Detailed Office Action
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 5, 7-10, and 12-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yoon (WO2021125665A2 – from IDS).
In regard to claim 1, Yoon discloses a heating apparatus (coil 140, susceptor 150) for an aerosol generating device (aerosol generating device 100) comprising,
a cavity (accommodating space 120 and opening 111) having a main longitudinal axis and comprising an opening in which an aerosol forming substance can be received (In figure 3, the accommodating space 120 displays a lengthwise shape and an opening 111 through which the aerosol-generating article 200 is inserted (Page 11, ¶80)),
a first insulator sleeve (upper longitudinal portion of the heat-dissipating structure 130) comprising an inner wall (inner wall 131) and an outer wall (outer wall 132), where the inner wall is radially proximal to the cavity (inner wall 131 is closer to the accommodating space 120 than the outer wall 132), the first insulator sleeve arranged along a first portion of the cavity with respect to the main longitudinal axis (the upper portion of structure 130 is closer to the opening 111),
a second insulator (lower longitudinal portion of the heat dissipating structure 130) comprising an inner wall (inner wall 131) and an outer wall (outer wall 132), where the inner wall of the second insulator is radially proximal to the cavity ((inner wall 131 is closer to the accommodating space 120 than the outer wall 132), the second insulator arranged along a second portion of the cavity, wherein the second portion is positioned distally to the opening with respect to the first insulator sleeve along the main longitudinal axis (the lower portion of structure 130 is closer to the accommodating space 120),
and a heater (susceptor 150) positioned radially inwardly with respect to the outer wall of the second insulator and configured to provide heat to an aerosol forming substance received in the cavity (the susceptor is positioned inwardly of the outer wall 132 of the heat dissipating structure 130; Figure 6).
In regard to claim 2, Yoon discloses a heating apparatus of claim 1, as discussed above wherein the first insulator sleeve and/or the second insulator comprises a vacuum between the respective inner and outer walls (The inner space 133 formed by the inner wall 131, the outer wall 132, the upper wall 134, and the lower wall 135 of the heat-dissipating structure 130 may form a vacuum space. Figure 6; (Page 14, ¶102)).
In regard to claim 5, Yoon discloses a heating apparatus of claim 1, as discussed above wherein the heater is arranged on the inner wall of the second insulator, between the outer and inner walls of the second insulator (Figure 6 displays the coil 140 and susceptor 150 located on the inner wall 131 of the second insulator).
In regard to claim 7, Yoon discloses a heating apparatus of claim 1, as discussed above, wherein the second insulator comprises an end of the cavity (See annotated figure 3 below).
In regard to claim 8, Yoon discloses a heating apparatus of claim 1, as discussed above, wherein the heater is cup- shaped (the heat-dissipating structure 130 having a cup shape. (Page 15, Line 108)) and comprises an end of the cavity (see annotated figure 3 above in claim 7).
In regard to claim 9, Yoon discloses a heating apparatus of claim 7, as discussed above, wherein the end of the cavity (see annotated figure 3 above in claim 7) comprises one or more holes to enable airflow into the cavity (hole 137; See figure 7B).
In regard to claim 10, Yoon discloses a heating apparatus of claim 1, as discussed above, wherein the outer wall of the second insulator comprises a metal and/or a plastic (the outer wall 132 may be made of a non-metal material, such as plastic (Page 12, ¶88))
In regard to claim 12, Yoon discloses a heating apparatus of claim 1, as discussed above, further comprising one or more wires configured to connect the heater to a power source (battery 160 and controller 170; an element (for example, the coil 140) arranged in the inner wall of the heat-dissipating structure 130 may be electrically connected to the controller 170 and may receive power through the wire. (Page 15, ¶110)).
In regard to claim 13, Yoon discloses a heating apparatus of claim 1, as discussed above whereas an aerosol generating device configured to generate an aerosol for inhalation by a user, comprising the heating apparatus (aerosol generating device 100 comprising a housing 110, an accommodating space 120 that is configured to receive an aerosol generating article 200. The aerosol generating device 100 comprises coils 140 and susceptor 150).
In regard to claim 14, Yoon discloses a heating apparatus of claim 1, as discussed above whereas an aerosol forming consumable (aerosol generating article 200) for insertion into the heating apparatus according to claims claim 1, comprising:
a filter (filter rod 220);
an aerosol forming substance (Tobacco rod 210);
and a wrapping material (wrapper 240) arranged to hold the filter and the aerosol forming substance so as to provide a predetermined gap between the filter and the aerosol forming substance (See annotated Figure 2 below).
In regard to claim 15, Yoon discloses a heating apparatus of claim 1, as discussed above, wherein the outer wall of the second insulator comprises stainless steel and/or polyether ether ketone, PEEK (the inner wall 131, the outer wall 132, the upper wall 134, and the lower wall 135 of the heat-dissipating structure 130 may include a paramagnetic metal including stainless steel, aluminum, potassium, sodium, platinum, and the like (Page 15, ¶ 103)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoon (WO2021125665A2 – from IDS) in view of Zhang (CN-209788481U – English Translation from Espacenet).
In regard to claim 3, Yoon discloses a heating apparatus of claim 1, as discussed above. However, Yoon fails to disclose an insulating material between the inner and outer walls of the first insulator sleeve and the second insulator.
Zhang discloses a heat insulating tube 21 that comprises an inner tube body 211 and an outer tube body 212, whereby the insulating cavity 213 is formed between the inner tube body and the outer tube body [0063]. The heat insulation pipe 21 is used to reduce the heat in the heating cavity from being conducted radially to the outside [0023]. Zhang further discloses an insulating cavity is filled with an insulating material, preferably powder material with low thermal conductivity [0063].
Yoon and Zhang are analogous prior art to the current invention because they are concerned with the same field of endeavor, namely electronic heating smoking device.
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the heat-dissipating structure 130 of Yoon to include the insulating material/powder material of Zhang to reduce the heat in the heating cavity from being conducted radially to the outside.
In regard to claim 11, Yoon discloses a heating apparatus of claim 1, as discussed above. However, Yoon does not expressly disclose that the heater is a resistance heater. Yoon teaches embodiments of the invention using a inductive heating but does not exclude nor disparage other heating types, such as resistive heaters, from being used in practicing the invention of Yoon. Additionally, Yoon’s technical problem is to the use of insulation to prevent heat transfer and this is not taught to depend on the heating system used (inductive vs. resistive). (See ¶[3-6])
Zhang discloses an electric heating element 12 formed of electrothermal materials such as nickel-chromium-aluminum alloy, stainless steel and other commonly used resistive materials for electronic cigarette heating or formed by printing heating lines on the inner wall of a rigid tubular body such as ceramics [0062].
Yoon and Zhang are analogous prior art to the current invention because they are concerned with the same field of endeavor, namely electronic heating smoking device.
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the heater of Yoon to include the resistive materials for electronic cigarette heating of Zhang as an alternative electrical heating arrangement for generating heat.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoon (WO2021125665A2 – from IDS) in view of Lee (WO20210253671)
In regard to claim 6, Yoon discloses a heating apparatus of claim 5, as discussed above.
However, Yoon does not expressly disclose an electrical insulation layer positioned between the heater and the inner wall of the second insulator.
Lee discloses a heating assembly comprising a first heating element 110, a first electrical insulating layer 120, and a second heating element 130, wherein the electrical insulating layer 120 is positioned between the heating element. Lee teaches the first electrical insulating layer 120 is disposed between the first heating element 110 and the second heating element 130, the first heating element 110 and the second heating element 130 may be electrically separated.
Yoon and Lee are analogous prior art to the current invention because they are concerned with the same field of endeavor, namely aerosol generating devices.
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the heater and inner wall of the second insulator of Yoon with the electrical insulating layer of Lee to electrically separate the heater from the adjacent wall (electrical separation).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoon (WO2021125665A2 – from IDS) in view of Egoyants (US20160088875A1).
In regard to claim 4, Yoon discloses a heating apparatus of claim 5, as discussed above.
However, Yoon does not expressly disclose that the first insulator sleeve has a length of at least 3 millimeters along the main longitudinal axis.
Egoyants discloses an apparatus for heating smokeable material comprising a heater 3 and a thermal insulation 18 surrounding the heating chamber. Baker teaches that the thermal insulation wall section extends longitudinally and is at least as long as the heater and the heater region have a length of 50 mm [0033]. The thermal insulation reduces heat loss from the heating chamber toward the exterior of the apparatus [0067].
Yoon and Egoyants are analogous prior art to the current invention because they are concerned with the same field of endeavor, namely heating devices.
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the first insulator sleeve of Yoon with the length of at least 3mm of Egoyants to reduce the heat loss along the heating region of the aerosol generating device towards the exterior of the apparatus.
Conclusion
/HANNAH CHINWE NNABUGWU/Examiner, Art Unit 1747
/Christopher M Rodd/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1766