Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 4, 6, 8, 9, 11, and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 20220196843 A1 (LI; Meijie et al.)
Per claims 1, 8, and 13, Li teaches a device for enhancing the light transmittance of glass [see paragraph 0012: “The present invention proposes a solution for reducing the fraction of a radiation emitted by a LiDAR, which is reflected on the inner surface of a transparent pane having a predefined slope”], in a vehicle [see paragraph 0013] comprising: a lidar arranged inside a vehicle [2, see paragraph 0030: “FIG. 3: shows various embodiments of an interior of an automotive vehicle provided with an assembly of a LiDAR device according to one embodiment of the present invention” wherein the LiDaR inherently comprises of a light transmitter and light receiver], and a wedge-shaped prism configured to be tightly fitted to the inside surface of the vehicle glass [3 and on the same side as the LiDaR, see figure 3], wherein the thicker end of the wedge-shaped prism is arranged at the lower side of the inside surface of the vehicle glass [see figure 3], and the emergent light of the lidar is emitted and returned through the wedge-shaped prism and the vehicle glass [see IR], wherein the wedge-shaped prism has the same or similar refractive index as the vehicle glass [see paragraph 0089: “[0089] The anti-reflection unit (3) has a refractive index, n3. Preferably, the refractive index n3 of the anti-reflection unit is close to, more preferably equal to the refractive index n1 of the pane (1). In particular, n3 can be comprised within ±10% of n1 (i.e., n3=n1 (1±5%), preferably n3=n1.”], wherein if the refractive indices of the vehicle glass and the wedge-shaped prism are different, a transition layer is provided therebetween to improve the matching between the refractive indices of the wedge-shaped prism and the vehicle glass [see paragraph 0100: “standard anti-reflection coatings are normally optimized for normal incidence (i.e., incident angle φ=0), which are normally not suitable for use in a pane having a tilting angle α1>10° and generally of the order of 50 to 70° (or more) for automotive front windscreens or rear windows. With a preferred incident angle φ=0° between the incident axis (i0) and the surface (32), a standard anti-reflection coating can efficiently be applied onto the surface (32) of the anti-reflection unit (3). For example, an anti-reflection layer may include one of a low refractive index porous silica, or a laminate of several layers of dielectric material alternating layers having low and high refractive indices and terminating in a layer having a low refractive index, or mixtures thereof.” and see paragraph 0101: “The interface must be such as to disrupt as little as possible the trajectory of a radiation between the anti-reflection unit and the transparent pane.”], the light transmitter is disposed at a position to transmit light through the wedge-shaped prism and the glass [see figure 3], the light receiver is disposed at a position to receive return light through the glass and the wedge-shaped prism [inherent as the LiDaR is position on the inside of the vehicle with the wedge and glass in between the outside and the LiDaR], and the transition layer is configured to have optical characteristics that reduce a degree of mismatching between refractive indices of the wedge-shaped prism and the glass [see paragraphs 0100-0101].
Per claims 4 and 9, Li teaches the device according to claim 1, wherein the wedge-shaped prism is arranged on the inside surface of the vehicle glass by means of gluing [see paragraph 0101: “The anti-reflection unit can be coupled to the transparent pane by mechanical fastening means, by adhesive means, or by autoclaving or any suitable means.”]
Per claims 6 and 11, Li teaches the device according to claim 1, wherein the surface of the wedge-shaped prism is coated with an antireflection film [31].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5, 7, 10, and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20220196843 A1 (LI; Meijie et al.)
Per claims 5 and 10, Li teaches the device according to claim 1, wherein the included angle between the wedge-shaped prism and the upper side of the inside surface of the vehicle glass is greater than zero and lower than 30 degrees [see paragraph 0113: “a tilting angle of at least 10° with the vertical, preferably of at least 50°”]. Li lacks the explicit claimed range. However, the courts have held overlapping ranges to be a least obvious. Reduced optical noise would have been an expected benefit. Therefore, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Per claims 7 and 12, Li teaches the device according to claim 1, but lacks the wedge-shaped prism is configured such that an incident angle of the emergent light entering the wedge- shaped prism is different from a Brewster angle, thereby avoiding or reducing energy loss caused by polarization of the emergent light. However, Li teaches at paragraph 0101 that “The anti-reflection unit (3) is coupled to the transparent pane (1) by forming an interface between the interfacial surface (31) and the inner surface (1i). The interface must be such as to disrupt as little as possible the trajectory of a radiation between the anti-reflection unit and the transparent pane. The anti-reflection unit can be coupled to the transparent pane by mechanical fastening means, by adhesive means, or by autoclaving or any suitable means.” Base on stated goal that to disrupt as little as possible the trajectory of a radiation between the anti-reflection unit and the transparent pane, official notice is taken that it would have been a matter of routine skill in the art to configure the wedge-shaped prism is configured such that an incident angle of the emergent light entering the wedge- shaped prism is different from a Brewster angle, thereby avoiding or reducing energy loss caused by polarization of the emergent light to disrupt as little as possible light output. Therefore, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 7/20/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Li teaches at paragraph 0101 teaches that the antireflection layer (applicant’s transition layer) is configured “to disrupt as little as possible the trajectory of a radiation between the anti-reflection unit and the transparent pane.” As such, to achieve the stated goal, the antireflection layer would have been configured to reduce a degree of mismatching between the refractive indices of the wedge-shaped prism and the vehicle glass.
/JAMES A DUDEK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2871