DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (US 2020/0185676 A1).
With respect to claim 1, Lee teaches a separator for an electrochemical device, comprising:
-a polymer porous support/(substrate) (110) (para. [0046]); and
-an inorganic composite porous layer/(heat resistant layer (120)) formed on at least one surface of the porous support/(substrate (110)) (para. [0046]),
wherein the inorganic composite porous layer/(heat resistant layer (120)) comprises a binder polymer and an inorganic filler/particles (para. [0045]),
the binder polymer comprises an amorphous polymer (para. [0052]-[0054]) having a glass transition temperature (Tg) of 100-200°C (para. [0056]), which overlaps with the instantly claimed range of 180°C or higher, - it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing for the invention to try glass transition temperatures at the upper end of the range in order to optimize the performance of the separator under elevated temperatures -; and
the separator has a dielectric breakdown voltage of 1.8 kV or higher (para. [0013]), which encompasses the instantly claimed range of 2 kV or more.
Lee fails to teach wherein a content of the inorganic filler ranges from 30 to 200 parts by weight based on 100 parts by weight of the binder polymer. Lee, however, teaches that the ratio of the inorganic filler/particles to the binder polymer/resin can be optimized in order to optimize the porosity of the binder layer (para. [0077]). Therefore, the specific content of the inorganic filler is not considered to confer patentability to the claims. As the separator cost of construction and efficiency of operation are variable(s) that can be modified, among others, by adjusting said content of the inorganic filler, with said construction cost and operating efficiency both being optimized as the content of the inorganic filler is adjusted, the precise content of the inorganic filler would have been considered a result effective variable by one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing for the invention. As such, without showing unexpected results, the claimed content of the inorganic filler cannot be considered critical. Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing for the invention would have optimized, by routine experimentation, the content of the inorganic filler in the battery separator of Lee to obtain the desired balance between the construction cost and the operation efficiency (In re Boesch, 617 F.2d. 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980)), since it has been held that where the general conditions of the claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. (In re Aller, 105 USPQ 223).
With respect to claim 2, Lee teaches wherein the separator has a dielectric breakdown voltage of 1.8 kV or higher (para. [0013]), which encompasses the instantly claimed range of 2 kV to 6 kV. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing for the invention to try providing a separator that has a dielectric breakdown voltage greater than 1.8 kV in order to optimize the performance of the separator under elevated voltages.
With respect to claim 3, Lee teaches wherein the separator has a dielectric breakdown strength of 1.8 kV or higher (para. [0013]), which encompasses the instantly claimed range of 4.5 kV/milli-inch or more. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing for the invention to try providing a separator that has a dielectric breakdown voltage greater than 1.8 kV in order to optimize the performance of the separator under elevated voltages.
With respect to claim 4, Lee teaches wherein the separator has a total thickness of 10.5 um (para. [0094]), which falls within the instantly claimed range of 5 µm to 20 µm. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing for the invention to try providing a separator that has a thickness that falls within the instantly claimed range in order to provide a separator that is durable.
With respect to claim 5, Lee teaches wherein the amorphous polymer has the glass transition temperature (Tg) of 100-200°C (para. [0056]), which overlaps with the instantly claimed range of 180°C or higher includes one or more of polyimide (PI), polyamideimide (PAI), polyetherimide (PEI), polyphenylsulfone (PPSU), polycthersulfone (PES), or polysulfone (PSU), or two or more of them (para. [0015]).
With respect to claim 6, Lee teaches wherein the binder polymer consists of an amorphous polymer having the glass transition temperature (Tg) of 100-200°C (para. [0056]), which overlaps with the instantly claimed range of 180°C or higher [0056]). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing for the invention to try glass transition temperatures at the upper end of the range in order to optimize the performance of the separator under elevated temperatures.
With respect to claim 7, Lee discloses all claim limitations as set forth above, but fails to teach wherein the content of the inorganic filler ranges from 40 to 185 parts by weight based on 100 parts by weight of the binder polymer.
Lee, however, teaches that the ratio of the inorganic filler/particles to the binder polymer/resin can be optimized in order to optimize the porosity of the binder layer (para. [0077]). Therefore, the specific content of the inorganic filler is not considered to confer patentability to the claims. As the separator cost of construction and efficiency of operation are variable(s) that can be modified, among others, by adjusting said content of the inorganic filler, with said construction cost and operating efficiency both being optimized as the content of the inorganic filler is adjusted, the precise content of the inorganic filler would have been considered a result effective variable by one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing for the invention. As such, without showing unexpected results, the claimed content of the inorganic filler cannot be considered critical. Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing for the invention would have optimized, by routine experimentation, the content of the inorganic filler in the battery separator of Lee to obtain the desired balance between the construction cost and the operation efficiency (In re Boesch, 617 F.2d. 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980)), since it has been held that where the general conditions of the claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. (In re Aller, 105 USPQ 223).
With respect to claim 8, Lee teaches wherein the inorganic filler has an average particle diameter that may be 500 nm or less (para. [0048]), which overlaps with the instantly claimed range 20 nm - 700 nm. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing for the invention to try providing an inorganic filler has an average particle diameter in the range of 20 nm to 700 nm in order to optimize the thickness and performance of the separator.
With respect to claim 9, Lee teaches an electrochemical device, comprising:
-a positive electrode;-
-a negative electrode; and
-the separator of claim 1, as set forth above, interposed between the positive electrode and the negative electrode (para. [0086]-[0087]).
With respect to claim 10, Lee teaches wherein the electrochemical device is a lithium secondary battery (para. [0086]).
With respect to claim 11, Lee teaches a method for manufacturing the separator of claim 1, as set forth above, comprising:
preparing the polymer porous support/(substrate (110)) (para. [0045]);
applying a slurry including the amorphous polymer having the glass
transition temperature of 100-200°C (para. [0056]), which overlaps with the instantly claimed range of 180°C or higher, the inorganic filler/particles (para. [0045]), and a solvent to the at least one surface of the polymer porous support/(substrate (110)) (para. [0072]); and
dipping the polymer porous support/(substrate (110)) coated with the slurry in a composition including a non-solvent for the amorphous polymer, followed by drying, so as to form the inorganic composite porous layer/(heat resistant layer (120)) (para. [0084]). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing for the invention to try glass transition temperatures at the upper end of the range in order to optimize the performance of the separator under elevated temperatures.
With respect to claim 12, Lee teaches wherein the non-solvent comprises one or more of water, methanol, ethanol (para. [0084]), propyl alcohol, butyl alcohol, butanediol, ethylene glycol, propylene glycol, tripropylene glycol, acetone, tetrahydrofuran, methylene chloride, chloroform, dimethyl acetamide, dimethyl formamide, N-methyl-2-pyrrolidone, cyclohexane, or isopropyl alcohol.
Conclusion
/KAITY V CHANDLER/ 9/26/2026Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1725