DETAILED ACTION
Disposition of the Claims
In response to applicant’s amendment received on 08/25/2026, all requested changes to the claims have been entered.
Claim(s) 1-18 & 32-33 were previously pending.
Claim(s) 34 & 35 have been added.
Claim(s) 8 & 10 have been cancelled.
Claim(s) 1-7, 9, 11-18, 32-35 are currently pending.
Response to Arguments
Claim Rejections – 35 U.S.C. § 101
Applicants’ arguments filed 08/25/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant cites a series of examples of limitations that cannot practically be performed in the human mind from MPEP § 2106.04.(a)(2), subsection III.A, but no particular example presented is equivalent to the current claim, nor does applicant explain analogy between these limitations and the claim language.
Applicant further argues that the amended limitations of claim 1, particularly relating to determining a congestion level of an inspection area, and detecting a person taking a predetermined action based on the one or more analysis processes performed on the image cannot practically be performed in the human mind. The examiner respectfully disagrees. The act of determining a congestion level as currently claimed, is recited with a high degree of generality, that amounts to nothing more than a mental evaluation. A person observing an image and or scene could readily estimate a level of congestion by either counting people observed in a crowd or qualitatively estimating a level of congestion based on the observed density of people in a given region. Using the level of congestion to determine which analyses to perform amounts to no more than a mental process in the form of an evaluation or judgement. Furthermore, the enumerated analysis processes recited in the claims are again recited with a high degree of generality, of which, at least one of these processes is directed to a mental process. For example, flow line analysis processing, under the broadest reasonable interpretation, could be performed in the human mind or by a human using pen and paper. A human could observe video and denote paths of flow a particular person may take across the inspection area.
Lastly, the applicant argues that the limitations of claim 1, as a whole, are integrated into a practical application, particularly because it provides a technical solution for a monitoring apparatus that dynamically adjusts analyses based on the demands of the inspection area. The examiner disagrees with this conclusion. The claims simply append well-understood, routine, and conventional activities to the judicial exception, namely a series of well-known image and video analyses processes, which the courts have found to not qualify as significantly more (see MPEP § 2106.05(A)).
Analysis for subject matter eligibility is further detailed in the 35 U.S.C. § 101 rejection section below.
Claim Rejections – 35 U.S.C. § 102 & 103
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks [pg. 13-15], filed 08/25/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-18, 32 & 33 under 35 U.S.C. § 102 & 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made further detailed in the 35 U.S.C. § 103 rejections section below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 35 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 35, the congestion level is described to dictate how many analysis processes are performed with all being performed when congestion is below a threshold and only a subset are performed when the congestion level is at or above a threshold. Claim 35 depends on claim 1, which recite that “the plurality of analysis processes comprises at least one of … color feature analysis processing or flow line analysis processing”. Given the use of “at least one of” and “or”, the broadest interpretation of this limitation is that the plurality of these processes comprise a single analysis process. However, if only a single analysis process is embodied in claim 1, then the distinction to perform “all” or “a subset” of these processes in claim 35 is indefinite, as what can be defined as “a subset” of only a single process is unclear.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-7, 9, 11-18, 32-35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Claim 1 is reproduced below with additional annotations:
A monitoring apparatus comprising:
at least one memory configured to store instructions; and
at least one processor configured to execute the instruction to perform operations comprising:
based on an image being acquired by capturing an inspection area, determining a congestion level of the inspection area;
determining one or more analysis processes to be performed, from among a plurality of analysis processes, based on whether the congestion level is less than a predetermined threshold value;
detecting a person taking a predetermined action based on performing the determined one or more analysis processes on the image; and
outputting detection information relating to the person taking the predetermined action,
wherein the plurality of analysis processes comprises at least one of object detection processing, face analysis processing, human shape analysis processing, pose analysis processing, action analysis processing, external appearance attribute analysis processing, gradient feature analysis processing, color feature analysis processing, or flow line analysis processing.
Analysis for claim 1 for subject matter eligibility under the Alice/Mayo framework is as follows:
Step 1: Evaluating whether the claim belongs to one of the statutory categories.
Claim 1 recites a monitoring apparatus which is directed to a machine, which falls under one of the statutory categories of invention. (Step 1: Yes)
Step 2A Prong One: Evaluating whether the claim recites a judicial exception (an abstract idea enumerated in the 2019 PEG, a law of nature, or a natural phenomenon). If no exception is recited, the claim is eligible. This concludes the eligibility analysis. If the claim recites an exception, go to Step 2A Prong Two.
Independent claim 1 recites a plurality of mental processes, which fall under the category of abstract ideas. Steps d-h of claim 1, under the broadest reasonable interpretation, recite processes that could be practically performed in the human mind. (The courts consider a mental process (thinking) that "can be performed in the human mind, or by a human using a pen and paper" to be an abstract idea.)
Step d describes determining an overall congestion level of an inspection area. This determination step is recited rather generally, in such a way that an able-bodied person is capable of similar observing an inspection area and ascertaining how congested the area is
Step e then goes on to describe a step of determining what analyses to be performed based on the congestion level. This step, under it’s broadest reasonable interpretation, merely recites a simple process of judgement/evaluation that a person would practically be able to conduct in their mind.
Step f describes detecting a person taking a predetermined action based on an image acquired by imaging an inspection area. “Detecting” or otherwise observing a subject performing an action in an image is a process wholly capable of being performed by the human mind.
Step g describes outputting detection information relating to the person detected. “Outputting” or otherwise denoting information regarding the previously detected subject is a process easily performed by a person by either speaking aloud or writing down this information using pen and paper.
Step h goes on to describe what possible analyses can be performed, noting that the analysis comprises at least one in the provided list. Given how generally these processes are recited in the claims and in light of the specification, one of ordinary skill would readily be able to perform at least one of these processes in their mind. Take for example, object detection processing: a person would readily be able to detect objects present in the video by simple observation. Another analysis, such as human shape analysis processing could be conducted similarly, as a person would readily be able to observe and otherwise deduce shapes and proportions of people depicted in a video. Furthermore, a person could readily conduct action analysis processing, by simply taking mental note of what observable actions are being performed when monitoring a video feed.
These steps would fall into the “mental process” group of abstract ideas – specifically, observations and judgements. These limitations, interpreted under their broadest reasonable interpretation in consistence with the specification, cover the performance of the limitations in the mind or by generic computer components. See MPEP 2106.04 and the 2019 PEG, with particular attention to Example 46 of Appendix 1. (Step 2A Prong One: Yes).
Step 2A Prong Two: Evaluating whether the claim recites additional elements that integrate the exception into a practical application of the exception. This evaluation is performed by (a) identifying whether there are any additional elements recited in the claim beyond the judicial exception, and (b) evaluating those additional elements individually and in combination to determine whether the claim as a whole integrates the exception into a practical application.
Claim 1 also recites additional elements – at least one of a memory configured to store instructions and at least one processor configured to execute instruction to perform operations. The processor and memory are recited at a high level of generality such that they do not amount to more than generic computer system elements. The claim does not direct to a specific improvement in computers in their communication role or provides a specific improvement in the way computers operate. These limitations generally link the use of the abstract idea to the environment of surveillance and pose estimation. These additional elements neither integrate the abstract idea into a practical application, nor result in the claim as a whole amounting to significantly more than the abstract idea. (Step 2A Prong Two: No).
Step 2B: This part of the eligibility analysis evaluates whether the claim as a whole amounts to significantly more than the recited exception, i.e., whether any additional element, or combination of additional elements, adds an inventive concept to the claim.
Claim 1 as a whole does not amount to significantly more than the recited exception, nor does it add an inventive concept to the claim. It merely recites observing an inspection area to determine a level of congestion and using that level of congestion to make an evaluation of what analyses to perform. These analysis steps are recited rather generally, and at least one, if not all, of these analyses could be performed by mere observation and evaluation. Using these analyses to determine if a subject performing an action in an image and outputting information relating to that subject, is well-understood and routine in the art without substantially more and fails to effectuate the claimed function into practical application. See MPEP 2016.04(d) & MPEPE 2016.05. (Step 2B: No). Therefore, claim 1 is not eligible.
The examiner notes that example 46 of Appendix 1 of the October 2019 PEG Update on Subject Matter Eligibility provides an example of eligible claim construction for monitoring animal behavior that is pertinent to the invention of the instant application.
Claims 2-7, 9, 11-18 only recite limitations that further specify types of predetermined actions to be detected:
Claims 2-7, 9 & 11 only specify details relating to an action involving an item such as luggage (for claims 3-6) or a phone (claims 7-11)
Claims 12-15 only specify details relating to a line of sight of a subject detected
Claims 16-18 only specify details relating to a subject’s movement (or lack thereof).
These additional elements merely provide context for the type of actions to detect, however these actions are all recited in such a way that an able-bodied person would be able to detect them being performed. These additional elements, neither integrate the judicial exception into a practical application, nor amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. Therefore, claims 1-7, 9 & 11-18 are not eligible.
Claim 34 recites additional steps directed to facial and external appearance comparisons, wherein a face feature value an external appearance information of a person entering an inspection area is obtained. Given that a “face feature value” is recited with a high degree of generality in the specification [¶0120-126], one can broadly interpret a face feature value broadly, and obtaining a face feature value of a person could merely be the act of observing and noting the general appearance of persons entering the inspection area. The same could be said of an external appearance, as one of ordinary skill could similarly observe the external appearance of person’s entering the inspection area, and take mental note of their clothing, stature, or general demographic profile. The claim then recites a step of comparing the external appearance of someone exiting the inspection area whose face feature value matches that of someone entering the inspection area, which again, can be readily conducted by someone observing monitoring footage of an inspection area. Lastly, the claim states that when the external appearance information of the person entering and leaving the inspection area differ, then that person is detected to be taking a predetermined action. This again, is a simple mental evaluation step that could be conducted in one’s mind. These elements merely recite additional observational and evaluation steps that an able-bodied person is readily capable of performing in their mind. These additional elements, neither integrate the judicial exception into a practical application, nor amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. Therefore, claim 34 is not eligible.
Claim 35, provide additional conditions regarding when the plurality of analyses processes are performed, with all analyses being performed when the congestion is below a threshold value, and only a subset of these analyses are performed when congestion is above a threshold. This conditional limitation can be characterized as another mental evaluation step, wherein a person could readily compare the observed congestion level to a threshold and decide which analyses can be performed based on that comparison. These additional elements, neither integrate the judicial exception into a practical application, nor amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. Therefore, claim 35 is not eligible.
Independent claim 32, which recites a method, is directed to a process, which is a statutory category of invention. A similar analysis of claim 1 is applicable to claim 32 since the recited function is substantially identical.
Claim 32 recites no additional elements. Therefore, claim 32 is not eligible.
Independent claim 33, which recites a non-transitory computer readable medium, is directed to a machine, which is a statutory category of invention. A similar analysis of claim 1 is applicable to claim 33 since the recited function is substantially identical.
Claim 33 recites no additional elements. Therefore, claim 33 is not eligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 16, 32 & 33 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ito et al. (US 2021/0256823 A1), hereinafter referred to as “Ito”, in view of Chandran et al. (us 2021/0027202 A1), hereinafter referred to as “Chandran”.
Regarding claim 1, Ito teach A monitoring apparatus (video surveillance system 1 [¶0026; Fig. 1]) comprising:
at least one memory configured to store instructions (HDD of computer 103 [¶0034; Fig. 2]); and
at least one processor configured to execute the instructions (RAM of computer 103 [¶0034; Fig. 2]) to perform operations comprising:
detecting a person taking a predetermined action based on performing the determined one or more analysis processes on the image (input images from cameras 21 are sent to the image input unit 31 (step S1), where a target is detected via target detection unit 3211 (step S2), an area determination is performed for where a target is detected (steps S3 & 4) to extract features of a detected target (steps S5-7) which are utilized by the incident detection unit 3221 to obtain a detected incident (i.e., performing incident detection as a form of action detection analysis) and associated accuracy (step S8) to calculate an event for each target (steps S9-S11) [¶0047-53; Figs. 4 & 5]); and
outputting detection information relating to the person taking predetermined action (information regarding the occurred incident, its location and associated accuracy, event calculation are output by the output control unit 323 to alert associated subjects [¶0053; step S12 of Fig. 5]),
wherein the plurality of analysis processes comprises at least one of object detection processing, face analysis processing, human shape analysis processing, pose analysis processing, action analysis processing (action analysis processing is performed in the form of incident detection, wherein an area determination is performed for where a target is detected (steps S3 & 4) to extract features of a detected target (steps S5-7) which are utilized by the incident detection unit 3221 to obtain a detected incident and associated accuracy (step S8) to calculate an event for each target (steps S9-S11) [¶0047-53; Figs. 4 & 5]), external appearance attribute analysis processing, gradient feature analysis processing, color feature analysis processing, or flow line analysis processing (due to the nature of the disjunctive “or”, the prior art only needs to disclose at least one of the listed limitations).
Ito, however, does not discuss utilizing the congestion level to determine processes to be performed. Chandran, on the other hand, is analogous art in the same field of endeavor of the present application and disclose a crowd estimation technique that first estimates the density of a crowd in a scene to then determine an optimal crowd estimation technique to perform. Chandran teach based on an image being acquired by capturing an inspection area (Chandran: a crowd 102 at location 104 (i.e., an inspection area) being inspected by camera 106 [¶0025; Fig. 1A]), determining a congestion level of the inspection area (Chandran: a crowd level is estimated by the crowd estimation technique integration module 208 [¶0032-34; Figs. 2 & 3]);
determining one or more analysis processes to be performed, from among a plurality of analysis processes, based on whether the congestion level is less than a predetermined threshold value (Chandran: the crowd level in the foreground of an image is used to select one or more crowd estimation technique calculators 204 to count the number of people in the crowd (i.e., an analysis process), with certain processes only being performed at a low crowd level (i.e., less than a predetermined threshold value for the a defined low crowd level) [¶0032-34; Figs. 2 & 3], with this selection process detailed further in Fig. 11 [¶0059]);
Chandran highlight that certain techniques relating to crowd have particular advantages and disadvantages at different crowed densities [¶0002-3], which motivated them to compare the performance of different crowd estimation models at different crowd levels [¶0005-7], to create a workflow for selecting the best performing crowd estimation technique based on a determined crowd level [Fig. 11]. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application would recognize the benefit of incorporating the teachings of Chandran and utilize the crowd level to determine what analyses perform best, use that to inform the selection of object detection and action analyses outlined by Ito to arrive at the invention of instant application.
Turning to claim 2, Ito in view of Chandran teach The monitoring apparatus according to claim 1 (taught above), wherein
the predetermined action includes a first action being decided in relation to an item included in the image (Ito: an incident to be classified could be the handing over of baggage [¶0056; Fig. 6A-C; Figs. 7-8]).
As for claim 3, Ito in view of Chandran teach The monitoring apparatus according to claim 2 (as detailed above), wherein
the item is luggage (Ito: baggage [¶0056; Fig. 6A-C; Figs. 7-8]), and
the first action includes being within a first range (Ito: the act of handing over baggage is in contact [¶0056; Fig. 6A-C; Figs. 7-8]) from the luggage and in a first pose (Ito: person handing over luggage is standing [Fig 8]).
Concerning claim 4, Ito in view of Chandran teach The monitoring apparatus according to claim 3 (detailed above), wherein
the first range from the luggage is a contact range with the luggage (Ito: the act of handing over baggage is in contact [¶0056; Fig. 6A-C; Figs. 7-8]).
With respect to claim 16, Ito in view of Chandran teach The monitoring apparatus according to claim 1 (detailed previously), wherein
the predetermined action includes a third action being decided in relation to a movement of a person being included in the image (Ito: an example of an “incident” could be subject climbing over a fence [¶0023; Figs. 6A & 8]).
Considering claim 32, Ito teach A monitoring method (Ito: the method outlined in Fig. 5 [¶0046-53]) comprising,
by a computer (Ito: computer 103 [¶0034; Fig. 2]):
detecting a person taking a predetermined action based on performing the determined one or more analysis processes on the image (input images from cameras 21 are sent to the image input unit 31 (step S1), where a target is detected via target detection unit 3211 (step S2), an area determination is performed for where a target is detected (steps S3 & 4) to extract features of a detected target (steps S5-7) which are utilized by the incident detection unit 3221 to obtain a detected incident (i.e., performing incident detection as a form of action detection analysis) and associated accuracy (step S8) to calculate an event for each target (steps S9-S11) [¶0047-53; Figs. 4 & 5]); and
outputting detection information relating to the person taking predetermined action (information regarding the occurred incident, its location and associated accuracy, event calculation are output by the output control unit 323 to alert associated subjects [¶0053; step S12 of Fig. 5]),
wherein the plurality of analysis processes comprises at least one of object detection processing, face analysis processing, human shape analysis processing, pose analysis processing, action analysis processing (action analysis processing is performed in the form of incident detection, wherein an area determination is performed for where a target is detected (steps S3 & 4) to extract features of a detected target (steps S5-7) which are utilized by the incident detection unit 3221 to obtain a detected incident and associated accuracy (step S8) to calculate an event for each target (steps S9-S11) [¶0047-53; Figs. 4 & 5]), external appearance attribute analysis processing, gradient feature analysis processing, color feature analysis processing, or flow line analysis processing (due to the nature of the disjunctive “or”, the prior art only needs to disclose at least one of the listed limitations).
Ito, however, does not discuss utilizing the congestion level to determine processes to be performed. Chandran, on the other hand, is analogous art in the same field of endeavor of the present application and disclose a crowd estimation technique that first estimates the density of a crowd in a scene to then determine an optimal crowd estimation technique to perform. Chandran teach based on an image being acquired by capturing an inspection area (Chandran: a crowd 102 at location 104 (i.e., an inspection area) being inspected by camera 106 [¶0025; Fig. 1A]), determining a congestion level of the inspection area (Chandran: a crowd level is estimated by the crowd estimation technique integration module 208 [¶0032-34; Figs. 2 & 3]);
determining one or more analysis processes to be performed, from among a plurality of analysis processes, based on whether the congestion level is less than a predetermined threshold value (Chandran: the crowd level in the foreground of an image is used to select one or more crowd estimation technique calculators 204 to count the number of people in the crowd (i.e., an analysis process), with certain processes only being performed at a low crowd level (i.e., less than a predetermined threshold value for the a defined low crowd level) [¶0032-34; Figs. 2 & 3], with this selection process detailed further in Fig. 11 [¶0059]);
Chandran highlight that certain techniques relating to crowd have particular advantages and disadvantages at different crowed densities [¶0002-3], which motivated them to compare the performance of different crowd estimation models at different crowd levels [¶0005-7], to create a workflow for selecting the best performing crowd estimation technique based on a determined crowd level [Fig. 11]. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application would recognize the benefit of incorporating the teachings of Chandran and utilize the crowd level to determine what analyses perform best, use that to inform the selection of object detection and action analyses outlined by Ito to arrive at the invention of instant application.
Turning to claim 33, Ito teach A non-transitory computer readable medium storing a program (Ito: HDD of computer 103 [¶0034; Fig. 2]) for causing a computer (Ito: HDD of computer 103 [¶0034; Fig. 2]) to execute:
detecting a person taking a predetermined action based on performing the determined one or more analysis processes on the image (input images from cameras 21 are sent to the image input unit 31 (step S1), where a target is detected via target detection unit 3211 (step S2), an area determination is performed for where a target is detected (steps S3 & 4) to extract features of a detected target (steps S5-7) which are utilized by the incident detection unit 3221 to obtain a detected incident (i.e., performing incident detection as a form of action detection analysis) and associated accuracy (step S8) to calculate an event for each target (steps S9-S11) [¶0047-53; Figs. 4 & 5]); and
outputting detection information relating to the person taking predetermined action (information regarding the occurred incident, its location and associated accuracy, event calculation are output by the output control unit 323 to alert associated subjects [¶0053; step S12 of Fig. 5]),
wherein the plurality of analysis processes comprises at least one of object detection processing, face analysis processing, human shape analysis processing, pose analysis processing, action analysis processing (action analysis processing is performed in the form of incident detection, wherein an area determination is performed for where a target is detected (steps S3 & 4) to extract features of a detected target (steps S5-7) which are utilized by the incident detection unit 3221 to obtain a detected incident and associated accuracy (step S8) to calculate an event for each target (steps S9-S11) [¶0047-53; Figs. 4 & 5]), external appearance attribute analysis processing, gradient feature analysis processing, color feature analysis processing, or flow line analysis processing (due to the nature of the disjunctive “or”, the prior art only needs to disclose at least one of the listed limitations).
Ito, however, does not discuss utilizing the congestion level to determine processes to be performed. Chandran, on the other hand, is analogous art in the same field of endeavor of the present application and disclose a crowd estimation technique that first estimates the density of a crowd in a scene to then determine an optimal crowd estimation technique to perform. Chandran teach based on an image being acquired by capturing an inspection area (Chandran: a crowd 102 at location 104 (i.e., an inspection area) being inspected by camera 106 [¶0025; Fig. 1A]), determining a congestion level of the inspection area (Chandran: a crowd level is estimated by the crowd estimation technique integration module 208 [¶0032-34; Figs. 2 & 3]);
determining one or more analysis processes to be performed, from among a plurality of analysis processes, based on whether the congestion level is less than a predetermined threshold value (Chandran: the crowd level in the foreground of an image is used to select one or more crowd estimation technique calculators 204 to count the number of people in the crowd (i.e., an analysis process), with certain processes only being performed at a low crowd level (i.e., less than a predetermined threshold value for the a defined low crowd level) [¶0032-34; Figs. 2 & 3], with this selection process detailed further in Fig. 11 [¶0059]);
Chandran highlight that certain techniques relating to crowd have particular advantages and disadvantages at different crowed densities [¶0002-3], which motivated them to compare the performance of different crowd estimation models at different crowd levels [¶0005-7], to create a workflow for selecting the best performing crowd estimation technique based on a determined crowd level [Fig. 11]. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application would recognize the benefit of incorporating the teachings of Chandran and utilize the crowd level to determine what analyses perform best, use that to inform the selection of object detection and action analyses outlined by Ito to arrive at the invention of instant application.
Claim(s) 5-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ito et al. (US 2021/0256823 A1), hereinafter referred to as “Ito”, in view of Chandran et al. (us 2021/0027202 A1), hereinafter referred to as “Chandran”, further in view of Oami; Ryoma (JP 2014/38674 A), hereinafter referred to as “Oami”.
Regarding claim 5, Ito in view of Chandran teach The monitoring apparatus according to claim 3 (as explained previously), and while Ito briefly recite observing a subject in a crouching position in a different embodiment [¶0076], they do not provide further details regarding this detection.
Oami, however, is analogous art pertinent to the field of endeavor and disclose a surveillance system for determining the posture of a subject. More specifically, Oami teach wherein
the first pose is at least one of a squatting pose (examiner notes that due to the disjunctive language of “at least one of”, only one of the following poses will be mapped to), and a crouching pose (Oami: video camera C captures a person P crouching at position L [¶16; Fig. 1]). Furthermore, Oami discloses the advantage of performing squatting / crouching detection allows the system to more accurately predict the height of a person being observed [¶15].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the present application to incorporate the squatting and crouching detection disclosed by Oami to the surveillance system outlined by Ito to arrive at the invention of the instant application. The motivation for doing so would be to more accurately obtain information (such as a height) of a user under surveillance.
Turning to claim 6, Ito in view of Chandran teach The monitoring apparatus according to claim 2 (as previously detailed), and while Ito briefly recite observing a subject in a crouching position in a different embodiment [¶0076], they do not provide further details regarding this detection.
Oami, however, teach wherein
the first action includes maintaining a first pose for equal to or greater than a predetermined time period (Oami: posture determination unit 105 determines the duration a squatting posture is maintained for a predetermined time T [¶23; Fig. 3]).
Furthermore, Oami discloses the advantage of performing squatting / crouching detection allows the system to more accurately predict the height of a person being observed [¶15]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the present application to incorporate the squatting and crouching detection disclosed by Oami to the surveillance system outlined by Ito in view of Chandran to arrive at the invention of the instant application. The motivation for doing so would be to more accurately obtain information (such as a height) of a user under surveillance.
Claim(s) 7 & 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ito et al. (US 2021/0256823 A1), hereinafter referred to as “Ito”, in view of Chandran et al. (us 2021/0027202 A1), hereinafter referred to as “Chandran”, further in view of Oami; Ryoma (JP 2014/38674 A), hereinafter referred to as “Oami”, further in view of Righi et al. (US 2020/0099206 A1), hereinafter referred to as “Righi”.
Regarding claim 7, Ito in view of Chandran, further in view of Oami teach The monitoring apparatus according to claim 6 (as shown above), but fails to teach detecting a person performing an action with a communication device.
Righi, on the other hand, is analogous art pertinent to the field of endeavor and disclose a method for monitoring cell phone usage in restricted areas. More specifically, Righi teach wherein
the item is a communication tool (Righi: cell phone usage is compared with existing models at step 440 by analytical engine 140 [¶0052-53; Fig. 4]), and
the first action includes maintaining a pose of making a call by using the communication tool (Righi: the model contains attributes consisting of the number of calls and their duration [¶0053]).
Furthermore, Righi disclose that monitoring phone call activity allows for comparing to existing criminal activity models to determine a threat level of a suspect user [¶0003]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the present application to incorporate the call monitoring disclosed by Righi for monitoring call activity with the overall surveillance apparatus described by Ito in view of Chandran and Oami to arrive at the invention of the instant application. The motivation for doing so would be to more accurately predict if a detected subject is displaying abnormal call activity associated with criminal behavior.
Turning to claim 11, Ito in view of Chandran, further in view of Oami and Righi teach The monitoring apparatus according to claim 7 (as explained above), wherein
the first action includes talking (Righi: scanner/receiver 12 can obtain voice samples to verify a subject participated in a conversation [¶0037]).
Furthermore, Righi disclose that monitoring phone call activity allows for comparing to existing criminal activity models to determine a threat level of a suspect user [¶0003]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the present application to incorporate the call monitoring disclosed by Righi for monitoring call activity with the overall surveillance apparatus described by Ito in view of Chandran and Oami to arrive at the invention of the instant application. The motivation for doing so would be to more accurately predict if a detected subject is displaying abnormal call activity associated with criminal behavior.
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ito et al. (US 2021/0256823 A1), hereinafter referred to as “Ito”, in view of Chandran et al. (us 2021/0027202 A1), hereinafter referred to as “Chandran”, further in view of Oami; Ryoma (JP 2014/38674 A), hereinafter referred to as “Oami”, further in view of Righi et al. (US 2020/0099206 A1), hereinafter referred to as “Righi”. further in view of Broggi; Alberto (US 2021/0142055 A1), hereinafter referred to as “Broggi”.
Regarding claim 9, Ito in view of Chandran, further in view of Oami and Righi teach The monitoring apparatus according to claim 7 (as previously taught), however, they fail to specify capturing a subject holding a communication tool with a specified range from their face.
Broggi, however, is analogous art pertinent to the field of endeavor of the present application and disclose a computer vision system for detecting the use of an electronic mobile device. More specifically, Broggi teach wherein
the first action includes holding the communication tool within a second range from a face (Broggi: a user is captured holding a phone against their ear [¶0176; Figs. 4 & 8]).
Furthermore, Broggi discloses their system provides the added benefit of being detect additional behaviors, such as detecting a subject’s head and neck movements, or tracking their mouth movements to infer speech [¶0025]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the present application to implement the phone monitoring system proposed by Broggi with the surveillance system outlined by Ito in view of Chandran, further in view of Oami and Righi to arrive at the present invention of the instant application. The motivation for doing so would be to more accurately obtain information of a subject of interest making a phone call.
Claim(s) 12-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ito et al. (US 2021/0256823 A1), hereinafter referred to as “Ito”, in view of Chandran et al. (us 2021/0027202 A1), hereinafter referred to as “Chandran”, further in view of Ando; Tanichi (US 2007/0014439 A1), hereinafter referred to as “Ando”.
Regarding claim 12, Ito in view of Chandran teach The monitoring apparatus according to claim 1 (as previously taught), but does not teach monitoring a visual line of sight of a person.
Ando, however, is analogous art pertinent to the field of endeavor of the instant application and disclose a system for surveilling suspicious individuals. More specifically, Ando teach wherein
the predetermined action includes a second action being decided in relation to a visual line of a person being included in the image (Ando: A suspicious individual frequently turns their gaze (a sight line) on a monitoring target in an attempt to make a preliminary inspection before performing a suspicious activity [¶0026-27]).
Furthermore, Ando disclose that this monitoring allows the system to detect an individual “prowling” a target prior to performing a suspicious activity more accurately to minimize the potential for future damages [¶0029]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the present application to incorporate the visual line monitoring disclosed by Ando into the surveillance system of Ito in view of Chandran to arrive at the invention of the instant application. The motivation for doing so would be to preemptively predict an individual about to commit suspicious activity by monitoring the direction of their gaze.
Turning to claim 13, Ito in view of Chandran, further in view of Ando teach The monitoring apparatus according to claim 12 (as described above), wherein
the second action includes changing a visual line direction continuously for a second time period or longer (the examiner notes that given the use of the disjunctive “or” in the claim, only one of either listed limitation needs to be taught by the prior art), or intermittently at a first frequency or more (Ando: A suspicious individual with face Z makes a preliminary inspection (i.e., adjusting their visual line) of a target (in this case, a vehicle), over a period of time or at a predefined frequency [¶0216; Fig. 12]).
Again, Ando disclose that this monitoring allows the system to detect an individual “prowling” a target prior to performing a suspicious activity more accurately to minimize the potential for future damages [¶0029]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the present application to incorporate the visual line monitoring disclosed by Ando into the surveillance system of Ito in view of Chandran to arrive at the invention of the instant application. The motivation for doing so would be to preemptively predict an individual about to commit suspicious activity by monitoring the direction of their gaze.
As for claim 14, Ito in view of Chandran, further in view of Ando teach The monitoring apparatus according to claim 12 (previously explained), wherein
the second action includes an action relating to a visual line with respect to a predetermined target (Ando: A suspicious individual with face Z makes a preliminary inspection of a target (in this case, a vehicle) over a period of time or at a predefined frequency [¶0216; Fig. 12]).
Again, Ando disclose that this monitoring allows the system to detect an individual “prowling” a target prior to performing a suspicious activity more accurately to minimize the potential for future damages [¶0029]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the present application to incorporate the visual line monitoring disclosed by Ando into the surveillance system of Ito in view of Chandran to arrive at the invention of the instant application. The motivation for doing so would be to preemptively predict an individual about to commit suspicious activity by monitoring the direction of their gaze.
Concerning claim 15, Ito in view of Chandran, further in view of Ando teach The monitoring apparatus according to claim 14 (as explained above), wherein
the second action includes gazing at the predetermined target continuously for a fourth time period or longer (the examiner notes that given the use of the disjunctive “or” in the claim, only one of either listed limitation needs to be taught by the prior art), or intermittently at a second frequency or more (Ando: A suspicious individual with face Z makes a preliminary inspection of a target (in this case, a vehicle) over a period of time or at a predefined frequency [¶0216; Fig. 12]).
Again, Ando disclose that this monitoring allows the system to detect an individual “prowling” a target prior to performing a suspicious activity more accurately to minimize the potential for future damages [¶0029]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the present application to incorporate the visual line monitoring disclosed by Ando into the surveillance system of Ito in view of Chandran to arrive at the invention of the instant application. The motivation for doing so would be to preemptively predict an individual about to commit suspicious activity by monitoring the direction of their gaze.
Claim(s) 17-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ito et al. (US 2021/0256823 A1), hereinafter referred to as “Ito”, in view of Chandran et al. (us 2021/0027202 A1), hereinafter referred to as “Chandran”, further in view of Righi et al. (US 2020/0099206 A1), hereinafter referred to as “Righi”.
Regarding claim 17, Ito in view of Chandran teach The monitoring apparatus according to claim 16 (as mapped previously), but does not disclose monitoring a user lingering in an area for a predetermined area or longer. Righi, on the other hand, is analogous art pertinent to the field of endeavor and disclose a method for monitoring cell phone usage in restricted areas. Righi teach wherein
the third action includes staying in a first area for a fifth time period or longer (Righi: at step 420, the system will measure how long a subject stays in a “red zone” 305, at step 430, the system will assign greater interest on a subject the longer they stay in a monitored area [¶0052; Fig. 4]).
Furthermore, Righi disclose that how long a user remains in a restricted area allows a system to compare that behavior to criminal activity models to determine a threat level of a suspect user [¶0003]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the present application to incorporate the call monitoring disclosed by Righi for monitoring call activity with the overall surveillance apparatus described by Ito in view of Chandran to arrive at the invention of the instant application. The motivation for doing so would be to more accurately predict if a detected subject is displaying abnormal loitering associated with criminal behavior.
As for claim 18, Ito in view of Chandran, further in view of Righi teach The monitoring apparatus according to claim 17 (as described above), wherein
the first area is a predetermined range from the inspection area or a reference location (Ito: areas 801 & 802, “detection target areas A1 & A2” respectfully, are determined based on their coordinate positions in the captured image [¶0078; Fig. 10]).
Claim(s) 34 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ito et al. (US 2021/0256823 A1), hereinafter referred to as “Ito”, in view of Chandran et al. (us 2021/0027202 A1), hereinafter referred to as “Chandran”, further in view of Colmanarez et al. (US 2002/0167403 A1), hereinafter referred to as “Colminarez”.
Regarding claim 34, Ito in view of Chandran teach The monitoring apparatus of claim 1 (previously described), however, neither Ito nor Chandran describe tracking a person’s facial features and external appearance to detect a particular action.
Colmenarez, on the other hand, is analogous art in the same technological realm of the present application and describe a monitoring system for the entry and exit of fitting rooms to determine of a person is stealing clothes. Colmenarez teach wherein the at least one processor is further configured to execute the instructions to perform operations comprising:
obtaining a face feature value of a person entering the inspection area and external appearance information of the person entering the inspection area (Colmanarez: the profiles of customers entering and leaving a fitting room area being inspected , where the image of face (which conveys facial feature values) can be used as an identifier, and images of a person’s body to monitor clothing worn are used as an indicator[¶0035-36]);
based on a person with a matching face feature value exiting the inspection area, compare the external appearance information of the person entering the inspection area and external appearance information of the person with the matching face feature value (Colmanarez: when an identifier (i.e., a face image) matches a person leaving the fitting room , the indicators such as CM for how well the clothing in two images match is compared [¶0036-37]);
based on the external appearance information of the person entering the inspection area and the external appearance information of the person with the matching face feature value being different, detect the person with the matching face feature value as the person taking the predetermined action (Colmanarez: when indicator match (IM) is high (i.e., ID high) and the CM is low (i.e., their clothing leaving the area does not match their clothing entering the area), an alarm is generated as the detected person is detected as stealing the clothes [¶0037-38]).
Colmanarez explain that their system leverages facial recognition with general images of a person’s external appearance (particular worn clothes, or clothes being carried) to generate an alarm for when it is determined a person may be stealing clothes [¶0002, 8 & 9]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to utilize the general clothing and facial matching comparison described by Colmanarez and incorporate those teaching into the base surveillance monitoring system described by Ito in view of Chandran to arrive at the invention of the instant application. This would better enable the system to identify potential instances of theft.
Claim(s) 35 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ito et al. (US 2021/0256823 A1), hereinafter referred to as “Ito”, in view of Chandran et al. (us 2021/0027202 A1), hereinafter referred to as “Chandran”, further in view of Pisupati et al. (US 2023/0109778 A1), hereinafter referred to as “Pisupati”.
Regarding claim 35, Ito in view of Chandran teach The monitoring apparatus of claim 1 (as previously described), wherein the at least one processor is further configured to execute the instructions to perform operations comprising:
based on the congestion level being less than the predetermined threshold value (Chandran: a LOW crowd level [¶0033]), and
based on the congestion level being greater than or equal to the predetermined threshold value (Chandran: a HIGH crowd level [¶0033]), however Chandran only describes selecting different analyses based on a crowding level, as opposed to performing all or a subset of analyses available based on a congestion level.
Pisupati, per contra, is analogous art pertinent to the field of endeavor of the present application and describe a video analytics system that throttles the video processing functions based on the overall workload. Pisupati teach performing all of the plurality of analysis processes (Pisupati: the video processing unit 120 can perform one or more operations such as object detection, tracking, classification, etc. to produce characterization data [¶0023] – the examiner notes that the under low workloads, all of the listed analyses can be performed);
performing a subset of the plurality of analysis processes (Pisupati: policies that throttle video processing based on a workload may include particular priorities for each processing operation (i.e., under higher workloads, only certain operations are prioritized low-priority operations are omitted) [¶0019, 033-36; Fig. 2]).
Pisupati explain their framework address issues relating to the performance of video processing failing or degrading during high workloads and instead adjust parameters for video processing and analyses to better account for computational burden [¶0001-04]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to utilize this workload-based throttling and prioritization of particular analyses processes taught by Pisupati, and configure to throttle what analyses are performed on videos based on an overall congestion level described by Ito in view of Chandran to arrive at the invention of the instant application. This, in turn, would accommodate the burdensome and potentially poor performance of performing all possible analyses during scenes with high complexity over a certain degree of congestion.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MICHAEL M SOFRONIOU/Examiner, Art Unit 2661
/JOHN VILLECCO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2661