DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Adachi (10,827,313) in view of Song et al. (2021/0,185,612).
For claims 1, 6, 12-15, a method and system (abstract) for increasing available airtime (background, summary and claims) in Wi-Fi networks (col. 5, lines 20-45), the method (100) comprising:
generating (102), by a first Wi-Fi device (1010) (col. 6, line 65 – col. 7, line 10), a management frame (104) (col. 8, line 45 - col. 9, line 10), wherein the management frame (104) is an IEEE 802.11 Beacon frame (200) (col. 9, lines 10-30) or an IEEE 802.11 Probe Request frame (900); (col. 9, lines 10-30)
compressing (106), by the first Wi-Fi device (1010), the management frame (104) (col. 22, lines 15-20) to obtain a compressed management frame (108) (col. 22, lines 20-40);
wirelessly broadcasting (110), by the first Wi-Fi device (1010), the compressed management frame (108) (col. 15, line 40 – col. 16, line 5);
receiving (112), at a second Wi-Fi device (1020), the compressed management frame (108) (col. 15, line 40 – col. 16, line 5).
Adachi does not expressly disclose decompressing (114), by the second Wi-Fi device (1020), the compressed management frame (108) to obtain the management frame (104) generated by the first Wi-Fi device (1010). Song teaches a method and system (abstract) of the relevant art (background, summary and claims) that includes this limitation (Paras 254, 260). At the time of filing, one of ordinary skill in the art would have added Song in order to provide improvements to wifi frames (Paras 4-8).
For claims 2, 7, Adachi teaches that the management frame (104) is a Beacon frame (200) (col. 9, lines 10-30), the first Wi-Fi device (1010) is an access point, and the second Wi-Fi device (1020) is a station.
For claims 3, 8, Adachi teaches that the management frame (104) is a Probe Request frame (900) (col. 9, lines 10-30), the first Wi-Fi device (1010) is a station, and the second Wi-Fi device (1020) is an access point.
For claims 4, 10, Song teaches that the management frame (104) is partially compressed (Paras 196-197).
For claims 5, 11, Song teaches that the MAC header (202) of the management frame (104) is not compressed (Paras 196, 206) and the frame body (204) of the management frame (104) is at least partially compressed (Paras 280-283).
For claim 9, Adachi teaches that the data processing unit (1012) of the first Wi-Fi device (1010) is configured to fully compress the management frame (104) (col. 22, lines 15-20).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/MELVIN H POLLACK/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2445