DETAILED ACTION
This is the first action on the merits for application 18/833106. Claims 1-15, 22-26 are currently pending in this application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 6-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HARADA ((2018/0223953).
Regarding Claim 1, HARADA teaches A continuous belt comprising: an upper portion including a top surface and a plurality of cords (2); and a lower portion comprising a plurality of ribs (4), the ribs having a width and defining a plurality of grooves below the upper portion; wherein each rib includes a first wall and a second wall defining a peak for each groove; wherein each rib includes a bottom cover (5) defining a bottom surface of the rib (4);
HARADA does not teach wherein the width of the ribs is between 0.15 inches (e.g., about 3.8 mm) and 0.50 inches (e.g., about 12.7 mm); and wherein the belt has a dynamic compressive modulus E* in the with-grain direction at 121°C greater than 48 MPa.
HARADA discloses the result effective variable of a belt rib width since the ribs have some width (Fig. 1)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to recognize the rib width parameter as a result effective variable and optimize it so the belt has adequate surface area to grip pulleys while creating a sufficiently durable belt for a given application.
HARADA discloses the result effective variable of a belt compressive modulus at a given temperature since the belt has some compressive modulus.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to recognize the belt compressive modulus parameter as a result effective variable and optimize it so the belt is rigid enough to be sufficiently durable at operating temperatures and belt loads for a given application.
Regarding Claim 2, HARADA as modified teaches wherein the bottom cover (5) comprises fabric [0018].
Regarding Claim 3, HARADA as modified teaches further comprising a top cover (1) defining the top surface.
Regarding Claim 4, HARADA as modified teaches wherein the top cover (1) comprises fabric.
Regarding Claim 6, HARADA as modified teaches wherein the bottom cover (5) does not cover the first and second walls.
Regarding Claim 7, HARADA does not teach wherein the belt has an RPA G* modulus at 175°C greater than 5,000 kPa.
HARADA discloses the result effective variable of a belt RPA G* modulus since the belt has some RPA G* modulus.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to recognize the RPA G* modulus.parameter as a result effective variable and optimize it so the belt is stiff enough to sufficiently withstand belt oscillating shear for a given application.
Regarding Claim 8, HARADA as modified teaches wherein the upper portion (3) includes a cushion portion comprising a material different than a material of the lower portion (4).
Claim(s) 9-14, 22-26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over TAKAHASHI (2014/0364260)
Regarding Claim 9, TAKAHASHI teaches A continuous belt comprising: an upper portion including a top surface and a plurality of cords (14); and a lower portion comprising a plurality of ribs (15), the ribs having a width and a height and defining a plurality of grooves below the upper portion;
TAKAHASHI does not teach wherein the width of the ribs is between 0.15 inches (e.g., about 3.8 mm) and 0.50 inches (e.g., about 12.7 mm);wherein the belt has a groove cord pitch ratio between a height of a bottom of the cords above the peaks of the grooves and the width of the ribs; and wherein the groove cord pitch ratio is less than 8%.
TAKAHASHI discloses the result effective variable of a belt rib width since the ribs have some width (Fig. 1)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to recognize the rib width parameter as a result effective variable and optimize it so the belt has adequate surface area to grip pulleys while creating a sufficiently durable belt for a given application.
TAKAHASHI discloses the result effective variable of a belt groove cord pitch ratio since the belt has some groove cord pitch ratio.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to recognize the groove cord pitch ratio parameter as a result effective variable and optimize it so the belt has less height for flexibility while having adequately wide ribs for durability.
Regarding Claims 10, TAKAHASHI does not teach wherein each rib includes a first wall and a second wall defining a peak for each groove; and wherein the belt has an aspect ratio between the width of the ribs and the height of the ribs, the aspect ratio being greater than 1.40.
TAKAHASHI discloses the result effective variable of a rib aspect ratio since the belt rib has some aspect ratio (Fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to recognize the rib aspect ratio parameter as a result effective variable and optimize it so the belt rib is sufficiently durable while allowing adequate grip with its belt pulleys for a given application.
Regarding Claims 11, TAKAHASHI does not teach wherein each rib includes a first wall and a second wall defining a peak for each groove; and wherein the belt has an aspect ratio between the width of the ribs and the height of the ribs, the aspect ratio between 1.60 and 1.75.
TAKAHASHI discloses the result effective variable of a rib aspect ratio since the belt rib has some aspect ratio (Fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to recognize the rib aspect ratio parameter as a result effective variable and optimize it so the belt rib is sufficiently durable while allowing adequate grip with its belt pulleys for a given application.
Regarding Claims 12, TAKAHASHI does not teach wherein the width of each rib is greater than 4 mm.
TAKAHASHI discloses the result effective variable of a belt rib width since the ribs have some width (Fig. 1)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to recognize the rib width parameter as a result effective variable and optimize it so the belt has adequate surface area to grip pulleys while creating a sufficiently durable belt for a given application.
Regarding Claims 13, TAKAHASHI does not teach wherein the width of the ribs is between 0 0.36-0.38 inches.
TAKAHASHI discloses the result effective variable of a belt rib width since the ribs have some width (Fig. 1)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to recognize the rib width parameter as a result effective variable and optimize it so the belt has adequate surface area to grip pulleys while creating a sufficiently durable belt for a given application.
Regarding Claims 14, TAKAHASHI does not teach wherein the height of the ribs is between 0.15 inches and 0.40 inches.
TAKAHASHI discloses the result effective variable of a belt rib width since the ribs have some width (Fig. 1)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to recognize the rib width parameter as a result effective variable and optimize it so the belt has adequate surface area to grip pulleys while creating a sufficiently durable belt for a given application.
Regarding Claims 22, TAKAHASHI does not teach wherein the width of the ribs is about 0.37 inches.
TAKAHASHI discloses the result effective variable of a belt rib width since the ribs have some width (Fig. 1)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to recognize the rib width parameter as a result effective variable and optimize it so the belt has adequate surface area to grip pulleys while creating a sufficiently durable belt for a given application.
Regarding Claims 23, TAKAHASHI does not teach wherein the height of the ribs is between 0.22 inches and 0.23 inches.
TAKAHASHI discloses the result effective variable of a belt rib width since the ribs have some width (Fig. 1)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to recognize the rib width parameter as a result effective variable and optimize it so the belt has adequate surface area to grip pulleys while creating a sufficiently durable belt for a given application.
Regarding Claims 24, TAKAHASHI does not teach wherein the height of the ribs is about 0.227 inches.
TAKAHASHI discloses the result effective variable of a belt rib width since the ribs have some width (Fig. 1)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to recognize the rib width parameter as a result effective variable and optimize it so the belt has adequate surface area to grip pulleys while creating a sufficiently durable belt for a given application.
Regarding Claims 25, TAKAHASHI does not teach wherein the height of the ribs is between 0.15 inches and 0.40 inches.
TAKAHASHI discloses the result effective variable of a belt rib width since the ribs have some width (Fig. 1)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to recognize the rib width parameter as a result effective variable and optimize it so the belt has adequate surface area to grip pulleys while creating a sufficiently durable belt for a given application.
Regarding Claims 26, TAKAHASHI does not teach wherein the height of the ribs is between 0.22 - 0.23 inches.
TAKAHASHI discloses the result effective variable of a belt rib width since the ribs have some width (Fig. 1)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to recognize the rib width parameter as a result effective variable and optimize it so the belt has adequate surface area to grip pulleys while creating a sufficiently durable belt for a given application.
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HARADA ((2018/0223953) in view of NONAKA (2016/0208890).
Regarding Claim 5, HARADA does not teach wherein the peak of each groove is rounded.
NONAKA teaches wherein the peak of each groove is rounded (Figs. 1-3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to change the belt in HARADA to have rounded groove peaks as in NONAKA so the belt better meshes a given set of pulleys.
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over TAKAHASHI (2014/0364260) in view of HARADA ((2018/0223953).
Regarding Claims 15, TAKAHASHI does not teach wherein each rib includes a bottom cover defining the bottom surface.
HARADA teaches wherein each rib includes a bottom cover (5) defining the bottom surface.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to change the belt in HARADA to have the bottom cover in HARADA to increase belt durability, bending resistance, heat resistance, and crack resistance.
Conclusion
HENRY Y. LIU
Examiner
Art Unit 3654
/HENRY Y LIU/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3654