DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 41 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 41, recites “the front portion is one of removably attachable to the body portion and permanently attached to the body portion”. These limitations appear to claim two different embodiments which have different states and structures (Figure 21 and 27) that conflict each other based on the claim language above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 13, 14, 15, 22, 23, 25, 31,41. 45 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by US Patent Application Publication to Ott 2020/0271868US.
In terms of Claim 45, Ott teaches a device comprising a demountable device for attachment to a cable (Figure 4: the device shown in Figure 4 is demountable because one can remove the internal portions or demount them from the device. The frame 50 contains a hole that may be used for pulling 50 [0044]).
As for Claim 1, Ott teaches the device of Claim 45, wherein the demountable device is for attachment to a pre-terminated cable (See Figure 4: is not terminated with a connector mating end as shown in Figure 8), comprises a boot portion (See Figure 4 below) disposed at a first end of the device (right side of the 50) having a slot formed therein for insertion and removal of a cable forming part of the pre-terminated cable (Figure 4 below: middle portion of the boot contains slot to house cable and spring); a front portion (Figure 4 below: see front portion) disposed at a distal end of the device (Figure 4 below: see front portion is located on the distal end of 50 or right side end of 50: Figure 10: 32; illustrates the connector terminating with connector 92) comprising an inner portion for housing (Figure 4 below: the recess or slot that houses 20) a first portion of a connector terminating the pre-terminated cable (Figure 4: tubular portion of 20 that is located in the front portion) and a fitting for attachment of another device with which the device and pre-terminated cable are pulled (Figure 4: hole eyelet of 50 can be attached with a pulling device [0044]); and a body portion (Figure 4: see body portion below) disposed between the boot portion and the front portion (Figure 4: body is located between the boot and front portion) comprising an opening for housing a second portion of the connector (Figure 4: 20) and allowing insertion and removal of the connector into the front portion and body portion of the device (Figure 4: 50 is split into two halves which allows the internals to be demounted from 50).
As for claim 2, Ott teaches the device of Claim 1, wherein at least one: the slot within the boot portion is re-entrant and dimensioned such that the cable of the pre- terminated cable is retained within the slot (Figure 4 above: see cable being held in the slot that runs along 50); the fitting is a threaded insert; and a lower exterior surface of the boot portion on a side of the boot portion opposite that within which the slot is formed has a recess formed therein.
As for claim 13, Ott teaches the device of Claim 45, wherein the demountable device comprises: a helix (Figure 4: spring [0037] wherein the spring 24 has a helical shape) with a helical structure (spring 24) wherein the helix has a bore of a first diameter and an outer surface of a second diameter (spring 24 can house a fiber which is the inner diameter or 1st diameter, the outside portion of 24 is the 2nd diameter or outer diameter); wherein the helix when mounted to the cable adapts a cable pulling attachment to the cable such that the cable is frictionally retained within the cable pulling attachment under application of a longitudinally load to the cable pulling attachment (Figure 4: spring is within the slot area).
As for claim 14, Ott teaches the device of Claim 13, wherein the cable pulling attachment comprises: a boot portion (Figure 4 above: see boot) disposed at a first end of the cable pulling attachment (50) having a slot formed therein for insertion and removal of the cable (Figure 4: 50 contains a slot that houses a fiber); a front portion (Figure 4: see front portion) disposed at a distal end of the device (Figure 4: see front portion located at the distal end or right side of 50) comprising an inner portion (within 50) for housing a first portion of a connector terminating the cable (stem portion on the left side of 20 also shown as element 32) and a fitting (eyelet 52) for attachment of another device with which the cable pulling attachment and optic cable are pulled ([0044]); a body portion (Figure 4: see body portion) disposed between the boot portion and the front portion comprising an opening for housing a second portion of the connector (Figure 4: body portion is sandwiched by boot and front portion) and allowing insertion and removal of the connector into the front portion and body portion of the cable pulling attachment (Figure 4).
As for claim 15, Ott teaches the device of Claim 13, wherein one of the helix when mounted to the cable expands such that an inner diameter of the helix is larger than the first diameter (Figure 4: wherein spring 24 is compress the inner diameter will inherently expand to be wider than before) and the outer surface of the helix has the same second diameter (Figure 4: spring) and the helix reduces in length when the helix is attached to the cable (Figure 4: wherein spring is attached to cable and pulled it will compress and inherently reduce in length due to compression).
As for claim 19, Ott teaches the device of Claim 45, wherein the demountable device comprises: an element having an inner geometry (Figure 4: 20) defined by a predetermined portion of a connector terminating an end of the cable (Figure 25 illustrate an alternative assembly of 20 shown as 237 which terminates on the portion of the connector stem 230; [0065]) and an outer geometry defined by an inner geometry of a body portion of a pulling attachment (Figure 4: 20 has an outer geometry that fits the inner geometry of slot of 50); wherein the element is to be mounted over the predetermined portion of the connector (Figure 25: see 237/230) and pushed into the body portion of the pulling attachment to retain the connector allowing the cable to be pulled by a pulling means attached to the pulling attachment (Figure 4: 20); and the element has one of a retaining U-shape and a re-entrant reentrant U-shape (Figure 25: 237 can be shaped with a u-shape).
As for claim 20, Ott teaches the device of Claim 19, wherein the cable pulling attachment comprises: a boot portion (Figure 4 above: see boot) disposed at a first end of the cable pulling attachment (50) having a slot formed therein for insertion and removal of the cable (Figure 4: 50 contains a slot that houses a fiber); a front portion (Figure 4: see front portion) disposed at a distal end of the device (Figure 4: see front portion located at the distal end or right side of 50) comprising an inner portion (within 50) for housing a first portion of a connector terminating the cable (stem portion on the left side of 20 also shown as element 32) and a fitting (eyelet 52) for attachment of another device with which the cable pulling attachment and optic cable are pulled ([0044]); a body portion (Figure 4: see body portion) disposed between the boot portion and the front portion comprising an opening for housing a second portion of the connector (Figure 4: body portion is sandwiched by boot and front portion) and allowing insertion and removal of the connector into the front portion and body portion of the cable pulling attachment (Figure 4).
As for claim 22, Ott teaches the device of Claim 45, wherein the demountable device comprises: a first end portion (Figure 4: boot portion) having a defined length for encasing a predetermined portion of a cable having a diameter wherein the first end portion can be mounted onto and removed from the predetermined portion of the cable (Figure 4: boot portion of 50); a second end portion (Figure 4: front portion) having another defined length for encasing another predetermined portion of the cable wherein the second end portion can be mounted onto and removed from the another predetermined portion of the cable (Figure 4: front portion); and a helical (Figure 4: spring) structure having an end coupled to the first end portion (Figure 4: spring is located to in the boot portion) and a distal end (right side of 50) coupled to the second end portion (Figure 4: right end portion of slot in 50); wherein the helical structure can be mounted onto and removed from a further portion of the cable between the predetermined portion of the cable and the another predetermined portion of the cable (Figure 10).
As for claim 23, Ott teaches the device of Claim 45, wherein at least one of the first end and the second end comprises a hole (Figure 4: hole at eyelet) formed through the body of the at least one of the first end and the second end portion (eyelet at the end of 50 goes through 50); and either: the hole supports the attachment of a pulling mechanism to the device to pull the cable through at least one of an opening ([0044]), a bore and a tube ([0044]); or: the device further comprises: at least one of an inner groove and an outer groove extending from the outermost end of the at least one of the first end and the second end to the hole in the at least one of the first end and the second end; the hole supports the attachment of a pulling mechanism to the device to pull the cable through at least one of an opening, a bore and a tube where the pulling mechanism fits within the at least one of the inner groove and the outer groove; the inner groove when present is formed on a surface of the at least one of the first end and the second end which will be contact with the cable; and the outer groove when present is formed on an external surface of the at least one of the first end and the second end
As for claim 25, Ott teaches the device of Claim 45, wherein the demountable device is for attachment to a pre-terminated cable and comprises: a front portion (Figure 4: front portion) disposed at an end of the device (Figure 4: right side of 50) comprising an inner portion (Figure 4: inner portion of 50) for housing a first portion of a connector terminating (Figure 4: 20 and stem as shown 32) the pre-terminated cable and a fitting for attachment of a pulling mechanism (Figure 4: 52 [0044]) with which the device and pre-terminated cable are pulled ([0044]); an end portion comprising (Figure 4: left side of 50 or boot portion) a helical structure (Figure 4: spring or Figure 10: 24 [0037]) at a distal end of the device (Figure 4: location of 52 [0044]); and a body portion (Figure 4: middle area; body portion) disposed between the front portion and the end portion (Figure 4: body portion as shown above) comprising an opening for housing a second portion of the connector (slot hold 20 on insider portion of 50) and allowing insertion and removal of the connector (20/32) into the front portion and body portion of the device; wherein the helical structure can be mounted onto and removed from a portion of the cable (Figure 4 and Figure 10).
As for claim 26, Ott teaches the device of Claim 25, wherein the end portion comprises a hole (at eyelet 52; [0044]); and the hole supports the attachment of another pulling mechanism ([0044] pulling device) to the device (Figure 4: entire device as shown in Figure 4) allowing the device and cable to be pulled in at least one of the same direction (Figure 4: if a pulling device is attached to eyelet hole 52 pulls left the device will go right) as the pulling mechanism and in a reverse direction to that of the pulling mechanism (Figure 4: the pulling device is disposed on the right side, it will turn the body of 50, 180 degrees and and go in a reverse direction to the left).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 4 and 41 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent Application Publication to Ott 2020/0271868US in view of the US Patent Application Publication to Cheng 2017/0068064US.
In regard to claim 4 and 41, Ott teaches the device of Claims 1 and 45, wherein Ott teaches a boot portion (See Figure 4 below) disposed at a first end of the device (right side of the 50) having a slot formed therein for insertion and removal of a cable forming part of the pre-terminated cable (Figure 4 below: middle portion of the boot contains slot to house cable and spring); a front portion (Figure 4 below: see front portion) disposed at a distal end of the device (Figure 4 below: see front portion is located on the distal end of 50 or right side end of 50: Figure 10: 32; illustrates the connector terminating with connector 92) comprising an inner portion for housing (Figure 4 below: the recess or slot that houses 20) a first portion of a connector terminating the pre-terminated cable (Figure 4: tubular portion of 20 that is located in the front portion) and a fitting for attachment of another device with which the device and pre-terminated cable are pulled (Figure 4: hole eyelet of 50 can be attached with a pulling device [0044]); and a body portion (Figure 4: see body portion below) disposed between the boot portion and the front portion (Figure 4: body is located between the boot and front portion) comprising an opening for housing a second portion of the connector (Figure 4: 20) and allowing insertion and removal of the connector into the front portion and body portion of the device (Figure 4: 50 is split into two halves which allows the internals to be demounted from 50); the boot portion and the body portion are a single piece part (Figure 4: 50) and the front portion is permanently attached to the body portion (Figure 4: see 50).
Ott does not teach further comprising wherein the front portion contains a fitting that is removable and includes a joint comprising a first fitting on one end of the joint and a second fitting on another end of the joint; wherein the fitting of the device is attached to the first fitting of the joint; the puller is attached to the second fitting of the joint; and either: the joint allows rotation of the fitting relative to the puller; or: the joint is a universal joint allowing movement of the fitting relative to the puller in all three axes.
Cheng does teach further comprising a joint (Figure 7: 2041’) comprising a first fitting on one end of the joint (Figure 7: 2032’) and a second fitting (Figure 5: 2041) on another end (Figure 5: 2032) of the joint; wherein the fitting of the device is attached to the first fitting of the joint (Figure 5: illustrate one end can have 2032 with an eyelet wherein 2041 is coupled to body 204; Figure 7 illustrate the other end can have 203’ which can couple to body 201 to couple to another cylindrical body); the puller is attached to the second fitting of the joint (Figure 5: 2032 has an eyelet to hold a puller); and either: the joint allows rotation of the fitting relative to the puller ([0068]); or: the joint is a universal joint allowing movement of the fitting relative to the puller in all three axes ([0068]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device to have a cap portion similar to 201/204 wherein opening at cap end has a hole to accept fittings that are ball joint structure this allow the fitting to be removable for repairs, allows for greater freedom of movement during the pull and ensure the tubular body of 50 of Ott to stay straight during a pull run in narrow spaces ([0068]).
Claims 27, 29, 31, 33 and 38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent Application Publication to Ott 2020/0271868US in view of the US Patent Kachmar 8,625,946US.
In regards to Claim 27, Ott teaches the device of Claim 45, wherein either the demountable device is for attachment to a pre-terminated cable and comprises: a body (Figure 4) having an end and a distal end (Figure 4: right side of 50); a fitting for attachment of a pulling mechanism (eyelet 52) with which the device is pulled disposed within an exterior face of the end a recess (See internals of 50).
Ott does not teach; within the device comprising a plurality of N recesses disposed around the periphery of the end, each recess of the plurality of N recesses for accommodating a connector terminating a cable and having an end at the exterior face of the end and a distal end; and a plurality of N grooves, each groove of the plurality of N grooves dimensioned to accommodate a cable and running from an end at the distal end of a predetermined recess of the plurality of recesses to a point along the body; wherein the device supports the mounting of up to M terminated cables; N and M are positive integers greater than or equal to 2; and M<N; or: the demountable device comprises: a body having an end and a distal end; a fitting for attachment of a pulling mechanism with which the device is pulled disposed within an exterior face of the end; a plurality of N grooves, each groove of the plurality of N grooves dimensioned to accommodate a cable and running from a point along the body to another point along the body; wherein each groove supports the mounting of up to M cables; the device supports the mounting of up to R cables; N and M are positive integers; N>2; M>1; and R < N x M.
Kachmar does teach wherein a plurality of N recesses disposed around the periphery of the end (Figure 3: 46a-d), each recess of the plurality of N recesses for accommodating a connector terminating a cable (Figure 3: 46a-b) and having an end at the exterior face of the end and a distal end; and a plurality of N grooves (46a-b), each groove of the plurality of N grooves dimensioned to accommodate a cable and running from an end at the distal end of a predetermined recess of the plurality of recesses to a point along the body (Figure 3: within 46a-b; Figure 4: 46); wherein the device supports the mounting of up to M terminated cables; N and M are positive integers greater than or equal to 2; and M<N (Figure 3 and 4: 46 and 12). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of element 50 of Ott to contain a divider having multiple channels within the internals or inner body of 50 in order to separate the fiber into groups and allow for large density connections. Further Cheng indicates the divider with grooves also help reduce the compressive force acting on the fibers (Column 3, lines 30-50).
In regards to Claim 29, Ott teaches the device of Claim 45, Ott teaches wherein the demountable device is for attachment to an unterminated cable (Figure 4) and comprises a boot portion (See Figure 4 below) disposed at a first end of the device (right side of the 50) having a slot formed therein for insertion and removal of a cable forming part of the pre-terminated cable (Figure 4 below: middle portion of the boot contains slot to house cable and spring); a front portion (Figure 4 below: see front portion) disposed at a distal end of the device (Figure 4 below: see front portion is located on the distal end of 50 or right side end of 50: Figure 10: 32; illustrates the connector terminating with connector 92) comprising an inner portion for housing (Figure 4 below: the recess or slot that houses 20) a first portion of a connector terminating the pre-terminated cable (Figure 4: tubular portion of 20 that is located in the front portion) and a fitting for attachment of another device with which the device and pre-terminated cable are pulled (Figure 4: hole eyelet of 50 can be attached with a pulling device [0044]); and a body portion (Figure 4: see body portion below) disposed between the boot portion and the front portion (Figure 4: body is located between the boot and front portion) comprising an opening for housing a second portion of the connector (Figure 4: 20) and allowing insertion and removal of the connector into the front portion and body portion of the device (Figure 4: 50 is split into two halves which allows the internals to be demounted from 50); wherein an end of the groove connects with the slot (middle groove at 50 connects with smaller channel slot at wherein cable 22 enters, and smaller slot portion that house components in front of 20) in the front portion and a distal end of the groove connects with the other slot in the end portion (groove that house 20 connects with taper slot portion in the right and left of 50); the slot, the another slot and the groove each allow the insertion and removal of the unterminated cable (Slot 1 is by cable 22, slot 2 is by the from end that houses stems 32 in front of element 20; groove that houses 20) and either.
Ott does not teach a helical structure at a distal end of the device having another slot formed within an outer surface of the end portion; and a body portion disposed between the front portion and the end portion comprising a helically disposed groove disposed around an outer surface of the body portion the slot, another slot, and the groove each allow the insertion and removal of the unterminated cable; or:
the slot formed within the outer surface of the front portion has a first portion shaped to continue the helically disposed groove disposed around the outer surface of the body portion and a second portion disposed in a direction contra to the direction of the helically disposed groove and the slot, the another slot, and the groove each allow the insertion and removal of the unterminated cable.
Kachmar does teach a helical structure (Figure 4 and 3) at a distal end of the device having another slot formed within an outer surface of the end portion (Figure 4: 47); and a body portion (Figure 4: 14) disposed between the front portion and the end portion comprising a helically disposed groove (46) disposed around an outer surface of the body portion (Figure 3 and 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Ott to include a spiral or helical groove structure in order to reduce the compressive force acting on the fiber (Kachmar Column 3, lines 15-50).
In regard to Claim 31, Ott teaches the device of Claim 45.
Ott does not teach a body of defined cross-sectional geometry with a plurality of surfaces; and one or more grooves of defined geometry and dimensions where each groove of the one or more grooves is formed within a surface of the a plurality of surfaces; wherein n end of each groove of the one or more grooves terminates within a defined surface of the plurality of surfaces and a distal end of the groove of the one or more grooves terminates within another defined surface of the plurality of surfaces; and either:
1) each groove of the one or more grooves allows the insertion and removal of the cable; or:
2) each groove of the one or more grooves allows the insertion and removal of a cable and the defined geometry is a re-entrant geometry such that each cable when inserted into a groove of the one or more grooves is retained physically within the groove of the one or more grooves.
Kachmar does teach a body (Figure 4: 14) of defined cross-sectional geometry with a plurality of surfaces (internal surface of 14); and one or more grooves of defined geometry and dimensions where each groove of the one or more grooves is formed within a surface of the a plurality of surfaces (Figure 4: 46a-d); wherein an end of each groove of the one or more grooves terminates within a defined surface (Figure 4: 14, 46a-d) of the plurality of surfaces and a distal end of the groove of the one or more grooves terminates within another defined surface of the plurality of surfaces (Figure 3 and 4: 46); and either: 1) each groove of the one or more grooves allows the insertion and removal of the cable (Figure 3 and 4: 46 and 12).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Ott to include a spiral or helical groove structure in order to reduce the compressive force acting on the fiber (Kachmar Column 3, lines 15-50).
In regard to Claim 33, Ott teaches the device of Claim 45, wherein a body (Figure 4: 50) of define cross sectional geometry with an outer surface, an end and a distal end (right side of 50); a first recess formed within the end of the body (recess wherein cable 22 is inserted); a second recess formed within the distal end of the body (second recess holds portion of stem ferrule/connector of element 32 at the front end); a first guide (side wall of internal recess) with define geometry dimension connecting an end of the first recess to an end of the groove (Figure 4: vertical sidewall connects recess portion at the boot to middle groove area of wherein 20 is located); a second guide (side wall of the front recess) with define geometry and dimension connecting an end of the second recess to a distal end of the groove (taper portion of the front end is connected to groove area of 20); wherein first recess is dimension to hold a first connector terminating and end of the cable (Figure 4: at the location of spring); the second recess is dimension to hold a second connector terminating a distal of the cable (Figure 4: front end area where 32 is located); and the first guide and second guide and the grove allow for the demountable insertion of the cable (Figure 4: vertical side wall within the recess or grove area).
Kachmar teaches a body having a spiral or helically shaped grooves (Figure 4: 46) the grooves are defined geometry dimension disposed around the outer surface of the body 14. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date to modify the middle area of the body portion of 50 to be shaped like the groove shaped spiral of 46 in order to reduce the compressive force on the body and fibers (Cheng Column 3, lines 15-50).
In regard to Claim 38, Ott teaches the device of Claim 45.
Ott does not teach an elongate body having a first end and a distal end; a first groove comprising a portion axial to a longitudinal axis of the elongate body at the end of the elongate body, another portion axial to the longitudinal axis of the elongate body at the distal end; and a further portion between the portion and another portion along a helical path; a second groove comprising a portion axial to a longitudinal axis of the elongate body at the end of the elongate body, another portion axial to the longitudinal axis of the elongate body at the distal end; and a further portion between the portion and another portion along a helical path; wherein the first groove supports insertion and retention of the cable; and the second groove supports insertion and retention of the cable.
Kachmar does teach an elongate body (Figure 4: 14) having a first end and a distal end; a first groove (Figure 4: 46) comprising a portion axial to a longitudinal axis of the elongate body at the end of the elongate body (Figure 4: 14), another portion axial to the longitudinal axis of the elongate body at the distal end (Figure 3: 46a or sidewalls that define 46a); and a further portion between the portion and another portion along a helical path (Figure 3: 46b or sidewalls that define 46b); a second groove (Figure 4: 46 and 46c-d) comprising a portion axial to a longitudinal axis of the elongate body at the end of the elongate body, another portion axial to the longitudinal axis of the elongate body at the distal end; and a further portion between the portion and another portion along a helical path (Figure 3: 46c and 46d); wherein the first groove supports insertion and retention of the cable; and the second groove supports insertion and retention of the cable (Figure 3: 12). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Ott to include a spiral or helical groove structure in order to reduce the compressive force acting on the fiber (Cheng Column 3, lines 15-50).
Claim 39 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ott / Kachmar as applied to claim 38 above, and further in view of US Patent Application Publication to Cheng 2017/0068064US.
In regard to Claim 39, Ott / Kachmar teaches the device of Claim 38, wherein Kachmar teaches the middle portion of the elongated body contains a hole or channel contains used to hold strength members (Figure 3: 60).
Ott and Kachmar do not teach one of: a third groove comprising a portion axial to a longitudinal axis of the elongate body at the end of the elongate body, another portion axial to the longitudinal axis of the elongate body at the distal end; and a further portion between the portion and another portion along a helical path and the third groove supports insertion and retention of a pulling cable or pulling rope; and a third groove and a fourth groove where the third groove comprises a portion axial to a longitudinal axis of the elongate body at the end of the elongate body, another portion axial to the longitudinal axis of the elongate body at the distal end; and a further portion between the portion and another portion along a helical path and the fourth groove comprises a portion axial to a longitudinal axis of the elongate body at the end of the elongate body, another portion axial to the longitudinal axis of the elongate body at the distal end; and a further portion between the portion and another portion along a helical path where the third groove supports insertion and retention of a pulling cable or pulling rope and the fourth groove supports insertion and retention of a pulling cable or pulling rope.
Cheng does teach a groove (Figure 5: hole at 2031) comprising a portion axial to a longitudinal axis of the elongate body at the end of the elongate body (Figure 5: hole that houses 2031 mates or coupled with elongated body 210), another portion axial to the longitudinal axis of the elongate body at the distal end (Figure 5: 100); and a further portion between the portion and another portion (back end of 100) along a path and the third groove supports insertion and retention of a pulling cable or pulling rope (Figure 5: at 2032); and a third groove (opening of 204 at 2031) and a fourth groove (groove within 210) where the third groove comprises a portion axial to a longitudinal axis of the elongate body at the end of the elongate body (Figure 5: elongated body of 204), another portion axial to the longitudinal axis of the elongate body at the distal end (Figure 5: at 2032 or ball join 2041); and a further portion between the portion and another portion along a path and the fourth groove comprises a portion axial to a longitudinal axis of the elongate body at the end of the elongate body (Figure 5: body of 210), another portion axial to the longitudinal axis of the elongate body at the distal end (Figure 6: right side of at 204); and a further portion between the portion and another portion along a path where the third groove supports insertion and retention of a pulling cable or pulling rope and the fourth groove supports insertion and retention of a pulling cable or pulling rope (Figure 5: at 2032).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the cap portion (Figure 5: 204) having tubular grooves channels coupling portion 210 and 201 as shown in Figure 6 or 7, to couple with the middle portion 60 of Kachmar to allow the tubular channel body 14 of Kachmar to be pulled through narrow channels to route optical fiber lines. The pulling cap allows for a pulling device to be easily inserted into 2032 and pull the cable along as shown in Figure 5-7 of Cheng.
Claims 34-36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ott 2020/0271868US in view of the US Patent to Kachmar 8,625,946US and further in view of US Patent Application Publication to Glew 2013/0146329US.
In regard to Claim 34-36, Ott teaches the device of Claim 45.
Ott does not teach an elongate body having an end and a distal end; one or more grooves, each groove extending from the end of the elongate body to a position along the elongate body with a cross-section supporting insertion of a cable having a predetermined geometry; one or more spiral grooves, each spiral groove extending from the distal end of the elongate body to another position along the elongate body supporting insertion of one or more cables when mounted to the device; each groove of the one or more grooves is one of linear along the elongated body defines a portion of a helix along the elongate body.
Kachmar does teach an elongate body (Figure 4: 14) having an end and a distal end; one or more grooves (Figure 3 and Figure 4: 46), each groove extending from the end of the elongate body to a position along the elongate body with a cross-section supporting insertion of a cable having a predetermined geometry (Figure 4: 46); one or more spiral grooves (Figure 4: 46), each spiral groove extending from the distal end of the elongate body to another position along the elongate body supporting insertion of one or more cables (12) when mounted to the device; each groove of the one or more grooves is one of linear along the elongated body defines a portion of a helix along the elongate body (Figure 4: 46).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Ott to include a spiral or helical groove structure in order to reduce the compressive force acting on the fiber (Cheng Column 3, lines 15-50).
Ott / Kachmar do not teach wherein one or more other grooves each other groove extending from an end of a predetermined groove of the one or more grooves along the elongate body to another position.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to duplicate the body of 14 of Kachmar to be coupled to many bodies 14 in a linear fashion for long run to provide additional protection through the long run cable at various spacing without limiting flexibility from a singular uniform long body. It has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8 (1977).
Ott / Kachmar do not teach wherein each spiral groove extending from the distal end of the elongate body to another position along the elongate body supporting insertion of strength members when mounted to the device.
Glew does teach wherein each spiral groove extending from the distal end of the elongate body to another position along the elongate body supporting insertion of strength members when mounted to the device ([0070]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Ott / Cheng to include strengthen members located on the side grooves to further reinforce the device and protect the fibers for axial compressive forces.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US Patent to Cooke 2010/0051886US teaches pulling structural for optical cable.
/HOANG Q TRAN/Examiner, Art Unit 2874
/SUNG H PAK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2874