DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Claims 7-10 in the reply filed on 08/21/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 1-6 and 11-15 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 08/21/2026.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rosado (US 2015/0245644 A1).
Regarding Claim 7, Rosado teaches a protein composition (formula comprising protein Par. 0027)
comprising 21.0% to 32.0% of α-lactalbumin (preferred 26% of alphalactalbumin rated on total protein Par. 0027)
and 29% to 35% of β-casein relative to 100% of the total protein content in the protein composition (casein 35% of total protein, Casein A2 80% of casein Table 1 Pg. 4; beta casein protein content with a ratio of type A1 and type A2 between 3:97 and 70:30 Par. 0027). As A2 accounts for 80% of the total 35% casein in the example of Table 1, this would provide 28% A2 of the entire protein composition. On the low end (ratio of 3:97 of A1:A2), this would give 1% A1. Therefore. The lowest amount of β-casein possible for this example is 29%. The high end of the A1:A2 ratio (70:30) results in a higher total of β-casein than total casein, so the high end would be all the casein is of β-casein, therefore 35%.
Regarding 26.0% to 32.0% of β-casein relative to 100% of the total protein content in the protein composition, Rosado teaches 29% to 35% β-casein (Table 1, Par. 0027, seen above). As Rosado discloses a range which overlaps with the claimed amount, it would have been obvious to one having an ordinary skill in the art to modify Rosado to have 26.0% to 32.0% of β-casein relative to the total protein content. It would have been prima facie case of obviousness to have selected the overlapping portion of the range (i.e. 29-32%) from the taught range of 29% to 35% (as seen above). In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); See MPEP 2144.05 (I)
Regarding Claim 8, Rosado further teaches 21.0% to 32.0% of α-lactalbumin (preferred 26% of alphalactalbumin rated on total protein Par. 0027)
and 29% to 35% of β-casein relative to 100% of the total protein content in the protein composition (casein 35% of total protein, Casein A2 80% of casein Table 1 Pg. 4; beta casein protein content with a ratio of type A1 and type A2 between 3:97 and 70:30 Par. 0027). As A2 accounts for 80% of the total 35% casein in the example of Table 1, this would provide 28% A2 of the entire protein composition. On the low end (ratio of 3:97 of A1:A2), this would give 1% A1. Therefore. The lowest amount of β-casein possible for this example is 29%. The high end of the A1:A2 ratio (70:30) results in a higher total of β-casein than total casein, so the high end would be all the casein is of β-casein, therefore 35%.
Regarding 29.0% to 32.0% of β-casein relative to 100% of the total protein content in the protein composition, Rosado teaches 29% to 35% β-casein (Table 1, Par. 0027, seen above). As Rosado discloses a range which overlaps with the claimed amount, it would have been obvious to one having an ordinary skill in the art to modify Rosado to have 29.0% to 32.0% of β-casein relative to the total protein content. It would have been prima facie case of obviousness to have selected the overlapping portion of the range (i.e. 29-32%) from the taught range of 29% to 35% (as seen above). In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); See MPEP 2144.05 (I)
Regarding Claim 9, Rosado further teaches
20% to 30% α-lactalbumin (alphalactalbumin between 20-30% rated on total protein Par. 0027)
and 29% to 35% of β-casein relative to 100% of the total protein content in the protein composition (casein 35% of total protein, Casein A2 80% of casein Table 1 Pg. 4; beta casein protein content with a ratio of type A1 and type A2 between 3:97 and 70:30 Par. 0027). As A2 accounts for 80% of the total 35% casein in the example of Table 1, this would provide 28% A2 of the entire protein composition. On the low end (ratio of 3:97 of A1:A2), this would give 1% A1. Therefore. The lowest amount of β-casein possible for this example is 29%. The high end of the A1:A2 ratio (70:30) results in a higher total of β-casein than total casein, so the high end would be all the casein is of β-casein, therefore 35%.
Regarding 29.0% of α-lactalbumin and 32.0% of β-casein or 21.5% of α-lactalbumin and 29.0% of β-casein relative to 100% of the total protein content in the protein composition, Rosado teaches 20% to 30% α-lactalbumin and 29% to 35% β-casein (Par. 0027, Table 1, seen above). As Rosado discloses a range which overlaps with the claimed amount, it would have been obvious to one having an ordinary skill in the art to modify Rosado to have 29.0% of α-lactalbumin and 32.0% of β-casein or 21.5% of α-lactalbumin and 29.0% of β-casein relative to 100% of the total protein content. It would have been prima facie case of obviousness to have selected the overlapping portion of the range (i.e. 29% α-lactalbumin and 32.0% β-casein; or 21.5% α-lactalbumin and 29.0% of β-casein) from the taught range of 20% to 30% α-lactalbumin and 29% to 35% β-casein (as seen above). In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); See MPEP 2144.05 (I)
Regarding Claim 10, Rosado further teaches 55.0% to 65.0% of whey protein and 35.0% to 45.0% of casein relative to 100% of the total protein content in the protein composition (whey protein:casein ratio preferably 65:35 Par, 0027).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
McGrath (US 2019/0247469 A1) discloses a nutritional formula comprising α-lactalbumin and β-casein.
/A.M.R./Examiner, Art Unit 1792
/ERIK KASHNIKOW/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1792