DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
1. Applicant’s amendment filed on 08/27/2026 has been entered. Claims 1-15 are still pending in this application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 10-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zheng (US 20210056235) in view of Ormond (US 20120176636)
Regarding claim 10, Zheng teaches a printing device (p0003: imaging device) comprising: printing hardware to print using a consumable item inserted into the printing device (p0002: printer);
and authentication circuitry to: electrically read a second authorization code on the consumable item upon insertion of the consumable item into the printing (p0003:the consumable chip also calculates the verification code based on a pre-stored key); and authorize the printing hardware to print using the consumable item (s37 in fig. 4) upon a determination that the second authorization code matches a first authorization code optically scanned from the consumable item (device (p0003:obtains a key by reading a serial number of a consumable chip, and calculates a verification code based on the key).
Zheng does not teach scanning hardware comprising a charge-coupled device (CCD) or contact-image scanner (CIS) scanner configured to scan digital images from print media, the scanning hardware to optically scan a first authorization code from the consumable item prior to the insertion of the consumable item into the printing device
Ormond teaches scanning hardware comprising a charge-coupled device (CCD) or contact-image scanner (CIS) scanner configured to scan digital images from print media, the scanning hardware to optically scan a first authorization code from the consumable item prior to the insertion of the consumable item into the printing device (p0080:an individual may manually scan the consumable using the MFP's scanning equipment prior to installation of the consumable)
Zheng and Ormond are combinable because they both deal with management servers with a printing apparatus. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to combine the teachings of Zheng with the teaching of Ormond for purpose of maintain a database of each, specific consumable shipped to one or more customers in addition to the specific consumable inserted into a group of MFPs associated with one or more customers (p0022).
Regarding claim 11, Zheng in view of Ormond teaches the printing device of claim 10, wherein the scanning hardware comprises a flatbed scanner having a transparent plate, and the consumable item is placed on the transparent plate to optically scan the first authorization code prior to the insertion of the consumable item into the printing device ( Ormond: p0080:an individual may manually scan the consumable using the MFP's scanning equipment prior to installation of the consumable).
The rational applied to the rejection of claim 10 has been incorporated herein.
Regarding claim 12, Zheng in view of Ormond teaches the printing device of claim 10, wherein the authentication code is further to: receive the first authentication code from a computing device upon the computing device optically scanning the first authentication code (Ormond: p0080).
The rational applied to the rejection of claim 10 has been incorporated herein.
Regarding claim 13, Zheng teaches the printing device of claim 10, wherein the authentication circuitry is further to: transmit the second authorization code to a computing device that performs the determination; and receive the determination that the second authorization code matches the first authorization code from the computing device (s37 in fig. 4).
Regarding claim 14, Zheng The printing device of claim 10, wherein the authentication code is further to: perform the determination that the second authorization code matches the first authorization code (p0003:imaging device determines whether an identity of the consumable chip matches the imaging device by comparing the verification code calculated by itself with the verification code calculated by the consumable chip).
Regarding claim 15, Zheng in view of Ormond teaches a consumable item for a printing device comprising: a housing; a first authorization code on the housing that is optically scannable (Ormond:0080); and a second authorization code on the housing that is electrically readable upon insertion of the consumable item into the printing device, wherein matching of the first and second authorization codes authorizes usage of the consumable item by the printing device for printing (p0003).
The rational applied to the rejection of claim 10 has been incorporated herein.
Allowable Subject Matter
3. Claims 1-9 are allowed over the prior art of record.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
The prior art fails to teach Claim 1, alone or in reasonable combination, which specifically comprise the following limitations (in consideration of the claim as a whole):
0determining whether the first and second authorization codes match, wherein the first and second authorization codes are each digitally signed with a private cryptographic key of an asymmetric public-private key pair of a manufacturer; and verifying, using a public cryptographic key of the asymmetric public-private key pair, that the first and second authorization codes originated from the manufacturer; and in response to verifying that the first and second authorization codes originated from the manufacturer and determining that the first and second authorization codes match, authorizing the printing device to use the consumable item for printing.
The closest prior art, Zheng (US 20210056235) reveals a similar system, but fails to anticipate or render obvious, either singularly or in combination with the other cited references, the above limitations (as combined with the other claimed limitations).
The claims 2-9 depend on the claim 1 and are thus allowed for the same reasons as for the claim 1.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
HELEN ZONG
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2683
/HELEN ZONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2683