Detailed Action
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1 – 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without “significantly more”. Claims 1 – 16 are directed to Abstract Idea such as an idea standing alone such as an instantiated concept, pan or scheme, as well as a mental process (thinking) that can be performed in the human mind, or by a human using a pen and paper for example, “detecting one or more sidelink UEs that are available for sidelink positioning; determining a synchronization reference of each of the one or more sidelink UEs; and selecting sidelink UEs for the sidelink positioning based on the synchronization reference associated with each of the one or more sidelink UEs”.
The method claims 1 and 9 recites limitation, “detecting one or more sidelink UEs that are available for sidelink positioning; determining a synchronization reference of each of the one or more sidelink UEs; and selecting sidelink UEs for the sidelink positioning based on the synchronization reference associated with each of the one or more sidelink UEs”. Since the claim is directed to a process and a machine, which is one of the statutory categories of the invention (Step 1: YES).
The claim is then analyzed to determine whether it is directed to any judicial exception. The claim recites - detecting one or more sidelink UEs that are available for sidelink positioning - i. e., collecting information, a determining a synchronization reference of each of the one or more sidelink UEs - i. e., analyzing, and selecting sidelink UEs for the sidelink positioning based on the synchronization reference associated with each of the one or more sidelink UEs – i.e., analysis and outputting certain results of the obtaining and analysis steps are recited at a high level of generality such that they could practically be performed in the human mind, Electric Power Group v. Alstom, S.A., 830 F.3d 1350, 1353-54, 119 USPQ2d 1739, 1741-42 (Fed. Cir. 2016) is no more than an abstract idea i.e., mental process of "collecting information, analyzing it, and providing output," etc. (Step 2A: Prong One Abstract Idea=Yes).
The claim is then analyzed if it requires an additional elements or a combination of additional elements in the claim to apply, rely on, or use the judicial exception in a manner that imposes a meaningful limit on the judicial exception, such that the claim is more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the exception – i.e., limitation that are indicative of integration into a practical application: improving to the functioning of a computer or to any other technology or technical field. In the current claims, there is no additional elements that would integrate the abstract idea into a practical application (Step 2A: Prong Two Abstract Idea=Yes).
Next the claim as a whole is analyzed to determine if there are additional limitation recited in the claim such that the claim amount to significantly more than an abstract idea. The claim requires the additional limitation of a computer with the central processing unit, memory, a printer, an input and output terminal and a program. These generic computer components are claimed to perform the basic functions of storing, retrieving and processing data through the program that enables. In the current scenario, there are no additional elements that would amount to significantly more than the abstract idea. Therefore, the claim does not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea itself (Step 2B: No). Accordingly, the claim is not patent eligible.
The dependent claims 2 – 8 and 10 - 26 does not carry any positive limitation or step that recite within the scope of the claim and does not carry patentable weight they are also rejected for the same reasons as independent claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 7 – 9 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being unpatentable by
Hong US PGPub: US 2023/0198708 A1 Jun. 22, 2023.
Regarding claims 1, 9, Hong discloses,
a method performed by a user equipment UE for supporting sidelink positioning of the UE and a user equipment UE (Fig. 32/208) configured for supporting sidelink positioning of the UE, comprising: a wireless transceiver configured to communicate with entities in a wireless network (Fig. 32/208); at least one memory (Fig. 32/204); and at least one processor (Fig. 32/202)coupled to the wireless transceiver and the at least one memory (a technique for performing positioning based on a signal from an adjacent terminal in a wireless communication system. A terminal to perform positioning requests transmission of a positioning reference signal PRS from an adjacent terminal and the adjacent terminal transmits the PRS – paragraph 0239. A method of directly requesting a PRS from an adjacent UE through D2D communication. In the second situation, the UE may secure a PRS source through a method of requesting assistance data from other UEs in coverage through D2D communication to directly request PRSs from other UEs – paragraph 0241), comprising, wherein the at least one processor is configured to:
detecting one or more sidelink UEs that are available for sidelink positioning (the terminal transmits a first message requesting to addition of a PRS source. The first message includes at least one of an indicator for a request to add a PRS source, the number of necessary PRS sources, a cause of determining lack of PRS sources, or information related to recently received PRSs - e.g., the number of detected PRS sources, measurement results, etc., - Fig. 20/s2001, paragraph 0268. The terminal receives a second message including information related to another terminal to transmit the PRS. The second message may include at least one of identification information of at least one other terminal to operate as a PRS source or information related to PRS transmission – Fig. 20/s2003, paragraph 0269. The terminal receives at least one PRS from at least one other terminal based on the information included in the second message – Fig. 20/s2005, paragraph 0271. the terminal performs an operation for positioning based on the received PRS – Fig. 20/s2007, paragraph 0271);
determining a synchronization (sidelink synchronization signal SLSS and synchronization information – paragraphs 0148, 0149, 0151, 0154) reference of each of the one or more sidelink UEs (although not shown in FIG. 20, the second message includes information related to PRS source candidates, and the terminal may select at least one PRS source from among the PRS source candidates – paragraph 0272. In the examples described with reference to FIGS. 17 and 18, it may be determined whether the terminal is located within a certain distance from the RSU in order to select an adjacent terminal to operate as a PRS source - e.g., the terminal 1710 of FIG. 17 and the first adjacent terminal 1812-1 of FIG. 18. Whether it is located within a certain distance from the RSU may be evaluated in various ways. For example, whether it is located within a certain distance from the RSU, as shown in FIGS. 19A and 19B below, may be evaluated based on RSRP or timing advance TA – paragraph 0265. FIGS. 19A and 19B illustrate examples of criteria for positioning reference signal PRS source selection according to an embodiment of the present disclosure. Referring to FIGS. 19A and 19B, a reference value 1910 for RSRP or a reference value 1920 for TA is set. The reference value 1910 or 1920 may be set to RSRP or TA related to an adjacent reference terminal - hereinafter referred to as a “reference terminal” - e.g., the terminal 1710 of FIG. 17 and the first adjacent terminal 1812-1 of FIG. 18. In a case of a terminal having RSRP or TA with a difference from the reference value 1910 or 1920 less than or equal to a threshold, a distance from the RSU to the terminal may be treated as similar to a distance from the RSU to the reference terminal – Figs. 17, 18, 18A, 19B, paragraph 0266); and
selecting sidelink UEs for the sidelink positioning based on the synchronization reference associated with each of the one or more sidelink UEs (sidelink synchronization signal SLSS and synchronization information – paragraphs 0148, 0149, 0151, 0154. The UE may (re)select a synchronization reference, and the UE may obtain synchronization from the synchronization reference – paragraph 0163. The UE may autonomously select or schedule a resource for SL transmission. For example, the UE may perform SL communication by autonomously selecting a resource within a configured resource pool. For example, the UE may autonomously select a resource within a selective window by performing a sensing and resource (re)selection procedure – paragraph 0170. A UE utilizes measurement timings of DL signals received from multiple TPs including an eNB, ng-eNB, and a PRS-dedicated TP. The UE measures the timings of the received DL signals using positioning assistance data received from a location server. The location of the UE may be determined based on the measurement results and the geographical coordinates of neighboring TPs – paragraph 0220).
Regarding claims 7, 15, Hong discloses,
the method of claim 1, further comprising: receiving a synchronization reference source with positioning measurements from each of the sidelink UEs; and determining an estimated position of the UE (the location of the UE may be determined based on the measurement results and the geographical coordinates of neighboring TPs – paragraph 0220) based at least in part on the positioning measurements and the synchronization reference source for each of the sidelink UEs (sidelink synchronization signal SLSS and synchronization information – paragraphs 0148, 0149, 0151, 0154. The UE may (re)select a synchronization reference, and the UE may obtain synchronization from the synchronization reference – paragraph 0163. The UE may autonomously select or schedule a resource for SL transmission. For example, the UE may perform SL communication by autonomously selecting a resource within a configured resource pool. For example, the UE may autonomously select a resource within a selective window by performing a sensing and resource (re)selection procedure – paragraph 0170. A UE utilizes measurement timings of DL signals received from multiple TPs including an eNB, ng-eNB, and a PRS-dedicated TP. The UE measures the timings of the received DL signals using positioning assistance data received from a location server. The location of the UE may be determined based on the measurement results and the geographical coordinates of neighboring TPs – paragraph 0220. Here, the location of the UE may be determined based on the measurement results and the geographical coordinates of neighboring TPs – i.e., an estimated position of the UE).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 – 6, 10 – 14 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
Hong US PGPub: US 2023/0198708 A1 Jun. 22, 2023 and in view of
Thomas US PGPub: US 2023/0296752 A1 Sep. 21, 2023.
Regarding claims 2, 10, Hong discloses all the claimed features,
but, does not disclose, the method of claim 1, wherein selecting the sidelink UEs for the sidelink positioning based on the synchronization reference associated with each of the one or more sidelink UEs comprises selecting sidelink UEs that have a common synchronization reference with a higher priority than sidelink UEs that have different synchronization references.
Thomas teaches, sidelink timing-based positioning, where a user equipment UE apparatus includes a target UE configured to receive sidelink “SL” positioning reference signals “SL-PRS” from a reference node and two or more additional UEs, measure SL reference signal timing differences “RSTDs” between the two or more additional UEs with respect to the reference node, and determine an estimated location of the target UE based on a time-difference-of-arrival “TDOA” positioning technique using the SL RSTDs (ABSTRACT, Figs. 1, 14, 15, paragraphs 0002, 0004 - 0006).
The common synchronization source may be configured based on a priority index and network coverage. The status of network coverage may be in-coverage, partial coverage, out-of-coverage for the reference nodes 620, 720 and/or mobile anchor/non-anchor nodes 610, 615, 710, 715. Table 8 below shows exemplary details related to the priority-to-synchronization-source mapping to be implemented among UEs involved in performing SL-TDOA/SL timing-based positioning methods (paragraph 0145).
Determining an estimated location of a target UE to be localized using one or more sidelink timing-based positioning techniques selected from a first sidelink timing-based positioning technique and a second sidelink timing-based positioning technique (paragraph 0006).
The target device selects a reference resource per TRP and compiles the measurements per TRP based on the selected reference resource (paragraph 0104).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify a technique for performing positioning based on a signal from an adjacent terminal in a wireless communication system oh Hong (Hong, paragraphs 0239, 0241) wherein the system of Hong, would have incorporated, the common synchronization source may be configured based on a priority index and network coverage (Thomas, ABSTRACT, Figs. 1, 14, 15, paragraphs 0006, 0104, 0145) for various existing systems lack adequate positioning features for sidelink “SL” interfaces (Thomas, paragraph 0003).
Regarding claims 3, 11, Hong discloses,
sidelink positioning with the selected sidelink UEs, comprising: performing first positioning measurements for a first set of sidelink UEs that have the common synchronization reference (sidelink synchronization signal SLSS and synchronization information – paragraphs 0148, 0149, 0151, 0154. The UE may (re)select a synchronization reference, and the UE may obtain synchronization from the synchronization reference – paragraph 0163. The UE may autonomously select or schedule a resource for SL transmission. For example, the UE may perform SL communication by autonomously selecting a resource within a configured resource pool. For example, the UE may autonomously select a resource within a selective window by performing a sensing and resource (re)selection procedure – paragraph 0170. A UE utilizes measurement timings of DL signals received from multiple TPs including an eNB, ng-eNB, and a PRS-dedicated TP. The UE measures the timings of the received DL signals using positioning assistance data received from a location server. The location of the UE may be determined based on the measurement results and the geographical coordinates of neighboring TPs – paragraph 0220),
but, does not disclose, the method of claim 2, further comprising performing performing second positioning measurements for a second set of sidelink UEs that have a second common synchronization reference after finishing the first positioning measurements.
Thomas teaches, sidelink timing-based positioning, where a user equipment UE apparatus includes a target UE configured to receive sidelink “SL” positioning reference signals “SL-PRS” from a reference node and two or more additional UEs, measure SL reference signal timing differences “RSTDs” between the two or more additional UEs with respect to the reference node, and determine an estimated location of the target UE based on a time-difference-of-arrival “TDOA” positioning technique using the SL RSTDs (ABSTRACT, Figs. 1, 14, 15, paragraphs 0002, 0004 - 0006).
The common synchronization source may be configured based on a priority index and network coverage. The status of network coverage may be in-coverage, partial coverage, out-of-coverage for the reference nodes 620, 720 and/or mobile anchor/non-anchor nodes 610, 615, 710, 715. Table 8 below shows exemplary details related to the priority-to-synchronization-source mapping to be implemented among UEs involved in performing SL-TDOA/SL timing-based positioning methods (paragraph 0145).
Determining an estimated location of a target UE to be localized using one or more sidelink timing-based positioning techniques selected from a first sidelink timing-based positioning technique and a second sidelink timing-based positioning technique (paragraph 0006).
The target device selects a reference resource per TRP and compiles the measurements per TRP based on the selected reference resource (paragraph 0104).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify a technique for performing positioning based on a signal from an adjacent terminal in a wireless communication system oh Hong (Hong, paragraphs 0239, 0241) wherein the system of Hong, would have incorporated, the common synchronization source may be configured based on a priority index and network coverage (Thomas, ABSTRACT, Figs. 1, 14, 15, paragraphs 0006, 0104, 0145) for various existing systems lack adequate positioning features for sidelink “SL” interfaces (Thomas, paragraph 0003).
Regarding claims 4, 12, Hong discloses all the claimed features,
but, does not disclose, the method of claim 1, wherein selecting the sidelink UEs for the sidelink positioning based on the synchronization reference associated with each of the one or more sidelink UEs is based on measurement priority levels associated with different types of synchronization references.
Thomas teaches, sidelink timing-based positioning, where a user equipment UE apparatus includes a target UE configured to receive sidelink “SL” positioning reference signals “SL-PRS” from a reference node and two or more additional UEs, measure SL reference signal timing differences “RSTDs” between the two or more additional UEs with respect to the reference node, and determine an estimated location of the target UE based on a time-difference-of-arrival “TDOA” positioning technique using the SL RSTDs (ABSTRACT, Figs. 1, 14, 15, paragraphs 0002, 0004 - 0006).
The common synchronization source may be configured based on a priority index and network coverage. The status of network coverage may be in-coverage, partial coverage, out-of-coverage for the reference nodes 620, 720 and/or mobile anchor/non-anchor nodes 610, 615, 710, 715. Table 8 below shows exemplary details related to the priority-to-synchronization-source mapping to be implemented among UEs involved in performing SL-TDOA/SL timing-based positioning methods (paragraph 0145).
Determining an estimated location of a target UE to be localized using one or more sidelink timing-based positioning techniques selected from a first sidelink timing-based positioning technique and a second sidelink timing-based positioning technique (paragraph 0006).
The target device selects a reference resource per TRP and compiles the measurements per TRP based on the selected reference resource (paragraph 0104).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify a technique for performing positioning based on a signal from an adjacent terminal in a wireless communication system oh Hong (Hong, paragraphs 0239, 0241) wherein the system of Hong, would have incorporated, the common synchronization source may be configured based on a priority index and network coverage (Thomas, ABSTRACT, Figs. 1, 14, 15, paragraphs 0006, 0104, 0145) for various existing systems lack adequate positioning features for sidelink “SL” interfaces (Thomas, paragraph 0003).
Regarding claims 5, 13, Hong discloses all the claimed features,
but, does not disclose, the method of claim 4, wherein the measurement priority levels are defined by priority levels for sidelink data transmission.
Thomas teaches, sidelink timing-based positioning, where a user equipment UE apparatus includes a target UE configured to receive sidelink “SL” positioning reference signals “SL-PRS” from a reference node and two or more additional UEs, measure SL reference signal timing differences “RSTDs” between the two or more additional UEs with respect to the reference node, and determine an estimated location of the target UE based on a time-difference-of-arrival “TDOA” positioning technique using the SL RSTDs (ABSTRACT, Figs. 1, 14, 15, paragraphs 0002, 0004 - 0006).
The common synchronization source may be configured based on a priority index and network coverage. The status of network coverage may be in-coverage, partial coverage, out-of-coverage for the reference nodes 620, 720 and/or mobile anchor/non-anchor nodes 610, 615, 710, 715. Table 8 below shows exemplary details related to the priority-to-synchronization-source mapping to be implemented among UEs involved in performing SL-TDOA/SL timing-based positioning methods (paragraph 0145).
Determining an estimated location of a target UE to be localized using one or more sidelink timing-based positioning techniques selected from a first sidelink timing-based positioning technique and a second sidelink timing-based positioning technique (paragraph 0006).
The target device selects a reference resource per TRP and compiles the measurements per TRP based on the selected reference resource (paragraph 0104).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify a technique for performing positioning based on a signal from an adjacent terminal in a wireless communication system oh Hong (Hong, paragraphs 0239, 0241) wherein the system of Hong, would have incorporated, the common synchronization source may be configured based on a priority index and network coverage (Thomas, ABSTRACT, Figs. 1, 14, 15, paragraphs 0006, 0104, 0145) for various existing systems lack adequate positioning features for sidelink “SL” interfaces (Thomas, paragraph 0003).
Regarding claims 6, 14, Hong discloses,
the method of claim 4, wherein the measurement priority levels are different for different positioning methods (a system referred to differently accord to an applied system standard – i. e., LTE or LTE-A standard, E-UTRAN – paragraph 0106. In an NR system, OFDM-A numerologies – paragraph 0130. The UE may measure a DL signal through sources such as the NG-RAN and E-UTRAN, different global navigation satellite systems GNSSes, a terrestrial beacon system TBS, a wireless local area network WLAN access point, a Bluetooth beacon, and a UE barometric pressure sensor – paragraph 0205).
Regarding claims 8, 16, Hong discloses,
the method of claim 1, further comprising: determining a synchronization quality for each of the selected sidelink UEs (sidelink synchronization signal SLSS and synchronization information – paragraphs 0148, 0149, 0151, 0154. The receiving UE may receive an RS from the transmitting UE and measure the channel state of the transmitting UE based on the RS. Further, the receiving UE may report CSI to the transmitting UE. SL-related measurement and reporting may include measurement and reporting of a CBR and reporting of location information. Examples of CSI for V2X include a channel quality indicator CQI, a precoding matrix index PMI, a rank indicator RI, an RSRP, an RSRQ, a path gain/pathloss, an SRS resource indicator SRI, a CSI-RS resource indicator CRI, an interference condition, a vehicle motion, and the like – paragraph 0186. The terminal may determine that addition of the PRS source is necessary based on measurement of the signal. For example, three or more PRS sources that provide PRSs with the value dB of signal quality - e.g., SNR, SINR, RSRP, etc., greater than or equal to a first threshold – paragraph 0291),
but, does not disclose, selecting a positioning method for the sidelink positioning with the sidelink UEs based on the synchronization quality for each of the sidelink UEs.
Thomas teaches, sidelink timing-based positioning, where a user equipment UE apparatus includes a target UE configured to receive sidelink “SL” positioning reference signals “SL-PRS” from a reference node and two or more additional UEs, measure SL reference signal timing differences “RSTDs” between the two or more additional UEs with respect to the reference node, and determine an estimated location of the target UE based on a time-difference-of-arrival “TDOA” positioning technique using the SL RSTDs (ABSTRACT, Figs. 1, 14, 15, paragraphs 0002, 0004 - 0006).
The common synchronization source may be configured based on a priority index and network coverage. The status of network coverage may be in-coverage, partial coverage, out-of-coverage for the reference nodes 620, 720 and/or mobile anchor/non-anchor nodes 610, 615, 710, 715. Table 8 below shows exemplary details related to the priority-to-synchronization-source mapping to be implemented among UEs involved in performing SL-TDOA/SL timing-based positioning methods (paragraph 0145).
Determining an estimated location of a target UE to be localized using one or more sidelink timing-based positioning techniques selected from a first sidelink timing-based positioning technique and a second sidelink timing-based positioning technique (paragraph 0006).
The target device selects a reference resource per TRP and compiles the measurements per TRP based on the selected reference resource (paragraph 0104).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify a technique for performing positioning based on a signal from an adjacent terminal in a wireless communication system oh Hong (Hong, paragraphs 0239, 0241) wherein the system of Hong, would have incorporated, the common synchronization source may be configured based on a priority index and network coverage (Thomas, ABSTRACT, Figs. 1, 14, 15, paragraphs 0006, 0104, 0145) for various existing systems lack adequate positioning features for sidelink “SL” interfaces (Thomas, paragraph 0003).
The prior arts made of record and not relied upon are considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure.
Khoryaev US PGPub: US 2021/0176723 A1 Jun. 10, 2021.
The UE may attempt to detect synchronization signals, including Long Term Evolution (LTE) synchronization signals from eNBs, New Radio (NR) synchronization signals from gNBs, and sidelink synchronization signals (SLSSs) from other UEs. The UE may prioritize an LTE synchronization signal over an SLSS, and may prioritize an NR synchronization signal over an SLSS. If the UE does not detect an LTE synchronization signal or an NR synchronization signal, the UE may select an SLSS. The UE may prioritize an SLSS from a UE that is directly synchronized to an eNB or a gNB over an SLSS from another UE that is indirectly synchronized to an eNB or a gNB.
Tadayon US PGPub: US 2021/0160712 A1 May 27, 2021.
Systems and methods for estimating locations of signal shadowing obstructions in a wireless communication network are disclosed. The method involves at a network equipment, receiving from User Equipments (UEs), an identification of neighboring UEs from which the UEs have received a reference signal via a non-line-of-sight (NLoS) sidelink transmission. The method also involves estimating locations of signal shadowing obstructions based on location information of UEs associated with the NLoS sidelink transmissions, and configuring communications between the network equipment and at least one UE based on an estimated location of at least one signal shadowing obstruction.
Gangakhedkar US PGPub: US 2019/0239181 A1 Aug. 1, 2019.
A node comprises a location unit determines that the node requires positioning support from the anchor nodes, and a transmitter to transmit a request for positioning support from the anchor nodes. The node comprises a selection unit to select a set of the plurality of anchor nodes for providing positioning support following the transmission of the request. It also causes the transmitter to transmit an instruction to each anchor node in the set that instructs that anchor node to provide positioning support to the node via a sidelink between that respective anchor node and the node.
Saur US PGPub: US 2019/0230618 A1 Jul. 15, 2019.
An improved radio-based positioning estimation of a target user equipment using an observed time difference of arrival. A method, in certain embodiments, may include receiving at a target user equipment from a network entity a list comprising a plurality of supporting user equipment and a plurality of base stations. The method may also include receiving at the target user equipment supporting positioning reference signals via sidelink transmission from the plurality of supporting user equipment and positioning reference signals from the plurality of base stations. In addition, the method may include taking observed time difference of arrival measurements or determining a position estimate at the target user equipment based on the positioning reference signals and the supporting positioning reference signals.
Contact Information
/NIMESH PATEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2642