Response to Applicant’s Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 04/14/2026 have been fully considered, but they are not deemed to be persuasive. Applicant argues that the cited references do not teach “the drawing parameter is related to brightness information of a pixel in the brush model.” Fu’s drawing parameter related to brightness information of a pixel is the intensity of the pixel (Fu, page 2770, column 2 - In our implementation, we employ the orthogonal SFS algorithm on the segmented brushstrokes. The brightness
equation used in the SFS algorithm is expressed as, I(x) = (1 + |Δh|²)½; I(x) is the intensity at pixel x, h(x) is the depth at pixel x). Also, since “the reflectivity value is used to represent a quantity of reflected contents, that is, a brightness of the image” (Applicant’s disclosure, [0046]), Faul’s specular reflections of a homogeneous illumination in the object obtained with Ward- and Fresnel-BRDF (e.g., figure 22, 2nd column) the local rescaling factor w) is a drawing parameter related to brightness information of a pixel in the brush model (Faul, page 22, column 2 - To
this end, all objects were rendered under homogeneous illumination and without a floor. The quotient of the mirror images generated with the two BRDFs gave the relevant weighting factor w (see second column in Figure 22)… The difference image shows very clearly that different parts of the environment are imaged with high intensity when using the Fresnel-BRDF instead of the Ward-BRDF. The high reflectance that is present at the edge of the objects when using the Fresnel-BRDF means that in the tested scene the structured floor is clearly imaged regardless of the illumination, which could have contributed to the high constancy regardless of shape and illumination). Accordingly, the claimed invention as represented in the claim 1 does not represent a patentable distinction over the art of record.
Claims 1-3, 8-9, 19-22, 24-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over FU et al (High Relief from Brush Painting) in view of Abraham et al (Fluid brush), CHU et al (Detail-Preserving Paint Modeling for 3D Brushes), and further in view of FAUL et al (Perceived roughness of glossy objects: The influence of Fresnel effects and correlated image statistics).
As per claim 1, Fu teaches the claimed "method for processing an effect image," comprising: "obtaining an image to be processed" (Fu, Fig. 1 - Overview of the relief generation pipeline (e.g., input image)); "determining a brush model to be rendered that corresponds to the image to be processed" (Fu, 3 OVERVIEW OF PROPOSED RESEARCH - As shown in Fig. 1, a given painting is first decomposed into a set of layers in terms of several specified palette color values (see the decomposed layers in Fig. 1). Second, a new palette color value is determined based on the unclassified regions. Third, the layers are recomputed accordingly in an iterative way (see the refined layers in Fig. 1). To make the regions represent separate brushstrokes, they can be further merged or split. The key point is to extract the overlapped brushstrokes. Overlapped strokes make colors blend. To tackle it, layer decomposition is employed here, which decomposes the painting into a set of translucent layers. In brush paintings, mostly a brushstroke only utilizes a single palette color. Layer decomposition helps classify brushstrokes separately into different layers based on the palette color, so that every layer contains the strokes which are well separated); and "rendering, according to a drawing parameter, a line to be rendered in the brush model to be rendered" (Fu, page 3, 2nd column - This method combines user indications and shape inflation to model smooth bas-relief shapes from line drawings. However, our research aims at paintings with brushstrokes, which are different from 2D line drawings. Line drawing based approaches are limited to using information contained in a line drawing, while a brushstroke does not only contain contour lines but also delineates a region, which contain information such as color, texture, opacity. It is crucial to identify and extract brushstrokes from a painting; 3 Overview of the proposed Research - We introduce the edge tangent flow (ETF) field and the coherent line [13] to enhance such features in paintings, which are in favor of preserving the completeness of the strokes in every layer and effectively correct the errors due to wrong layer decomposition... To tackle this challenge, an inpainting technique is employed here. The coherent line is further involved in the MSERs algorithm [4] again for extracting strokes, which both preserves stroke continuity and removes spurious edges within one layer). It is noted that Fu does not explicitly teach "obtaining the effect image corresponding to the image to be processed"; however, Fu's discussion and comparison to the prior arts, Fu suggests the step of "obtaining the effect image" as claimed (Fu, 7 RESULTS AND ANALYSIS, figures 16 (a) and (c) - our approach can better preserve the thin strokes and the fine details of brushstrokes; figures 17(a) and (c) - the overlapped brushstrokes with different colors can be extracted by layer decomposition, in which the information of each brushstrokes is retained; figures 18(a) and (c) - Instead of using the raw image as texture, the extracted brushstrokes with opacity values are mapped to the relief surface in our method, which can better show the features and inter-relations of brushstrokes on high relief) (see also Abraham, 4.1 Strokes and Touches - Since a stroke S is composed of a sequence of touches generated as point samples during stylus movement, an uneven distribution of touches could slow performance or lead to visual artifacts; Figure 8: The range of stylus controls based on pressure, tilt and brush stroke velocity, as well as a combination of these stroke controls; Figure 9: Effects in the Fluid Brush medium demonstrate the range of techniques artists discovered and used to create artwork in the Fluid Brush system; Chu, 3.1 Paint Simulation Pipeline - Figure 6: Imprinting a brush footprint along a stroke trajectory; Figure 12: User interface of our paint system).
Applicant’s arguments filed 04/14/2026 have been fully considered, but they are not deemed to be persuasive. Applicant argues that the cited references do not teach “the drawing parameter is related to brightness information of a pixel in the brush model.” Fu’s drawing parameter related to brightness information of a pixel is the intensity of the pixel (Fu, page 2770, column 2 - In our implementation, we employ the orthogonal SFS algorithm on the segmented brushstrokes. The brightness
equation used in the SFS algorithm is expressed as, I(x) = (1 + |Δh|²)½; I(x) is the intensity at pixel x, h(x) is the depth at pixel x). Also, since “the reflectivity value is used to represent a quantity of reflected contents, that is, a brightness of the image” (Applicant’s disclosure, [0046]), Faul’s specular reflections of a homogeneous illumination in the object obtained with Ward- and Fresnel-BRDF (e.g., figure 22, 2nd column) the local rescaling factor w) is a drawing parameter related to brightness information of a pixel in the brush model (Faul, page 22, column 2 – To this end, all objects were rendered under homogeneous illumination and without a floor. The quotient of the mirror images generated with the two BRDFs gave the relevant weighting factor w (see second column in Figure 22)… The difference image shows very clearly that different parts of the environment are imaged with high intensity when using the Fresnel-BRDF instead of the Ward-BRDF. The high reflectance that is present at the edge of the objects when using the Fresnel-BRDF means that in the tested scene the structured floor is clearly imaged regardless of the illumination, which could have contributed to the high constancy regardless of shape and illumination).
Thus, it would have been obvious, in view of Abraham, Chu, and Faul, to configure Fu's method as claimed by applying the effect image according to the drawing line of the brush model in which the drawing parameter is related to brightness information of a pixel in the brush model. The motivation is to simulating the art work of an artist using brush stroke on the digital environment.
Claim 2 adds into claim 1 "wherein the determining a brush model to be rendered that corresponds to the image to be processed comprises: determining, according to the image to be processed and a target contrast view, the brush model to be rendered" (Fu, 4.4 Brushstroke Completion - As shown in Fig. 4, some brushstrokes may have other opaque brushstrokes overlapped above, which bring about the gaps to break the brushstrokes within a layer. Obviously, to make brushstrokes complete and smooth, these gaps need to be filled. It is natural to involve user interventions, such as manual masks or sketches, which specify the gaps to be filled. Once the overlapped regions are determined, we employ the patch-based inpainting techniques [43] here, that is, within one layer, the gap is specified by a mask, while the patches are extracted from the outside of the gap in all layers and are utilized to create the patch dictionary). It is noted that Applicant's Disclosure, the claimed "target contrast view" is defined in paragraph [0039] - "The target contrast view may be a view having a preset gray value. Optionally, the preset gray value may be 0, that is, the target contrast view is a pure black view or a pure color view with a gray value close to 0."
Claim 3 adds into claim 1 "wherein the determining a brush model to be rendered that corresponds to the image to be processed comprises: taking a drawn trajectory on a display interface as the image to be processed" (Abraham, 4 Fluid Brush System, Figure 3 - The stroke S consists of a cubically interpolated sequence of touches t and segments S. Particles generated in S are constrained within a perpendicular distance of the stroke width (r), which is linearly interpolated between segments, to create smooth variation in stroke width); and "obtaining two adjacent pause points in the drawn trajectory, and determining, according to attributes of the pause point and the image to be processed, the brush model to be rendered; wherein the attributes of the pause point comprise pause duration and a pause instant at the pause point" (Abraham, Figure 8 - Stroke density and form can also be controlled by stylus velocity. To create the stroke example "stroke velocity stylus control" in Figure 8, the artist used a slow brush speed for the wider part of the stroke before accelerating into a final, fast motion to draw the stroke's tail. This results in the start of the stroke maintaining a wispier appearance with slower motion that thins into a denser line with a faster rate of flow; 3 Design Study: Traditional Brush Controls - Additional effects include the pause in brush movement, which creates the distinctive end caps of a stroke, or using the follow through for a strong line that trails off based on pressure. Applying more pressure can create a blossom of ink, which can fill in a region with a solid ink presence, and the water saturation of the brush leads to gradient effects within a stroke.. Some artists drew on calligraphic techniques to emulate the pause and follow through effects using similar brush controls to generate Fluid Brush's bleeding and calligraphic effects. In the "User Reaction" section, we show the visual appearance of these techniques and how artists incorporated them into art made within the Fluid Brush system). It is obvious that on Abraham's trajectory of the stroke S consisting of a sequence of touches t and segment S in which two consecutive touches ti and t(i+1) can be pause points associated with time ti and t(i+1) (e.g., Abraham, 6.1 User-generated Results - Bamboo relies almost entirely on bleeding to create the bold, segregated lines of the bamboo stalk. This emulates the pause used in ink painting to create the hard, stylized edges of this traditional painting subject). Thus, it would have been obvious, in view of Abraham, Chu and Faul, to configure Fu's method as claimed by applying the "pause" effect on the drawing line of the brush model. The motivation is to simulating the art work of an artist using brush stroke on the digital environment.
Claim 8 adds into claim 1, "wherein the drawing parameter comprises a drawing paint and a paint parameter, the drawing paint is a liquid paint, the liquid paint comprises ink or syrup" (Abraham, 4.1 Strokes and Touches - Since a stroke S is composed of a sequence of touches generated as point samples during stylus movement, an uneven distribution of touches could slow performance or lead to visual artifacts; Figure 9: Effects in the Fluid Brush medium demonstrate the range of techniques artists discovered and used to create artwork in the Fluid Brush system), and "the paint parameter comprises a paint depth of the liquid paint and a reflected light quantity of the paint consistent with the reflected light quantity information" (Abraham, 6.1 User-generated Results, Ghost takes a painterly scene, and uses soft strokes for the twinkling stars, while relying on more typical laminar strokes to generate swirling fog (which shows the "paint depth" (e.g., hidden behind the lady) of the liquid paint). Thus, it would have been obvious, in view of Abraham, Chu and Faul, to configure Fu's method as claimed by applying the "liquid" paint effect on the drawing line of the brush model. The motivation is to simulating the art work of an artist using brush stroke on the digital environment.
Claim 9 adds into claim 8 "wherein the rendering, according to a drawing parameter, a line to be rendered in the brush model to be rendered, and obtaining the effect image corresponding to the image to be processed" (Abraham, 4.1 Strokes and Touches - Since a stroke S is composed of a sequence of touches generated as point samples during stylus movement, an uneven distribution of touches could slow performance or lead to visual artifacts) comprise: "determining a gray value of a pixel in the line to be rendered and an illumination parameter corresponding to the image to be processed" (Abraham, Figure 3 - Particles generated in S are constrained within a perpendicular distance of the stroke width (r), which is linearly interpolated between segments, to create smooth variation in stroke width); "retrieving a corresponding drawing paint and a corresponding paint parameter according to the gray value and the illumination parameter; and rendering a corresponding pixel based on the drawing paint and the paint parameter, and obtaining the effect image" (Abraham, Figure 8: The range of stylus controls based on pressure, tilt and brush stroke velocity, as well as a combination of these stroke controls). Thus, it would have been obvious, in view of Abraham, Chu and Faul, to configure Fu's method as claimed by applying the "liquid" paint effect on the drawing line of the brush model. The motivation is to simulating the art work of an artist using brush stroke on the digital environment.
Claims 19, 21-22, 27 and 20, 29 claim an electronic device based on the method of claims 1-3, 8-9; therefore, they are rejected under a similar rationale.
Claim 24 adds into claim 22 "determine the gray information of a corresponding pixel through a scalar multiplication operation on the width change rate" (Abraham, Figure 3 - Particles generated in S are constrained within a perpendicular distance of the stroke width (r), which is linearly interpolated between segments, to create smooth variation in stroke width). It is noted that Abraham does not teach "a corresponding Fresnel value," however, Faul teaches that the Fresnel value is a well-known characteristic of perceived surface of painted object (Faul, page 2, Image generation with glossy surfaces - Besides the direction of the specularly reflected light, a second important aspect is the relative fraction of the incident light energy that is reflected in a certain direction. This fraction is described in optics by Fresnel's equations, which exist in two versions, one for metals and the other for nonconductors (dielectrics). Typical dielectrics are partially transparent materials such as glass, liquids, and plastics. In both classes of materials, Fresnel's equations depend on the refractive index and the angle of incidence of the light, but in very different ways). Thus, it would be obvious, in view of Faul, Chu, and Abraham, to configure Fu's method as claimed by assigning a Fresnel value on the liquid paint's property on the appearance of the drawing line of the brush model. The motivation is to simulating the art work of an artist using brush stroke on the digital environment.
Claim 25 adds into claim 22 "determine a dark color area and a light color area according to a gray value, and obtain a first predetermined drawing parameter to be fused that corresponds to the dark color area and a second predetermined drawing parameter to be fused that corresponds to the light color area" (Abraham, Figure 8 - the overlapped dark and light color areas; 6 User Reaction - (d) The blending effect is achieved by overlaying strokes from multiple brush types to create a unique set of textures and flow patterns. This is similar to dry brush in watercolor for creating variation in stroke texture); and "process the first drawing parameter to be fused and the second drawing parameter to be fused based on an interpolation operation, and determine the drawing parameter corresponding to a respective gray value" (Abraham, 4.1 Strokes and Touches - This space also allows us to smooth S's line quality by further subdividing the stroke using cubic interpolation. We determine subdivision placement by ensuring each subdivision segment is about r distance from its neighboring touches. For example, in Figure 3, if t0, t2 and t5 were the touches generated from the stylus, t1, t3 and t4 would be created during the subdivision process at regular intervals. Just as the positions of additional touches are based on cubic interpolation, SO are their segment parameters (shown in Table 1) to maintain a smooth, visually appealing line quality). Thus, it would have been obvious, in view of Abraham and Chu, to configure Fu's method as claimed by applying the overlapped paint effect on the drawing line of the brush model. The motivation is to simulating the art work of an artist using brush stroke on the digital environment.
Claim 26 adds into claim 24 "determine reflected light quantity information corresponding to gray information under different illumination parameters" (Abraham, Figure 3 - Particles generated in S are constrained within a perpendicular distance of the stroke width (r), which is linearly interpolated between segments, to create smooth variation in stroke width); and "update, based on the reflected light quantity information, the drawing parameter corresponding to respective gray information" (Faul, page 2, Image generation with glossy surfaces - Besides the direction of the specularly reflected light, a second important aspect is the relative fraction of the incident light energy that is reflected in a certain direction. This fraction is described in optics by Fresnel's equations, which exist in two versions, one for metals and the other for nonconductors (dielectrics). Typical dielectrics are partially transparent materials such as glass, liquids, and plastics. In both classes of materials, Fresnel's equations depend on the refractive index and the angle of incidence of the light, but in very different ways). Thus, it would be obvious, in view of Faul, Chu, and Abraham, to configure Fu's method as claimed by assigning a Fresnel value on the liquid paint's property on the appearance of the drawing line under different illumination parameters of the brush model. The motivation is to simulating the art work of an artist using brush stroke on the digital environment.
Claim 28 adds into claim 26 "determine a gray value of a pixel in the line to be rendered and an illumination parameter corresponding to the image to be processed" (Faul, page 2, Image generation with glossy surfaces - Besides the direction of the specularly reflected light, a second important aspect is the relative fraction of the incident light energy that is reflected in a certain direction. This fraction is described in optics by Fresnel's equations, which exist in two versions, one for metals and the other for nonconductors (dielectrics). Typical dielectrics are partially transparent materials such as glass, liquids, and plastics. In both classes of materials, Fresnel's equations depend on the refractive index and the angle of incidence of the light, but in very different ways); "retrieve a corresponding drawing paint and a corresponding paint parameter according to the gray value and the illumination parameter" (Abraham, Figure 3 - Particles generated in S are constrained within a perpendicular distance of the stroke width (r), which is linearly interpolated between segments, to create smooth variation in stroke width); and "render a corresponding pixel based on the drawing paint and the paint parameter, and obtain the effect image" (Faul, Figure 2. Example stimuli. Three shapes "blob", "blob2", and "sphere" were used, as well as an "indoor" and an "outdoor" illumination. All stimuli shown are rendered with Fresnel-BRDF and lowest roughness). Thus, it would be obvious, in view of Faul, Chu, and Abraham, to configure Fu's method as claimed by assigning a Fresnel value on the liquid paint's property on the appearance of the drawing line under different illumination parameters of the brush model. The motivation is to simulating the art work of an artist using brush stroke on the digital environment.
Claims 4-7, 23 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The allowable feature in claim 4 and its depended claims 5-7 (or similarly, claim 23) is "determining a line width change rate according to width information of the line in the brush model to be processed; determining a Fresnel value of a pixel according to a normal vector of the pixel in the brush model to be processed and a camera normal vector corresponding to the brush model to be processed; determining, according to the Fresnel value of the pixel and a corresponding width change rate, gray information of the pixel in the brush model to be processed; and determining the drawing parameter according to the gray information."
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PHU K NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2616