DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3, 6, 8 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 3, 6, and 9 include exemplary language, like “preferably,” “illustratively,” and “for example.” Every situation in which this language occurs is indefinite, as it is unclear if these are meant to be limitations, or merely provide examples for the artisan to better understand the invention. See MPEP 2173.05(d). If the intent was the former, please provide definite claim language; if the intent was the latter, this is the purpose of the specification. For the sake of examining the claims on their merit, it will be assumed that this is exemplary language, and should not be intended as a claim limitation.
Claim 6 also provides for limitations “according to an embodiment.” If the Applicant would like particular embodiments examined, these should be presented in a proper Markush group, or in their own dependent claims.
Claim 8 is indefinite because it is unclear what the range of an “effective dose” would comprise. There is nothing in the specification to suggest that the ordinary artisan can reasonably gauge the claimed treatment, with respect to an unclaimed dosage.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zhi, et al (WO 2017/020786A1). Zhi states that Bacteroides fragilis can be used to treat diarrhea. See page 2 (of the translation), last paragraph.
With respect to claim 1, Zhi teaches methods of treating diarrhea with B. fragilis.
With respect to claim 2, Zhi teaches B. fragilis ZY-312. See page 1, 1st paragraph. Although Zhi provides for a different deposit number, the strain designation is the same. This would suggest that the claimed B. fragilis ZY-312 is likely identical to the B. fragilis ZY-312 described by Zhi. Barring evidence to the contrary, this is a reasonable assumption.
With respect to claim 3, Zhi provides no limitations on the type of diarrhea, suggesting that it can include diarrhea from any cause.
With respect to claims 4-6, Zhi teaches both living and freeze-dried cells. See page 10, “2. Bacterial preparation” section; page 12, last paragraph.
With respect to claim 7, Zhi indicates that the composition can be provided as a food. See page 1, “Abstract” section.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/103
Claims 8 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhi, et al (WO 2017/020786A1 [machine translation attached]).
With respect to claim 8, Zhi teaches freeze-drying the composition. Although Zhi does not explicitly teach the claimed steps, these are generally routine steps for the processes of freeze-drying probiotic microbes. Therefore, if it can be shown that Zhi did not perform these steps, they would have been obvious to the ordinary artisan, since freeze-drying probiotic microbes is widely-used, and exceptionally well-known/predictable in the art. As such, Zhi either anticipates the claimed step, or the ordinary artisan would find the claimed step to be obvious over Zhi.
With respect to claim 9, Zhi teaches pills, tablets, etc. See page 1, 1st paragraph.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-9 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 11-23 of copending Application No. 18/700/420 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the two inventions provide for overlapping limitations. The copending application provides for a method of treating diarrhea with B. fragilis, wherein the diarrhea is caused by cancer treatment. The copending application is narrower, but wholly fits within the scope of the instant invention, because the instant invention provides for methods of treating diarrhea from any cause. As such, the copending application and the instant claim-set read upon each other, and provide for non-statutory double patenting.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
/DAVID W BERKE-SCHLESSEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1651