DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 14-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
The limitation in claim 14 that the roller is mounted to the main body at a second end by the second clutch bearing is not supported by the original application. While the first end of the roller is disclosed as being mounted to the main body by the first clutch bearing, the second end is disclosed as being mounted to the main body by a plain bearing (lines 7-8 of pg. 9 of the original specification), with the second end mounted to the second wheel by the second clutch bearing.
There is also no support for the limitation of claim 15, that the wheel moves independently of the roller, and is actually contradicted by the limitation of claim 14 that defines the relationship between the wheel and roller (wheel rotates with the roller in a first direction).
The limitation of claim 16 also lacks support, because the second axle is disclosed as (88), which is connected to the roller and is not disclosed as part of the main body.
Claim 17 also lacks support in the original application, similar to claim 14, because the roller is not disclosed as being rotatably mounted to the second axle (line 6 on pg. 9 of the original specification).
Claims 14-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. As discussed supra, due to the lack of supporting disclosure of the limitations of each of claims 14-17, it is unclear how the roller would be mounted at the second end to the main body by the second clutch bearing, while still operating as claimed in the last clause of claim 14, how the wheel could move independently of the roller, how the main body would include a second axle as claimed when the roller is mounted to the second wheel via a second axle that is part of the roller and/or how the roller is rotatably mounted to the second axle by the second clutch bearing.
Normally a claim which fails to comply with the first and/or second paragraph of §112 will not be analyzed as to whether it is patentable over the prior art since to do so would of necessity require speculation with regard to the metes and bounds of the claimed subject matter, In re Steele, 308 F.2d 859, 862-63, 134 USPQ 292, (CCPA 1962) and In re Wilson, 424 F.2d 1382, 1385, 496 USPQ 494, 496 (CCPA 1970). Therefore, claims 14-17 will not be addressed relative to patentability over the prior art.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 7, 14 and 16-18 are objected to because of the following informalities:
The term “manoeuvred” in claims 1, 7 and 18, is understood to be the British English spelling of the American English word “maneuvered” and all occurrences should be corrected to the American English spelling.
In claim 14, the word “is” should be added between the words “roller” and “prevented” in line 11.
In claim 16, the second occurrence of the word “and” in line 2 should be changed to “at”.
In claim 17, the word “rotatable” in line 2 should be changed to “rotatably”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4, 6, 7, 9-13 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (12,364,375) as applied to claim 1 and in view of Yoo (2010/0107359).
Regarding claims 1, 4 and 13, Kim discloses a vacuum cleaner (Fig. 1) comprising a cleaner head (100) for a vacuum cleaner comprising: a main body having a suction chamber (internal portion between cover 111 and inlet 100B); and a roller (300) rotatably mounted to the main body at a forward end of the suction chamber, wherein the roller is configured to rotate in a first direction when the cleaner head is maneuvered over a cleaning surface in a forward direction (Fig. 14; Col. 15, line 61-Col. 16, line 14), and is prevented from rotating in a second opposite direction when the cleaner head is maneuvered over the cleaning surface in the rearward direction (Fig. 15; Col. 16, lines 20-48). However, Kim fails to disclose that the roller is configured to move vertically relative to the main body. Yoo discloses another similar vacuum cleaner with a cleaner head, also having a roller positioned at the front of the suction chamber, and teaches that the roller is mounted for vertical movement when the front of the cleaner head is pressed against a wall surface, to increase cleaning efficiency along the wall surface (paragraph 10) by moving the roller away from the airflow path between the wall and suction chamber and that the roller is biased toward a lower position (via spring 233) to retain the roller in the lower, floor contacting position for normal cleaning, unless pressed against a wall surface. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to provide the roller of Kim with a similar mount to allow for vertical movement of the roller vertically relative to the main body between a lower position (when away from a wall) and an upper position (when pressed against a wall), and the roller is biased to the lower position (by spring 233), as taught by Yoo, to improve cleaning efficiency along a wall surface. Although Yoo teaches that a mechanism is provided to move the roller in a vertical direction when the head is pressed against a wall (via lever 231), the structure provided by Yoo would also obviously allow the roller to move vertically if/when the an external object on the cleaning surface contacts the roller, due to the spring biasing the roller in the downward direction, the roller would be capable of moving upwards when contacting an object on the ground that does not lift the entire head.
Regarding claim 6, Kim further discloses that the cleaner head comprises an agitator (200) rotatably mounted to the main body and a drive assembly (Col. 7, lines 18-20) for driving the agitator, and the agitator rotates independently of the roller (due to the agitator being driven by the drive assembly, and the roller being driven by the wheels 500).
Regarding claim 7, Kim discloses that the agitator is driven by the drive assembly, which would obviously be driven when the cleaner head is maneuvered over the cleaning surface in both the forward direction and the rearward direction, based on the general knowledge of driven agitators in the art, which most commonly drive in a single direction regardless of direction of movement of the head, along with a lack of any disclosure from Kim that would suggest otherwise. Thus, the examiner previously took official notice, which was not traversed by the applicant, and therefore is now considered to be applicant admitted prior art, that it is old and well known for common driven agitators in suction cleaners to be driven when the cleaner head is maneuvered over the cleaning surface in both the forward direction and the rearward direction.
Regarding claim 9, Kim further discloses that a diameter of the agitator is at least twice that of the roller (as seen in the drawings; although not disclosed as being drawn to scale, the relative dimensions clearly show the agitator to be well over twice the diameter of the roller, wherein relative structure can be relied upon regardless of scale).
Regarding claim 10, Kim further discloses that the roller is mounted to the main body by a clutch bearing (Fig. 10).
Regarding claim 11, Kim further discloses that the cleaner head comprises a wheel (500) mounted to the main body, the wheel is free to rotate relative to the main body in the first direction and the second direction, and the roller is mounted to the wheel by a clutch bearing (500).
Regarding claim 12, Kim further discloses that he roller is mounted at a first end to the main body by a first clutch bearing, and the roller is mounted at a second end to the wheel by a second clutch bearing (Col. 8, lines 17-21, indicating that each wheel module 500 includes a one-way bearing).
Regarding claims 18 and 19, Kim further discloses an agitator (200) rotatably mounted to the main body, which is the only difference between claim 1 and 18 (as well as claims 4 and 19).
Regarding claim 20, Kim discloses that the roller is optionally driven by the wheel(s) via the clutch bearing(s), and also teaches that the agitator may include driver for providing a rotational force (Col. 7, lines 18-20), such that the agitator rotates independently of the roller.
Regarding claim 21, when the roller of Kim rotates in a first direction, as discussed supra, it would obviously be capable of forming friction between the roller and a cleaning surface (nearly any contact between two objects with at least one object moving relative to the other will obviously create some friction therebetween, wherein even if the roller is rotating a the same speed of movement along the cleaning surface, it would be possible for friction to be created if any amount of lateral motion is also applied to the cleaner, such that the structure disclosed by Kim is obviously capable of forming friction between the roller rotating in the first direction and the cleaning surface).
Claims 2 and 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (12,364,375) in view of Yoo (2010/0107359), as applied to claim 1 and in view of Pruiett et al. (12,035,873).
Regarding claim 2, Kim discloses that the roller will contact the surface to be cleaned to either allow debris to pass thereunder (when rolling while the head is moving in the forward direction) or to prevent debris from passing underneath (when stationary relative to the head while the head is moving in the rearward direction). However, Kim fails to disclose that the roller is configured to form a seal with the surface. Pruiett discloses another similar vacuum cleaner (Figs. 17-19) with a cleaner head, also having a roller positioned at the front of the suction chamber, and teaches that the roller similarly is a one-way roller (“for unidirectional rotation”; Col. 13, lines 17-29) to allow debris to pass underneath when rotating as the head is moved in a first direction, and will function as a squeegee to wipe the floor when stationary relative to the head while the head is moving in the rearward direction, teaching that the roller preferably forms a seal between the head and the floor to effectively wipe the floor to prevent puddles on the rearward stroke (Col. 13, lines 1-8). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to configure the roller of Kim (including size and shape) to also form a seal with the cleaning surface, as taught by Pruiett, to function as a squeegee during the rearward motion to collect any fluids that may be present on the surface being cleaned.
Regarding claim 3, Pruiett further discloses that the roller is preferably made from plaint, flexible or resilient materials, to bend to the contour of the surface (Col. 13, lines 39-48), which will be understood to assist in forming a seal against the surface, as discussed for claim 2. Therefore, it further would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to form the exterior of the roller of Kim with a similar structure and material as taught by Pruiett, to provide the seal as discussed above. Further, the materials disclosed as plaint, flexible or resilient materials are understood to be equivalent to the claimed compressible materials, with the current application citing rubber as a potential compressible material, and Pruiett disclosing different types of rubber as being plaint, flexible or resilient materials.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (12,364,375) in view of Yoo (2010/0107359), as applied to claims 1 and 6, and in view of Takemoto et al. (6,237,188).
Kim discloses the cleaner head with a roller and agitator, as discussed supra, but fails to disclose that the roller may be positioned rearward of the agitator. Takemoto discloses another similar vacuum cleaner with a cleaner head, also having an agitator (104) and a roller (141) positioned at the front of the suction chamber, and teaches that the roller may also be provided at the rear of the suction chamber (Col. 19, lines 50-54) to effectively provide the same function as the front roller to the rear of the suction chamber. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to optionally provide another roller to the cleaning head of Kim, at a position rearward of the agitator, as taught by Takemoto, which would be understood to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide a similar and opposite function of the front roller, by rolling relative to the cleaner head when moved rearward, to allow debris to pass under the roller, but remain stationary relative to the cleaner head when moved forward to push debris toward the suction chamber.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see section I of Remarks, filed 8 September 2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claims 1 and 5 under 35 U.S.C. 112 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments filed, see section II of Remarks, filed 8 September 2026, with respect to the rejections of all claims under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The amendment to claim 1 merely adds the previously claimed limitation of claim 4 to the independent claim, wherein the Yoo reference was applied to the Kim reference in the previous Office Action to teach the vertical movement of the roller. The applicant argues that Yoo only discloses that the roller may move vertically when the head is pressed against a wall, which is not persuasive, because anyone of ordinary skill in the art would understand that the structure disclosed by Yoo would also enable the roller to move vertically relative to the main body if/when an external object contact the roller, as discussed supra.
Regarding the new claims, all rejections are also addressed above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BRYAN R MULLER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3723 4 November 2026