DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 2-9, 11-17 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claims 3-4, 11-12, “the one or more heating elements” shall be changed to --the one or more infrared heating elements—to show antecedent basis.
Claims 2-9, 11-17, “A drying apparatus” shall be changed to --The drying apparatus --.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
inf
Claims 1, 4-6, 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lee (KR 10-1112199).
Lee discloses a drying apparatus for drying a substance (Abstract, drying sludge), comprising: a drum 50 rotatable about a central axis, and having an exterior circumferential surface and an interior circumferential surface (Figs. 1-4); a belt 42 supported on the drum 50 having a first and second side, the belt 42 being adapted to receive the substance (i.e. sludge) on a first side of the belt 42 , and to urge the substance via its first side towards a portion of the exterior circumferential surface 51 of the drum 50 when in operation (Fig. 1); wherein one or more infrared heating elements 52 are arranged proximate to and about a portion of the interior circumferential surface of the drum 50 (Figs. 3-4) providing indirect infrared heating by directing radiant energy to the interior circumferential surface to thereby transfer heat by conduction to the substances being urged between the belt 42 and drum 50 (Fig. 1). Wherein the one or more heating elements 52 are in the form of a curved panel (Figs 3-4). Wherein the drum 50 has a heating area (Figs. 3-4, area that heating elements 52 located) where heat can be provided to the substance being dried, the heating area having at least one heating zone (Figs 3-4, heating zone between 53a, 53b)). Wherein the heating area has at least one non-heating zone (Figs. 3-4, area where refractory material 53 located is considered as non-heating zone) where no heat is provided to the substance being dried. Wherein the belt is porous (translation, page 3, last paragraph, belt 32 is formed of a mesh filter cloth).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 and 10, 12-14, 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (KR 10-1112199) in view of Fleissner et al. (US 3,727,325).
The drying apparatus of Lee as above includes all that is recited in claims 2 and 10except for further comprising one or more infrared heating elements arranged proximate to and about a portion of the exterior circumferential surface of the drum and directing radiant energy to the belt to thereby transfer heat by conduction to the substances being urged between the belt and drum. Fleissner et al. discloses a drying apparatus for drying a substance 6 (Fig. 1) comprising one or more infrared heating elements 5 arranged proximate to and about a portion of the exterior circumferential surface of a drum 1. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the drying apparatus of Lee to further include one or more infrared heating elements arranged proximate to and about a portion of the exterior circumferential surface of the drum as taught by Fleissner et al. in order to improve the drying efficiency. The drying apparatus of Lee as modified Fleissner et al. would result in the radiant energy directed to the blet to thereby transfer heat by conduction to the substances being urged between the belt and drum. For claim 14, see Fig. 1 of Fleissner et al., no heating zone is formed by shutter sheets 7.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (KR 10-1112199) in view of Berg (FI 113285B).
The drying apparatus of Lee as above includes all that is recited in claim 3 except for wherein the one or more heating elements are in the form of a flat panel. Berg discloses one or more heating elements 12, 30 are in the form of a flat panel (Fig. 2). Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the drying apparatus of Lee to design the one or more heating elements of Lee in the form of a flat panel since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the shape of a component. A change in shape is generally recognized as a design consideration within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Dailey, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (KR 10-1112199) in view of Portnoy et al. (WO 2016/000748).
The drying apparatus of Lee as above includes all that is recited in claim 7 except for wherein the heating area comprises at least two heating zones with heating applied at different temperatures at each said heating zone. Portnoy et al. discloses a drying apparatus for drying substance 104 comprising a drum 126, one or more infrared heating element arranged within the drum 126 (paragraph [0020], infrared heating lamps), wherein the drum 126 has a heating area (area that receives heat from the heating lamps), the heating area having at least one heating zone (each infrared heating lamp corresponds to a heating zone on the drum), wherein the heating area comprises at least two heating zones with heating applied at different temperatures at each said heating zone (paragraph [0020]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the drying apparatus of Lee to individually control the heating temperature at different heating zones as taught by Portnoy et al. in order to improve the heating control efficiency.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (KR 10-1112199) in view of Smith (US 3,395,631).
The drying apparatus of Lee as above includes all that is recited in claim 8 except for wherein reflectors are provided on opposing sides of each infrared heating element for reflecting radiant energy towards the drum. Smith teaches a concept of providing a reflector 4 on opposing side of infrared heating element 3 for reflecting radiant energy towards the drum 1 (sole figure). Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the drying apparatus of Lee to provide on opposing sides of each infrared heating element with a reflector for reflecting radiant energy towards the drum as taught by Smith in order to direct and concentrate radiant heat from the infrared heating element 3 toward the drum 1 and thus improve heating efficiency.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (KR 10-1112199) in view of Fleissner et al. (US 3,727,325) as applied to claim 10 as above, and further in view of Berg (FI 113285B).
The drying apparatus of Lee as modified by Fleissner et al. as above includes all that is recited in claim 11 except for wherein the one or more heating elements are in the form of a flat panel. Berg discloses one or more heating elements 12, 30 are in the form of a flat panel (Fig. 2). Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the drying apparatus of Lee to design the one or more heating elements of Lee in the form of a flat panel since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the shape of a component. A change in shape is generally recognized as a design consideration within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Dailey, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966).
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (KR 10-1112199) in view of Fleissner et al. (US 3,727,325) as applied to claim 10 as above, and further in view of Portnoy et al. (WO 2016/000748).
The drying apparatus of Lee as modified by Fleissner et al. as above includes all that is recited in claim 15 except for wherein the heating area comprises at least two heating zones with heating applied at different temperatures at each said heating zone. Portnoy et al. discloses a drying apparatus for drying substance 104 comprising a drum 126, one or more infrared heating element arranged within the drum 126 (paragraph [0020], infrared heating lamps), wherein the drum 126 has a heating area (area that receives heat from the heating lamps), the heating area having at least one heating zone (each infrared heating lamp corresponds to a heating zone on the drum), wherein the heating area comprises at least two heating zones with heating applied at different temperatures at each said heating zone (paragraph [0020]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the drying apparatus of Lee to individually control the heating temperature at different heating zones as taught by Portnoy et al. in order to improve the heating control efficiency.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (KR 10-1112199) in view of Fleissner et al. (US 3,727,325) as applied to claim 16 as above, and further in view of Smith (US 3,395,631).
The drying apparatus of Lee as modified by Fleissner et al. as above includes all that is recited in claim 16 except for wherein reflectors are provided on opposing sides of each infrared heating element for reflecting radiant energy towards the drum. Smith teaches a concept of providing a reflector 4 on opposing side of infrared heating element 3 for reflecting radiant energy towards the drum 1 (sole figure). Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the drying apparatus of Lee to provide on opposing sides of each infrared heating element with a reflector for reflecting radiant energy towards the drum as taught by Smith in order to direct and concentrate radiant heat from the infrared heating element 3 toward the drum 1 and thus improve heating efficiency.
Conclusion
/Jessica Yuen/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3762
JY