DETAILED ACTION
Withdrawn Rejections:
Applicant's amendments and arguments filed on 09/14/2026 are acknowledged and have been fully considered. The Examiner has re-weighed all the evidence of record. Any rejection and/or objection not specifically addressed below is herein withdrawn.
The following rejections and/or objections are either reiterated or newly applied. They constitute the complete set of rejections and/or objections presently being applied to the instant application.
Claims 1-9 and 11-20 are pending, claims 1-3 and 12 are under examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 06/22/2026 is being considered by the examiner.
Priority
Acknowledge is made that this application is national stage of international patent
application PCT/CN2023/081594, filed on 03/15/2023; which claims priority from
Chinese Patent Application CN202210300041.7, filed on 03/25/2022.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu et al. (CN11103561A, Google Translation).
Determination of the scope and content of the prior art
(MPEP 2141.01)
Wu et al. teaches Gemcitabine liposome comprising gemcitabine, phospholipids, cholesterol, phosphatidylethanolamine, sulfate and a buffer (claim 1). The gemcitabine liposome comprises, by weight, 1 to 10 parts of gemcitabine, 1 to 10 parts of phospholipids, 0.1 to 5 parts of cholesterol, 0.1 to 5 parts of phosphatidylethanolamine, 0.1 to 2 parts of sulfate, and 1 to 5 parts of buffer (claim 2). phospholipid comprises any one or a combination of at least two of hydrogenated soy phosphatidylcholine, distearoyl phosphatidylcholine, or lecithin; preferably a combination of hydrogenated soy phosphatidylcholine, distearoyl phosphatidylcholine and lecithin; preferably, the sulphate comprises ammonium sulphate and/or a sucrose octasulphate salt, preferably a combination of ammonium sulphate and a sucrose octasulphate salt (claim 4). The buffer comprises sucrose and/or glucose, preferably a combination of sucrose and glucose (claim 5). The aqueous phase includes gemcitabine, sulfate, buffet and water to have concentration of gemcitabine is 1-10mg/mL, and the particle size of the liposome is 30-150 nm (claim 9).
Ascertainment of the difference between the prior art and the claims
(MPEP 2141.02)
The difference between the instant application and Wu et al. is that Wu et al. do not expressly teach all limitation in one embodiment.
Finding of prima facie obviousness
Rational and Motivation (MPEP 2142-2143)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to produce the instant invention.
Wu et al. teaches Gemcitabine liposome comprising phospholipids, cholesterol and phosphatidylethanolamine as oil phase, gemcitabine, sulfate and a buffer as aqueous phase. By definition of liposome, oil phase comprising phospholipids, cholesterol and phosphatidylethanolamine forming a lipophilic layer encapsulating an aqueous core comprising gemcitabine, sulfate and a buffer.
Wu et al. further teaches the gemcitabine liposome comprises, by weight, 1 to 10 parts of gemcitabine, 1 to 10 parts of phospholipids (hydrogenated soy phosphatidylcholine), 0.1 to 5 parts of cholesterol, 0.1 to 5 parts of phosphatidylethanolamine, 0.1 to 2 parts of sulfate, and 1 to 5 parts of buffer; and concentration of gemcitabine is 1-10mg/mL.
Regarding the weight ratio of phospholipid to cholesterol, Wu et al. further teaches 7-8 parts of phospholipid to 1 parts cholesterol, the ratio is 7:1 to 8:1.
Regarding long-circulating functional material, since it is optional, it can always be omitted.
Regarding the total lipid to gemcitabine, Wu et al. further teaches 7-8 parts of phospholipid to 1 parts cholesterol to 1 parts of phosphatidylethanolamine and 1 parts of gemcitabine, the weight ratio is (7+1+1):1= 9:1, inside of claimed range of 1:1 to 100:1.
Regarding molar concentration of salt (ammonium sulfate), for 1 part of gemcitabine at 10mg/mL, and 2 parts of ammonium sulfate ( MW132) would be 20mg/ml (20000mg/l), and 20000mg/l divided by 132 gives 152mM, inside claimed range of 50 to 800mM.
Regarding claim 2-3 and 12, the particle size is 30-150 nm, inside of claimed range of 10 to 200nm or encompassing claimed range of 50 to 100nm.
In light of the forgoing discussion, the Examiner concludes that the subject matter defined by the instant claims would have been obvious within the meaning of 35 USC 103.
From the teachings of the references, it is apparent that one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in producing the claimed invention. Therefore, the invention as a whole was prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, as evidenced by the references, especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
Response to Argument:
Applicants argue that there is no teaching of amended claim.
In response to this argument: this is not persuasive. The new ground 103 rejection teaches each limitation of applicant’s claimed invention.
MPEP 2141 III states: “The proper analysis is whether the claimed invention would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art after consideration of all the facts.” Respectfully, after weighing all the evidence, the Examiner has reached a determination that the instant claims are not patentable in view of the preponderance of evidence and consideration of all the facts which is more convincing than the evidence which has been offered in opposition to it.
Conclusion
No claim is allowed.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JIANFENG SONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1613