medium having stored (fig. 3, memory 130 coupled to a processor 110, section 0144, 0147-0148 ); thereon a plurality of instructions (fig. 3, stored instructions in the memory executed by the processor of the UE, section 0148-0149), which, when executed by a processor of a wireless device (fig. 3, stored instructions in the memory executed by the processor of the UE, section 0148-0149), cause the wireless device to perform operations (fig. 3, see, the processor that is configured to execute instructions stored in the memory and to perform various processes, section 0148-0149), the operations comprises,
receiving a subgroup ID assigned (see, paging subgroup ID allocated by the core network to the UE, section 0055-058)) by a core network (CN) (see, the UE receives paging sub-group information from the AMF entity (Core Network Controlled subgrouping method), section 0054, 0057-0058); receiving (see, the UE receives the paging sub-group information to the UE via RRC message from the gNB, section 0021, noted: the gNB implicitly provides coverage in a cell), from a serving cell (see, the paging-sub-groups for paging over the given cell or paging coverage area, section 0021, 0089, line 3-11+), a radio resource control (RRC) release message including a suspend configuration (see, the paging sub-group information to the UE includes a RRC message that includes one or a RRC release with suspend configuration, section 0021); determining that the serving cell does not support the subgroup ID assigned by the CN (see, determination that gNB does not support paging sub-group or the paging sub-groups for the UE identify is absent, section 0018, 0022-0023); discarding the subgroup ID assigned by the CN based on the determination (see, discarding of the paging message, section 0076); and entering an RRC_INACTIVE state (see, the configures itself in a sleep mode in response to detecting absence of the paging sub-group identity, section 0060, 0088, 0174, noted: it is implied that the UE enters or transitions to the RRC inactive state based on the presence or absence of the paging sub-group identity, section 0059, 0124).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
9. Claims 2, 8-11, 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SHRIVASTAVA et al (US 2024/0057034 A1) in view of Wu et al (US 2024/0323914 A1, Provisional application No. 63/221,186, filed on July 13, 2021).
Regarding claim 2, SHRIVASTAVA ‘034 discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the method further comprises, monitoring a paging occasion (see, the UE monitors the paging occasions (PO), section 0076) but fails to explicitly disclose monitoring a paging occasion after discarding the subgroup ID assigned by the CN.
Regarding claim 14, the wireless device of claim 13, wherein the at least one processor is further adapted to, monitor a paging occasion (see, the UE monitors the paging occasions (PO), section 0076) but fails to explicitly disclose monitoring a paging occasion after discarding the subgroup ID assigned by the CN.
However, Wu ‘914 from a similar field of endeavor (see, paging configuration sub-group for UE that is configured by a core network where the UE monitors the paging DCI and/or PEI in accordance the paging sub-group configuration, section 0008, see, cell selection and new cell reselects, section 0015-0016) discloses: monitoring a paging occasion after discarding the subgroup ID assigned by the CN (see, the UE attempts to receive the PDSCH accordance with the first paging DCI subsequent discarding, section 0069,noted: it is implied that the UE continues to detect and monitor paging message/occasions after dropping of the paging sub group ID, section 0072-0073, 0084).
Regarding claim 14, the wireless device of claim 13, wherein the at least one processor is further adapted to, monitor a paging occasion after discarding the subgroup ID assigned by the CN (see, the UE attempts to receive the PDSCH accordance with the first paging DCI subsequent discarding, section 0069,noted: it is implied that the UE continues to detect and monitor paging message/occasions after dropping of the paging sub group ID, section 0072-0073, 0084).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to implement the method and apparatus for managing paging subgrouping when the UE operates the in an RRC inactive or idle state as taught by Wu ‘914 into the method and apparatus for grouping of paging where the UE discard the paging message when the paging sub-group ID for UE is absent and when the gNB does not support the paging-sub-group of SHRIVASTAVA ‘034. The motivation would have been to provide a reduction in the UE power consumption.
Regarding claim 8, SHRIVASTAVA ‘034 discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the method further comprises, performing cell selection (see, enter the RRC-Inactive state and cell selection 0080) or reselection (see, cell Re-Selection based on paging sub-group , section 0080-0081); but fails to explicitly disclose: and selecting a neighbour cell different from the serving cell; wherein the neighbour cell supports the subgroup ID assigned by the CN.
However, Wu ‘914 from a similar field of endeavor (see, paging configuration sub-group for UE that is configured by a core network where the UE monitors the paging DCI and/or PEI in accordance the paging sub-group configuration, section 0008, see, cell selection and new cell reselects, section 0015-0016) discloses: and selecting a neighbour cell different from the serving cell (see, the UE selects, reselects or handover from one of the cells to the other, section 0048); wherein the neighbour cell supports the subgroup ID assigned by the CN (noted: the selection or the reselection of the call is based whether the cell of the base station supports paging subgrouping in the cell, section 0098, 0102-0103,0115 noted: as mentioned above, the paging sub-group for the UE is configured by the core network, section 0008, 0179-0180).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to implement the method and apparatus for managing paging subgrouping when the UE operates the in an RRC inactive or idle state as taught by Wu ‘914 into the method and apparatus for grouping of paging where the UE discard the paging message when the paging sub-group ID for UE is absent and when the gNB does not support the paging-sub-group of SHRIVASTAVA ‘034. The motivation would have been to provide a reduction in the UE power consumption.
SHRIVASTAVA ‘034 discloses all the claim limitations but fails to explicitly disclose:
Regarding claim 9, the method of claim 8, wherein the method further comprises, receiving a PEI not including the subgroup ID; and monitoring a paging corresponding the PEI.
Regarding claim 10, the method of claim 1, wherein the step of determining that the serving cell does not support the subgroup ID assigned by the CN comprises, receiving, from the serving cell, an indication informing that the serving cell does not support the subgroup ID assigned by the CN.
Regarding claim 11, the method of claim 1, wherein the step of determining that the serving cell does not support the subgroup ID assigned by the CN comprises, determining that one or more PEIs received from the serving cell does not include at least one subgroup ID assigned by the CN.
However, Wu ‘914 from a similar field of endeavor (see, paging configuration sub-group for UE that is configured by a core network where the UE monitors the paging DCI and/or PEI in accordance the paging sub-group configuration, section 0008, see, cell selection and new cell reselects, section 0015-0016) discloses: Regarding claim 9, the method of claim 8, wherein the method further comprises, receiving a PEI not including the subgroup ID (see, the UE attempts to receive or detect a PEU before attempting to receive a paging DCI, section 0072); and monitoring a paging corresponding the PEI (see, detects the paging DCI or the PEI based on paging subgroup ID, section 0073, (see, the cel does not support the paging sub grouping, the UE monitors the cell without using the configuration, section 0142-0143).
Regarding claim 10, the method of claim 1, wherein the step of determining that the serving cell does not support the subgroup ID assigned by the CN (see, the cel does not support the paging sub grouping, the UE monitors the cell without using the configuration, section 0142-0143) comprises, receiving (see, the UE receives paging from the RAN when the cell does not support the paging subgrouping, section 0155) , from the serving cell, an indication informing that the serving cell does not support the subgroup ID assigned by the CN (see, the UE receives paging via cell from the RAN without using the configuration for the paging subgroup when the cell does not support the paging subgrouping, section 0155).
Regarding claim 11, the method of claim 1, wherein the step of determining that the serving cell does not support the subgroup ID assigned by the CN (see, the cell does not support the paging sub grouping, the UE monitors the cell without using the configuration, section 0142-0143) comprises, determining that one or more PEIs received from the serving cell does not include at least one subgroup ID assigned by the CN (see, the discard the second paging DCI where PEI is associated with paging subgroup ID, section 0072-0073, 0084, 0091-0092) .
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to implement the method and apparatus for managing paging subgrouping when the UE operates the in an RRC inactive or idle state as taught by Wu ‘914 into the method and apparatus for grouping of paging where the UE discard the paging message when the paging sub-group ID for UE is absent and when the gNB does not support the paging-sub-group of SHRIVASTAVA ‘034. The motivation would have been to provide a reduction in the UE power consumption.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Wu et al (US 2024/0365282 A1, Provisional application No. 63/214,880, filed on June 25, 2021) discloses a UE that discards or ignores the paging DCI associated with the paging subgroup when the paging DCI is not intended for the UE (section 0076-0092) and core network that configured a paging subgroup for a UE (section 0007-0008).
NAGANO et al (US 2024/0073864 A1, Foreign Priority: May 7, 2021) discloses a terminal the disregards/skips the scheduling information for paging as PEI that does not include the subgroup assigned to the terminal or the PEI is not supported (section 0142-0144).
Kuang et al (US 2024/0172180 A1, Foreign Priority: July 28, 2021) discloses paging occasion indicated by paging early indication (PEI) allocated by a core network device, the terminal device can determine whether the identifier included in the paging message (section 0220, 0225, 0300-0301).
Kuang further discloses discarding of the group number if the network device does not support the first group manner (section 0032-0039, 0228).
/CANDAL ELPENORD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2473