DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 5 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wells (WO 2021/126676).
Claim 1
Wells discloses a device (400) capable of supporting a plurality of medical containers, the device comprising a plate (402) having an upper surface, a lower surface, and a sidewall defining a perimeter of the plate and extending between the upper surface and the lower surface, the sidewall comprising four edges intersecting at corners, a longitudinal axis of the plate extending perpendicular to the upper surface, the plate defining a plurality of openings (412) extending through the plate from the upper surface to the lower surface (see figure 4b), each opening capable to retain a medical container therein, the plate being dimensioned to be disposed in a packaging (300) for transporting a plurality of medical containers such that a distance measured between opposing edges of the sidewall is less than a distance measured between opposing sidewalls of an interior surface of the packaging (see figures above); and at least two positioning elements (408) coupled at a first end thereof to the plate, each of the positioning elements having a second end opposite the first end detached from the plate, the first of the at least two positioning elements is at least partly disposed on a first edge of the four edges, the second of the at least two positioning elements is at least partly disposed on a second edge of the four edges, the first edge and second edge being adjacent to each other, wherein, when the plate is disposed in the packaging, each positioning element extends a lateral distance beyond the sidewall of the plate and axially beyond the upper surface of the plate such that each positioning element forms an acute angle relative to the longitudinal axis of the plate and such that each of the positioning elements contacts the interior surface of the sidewall of the packaging when the plate is disposed therein (see figures above).
Claim 5
Wells further discloses the first of the at least two positioning elements is disposed exclusively on a first edge of the four edges, the second of the at least two positioning elements is disposed on a second edge of the four edges, the first edge and second edge being adjacent to each other, and the first positioning element being separate from the second position element (see figures above).
Claim 8
Wells further discloses the positioning elements are formed integrally with the plate (see figures 4b and 4c).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wells (WO 2021/126676) as applied to claim 5 above.
Claim 6
Wells further discloses the positioning elements (408) are formed from compressible/flexible U-shaped portions configured to friction fit within the packaging/tub and when the plate is exterior to the packaging/tub (see page 5). Wells discloses the packaging/tub in which the device is attached is tapered, reducing its width, from top to bottom of the packaging/tub. Wells does not explicitly disclose the acute angle could be variable by 65 to 80 degrees. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Wells having the positioning elements with the required variable angles depending how depth the device is inserted into the packaging and/or depending the desired amount of friction between the positioning elements and the packaging/tub.
Claim 7
Wells further discloses a positioning element in two of the four edges of the device. Wells discloses, other embodiments, the positioning elements could be disposed on different edges of the device (see page 5). Wells does not explicitly disclose at least one positioning element coupled to each edge of the sidewall of the device. However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have at least one positioning element on each edge of the sidewall of the device, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art to have better engagement between the device and the packaging/tub and/or to have a friction fit on each of the sidewalls between the device and the packaging/tub. In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960).
Claims 9 and 11-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vanderbush (US 8,100,263) in view of Wells (WO 2021/126676).
Claim 9
Vanderbush discloses a packaging system (10’) for receiving a plurality of medical containers, the packaging system comprising a packaging (14’) comprising a sidewall extending from a bottom wall, an interior surface of the sidewall being stepped so as to define a ledge (50); a device (45) comprising a plate (45a) having an upper surface, a lower surface, and a sidewall (defined by peripheral edges 46) defining a perimeter of the plate and extending between the upper surface and the lower surface, the sidewall comprising four edges intersecting at corners, a longitudinal axis (defined by axis extending across top to bottom of the device) of the plate extending perpendicular to the upper surface, the plate defining a plurality of openings (60a) extending through the plate from the upper surface to the lower surface (see figure 6), each opening configured to retain a medical container therein, the plate being dimensioned to be disposed in a packaging (14’) for transporting a plurality of medical containers such that a distance measured between opposing edges of the sidewall is less than a distance measured between opposing sidewalls of an interior surface of the packaging (see figures 7 and 10a), wherein when the plate (45a) disposed in the packaging, the lower surface of the plate is disposed on the ledge (see column 16 lines 53-55). Vanderbush does not disclose the device comprising at least wo positioning elements, as required. However, Wells discloses a device (400) comprising at least two positioning elements (408) disposed on edges of the device (see figure 4a). Wells discloses the uses of the positioning elements are for frictionally engage with sidewalls of a packaging when inserted and preventing the device to move upwards helping the device to stay in place and immovable with respect to the packaging (see page 7). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Wells the device having the positioning elements as taught by Wells for frictionally engage with sidewalls of the packaging when inserted and preventing the device to move upwards helping the device to stay in place and immovable with respect to the packaging.
Claim 11
After Vanderbush is modified by Wells, a minority of a surface area of the surface of the positioning element will be disposed against the interior surface of the sidewall of the packaging.
Claim 12
After Vanderbush is modified by Wells, an axial dimension of each positioning element will be less than or equal to an axial dimension measured between the ledge and an uppermost surface of the packaging. After Vanderbush is modified by Wells each of the positioning elements will be completely inserted within the interior of the packaging.
Claim 13
Wells further discloses the positioning elements friction fit within the interior of the packaging/tub (see figure 6). After Vanderbush is modified by Wells, the plate including the positioning elements will engage the interior surface of the sidewalls of the packaging by interference fit.
Claim 14
Vanderbush further discloses the device further comprises a plurality of chimneys (60), each chimney extends circumferentially about an opening (60a) of the plurality of openings and extends axially over the upper surface of the plate, each chimney configured to retain a medical container therein (see figure 7).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-4 and 10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
RAFAEL A. ORTIZ
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3736
/RAFAEL A ORTIZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3736