DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 07/05/2024 has been fully considered by examiner and made of record.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 12-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Natarajan et al (US 2023/0319906).
Regarding Claim 12, Natarajan teaches a user equipment (UE), the comprising: at least one memory; and at least one processor coupled with the at least one memory and configured to cause the UE ([0139], Fig. 4) to:
store configuration information that allows simultaneous registration with multiple networks or an association between network slices supported in a second network and in a third network ([0158], UE 102 is configured with subscriptions, SLAs, the like, or combinations thereof to one or more of the First Network Slice 601, Second Network Slice 602, Third Network Slice 603, the like, or combinations thereof. In some embodiment, UE 102 is configured with identification information which comprises one or more of an identification of applications that utilize services provided by one or more network slices, a list of services provided by one or more network slices, network slice credentials, network slice identification information (e.g., IP Address, etc.), the like, or combinations thereof. In some embodiments, information regarding the disjoint and/or isolated network slices can be indicated by a default AMF (e.g., AMF1 108a, etc.) during initial registration, this information may identify which of the available network slices require separate RRC connections and which, if any, can be accessed by UE 102 via a single RRC connection);
register with the second network ([0160], As shown by block 702, UE 102 triggers RRC establishment procedures by causing transmission of an RRC connection request, to RAN 104, comprising identification information for UE 102. In some embodiments, the RRC connection request comprises an indication of the requested network slice with the identification information for UE 102, [0161], As illustrated, by block 712 AMF1 108a is associated with Network Slice 1, AMF2 108b is associated with Network Slice 2, and Network Slices 1 and 2 are configured as mutually exclusive slices (e.g., disjoint, isolated, etc.). In response to the registration request received from UE 102, RAN 104 selects AMF1 108a based on the registration request slice identification information and further causes transmission of the registration request to AMF1 108a, see again block 710. Upon receipt of the registration request, AMF1 108a causes Nudm_UECM_Registration and Nudm_SDM_Get communication signal transmission to occur between AMF1 108a and UDM 118, see blocks 714 and 716 respectively);
transmit a registration request message for registering with the third network ([0163], As shown by block 802 the RRC connection between UE 102 and Network Slice 1, via RAN 104, is already established. UE 102 causes transmission of an RRC release request, with suspension for the RRC connection to Network Slice 1, to RAN 104, see block 804. In response to receipt of the RRC release request RAN 104 causes the RRC connection between UE 102 and Network Slice 1 to be made inactive, see block 806, [0165], In response to the registration request received from UE 102, RAN 104 selects AMF 2 108b based on the registration request slice identification information and further causes transmission of the registration request to AMF2 108b, see again block 816. Upon receipt of the registration request, AMF2 108b causes Nudm_UECM_Registration and Nudm_SDM_Get communication signal transmission to occur between AMF2 108b and UDM 118, see blocks 820 and 822 respectively),
wherein the registration request message comprises an indication that the registration with the third network is an additional registration ([0082], maintain, via one or more additional access and mobility management functions, one or more additional registration states associated with at least the user equipment and a respective network slice, wherein the one or more additional registration states are simultaneously maintained on the public land mobile network with at least the first registration state and the second registration state); and
receive a message from the second network or the third network ([0166], As shown in block 824, once AMF2 108b has provided the registration details to UDM 118, and in response AMF2 108b causes transmission, via RAN 104 to UE 102, of a registration acceptance response. As shown in block 826, UE 102 provides a registration complete response to AMF2 108b, by way of RAN 104, upon receipt of the registration acceptance signal. In some embodiments, upon successful completion of the aforementioned registration procedures, UE 102 may update the RRC connection to Network Slice 2 with RAN 104 to specify that the connection is specific to Network Slice 2, thus establishing RRC context for UE 102 to switch between other RRC connections (e.g., an RRC connection to Network Slice 1, etc.)),
wherein the message comprises an indication about service restrictions ([0165], In some embodiments, UDM 118 may already have stored information for UE 102 and one or more associated registration states, for example, UDM may have previously stored registration state information to identify that UE 102 is connected to AMF1 108b for service to Network Slice 1, see block 801. In response to the Nudm procedures, UDM 118 stores the registration state for UE 102 based on the requested Network Slice 2 and updates the details for AMF2 108b which is now serving UE 102 for functions associated with Network Slice 2, see block 818. In some embodiments, AMF2 108b, or the like (e.g., AMF1 108a, etc.) may serve UE 102 with services provided by one or more network slices, [0010], the CN may transmit an indication of rejected S-NSSAIs in a registration acceptance response to the user equipment).
Regarding Claim 13, Natarajan teaches the UE of claim 12, wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE to determine to register with the third network for using network slices not supported in the second network but supported in the third network ([0162], once AMF1 108a has provided the registration details to UDM 118, AMF1 108a causes transmission, via RAN 104 to UE 102, of a registration acceptance response. In some embodiments, the registration acceptance response may comprise information that indicates that the registration for Network Slice 1 was allowed, but due to the network deployment the registration for Network Slice 2 was rejected. In some embodiments, for UE 102 to successfully connect to and register with Network Slice 2 a separate RRC connection must be established. In some embodiment, Network Slice 2 is included in the rejected S-NSSAI list provided to UE 102, by AMF1 108a).
Regarding Claim 14, Natarajan teaches the UE of claim 12, wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE to determine to include network slices in a requested network slice selection assistance information (NSSAI) associated with the third network ([0010], each time the user equipment registers with another network slice associated with the CN then the CN may cause transmission of another rejected S-NSSAIs list to the user equipment. In some embodiments, the rejected S-NSSAIs list may include new or updated information not previously received by the user equipment. In some embodiments, the rejected S-NSSAIs list may provide information related to the disjoint and/or isolated network slices. For example, the rejected S-NSSAIs list may indicate that one or more disjoint and/or isolated network slices are served by one or more different cells, different transmission frequencies, different sub-bands, the like, or combinations thereof).
Regarding Claim 16, Natarajan teaches a processor for wireless communication, comprising: at least one controller coupled with at least one memory and configured to cause the processor ([0139], Fig. 4) to: store configuration information that allows simultaneous registration with multiple networks or an association between network slices supported in a second network and in a third network ([0158], UE 102 is configured with subscriptions, SLAs, the like, or combinations thereof to one or more of the First Network Slice 601, Second Network Slice 602, Third Network Slice 603, the like, or combinations thereof. In some embodiment, UE 102 is configured with identification information which comprises one or more of an identification of applications that utilize services provided by one or more network slices, a list of services provided by one or more network slices, network slice credentials, network slice identification information (e.g., IP Address, etc.), the like, or combinations thereof. In some embodiments, information regarding the disjoint and/or isolated network slices can be indicated by a default AMF (e.g., AMF1 108a, etc.) during initial registration, this information may identify which of the available network slices require separate RRC connections and which, if any, can be accessed by UE 102 via a single RRC connection);
register with the second network ([0160], As shown by block 702, UE 102 triggers RRC establishment procedures by causing transmission of an RRC connection request, to RAN 104, comprising identification information for UE 102. In some embodiments, the RRC connection request comprises an indication of the requested network slice with the identification information for UE 102, [0161], As illustrated, by block 712 AMF1 108a is associated with Network Slice 1, AMF2 108b is associated with Network Slice 2, and Network Slices 1 and 2 are configured as mutually exclusive slices (e.g., disjoint, isolated, etc.). In response to the registration request received from UE 102, RAN 104 selects AMF1 108a based on the registration request slice identification information and further causes transmission of the registration request to AMF1 108a, see again block 710. Upon receipt of the registration request, AMF1 108a causes Nudm_UECM_Registration and Nudm_SDM_Get communication signal transmission to occur between AMF1 108a and UDM 118, see blocks 714 and 716 respectively);
transmit a registration request message for registering with the third network ([0163], As shown by block 802 the RRC connection between UE 102 and Network Slice 1, via RAN 104, is already established. UE 102 causes transmission of an RRC release request, with suspension for the RRC connection to Network Slice 1, to RAN 104, see block 804. In response to receipt of the RRC release request RAN 104 causes the RRC connection between UE 102 and Network Slice 1 to be made inactive, see block 806, [0165], In response to the registration request received from UE 102, RAN 104 selects AMF 2 108b based on the registration request slice identification information and further causes transmission of the registration request to AMF2 108b, see again block 816. Upon receipt of the registration request, AMF2 108b causes Nudm_UECM_Registration and Nudm_SDM_Get communication signal transmission to occur between AMF2 108b and UDM 118, see blocks 820 and 822 respectively),
wherein the registration request message comprises an indication that the registration with the third network is an additional registration ([0082], maintain, via one or more additional access and mobility management functions, one or more additional registration states associated with at least the user equipment and a respective network slice, wherein the one or more additional registration states are simultaneously maintained on the public land mobile network with at least the first registration state and the second registration state); and
receive a message from the second network or the third network ([0166], As shown in block 824, once AMF2 108b has provided the registration details to UDM 118, and in response AMF2 108b causes transmission, via RAN 104 to UE 102, of a registration acceptance response. As shown in block 826, UE 102 provides a registration complete response to AMF2 108b, by way of RAN 104, upon receipt of the registration acceptance signal. In some embodiments, upon successful completion of the aforementioned registration procedures, UE 102 may update the RRC connection to Network Slice 2 with RAN 104 to specify that the connection is specific to Network Slice 2, thus establishing RRC context for UE 102 to switch between other RRC connections (e.g., an RRC connection to Network Slice 1, etc.)),
wherein the message comprises an indication about service restrictions ([0165], In some embodiments, UDM 118 may already have stored information for UE 102 and one or more associated registration states, for example, UDM may have previously stored registration state information to identify that UE 102 is connected to AMF1 108b for service to Network Slice 1, see block 801. In response to the Nudm procedures, UDM 118 stores the registration state for UE 102 based on the requested Network Slice 2 and updates the details for AMF2 108b which is now serving UE 102 for functions associated with Network Slice 2, see block 818. In some embodiments, AMF2 108b, or the like (e.g., AMF1 108a, etc.) may serve UE 102 with services provided by one or more network slices, [0010], the CN may transmit an indication of rejected S-NSSAIs in a registration acceptance response to the user equipment).
Regarding Claim 17, Natarajan teaches the processor of claim 16, wherein the at least one controller is configured to cause the processor to determine to register with the third network for using network slices not supported in the second network but supported in the third network ([0162], once AMF1 108a has provided the registration details to UDM 118, AMF1 108a causes transmission, via RAN 104 to UE 102, of a registration acceptance response. In some embodiments, the registration acceptance response may comprise information that indicates that the registration for Network Slice 1 was allowed, but due to the network deployment the registration for Network Slice 2 was rejected. In some embodiments, for UE 102 to successfully connect to and register with Network Slice 2 a separate RRC connection must be established. In some embodiment, Network Slice 2 is included in the rejected S-NSSAI list provided to UE 102, by AMF1 108a).
Regarding Claim 18, Natarajan teaches the processor of claim 16, wherein the at least one controller is configured to cause the processor to determine to include network slices in a requested network slice selection assistance information (NSSAI) associated with the third network ([0010], each time the user equipment registers with another network slice associated with the CN then the CN may cause transmission of another rejected S-NSSAIs list to the user equipment. In some embodiments, the rejected S-NSSAIs list may include new or updated information not previously received by the user equipment. In some embodiments, the rejected S-NSSAIs list may provide information related to the disjoint and/or isolated network slices. For example, the rejected S-NSSAIs list may indicate that one or more disjoint and/or isolated network slices are served by one or more different cells, different transmission frequencies, different sub-bands, the like, or combinations thereof).
Regarding Claim 19, Natarajan teaches a method performed by a user equipment (UE) ([0139], Fig. 4), the method comprising: storing configuration information that allows simultaneous registration with multiple networks or an association between network slices supported in a second network and in a third network ([0158], UE 102 is configured with subscriptions, SLAs, the like, or combinations thereof to one or more of the First Network Slice 601, Second Network Slice 602, Third Network Slice 603, the like, or combinations thereof. In some embodiment, UE 102 is configured with identification information which comprises one or more of an identification of applications that utilize services provided by one or more network slices, a list of services provided by one or more network slices, network slice credentials, network slice identification information (e.g., IP Address, etc.), the like, or combinations thereof. In some embodiments, information regarding the disjoint and/or isolated network slices can be indicated by a default AMF (e.g., AMF1 108a, etc.) during initial registration, this information may identify which of the available network slices require separate RRC connections and which, if any, can be accessed by UE 102 via a single RRC connection);
registering with the second network ([0160], As shown by block 702, UE 102 triggers RRC establishment procedures by causing transmission of an RRC connection request, to RAN 104, comprising identification information for UE 102. In some embodiments, the RRC connection request comprises an indication of the requested network slice with the identification information for UE 102, [0161], As illustrated, by block 712 AMF1 108a is associated with Network Slice 1, AMF2 108b is associated with Network Slice 2, and Network Slices 1 and 2 are configured as mutually exclusive slices (e.g., disjoint, isolated, etc.). In response to the registration request received from UE 102, RAN 104 selects AMF1 108a based on the registration request slice identification information and further causes transmission of the registration request to AMF1 108a, see again block 710. Upon receipt of the registration request, AMF1 108a causes Nudm_UECM_Registration and Nudm_SDM_Get communication signal transmission to occur between AMF1 108a and UDM 118, see blocks 714 and 716 respectively);
transmitting a registration request message for registering with the third network ([0163], As shown by block 802 the RRC connection between UE 102 and Network Slice 1, via RAN 104, is already established. UE 102 causes transmission of an RRC release request, with suspension for the RRC connection to Network Slice 1, to RAN 104, see block 804. In response to receipt of the RRC release request RAN 104 causes the RRC connection between UE 102 and Network Slice 1 to be made inactive, see block 806, [0165], In response to the registration request received from UE 102, RAN 104 selects AMF 2 108b based on the registration request slice identification information and further causes transmission of the registration request to AMF2 108b, see again block 816. Upon receipt of the registration request, AMF2 108b causes Nudm_UECM_Registration and Nudm_SDM_Get communication signal transmission to occur between AMF2 108b and UDM 118, see blocks 820 and 822 respectively),
wherein the registration request message comprises an indication that the registration with the third network is an additional registration ([0082], maintain, via one or more additional access and mobility management functions, one or more additional registration states associated with at least the user equipment and a respective network slice, wherein the one or more additional registration states are simultaneously maintained on the public land mobile network with at least the first registration state and the second registration state); and
receiving a message from the second network or the third network ([0166], As shown in block 824, once AMF2 108b has provided the registration details to UDM 118, and in response AMF2 108b causes transmission, via RAN 104 to UE 102, of a registration acceptance response. As shown in block 826, UE 102 provides a registration complete response to AMF2 108b, by way of RAN 104, upon receipt of the registration acceptance signal. In some embodiments, upon successful completion of the aforementioned registration procedures, UE 102 may update the RRC connection to Network Slice 2 with RAN 104 to specify that the connection is specific to Network Slice 2, thus establishing RRC context for UE 102 to switch between other RRC connections (e.g., an RRC connection to Network Slice 1, etc.)),
wherein the message comprises an indication about service restrictions ([0165], In some embodiments, UDM 118 may already have stored information for UE 102 and one or more associated registration states, for example, UDM may have previously stored registration state information to identify that UE 102 is connected to AMF1 108b for service to Network Slice 1, see block 801. In response to the Nudm procedures, UDM 118 stores the registration state for UE 102 based on the requested Network Slice 2 and updates the details for AMF2 108b which is now serving UE 102 for functions associated with Network Slice 2, see block 818. In some embodiments, AMF2 108b, or the like (e.g., AMF1 108a, etc.) may serve UE 102 with services provided by one or more network slices, [0010], the CN may transmit an indication of rejected S-NSSAIs in a registration acceptance response to the user equipment).
Regarding Claim 20, Natarajan teaches the method of claim 19, further comprising determining to register with the third network for using network slices not supported in the second network but supported in the third network ([0162], once AMF1 108a has provided the registration details to UDM 118, AMF1 108a causes transmission, via RAN 104 to UE 102, of a registration acceptance response. In some embodiments, the registration acceptance response may comprise information that indicates that the registration for Network Slice 1 was allowed, but due to the network deployment the registration for Network Slice 2 was rejected. In some embodiments, for UE 102 to successfully connect to and register with Network Slice 2 a separate RRC connection must be established. In some embodiment, Network Slice 2 is included in the rejected S-NSSAI list provided to UE 102, by AMF1 108a).
Regarding Claim 21, Natarajan teaches the method of claim 19, further comprising determining to include network slices in a requested network slice selection assistance information (NSSAI) associated with the third network ([0010], each time the user equipment registers with another network slice associated with the CN then the CN may cause transmission of another rejected S-NSSAIs list to the user equipment. In some embodiments, the rejected S-NSSAIs list may include new or updated information not previously received by the user equipment. In some embodiments, the rejected S-NSSAIs list may provide information related to the disjoint and/or isolated network slices. For example, the rejected S-NSSAIs list may indicate that one or more disjoint and/or isolated network slices are served by one or more different cells, different transmission frequencies, different sub-bands, the like, or combinations thereof).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Natarajan et al (US 2023/0319906), in view of Velev et al (WO 2021/204369).
Regarding Claim 4, Natarajan teaches an apparatus for performing a first network function (NF), the apparatus comprising: at least one memory; and at least one processor coupled with the at least one memory and configured to cause the apparatus ([0139], Fig. 4) to:
receive a first request message from a second NF in a second network ([0161], As illustrated, by block 712 AMF1 108a is associated with Network Slice 1, AMF2 108b is associated with Network Slice 2, and Network Slices 1 and 2 are configured as mutually exclusive slices (e.g., disjoint, isolated, etc.). In response to the registration request received from UE 102, RAN 104 selects AMF1 108a based on the registration request slice identification information and further causes transmission of the registration request to AMF1 108a, see again block 710. Upon receipt of the registration request, AMF1 108a causes Nudm_UECM_Registration and Nudm_SDM_Get communication signal transmission to occur between AMF1 108a and UDM 118, see blocks 714 and 716 respectively), wherein the first request comprises a registration request for a user equipment (UE) ([0161], In response to the Nudm procedures, UDM 118 stores the registration state for UE 102 based on the requested network slices and updates the details for AMF1 108a which is now serving UE 102, see block 718. In some embodiments, UE 102 may already have a registration state stored with UDM 118 and in such an instance UDM 118 updates UE 102's registration state to reflect the new details provided by AMF1 108a. In some embodiments, AMF1 108a, or the like (e.g., AMF2 108b, etc.) may serve UE 102 with services provided by one or more network slices);
receive a second request message from a third NF in a third network ([0165], In response to the registration request received from UE 102, RAN 104 selects AMF 2 108b based on the registration request slice identification information and further causes transmission of the registration request to AMF2 108b, see again block 816. Upon receipt of the registration request, AMF2 108b causes Nudm_UECM_Registration and Nudm_SDM_Get communication signal transmission to occur between AMF2 108b and UDM 118, see blocks 820 and 822 respectively),
wherein the second request comprises an indication for an additional registration for the UE ([0165], UDM 118 may already have stored information for UE 102 and one or more associated registration states, for example, UDM may have previously stored registration state information to identify that UE 102 is connected to AMF1 108b for service to Network Slice 1, see block 801. In response to the Nudm procedures, UDM 118 stores the registration state for UE 102 based on the requested Network Slice 2 and updates the details for AMF2 108b which is now serving UE 102 for functions associated with Network Slice 2, see block 818. In some embodiments, AMF2 108b, or the like (e.g., AMF1 108a, etc.) may serve UE 102 with services provided by one or more network slices, [0082], maintain, via one or more additional access and mobility management functions, one or more additional registration states associated with at least the user equipment and a respective network slice, wherein the one or more additional registration states are simultaneously maintained on the public land mobile network with at least the first registration state and the second registration state);
determine to accept the registration requests from the second network ([0162], As shown in block 720, once AMF1 108a has provided the registration details to UDM 118, AMF1 108a causes transmission, via RAN 104 to UE 102, of a registration acceptance response. In some embodiments, the registration acceptance response may comprise information that indicates that the registration for Network Slice 1 was allowed, but due to the network deployment the registration for Network Slice 2 was rejected. In some embodiments, for UE 102 to successfully connect to and register with Network Slice 2 a separate RRC connection must be established) and the third network for the UE ([0166], shown in block 824, once AMF2 108b has provided the registration details to UDM 118, and in response AMF2 108b causes transmission, via RAN 104 to UE 102, of a registration acceptance response. As shown in block 826, UE 102 provides a registration complete response to AMF2 108b, by way of RAN 104, upon receipt of the registration acceptance signal. In some embodiments, upon successful completion of the aforementioned registration procedures, UE 102 may update the RRC connection to Network Slice 2 with RAN 104 to specify that the connection is specific to Network Slice 2, thus establishing RRC context for UE 102 to switch between other RRC connections (e.g., an RRC connection to Network Slice 1, etc.)).
Natarajan fails to teach transmit a first indication to the second NF and the third NF, wherein the first indication comprises a request for notifications about network slices to which the UE is currently registered.
In the same field of endeavor, Velev teaches transmit a first indication to the second NF and the third NF, wherein the first indication comprises a request for notifications about network slices to which the UE is currently registered ([0082-0083], The AMF uses the Nudm SDM Get operation, the UDM 213 provides the default subscription, i.e., the subscription data corresponding to the default configuration in the UE. The UDM replies with Nudm SDM Get response sending the UE subscription data. The UDM may send the default UE subscription data to the AMF, i.e., without including the vertical subscription information. In such case, the UDM keeps an internal flag that the UE's subscription data is to be updated later (e.g., in step 3d). For example, such later time point can be upon successful registration procedure. The UDM would trigger the UE subscription data update (Notification request) sent to the serving AMF after the AMF successfully registers as serving AMF with the UDM).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate triggering the sending of current registration data to update stored subscription information, as taught in Velev, in the system of Natarajan, in order to ensure accurate connection by updating the stored information to account for new connections.
Regarding Claim 5, Natarajan, modified by Velev, teaches the apparatus of claim 4, Natarajan further teaches wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the apparatus to transmit a second indication to the second NF and the third NF, wherein the second indication comprises a first list of services that are allowed, a second list of services that are not allowed, or a combination thereof ([0010], each time the user equipment registers with another network slice associated with the CN then the CN may cause transmission of another rejected S-NSSAIs list to the user equipment. In some embodiments, the rejected S-NSSAIs list may include new or updated information not previously received by the user equipment. In some embodiments, the rejected S-NSSAIs list may provide information related to the disjoint and/or isolated network slices. For example, the rejected S-NSSAIs list may indicate that one or more disjoint and/or isolated network slices are served by one or more different cells, different transmission frequencies, different sub-bands, the like, or combinations thereof, [0162], once AMF1 108a has provided the registration details to UDM 118, AMF1 108a causes transmission, via RAN 104 to UE 102, of a registration acceptance response. In some embodiments, the registration acceptance response may comprise information that indicates that the registration for Network Slice 1 was allowed, but due to the network deployment the registration for Network Slice 2 was rejected. In some embodiments, for UE 102 to successfully connect to and register with Network Slice 2 a separate RRC connection must be established. In some embodiment, Network Slice 2 is included in the rejected S-NSSAI list provided to UE 102, by AMF1 108a).
Regarding Claim 6, Natarajan, modified by Velev, teaches the apparatus of claim 4, Natarajan further teaches wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the apparatus to determine which services are allowed, which services are not allowed, or a combination thereof in the second network, in the third network, or a combination thereof based on the network slices to which the UE registers in each of the second network and the third network ([0162], As shown in block 720, once AMF1 108a has provided the registration details to UDM 118, AMF1 108a causes transmission, via RAN 104 to UE 102, of a registration acceptance response. In some embodiments, the registration acceptance response may comprise information that indicates that the registration for Network Slice 1 was allowed, but due to the network deployment the registration for Network Slice 2 was rejected. In some embodiments, for UE 102 to successfully connect to and register with Network Slice 2 a separate RRC connection must be established. In some embodiment, Network Slice 2 is included in the rejected S-NSSAI list provided to UE 102, by AMF1 108a, because even though both Network Slice 1 and 2 are allowed for UE 102 in the network (e.g., PLMN, etc.) AMF1 108a only supports Network Slice 1. As shown in block 722, UE 102 provides a registration complete response to RAN 104 upon receipt of the registration acceptance signal. Upon successful completion of the aforementioned registration procedures, UE 102 may update the RRC connection to RAN 104, by causing transmission of an RRC re-establishment request, to specify that the connection is specific to Network Slice 1, thus establishing RRC context for UE 102 to switch between other RRC connections, see block 724).
Regarding Claim 7, Natarajan, modified by Velev, teaches the apparatus of claim 4, Natarajan further teaches wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the apparatus to receive notifications from the second NF and the third NF, wherein the notifications comprise a list of network slices to which the UE is currently registered ([0161], As illustrated, by block 712 AMF1 108a is associated with Network Slice 1, AMF2 108b is associated with Network Slice 2, and Network Slices 1 and 2 are configured as mutually exclusive slices (e.g., disjoint, isolated, etc.). In response to the registration request received from UE 102, RAN 104 selects AMF1 108a based on the registration request slice identification information and further causes transmission of the registration request to AMF1 108a, see again block 710. Upon receipt of the registration request, AMF1 108a causes Nudm_UECM_Registration and Nudm_SDM_Get communication signal transmission to occur between AMF1 108a and UDM 118, see blocks 714 and 716 respectively. In response to the Nudm procedures, UDM 118 stores the registration state for UE 102 based on the requested network slices and updates the details for AMF1 108a which is now serving UE 102, see block 718. In some embodiments, UE 102 may already have a registration state stored with UDM 118 and in such an instance UDM 118 updates UE 102's registration state to reflect the new details provided by AMF1 108a).
Regarding Claim 8, Natarajan, modified by Velev, teaches the apparatus of claim 7, Natarajan further teaches wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the apparatus to store an association for each of the second NF and the third NF indicating which network slices the UE is currently registered with in each of the second NF and the third NF ([0161], UDM 118 stores the registration state for UE 102 based on the requested network slices and updates the details for AMF1 108a which is now serving UE 102, see block 718, [0165], In response to the Nudm procedures, UDM 118 stores the registration state for UE 102 based on the requested Network Slice 2 and updates the details for AMF2 108b which is now serving UE 102 for functions associated with Network Slice 2, see block 818).
Regarding Claim 9, Natarajan, modified by Velev, teaches the apparatus of claim 4, Natarajan further teaches wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the apparatus to determine to accept the registration requests from the second network and the third network is based on a configuration in the first NF that: a specific network slice is supported in a specific network; the UE is authorized to use multiple simultaneous registrations to different networks for the same or different access types; or a combination thereof ([0162], As shown in block 720, once AMF1 108a has provided the registration details to UDM 118, AMF1 108a causes transmission, via RAN 104 to UE 102, of a registration acceptance response. In some embodiments, the registration acceptance response may comprise information that indicates that the registration for Network Slice 1 was allowed, but due to the network deployment the registration for Network Slice 2 was rejected. In some embodiments, for UE 102 to successfully connect to and register with Network Slice 2 a separate RRC connection must be established. In some embodiment, Network Slice 2 is included in the rejected S-NSSAI list provided to UE 102, by AMF1 108a, because even though both Network Slice 1 and 2 are allowed for UE 102 in the network (e.g., PLMN, etc.) AMF1 108a only supports Network Slice 1. As shown in block 722, UE 102 provides a registration complete response to RAN 104 upon receipt of the registration acceptance signal. Upon successful completion of the aforementioned registration procedures, UE 102 may update the RRC connection to RAN 104, by causing transmission of an RRC re-establishment request, to specify that the connection is specific to Network Slice 1, thus establishing RRC context for UE 102 to switch between other RRC connections, see block 724).
Regarding Claim 10, Natarajan, modified by Velev, teaches the apparatus of claim 4, Natarajan further teaches wherein the first NF comprises a unified data management (UDM) ([0161], Upon receipt of the registration request, AMF1 108a causes Nudm_UECM_Registration and Nudm_SDM_Get communication signal transmission to occur between AMF1 108a and UDM 118, see blocks 714 and 716 respectively).
Regarding Claim 11, Natarajan, modified by Velev, teaches the apparatus of claim 4, Natarajan further teaches wherein the second NF, the third NF, or a combination thereof comprises an access and mobility management function (AMF) ([0161], Upon receipt of the registration request, AMF1 108a causes Nudm_UECM_Registration and Nudm_SDM_Get communication signal transmission to occur between AMF1 108a and UDM 118, see blocks 714 and 716 respectively).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: Won et al (US 2024/0188024) teaches non-uniform network slice deployment across a service area of a registration area or tracking area covered by at least a radio access network. A network function transmits a plurality of tracking area codes associated with a network to user equipment to indicate primary and secondary tracking area codes to the user equipment. Selection of a tracking area code may be completed by the user equipment based on the primary and secondary tracking area codes and a forbidden tracking area identities list. The user equipment may be blocked from receiving services from a network slice based on the service area in which the user equipment attempts to access the network slice. Network functions may limit reporting of tracking area codes to user equipment based on a serving cell identity. Network slices may be restricted to private networks. (Abstract);
Park et al (US 2023/0021988) teaches receiving, from a terminal, a registration request message including information indicating an update of private network configuration information of the terminal; transmitting, to a user data management (UDM), a registration request message for registering the terminal; receiving, from the UDM, a subscription data profile (SDP) including the private network information of the terminal ; and transmitting, to the terminal, a registration accept message including the private network configuration information. ([0020]);
Ianev et al (US 2022/0322221) teaches An AMF apparatus (3) receives a NAS message for requesting a core network to establish or activate a PDU session associated with an allowed network slice identifier, from a UE (4), via a first cell (10) not supporting the allowed network slice identifier and via a first AN node (1) that provides the first cell (10). In response to receiving the NAS message, the AMF apparatus (3) sends to the first AN node (1) a control message that causes the first AN node (1) to move the UE (4) to a second cell (20) that supports the allowed network slice identifier. This can contribute, for example, to enabling an establishment or activation of a PDU session associated with a network slice that is supported only in sparsely (or patchily) placed local cells. (Abstract);
Park et al (US 2019/0357129) teaches In one aspect of the present invention, there is provided a method for selecting a serving Access and Mobility Management Function (AMF) of a network node in a wireless communication system, the method comprising receiving a registration request message of a user equipment (UE), the registration request message including a network slice selection assistance information (NSSAI) for a slice requested by the UE and a priority information of the NSSAI; determining whether the NSSAI is valid for the UE; when the NSSAI is valid for the UE, searching a first AMF which is able to support the NSSAI based on the priority information; and when the first AMF is searched, selecting the first AMF as the serving AMF serving the UE and transmitting the registration request message to the first AMF. ([0007])
/MARGARET G WEBB/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2641