Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7 and 9-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2010/0204413 to Powell et al.
As to claims 1-4, Powell discloses unsaturated polyester resins comprising 4.31 mols of cyclobutanediol, 0.76 mols of propane diol, 2.39 mols of 1,4-cyclohexanedicarboxylic acid, and 2.39 mols of maleic anhydride. Powell discloses polymerizing the polyester into neat resin that is cured with a dimethyl acetoacetamide copromoter to obtain an unsaturated polyester with a 94/6 or 93/7 ratio of fumarate/maleate (Examples 2-3, (0064-0065). The term co-promoter within Powell is synonymous with catalyst.
As to claims 5-6, Powell discloses a temperature of 160°C after the addition of maleic anhydride (0064) and the neat resin is prepared in the presence of 500 ppm butylstannoic acid (0064).
As to claim 7, Powell discloses a cure package including dimethyl acetoacetamide copromoter and the resin (0065). There is no solvent present in the examples.
As to claim 9, Powell discloses a cure package comprising polyester resin in 55% of styrene (organic solvent) and 0.60 grams of dimethyl acetoacetamide copromoter (0065).
As to claim 10, Powell discloses 0.60 grams/parts of dimethyl acetoacetamide copromoter (0065).
As to claims 11-12, Powell discloses a cure/isomerization reaction at 120°C overnight (0065)
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent No. 6,555,623 to Yang et al. (Cited on IDS).
As to claim 14, Yang discloses an unsaturated polyester comprising residues of 10 moles of dimethyl terephthalate, 20 moles of 1-methyl-1,3-propanediol, and maleic anhydride wherein a molar ratio of maleic anhydride to the diester diol prepared from dimethyl terephthalate and 1-methyl-1,3-propanediol is 1.5 and the unsaturated polyester has fumarate to maleate ratio of 98/2 (Example 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2010/0204413 to Powell et al. in view of GB-1,246,349 to Nicholson Street (Nicholson).
As to claim 8, Powell discloses unsaturated polyester resins comprising 4.31 mols of cyclobutanediol, 0.76 mols of propane diol, 2.39 mols of 1,4-cyclohexanedicarboxylic acid, and 2.39 mols of maleic anhydride. Powell discloses polymerizing the polyester into neat resin that is cured with a dimethyl acetoacetamide copromoter to obtain an unsaturated polyester with a 94/6 or 93/7 ratio of fumarate/maleate (Examples 2-3, (0064-0065). The term co-promoter within Powell is synonymous with catalyst. The co-promoter is present in a cure package comprising polyester resin in 55% of styrene (organic solvent) and 0.60 grams of dimethyl acetoacetamide copromoter (0065).
Powell does not expressly disclose an aqueous solution cure package.
However, Nicholson discloses isomerization of maleate esters to fumarate esters comprising the use of an aqueous solution of dimethyl acetoacetamide. In the examples water is present during the condensation reaction and remains after the addition of dimethyl acetoacetamide until removal after 9 hours (Example 1). This is taken to meet the limitation aqueous solution of dimethyl acetoacetamide.
At the time of filing it would have been obvious to substitute a known promotor for the same type of promoter that would allow for the isomerization of maleate to fumarate because it is prima facie obvious to add a known ingredient to a known composition for its known function. See MPEP2100.
Claims 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent No. 9,650,539 to Kuo et al in view of U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2010/0204413 to Powell et al.
As to claim 13, Kuo discloses a curable composition comprising an unsaturated polyester derived from maleic acid and a phenolic resin crosslinker (Abstract, 3:30-4:60, Examples 1-4).
Kuo does not expressly disclose a polyester resin with the ratio of fumarate/maleate.
However, Powell discloses unsaturated polyester resins comprising 4.31 mols of cyclobutanediol, 0.76 mols of propane diol, 2.39 mols of 1,4-cyclohexanedicarboxylic acid, and 2.39 mols of maleic anhydride. Powell discloses polymerizing the polyester into neat resin that is cured with a dimethyl acetoacetamide copromoter to obtain an unsaturated polyester with a 94/6 or 93/7 ratio of fumarate/maleate (Examples 2-3, (0064-0065). The term co-promoter within Powell is synonymous with catalyst. The co-promoter is present in a cure package comprising polyester resin in 55% of styrene (organic solvent) and 0.60 grams of dimethyl acetoacetamide copromoter (0065).
At the time of filing it would have been obvious to substitute the polyester resin of Kuo with the polyester resin of Powell to provide the coating with good UV weathering properties in conjunction with osmotic blister resistance (0003).
Conclusion
/MICHAEL L LEONARD/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1763