DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-24 are canceled
Claims 25-26 and 36-37 are rejected
Claims 27-35 and 38-44 are objected to
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 25-26 and 36-37 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Son et al (US PUB 20170048615, hereinafter Son).
Regarding claim 25, Son discloses a method applied to an electronic device (see at least the abstract and figure 1), wherein the method comprises: storing a listening volume value emitted by the electronic device as a first volume value (e.g. a first volume value saved in a memory 120), (see [0040] and figure 1A); adjusting, when an unadjusted system volume value of an audio system of the electronic device is less than a preset volume value, the unadjusted system volume value to an adjusted system volume value, wherein the adjusted system volume value is greater than or equal to the preset volume value; and adjusting, when the unadjusted system volume value is less than the preset volume value; a target application volume value (e.g. a maximum volume value) of a target application based on the adjusted system volume value so that the listening volume value remains unchanged (e.g. when an unadjusted volume level is detected, a processor 160 outputs volume adjustment signal to audio processing unit 150 for decreasing or increasing the unadjusted volume level to correspond to the target volume level that have been prestored in the memory 120 so that the listening volume value remains at a constant level); (see Son, [0036], [0040], [0066]-[0074], and [0176], also figures 1A-1B, 2 and 12).
Son further teaches receiving an input from an ultrasonic input device 1258 (figure 12), but fails to explicitly disclose wherein the preset volume value is a minimum system volume value for implementing ultrasonic recognition. However, Examiner officially noticed that it would have been obvious to try to set the volume at the minimum level since such volume level usually results in optimal ultrasonic recognition. More so, discovering minimum volume level as the level for optimal result does not constitute an inventive step, since it has been held that: "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955); (see MPEP 2144.05 II A).
Regarding claim 26, Son discloses the method according to claim 25, further comprising emitting an ultrasonic wave using the audio system when an ultrasonic wave control switch of the electronic device is turned on (e.g. via an ultrasonic input device 1258), (see Son [0176]-[0177], also figure 12).
Regarding claim 36, Son discloses an electronic device (see at least the abstract and figure 1) comprising: an audio system capable of emitting an ultrasonic wave (e.g. based on an ultrasonic input device 1258); a memory (e.g. a memory 120) configured to store executable instructions (e.g. software program); and one or more processors (e.g. processor 160) coupled to the memory (e.g. figure 1A) and configured to execute the instructions to cause the electronic device to: store a listening volume value emitted by the electronic device as a first volume value (e.g. a first volume value saved in a memory 120), (see [0031] and [0040], also figure 1A); adjust, when an unadjusted system volume value of the audio system is less than a preset volume value, the unadjusted system volume value to an adjusted system volume value, wherein the adjusted system volume value is greater than or equal to the preset volume value; and adjust, when the unadjusted system volume value is less than the preset volume value, a target application volume value of a target application based on the adjusted system volume value so that the listening volume value remains unchanged (e.g. when an unadjusted volume level is detected, a processor 160 outputs volume adjustment signal to audio processing unit 150 for decreasing or increasing the unadjusted volume level to correspond to the target volume level that have been prestored in the memory 120 so that the listening volume value remains at a constant level), (see figure 2); (see Son, [0036], [0040], [0066]-[0074], [0176], also figures 1A-1B, 2 and 12).
Son further teaches wherein the target application uses the audio system with the ultrasonic wave (e.g. via the ultrasonic input device 1258, see figure 12), but fails to explicitly disclose wherein the preset volume value is a minimum system volume value for implementing ultrasonic recognition. However, Examiner officially noticed that it would have been obvious to try to set the volume at the minimum level since such volume level usually results in optimal ultrasonic recognition. More so, discovering minimum volume level as the level for optimal result does not constitute an inventive step, since it has been held that: "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955); (see MPEP 2144.05 II A).
Regarding claim 37, Son discloses the electronic device according to claim 36, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to execute the instructions to cause the electronic device to emit the ultrasonic wave using the audio system when an ultrasonic wave control switch of the electronic device is turned on (e.g. via an ultrasonic input device 1258), (see Son [0176]-[0177], also figure 12).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 27-35 and 38-44 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record provided on PTO 892 and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/OYESOLA C OJO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2695.