DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 10/02/2026 has been entered. Claims 1, 3-5, 7, and 9-15 remain pending in the application.
Response to Arguments/Remarks re. 35 U.S.C. § 112 Rejections
Arguments have been fully considered but are not persuasive. While the issue has been resolved with respect to the language of claim 8 as moved to claim 1 (and modified for appropriate resolution), the issue remains present in claims 4-5 and 10-11 for the same reasons as outlined previously in the Non-Final Office Action mailed 7/02/2026 (Hereinafter, the “NFOA”). A traffic object that “is used” for estimation does not correspond 1:1 with a traffic object that “can be used for estimation”.
In addition, the inclusion and amendment of claim 6 and 8’s language to claim 1 provided grounds for new issues of indefiniteness for the reasons discussed below.
Response to Arguments/Remarks re. Double Patenting Rejections
Applicant' s arguments with respect to Double Patenting rejection have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejection has been withdrawn.
Response to Arguments/Remarks re. 35 USC 103 Rejections
Arguments have been fully considered but are not persuasive.
Applicant first argues that Aguirre as cited is not applicable to the language of the claims as amended. While the language as amended is closer to properly distinguishing between the objects analyzed by the system, the examiner draws attention to the last limitation:
wherein the processor processes the image data such that a traffic object that is unnecessary for the estimation of the installation state parameter is changed or deleted from the image data, or selects, from a plurality of pieces of the image data obtained in chronological order, the image data that comprises the traffic object that can be used for the estimation and does not comprise the unnecessary traffic object.
And more specifically:
and does not comprise the unnecessary traffic object
Referring to “the unnecessary traffic object” with antecedent basis is improper, as the “unnecessary traffic object” was only introduced in a separate and mutually exclusive branch of the claim. As such, it is unclear whether any “unnecessary traffic object” will satisfy the claim, or if it must specifically be the very unnecessary traffic object that was changed or deleted from the image data – which is logically inconsistent under mutually exclusive branches. To resolve such an inconsistency and for the purposes of compact prosecution, the examiner takes the interpretation that “the unnecessary traffic object” may be a different “unnecessary traffic object” for which the requisite processor operations were not performed.
As relevant to Aguirre/Siam, this allows for the temporal tracking system to read on at least one portion of the claim. Considering the second half of the above cited limitation:
or selects, from a plurality of pieces of the image data obtained in chronological order, the image data that comprises the traffic object that can be used for the estimation and does not comprise the unnecessary traffic object
Under this language, there is no need to include the teachings of Siam for this portion of the claim at all. Aguirre under [0028]-[0030] already details the specific selection of certain edges under its running, chronological stream of sensor images. See Aguirre, [0029], “For that goal the use of featureless labeled segmentation also known as semantic segmentation or signal classification (i.e., Recurrent Deep Neural Networks) may be used to determine similarity or deviating sensor pairs”. Aguirre further considers the edges of what should predictably be traffic objects. To the extent Aguirre is silent as to whether it actually processes traffic objects, it is sufficient that a certain traffic object amongst traffic objects (e.g., a traffic light) could be used for its contour-based estimation under the amended language (and not, for example, a lone stop sign only spotted by a single sensor), which is true under Aguirre (i.e., a technique that operates in a general traffic scene). See Aguirre, [0029] “Sensors only connected by an unreliable edge[] may be considered out of order. On the contrary, those connected (along various frames) by at least one stable co-occurrence, namely a stable edge will be considered for a dual synthetic sensor signal generation in module”.
To the extent Siam has been retained and is specifically challenged for its teachings of motion detection (relevant to dependent claims), the examiner disagrees with a requirement that Siam disclose the “technical approach” of the claimed invention to the alleged subjective degree. As a reference in the same field of endeavor of computer vision and traffic object detection, a person of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to consult Siam for further refinement of Aguirre’s system and stated goals. Namely, the ability of the system to find stable edge co-occurrences by distinguishing between moving objects and static objects across frames. Doing so would allow Aguirre to more accurately and efficiently find its desired contours (static, stable), and reduce the amount of faulty results generated by the system (from moving objects having a relative movement direction that is not common to each sensor). As such, the combination is sufficiently incentivized, feasible without compromise to operability, and within the bounds of ordinary creativity. “A person of ordinary skill in the art is also a person of ordinary creativity, not an automaton”, KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1397 (2007).
Accordingly, the rejection is maintained.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f), because the claim limitations use a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitations are: “an estimator configured to estimate” and “a diagnosis unit configured to diagnose” as recited in claim 1.
Because the claim limitations are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f), they are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 3-5, 7, and 9-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
With respect to claim 1, the examiner draws attention to the last limitation:
wherein the processor processes the image data such that a traffic object that is unnecessary for the estimation of the installation state parameter is changed or deleted from the image data, or selects, from a plurality of pieces of the image data obtained in chronological order, the image data that comprises the traffic object that can be used for the estimation and does not comprise the unnecessary traffic object.
And more specifically:
and does not comprise the unnecessary traffic object
Referring to “the unnecessary traffic object” with antecedent basis is improper, as the “unnecessary traffic object” was only introduced in a separate and mutually exclusive branch of the claim. As such, it is unclear whether any “unnecessary traffic object” will satisfy the claim, or if it must specifically be the very unnecessary traffic object that was changed or deleted from the image data – which is logically inconsistent under mutually exclusive branches. To resolve such an inconsistency and for the purposes of compact prosecution, the examiner takes the interpretation that “the unnecessary traffic object” may be a different unnecessary traffic object for which the requisite processor operations were not performed.
With respect to claim 3, both instances of “the traffic object” are referred to with antecedent basis. However, both “the traffic object used for estimation” and “the traffic object that is unnecessary for estimation” had already been recited. Further clarification as to which traffic object is being referred to, is required. For the purposes of compact prosecution, both objects will apply.
With respect to claim 4, the second and third instances of “traffic object” are referred to with antecedent basis. However, both “the traffic object used for estimation” and “the traffic object that is unnecessary for estimation” had already been recited. Under the transition phrase, “comprising”, it cannot be assumed that “the traffic object in the traffic environment” necessarily refers only to “the traffic object used for estimation”. Further clarification as to which traffic object is being referred to, is required. For the purposes of compact prosecution, both objects will apply.
As detailed in the NFOA, the “traffic object used for the estimation” also does not correspond to a traffic object that “can be used” for estimation, by virtue of its actual employed use. For the purposes of compact prosecution, both the traffic object that can be used for estimation as well as additional traffic objects will be considered for meeting this limitation.
With respect to claim 5, both recitations of “the traffic object” inherit the issue described in the rejection of claim 3.
With respect to claim 10, the first recitation of “the traffic object” inherits the issue described in the rejection of claim 3.
As detailed in the NFOA, the “traffic object used for the estimation” also does not correspond to a traffic object that “can be used” for estimation, by virtue of its actual employed use.
With respect to claim 11, the first recitation of “the traffic object” inherits the issue described in the rejection of claim 3.
As detailed in the NFOA, the “traffic object used for the estimation” also does not correspond to a traffic object that “can be used” for estimation, by virtue of its actual employed use.
With respect to claim 12, the first recitation of “the traffic object” inherits the issue described in the rejection of claim 3.
With respect to claim 13, both recitations of “the traffic object” inherits the issue described in the rejection of claim 3.
With respect to claims 14 and 15, they inherit the issues described in the rejection of claim 1.
Claims 3-5, 7, and 9-13 are further rejected by virtue of their dependency on base and intervening rejected claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-5, 7, 9-11, and 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aguirre et. al (US 20190051015 A1) (Hereinafter, “Aguirre”) in view of Siam et. al MODNet: Motion and Appearance based Moving Object Detection Network for Autonomous Driving (Hereinafter, “Siam”).
With respect to claim 1, Aguirre teaches:
A state estimation device ([Abstract]) comprising:
performing, by a computer, processing on image data obtained by an imaging device having imaged a traffic environment, the processing being performed such that the image data comprises a traffic object that can be used for estimation of an installation state parameter of the imaging device ([0028]-[0030]; [0049]; Fig. 6)
an estimator configured to estimate an installation state parameter of an imaging device having obtained the image data through imaging, by inputting the image data processed by the processor to a state estimation model subjected to machine learning to estimate the installation state parameter ([0003] “These deformations of chassis or other types of significant changes in the sensor state (e.g., position, orientation, shape, sensibility, etc.) or other forms of damage in the mechanical coupling (such as robotic actuators) would render the autonomous vehicle disabled despite of the possibility to remain in a limited but reliable functional state within the so-called safety-completeness features”; read in line with paragraph [0015] of the claimed invention’s specification) of the imaging device having obtained the input image data through the imaging (Fig. 3A; Fig. 3B; [0028]-[0029] “time-speed estimation” block 340 mapping to “estimator”)
the machine learning (Fig. 3B; [0029] “For that goal the use of featureless labeled segmentation also known as semantic segmentation or signal classification (i.e., Recurrent Deep Neural Networks) may be used to determine similarity or deviating sensor pairs”) using first Fig. 3A; Fig. 3B; [0029] “In the event that the self-calibration completes successfully and all sensors appear to be in a normal state (operation 312) it results in an optimal online calibration 350 for the sensors and control passes back to operation 310. By contrast, if one or more of the sensors appears not to be in a normal state then control passes to operation 314 and a pair-wise analysis is performed between sensors on the vehicle to determine whether there is an edge co-occurrence in the data collected by the sensors. In one example the time registered raw signals from a first sensor and a second sensor are isochronously input to a pair wise co-occurrence association module 346, tracks the latest sensor readings which have a high index of reliability, and computes the consistency of pair-wise (edge of co-occurrence) associatively based on geometric overlapping, to address this a precise timing (isochronous triggering signals) need to be present in the sensors”)
a diagnosis unit configured to diagnose an installation state of the imaging device based on the estimated installation state parameter. (Fig. 3A, block 320; Fig. 3B)
wherein the processor processes the image data such that a traffic object that is unnecessary for the estimation of the installation state parameter is changed or deleted from the image data, or selects, from a plurality of pieces of the image data obtained in chronological order, the image data that comprises the traffic object that can be used for the estimation and does not comprise the unnecessary traffic object ([0028]-[0030])
Aguirre does not explicitly teach:
training data
However, Siam, in the same field of endeavor of machine-learning implemented object detection in traffic, teaches:
training data ([4A] “Then the moving object detection network (MODNet) is trained and evaluated on KITTI MOD dataset”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Aguirre to include the limitations of training data. Aguirre is already configured to utilize machine-learning and neural network techniques, both of which would predictably benefit through the use of a training process and requisite training data. The systems readily integrate for the same reason.
With respect to claim 3, Aguirre and Siam teach:
The state estimation device according to claim 1, wherein the processor performs processing such that the image data comprises an image in which the traffic object exists in a predetermined area (Aguirre, [0029] wherein “predetermined area” corresponds to the set viewing range of the sensors determined by their parameters, such as “focal length”)
With respect to claim 4, Aguirre and Siam teach:
The state estimation device according to claim 1, wherein the processor performs processing, based on an estimation result, such that the image data obtained by the imaging device having imaged the traffic environment comprises the traffic object used for the estimation, by using an object estimation model subjected to machine learning to estimate at least one selected from a group Siam, Fig. 3; Aguirre, [0029] noting that semantic segmentation distinguishes types of objects), the second training data comprising the image data and second correct value data (Aguirre Fig. 3A; Aguirre, Fig. 3B; noting “first” and “second” correct value data is met as the device operates on a continuous stream of data values in real time across multiple sensors, including data deemed correct under the flow) for object detection in the image data, and the estimation result being obtained by estimating the at least one selected from the group of the Aguirre, [0029])
With respect to claim 5, Aguirre and Siam teach:
The state estimation device according to claim 4, wherein the object estimation model is a model subjected to machine learning to further estimate a direction of the traffic object in the traffic environment indicated by the input image data (Aguirre [0028]-[0030] not explicitly describing motion direction of traffic objects but generally understood to involve an optical-flow type analysis for detections; Siam, [2] “The computed velocity vector per bounding box is compared to the odometry ground-truth to determine the static/moving classification of vehicles”; Siam, Fig. 2, indicating direction of motion)
the processor performs processing, by using the object estimation model, such that the image data includes the traffic object approaching the imaging device (Aguirre [0028]-[0030]; Siam, Fig. 2)
With respect to claim 7, Aguirre and Siam teach:
The state estimation device according to claim 1, wherein the traffic object that is unnecessary for the estimation of the installation state parameter is at least one selected from a group consisting of a truck, a passenger car, and a construction machine that exists in a predetermined area of an image indicated by the image (Siam, Fig. 2; Aguirre, [0028]-[0030] under obvious implementation considerations)
With respect to claim 9, Aguirre and Siam teach:
The state estimation device according to claim 1, wherein the processor adds the traffic object that can be used for the estimation of the installation state parameter to a preset setting area of the image data (Siam, [2]; Siam Fig. 2; Aguirre, noting that no special definition is given to “a preset setting area” of the image data. Given that semantic segmentation results in determined masks overlaying the image data, the examiner determines that [0029] reads, as the area included within the mask).
With respect to claim 10, Aguirre and Siam teach:
The state estimation device according to claim 1, wherein the processor determines a moving direction of the traffic object based on a plurality of pieces of the image data obtained in chronological order through the imaging, and performs the processing based on a determination result such that the image data comprises the traffic object used for the estimation (Aguirre, [0028]-[0030]; Siam, Fig. 2; Siam, [2] “The objects that are then consistently identified on multiple frames as moving are kept”; noting “a determination result” as opposed to “the determination result” or any other specific determination result previously recited expressly/implicitly; noting that there is no link between motion direction detection and “the processing” as it relates to claim 1. “The traffic object” is also subject to the issues of indefiniteness discussed above, and accordingly it is sufficient that the device also be configured to monitor object directions for any other consistent purpose under a “comprising” recitation)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Aguirre to include the limitations of motion direction detection, as taught by Siam. Doing so would provide a means by which to filter out moving objects (which could potentially cause false positives and negatives) via the same bounding box method of Siam. The stated goal of Aguirre is to find a stable edge co-occurrence (Aguirre, [0029], and a moving object does not meet such a requirement. As such, Siam represents a predictable means to further improve the stated object of Aguirre. See MPEP § 2143(I)(D) – “Applying a known technique to a known device (method, or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results”. The systems readily integrate, as Aguirre is otherwise configured to capture the necessary data.
With respect to claim 11, Aguirre and Siam teach:
The state estimation device according to claim 10, wherein the processor determines the moving direction of the traffic object using tracking processing, and performs the processing based on the determination result such that the image data comprises the traffic object used for the estimation (Aguirre, [0028]-[0030]; Siam, Fig. 2; Siam, [2] “The objects that are then consistently identified on multiple frames as moving are kept”; noting “a determination result” as opposed to “the determination result” or any other specific determination result previously recited expressly/implicitly; noting that there is no link between motion direction detection and “the processing” as it relates to claim 1. “The traffic object” is also subject to the issues of indefiniteness discussed above, and accordingly it is sufficient that the device also be configured to monitor object directions for any other consistent purpose under a “comprising” recitation)
With respect to claim 14, it is functionally parallel to claim 1, but recited as a method performed by a computer. Aguirre/Siam teaches the same (Aguirre, Fig. 6; Aguirre, [0049]). Accordingly, the claim is rejected in line with the analysis above.
With respect to claim 15, it is functionally parallel to claim 1, but recited as a non-transitory computer-readable recording medium storing a program. Aguirre/Siam teaches the same (Aguirre, Fig. 6; Aguirre, [0054]). Accordingly, the claim is rejected in line with the analysis above.
Claims 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aguirre and Siam in view of Beltransen beltransen/lidar_bev (Hereinafter, “Beltransen”)
With respect to claim 12, Aguirre and Siam teach:
The state estimation device according to claim 2, wherein the diagnosis unit diagnoses an installation state of the imaging device based on the installation state parameter estimated by the estimator and a
Aguirre and Siam do not explicitly teach:
a bird’s eye view state
However, Beltransen, in the same field of endeavor of imaging sensors, teaches:
a bird’s eye view state (Beltransen, “scripts”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Aguirre and Siam to include the limitations of a bird’s-eye view, as taught by Beltransen. Doing so would have the advantage of providing more information to the system and a means to correlate multiple image inputs, furthering the goal of Aguirre and Siam. The systems readily integrate, as Aguirre/Siam is also configured to utilize LiDAR (Aguirre, [0003])
With respect to claim 13, Aguirre, Siam, and Beltransen teach:
The state estimation device according to claim 12, wherein the diagnosis unit compares an orientation of the traffic object indicated by the image data, and an orientation of the traffic object calculated based on the installation state parameter estimated by the estimator, and diagnoses the installation state of the imaging device when a degree of coincidence is higher than a determination threshold (Aguirre, Fig. 3A, blocks 316-320 iterating; Aguirre, [0029] “Sensors only connected by an unreliable edged may be considered out of order. On the contrary, those connected (along various frames) by at least one stable co-occurrence, namely a stable edge will be considered for a dual synthetic sensor signal generation in module”; Aguirre, [0030] Also, a confidence level is computed and associated with the co-occurrence by transforming the sensor signal “X” from one sensor “A” to another sensor signal “Y” from a sensor “B” in terms of their kinematic orientation (6D pose) T_A and T_B and intrinsic parameters I_A and I_B of each sensor, then the expected signal Y′=T_Â−1(X) is compared with the actual signal received in the sensor “B” as |W(Y)−W(Y′), in this process the W transform takes into account the partial overlapping due to relative placement of the sensors. Thus, the confidence level is the adaptive (depending on the geographic region and a time window) normalized difference between these sensors and their relative co-occurrence of signals.” Siam, Fig. 2)
Aguirre/Siam/Beltransen continuously evaluates the sensors’ data against each other –both the received problematic data and the proper data. With reference to Aguirre, Fig. 3A, if a sensor is above a confidence threshold, operations will continue. Under the iteration process, it continues to be diagnosed. As such, it can be said that Aguirre/Siam/Beltransen is configured to “diagnose[] the installation state of the imaging device when a degree of coincidence is higher than a determination threshold” since it is continuously running.
The examiner also understands the language of this claim include a cross-validation mechanism amongst methods. The examiner further admits that generally speaking, Aguirre/Siam/Beltransen determines object orientation in a similar manner across all sensors. However, this distinction was not made explicit within the claim. Such that a reasonable interpretation of the claim may be as follows:
an orientation of the traffic object indicated by the image data: the image analysis pipeline of Aguirre/Siam/Beltransen, with respect to sensor 1
and an orientation of the traffic object calculated based on the installation state parameter estimated by the estimator: for any given sensor 2, the process of Aguirre/Siam, but with the understanding that orientation of a traffic object is also necessarily estimated based on “the installation state parameter” of sensor 2 (a parameter which is ultimately going to be estimated by the estimator, for example, the installation orientation of the sensor, which necessarily will contribute to the determination of the traffic object’s orientation as it captures the very image data which is used for calculation (e.g., Aguirre’s determination of stable co-occurrence) .
Accordingly, the language of the claim is met.
Conclusion
Applicant’s amendment necessitated the new grounds of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to NOAH WILLIAM BOYAR whose telephone number is 571-272- 8392. The examiner can normally be reached 10:00 AM – 6:00 PM EST, Monday – Friday. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
/NOAH W BOYAR/
Examiner, Art Unit 2669
/CHAN S PARK/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2669