Priority
This application claims benefit of priority under 35 U.S.C. §119 (e) from Korean application No 10-2022-0013399 filed 01/28/2022 and PCT/KR2023/001351 filed 01/03/2023.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 7/24/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the Office. Please note that the Office has included the application number, filing date, and art unit number on the IDS.
Claim Interpretation
Regarding claim 1, the limitations “Lesion reading unit” and “readout information generating unit” are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C 112(f) because they use a generic placeholder couple with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to achieve the function.
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: Lesion reading unit” and “readout information generating unit” of claim 1.
Lesion reading unit” the lesion readout unit 20.
readout information generating unit” readout information generation unit 30.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3,6-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Beomhee Park et al (2021/0407637) in view of Keum-Yong Oh et al (2014/0191753)
Regarding claim 1 and 6 , Beomhee Park et al. discloses “A lesion reading unit that estimates a presence of lesion from a plurality of medical images by reading medical image information including the plurality of medical images captured of a patient's body, and detects a position and information of the estimated lesion;”
See paragraph [0056] The processor 120 may display one or more lesion information detected from the medical data on a user interface. The lesion information may be displayed in various schemes which are not limited. For example, the lesion information may be expressed as a color based heat map, a shape based heat map, etc. The color based heat map may be a method that distinguishes and displays parts having a high probability of corresponding to the lesion and parts having a low probability of corresponding to the lesion with different colors among regions of the medical data. For example, among the regions included in the medical data, a region having a high probability of belonging to the lesion may be expressed as a red color, a region having a low probability of belonging to the lesion may be expressed as a blue color, and a normal region which does not belong to the lesion may not be expressed as a color. The shape based heat map may be a method that distinguishes and displays parts having a high probability of corresponding to the lesion and parts having a low probability of corresponding to the lesion with different shapes among regions of the medical data. For example the shape based heat map may be displayed by a line, a dotted line, a double line, a dark line, a circular, a rectangle, etc. For example, among the regions included in the medical data, the region having the high probability of belonging to the lesion may be displayed by the circular, and the region having the low probability of belonging to the lesion may be displayed by the rectangle. For example, among the regions included in the medical data, the region having the high probability of belonging to the lesion may be displayed by the double line/dark line, and the region having the low probability of belonging to the lesion may be displayed by a single line/a light line. The detailed description of the display of the lesion information is just an example and the present disclosure is not limited thereto.
Beomhee Park et al fail to disclose “a readout information generation unit that generates readout information displaying markings related to the lesion on a scout image including at least one of the medical images in which the lesion is present and the medical images generated based on the plurality of medical images to represent the lesion;”
“wherein the markings are displayed on the scout image corresponding to the position of the lesion and are displayed in different diagrams according to a type of the lesion, a medical image analysis support system.” As claimed in claim 1 and 6.
However, Keum-Yong Oh et al discloses see paragraph (0059 and 0082-0083] and fig 5. The computer system 1300 receives the image signal from the MRI apparatus 1100, reconstructs the image signal to generate an MR image of a predetermined region of the object 2000, and transmits the MR image to the operating console 1500. 0083] After obtaining the scout image, the scout image is transmitted to the operating console 1500 and displayed on a monitor so that the user can set more accurate start position and end position of a FOV based on locations of a lesion and an internal organ or skeleton obtained from the scout image (operation S260). The FOV refers to an image area or portion to be imaged, and, in particular, a specific region of the object 2000 in an MR image.
[0084] Examination is performed according to the detailed FOV set in operation S260, and an MRI image is acquired (operations S270 and S280). The MRI image may be a 2D image of a slice of the object 2000 that is perpendicular to the axis of motion, or a 3D image containing the axis of motion.
Beomhee Park et al and Keum-Yong Oh et al (2014/0191753) are related to method for display lesion reading results, thus one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have recognized the obviousness of modifying the method disclosed by Beomhee with Keum-Yong’s teachings of providing marking of lesion reading result for more accurate and efficient diagnosis.
Regarding claim 2 and 7, Beomhee discloses see fig 2 “wherein a size of the diagram is displayed to correspond to the size of the lesion”. . For example, the shape based heat map may be displayed by a line, a dotted line, a double line, a dark line, a circular, a rectangle, etc. For example, among the regions included in the medical data, the region having the high probability of belonging to the lesion may be displayed by the circular, and the region having the low probability of belonging to the lesion may be displayed by the rectangle. For example, among the regions included in the medical data, the region having the high probability of belonging to the lesion may be displayed by the double line/dark line, and the region having the low probability of belonging to the lesion may be displayed by a single line/a light line. The detailed description of the display of the lesion information is just an example and the present disclosure is not limited thereto.
Regarding claim 3 and 8, Beomhee discloses see paragraph (0054) . “wherein the type of lesion includes a non-solid nodule, a part-solid nodule, and a solid nodule, wherein the diagram is displayed in a dotted line, a solid line, or a double solid line according to the type of lesion.” . For example, among the regions included in the medical data, the region having the high probability of belonging to the lesion may be displayed by the double line/dark line, and the region having the low probability of belonging to the lesion may be displayed by a single line/a light line. The detailed description of the display of the lesion information is just an example and the present disclosure is not limited thereto.
Claim(s) 4-5 and 9-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Beomhee Park et al (2021/0407637) in view of Keum-Yong Oh et al (2014/0191753) and further in view of (KR10-0996050)
Regarding claim 4 and 9, Beomhee Park et al and Keum-Yong Oh et al teach claim 1 and 6 see above rejection. Furthermore Beomhee Park teaches, see paragraph (0051] Throughout the detailed description and claims of the present disclosure, a Picture Archiving and Communication System (PACS)′ is a term that refers to a system for performing storing, processing, and transmitting according to the DICOM standard, and medical images such as X-ray, CT, and MM, which are acquired by using digital medical image equipment may be stored in a DICOM format and transmitted to terminals inside or outside a hospital through a network, and additionally include a reading result and a medical chart.
but fail to teach “wherein the medical image information and the readout information include data in DICOM (Digital Imaging and Communications in Medicine) format, wherein the readout information generation unit determines a coordinate information of the image position patient in the DICOM header information of the readout information based on a coordinate information of the image position patient in the DICOM header information of the medical images in which the lesion is present and a position information of the lesion in the medical images in which the lesion is present.
However, (KR10-0996050) teaches, A capsule endoscope receiving unit for receiving a signal from the capsule endoscope in real time through a communication method using electromagnetic waves or human body impedance, or a human body wireless communication method, and decoding the received signal and converting the received signal into a capsule endoscope image; and
After receiving the capsule endoscope image from the capsule endoscope receiver in real time and compressing the provided capsule endoscope image to JPEG or a compression standard equivalent thereto, the acquisition time of the capsule endoscope image, the location information of the human body, the capsule unique number, the capsule endoscope receiving unit number, and the inspection After adding the header including information such as unique number, patient number, patient name, sex, and test location, convert it to DICOM, which is an international medical imaging standard, or a standard format, and transmit the converted capsule endoscope image to the lesion detection server. Automatic lesion detection system based on U-Health using the capsule endoscope image, characterized in that it comprises an image transmitter.
Beomhee Park et al; Keum-Yong Oh et al and (KR -10-0996050) are related to method for display lesion reading results, thus one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have recognized the obviousness of modifying the method disclosed by Beomhee; Keum-Yong with (KR10-0996050) teachings of providing a lesion reading result information and location for more accurate and efficient diagnosis.
Regarding claims 5 and 10 “wherein the readout information generation unit determines the position information of the lesion based on a pixel spacing information in the DICOM header information of the medical images in which the lesion is present, and a number of pixels between a reference point corresponding to a coordinate information of the image position patient and the lesion.”
(KR10-0996050) teaches, That is, the lesion detector 24 calculates the brightness at the pixel coordinates of the capsule endoscope image using Equation 1 to remove the capsule endoscope image irregularly photographed according to the amount of illumination, and then the calculated brightness is the first reference brightness. If the value is less than (i.e., dark) or exceeds the second reference brightness (i.e., bright), the image of the corresponding pixel is removed. The image transmitter 14 receives the capsule endoscope image from the capsule endoscope receiver 12 in real time and compresses the capsule endoscope image provided to a Joint Photographic Coding Experts Group (JPEG) or a compression standard equivalent thereto, and then acquires the capsule endoscope image. DICOM (Digital Imaging and Communications in International Medical Imaging Standard) is added by adding headers including information on the location of the human body, capsule unique number, capsule endoscope receiver number, test unique number, patient number, patient name, gender, and test location. Medicine) or a standard format equivalent thereto and then transmit the converted capsule endoscope image to the lesion detection server 20.
After receiving the capsule endoscope image from the capsule endoscope receiver in real time and compressing the provided capsule endoscope image to JPEG or a compression standard equivalent thereto, the acquisition time of the capsule endoscope image, the location information of the human body, the capsule unique number, the capsule endoscope receiving unit number, and the inspection After adding the header including information such as unique number, patient number, patient name, sex, and test location, convert it to DICOM, which is an international medical imaging standard, or a standard format, and transmit the converted capsule endoscope image to the lesion detection server. Automatic lesion detection system based on U-Health using the capsule endoscope image, characterized in that it comprises an image transmitter.
Beomhee Park et al; Keum-Yong Oh et al and (KR -10-0996050) are related to method for display lesion reading results, thus one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have recognized the obviousness of modifying the method disclosed by Beomhee; Keum-Yong with (KR10-0996050) teachings of providing a lesion reading result information and location for more accurate and efficient diagnosis.
/TEMESGHEN GHEBRETINSAE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2626