DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 7-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by CN 207437369 to Zhuhai Gree Energy Saving Refrigeration Tech. (Zhuhai) (Machine translation provided by the applicant has been used for translational purposes).
Regarding claim 1, Zhuhai discloses a hermetic compressor comprising a compression mechanism (1, fig. 1) in a hermetic container (3, fig. 1), the compression mechanism being driven by an electric motor (2, fig. 1) through a rotation shaft (15, fig. 1),
wherein
the compression mechanism includes a cylinder (13, fig. 1) including a cylinder chamber having a cylindrical shape, the cylinder having a cylinder suction hole (131, figs. 1-2) that extends in a radial direction of the cylinder and that allows fluid to be sucked into the cylinder chamber,
in an outer circumferential surface of the cylinder, a cylindrical groove (at 60, figs. 1-4 for receiving 621 of fig. 3) is formed in such a manner as to surround the cylinder suction hole (figs. 2-4),
between the cylinder suction hole and the cylindrical groove, a cylinder tubular portion (tubular portion X, annotated fig. 2 below) is provided (portion between 61 and 17 in fig. 2 is the cylinder tubular portion), and
to an outer circumferential surface of the cylinder tubular portion, a connecting pipe (62, figs. 2-4 with part 621 as shown in fig. 3) provided at one end of a suction pipe (suction tube 61 receiving fluid from discharge pipe 72, figs. 2-4) is connected, the suction pipe being a pipe through which the fluid is guided from outside (from 71, fig. 1) of the hermetic container to the cylinder chamber.
Regarding claim 2, Zhuhai discloses the hermetic compressor of claim 1, wherein the cylindrical groove extends through the cylinder in a thickness direction of the cylinder (figs. 1-4).
Regarding claim 3, Zhuhai discloses the hermetic compressor of claim 1, further comprising a bearing (12, figs. 1-4) that is in contact with the cylinder and supports the rotation shaft such that the rotation shaft is rotatable,
wherein at an outer circumferential end portion of the bearing, a bearing recessed portion (see fig. 2, flange 12 is shown to be recessed) is provided to prevent interference between the bearing and the connecting pipe
Regarding claim 7, Zhuhai discloses a hermetic compressor comprising a compression mechanism (1, fig. 1) in a hermetic container (3, fig. 1), the compression mechanism being driven by an electric motor (2, fig. 1) through a rotation shaft (15, fig. 1),
wherein
the compression mechanism includes a cylinder (13, fig. 1) including a cylinder chamber having a cylindrical shape, the cylinder having a cylinder suction hole (131, figs. 1-2) that extends in a radial direction of the cylinder and that allows fluid to be sucked into the cylinder chamber,
in an outer circumferential surface of the cylinder, a cylindrical groove (at 60, figs. 1-4 for receiving 621 of fig. 3) is formed in such a manner as to surround the cylinder suction hole (figs. 2-4),
between the cylinder suction hole and the cylindrical groove, a cylinder tubular portion (tubular portion X, annotated fig. 2 below) is provided (portion between 61 and 17 in fig. 2 is the cylinder tubular portion), and
to an outer circumferential surface of the cylinder tubular portion, a suction pipe (suction tube 61 receiving fluid from discharge pipe 72, figs. 2-4) is connected, the suction pipe being a pipe through which the fluid is guided from outside (from 71, fig. 1) of the hermetic container to the cylinder chamber.
Regarding claim 8, Zhuhai discloses the hermetic compressor of claim 7, further comprising a bearing (12, figs. 1-4) that is in contact with the cylinder and supports the rotation shaft such that the rotation shaft is rotatable,
wherein at an outer circumferential end portion of the bearing, a bearing recessed portion (see fig. 2, flange 12 is shown to be recessed) is provided to prevent interference between the bearing and the suction pipe.
Regarding claim 9, Zhuhai discloses the hermetic compressor of claim 1, wherein the connecting pipe is connected to the outer circumferential surface of the cylinder tubular portion by press-fitting, screws, welding, or adhesive (62 is welded to 61 which is press fitted into suction portion 131, figs. 2-4; [64]-[66]; as such the connecting pipe is connected to outer circumferential surface via welding to 61 and via press fit of pipe 61 with 131).
Regarding claim 10, Zhuhai discloses the hermetic compressor of claim 1, wherein the connecting pipe is not directly bonded to the inner circumferential surface of the cylinder suction hole (62 is not directly bonded to the inner circumferential surface of the cylinder suction hole; figs. 2-4).
Regarding claim 11, Zhuhai discloses the hermetic compressor of claim 1, wherein the inner circumferential surface of the connecting pipe is connected to the outer circumferential surface of the cylinder tubular portion (figs. 2-4; also see X of annotated fig. above; inner surface of 62 is connected to outer surface of portion X).
Regarding claim 12, Zhuhai discloses the hermetic compressor of claim 7, wherein the inner circumferential surface of the suction pipe is connected to the outer circumferential surface of the cylinder tubular portion (figs. 2-4; also see X of annotated fig. above; inner surface of 62 is connected to outer surface of portion X).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhuhai.
Regarding claim 4, Zhuhai discloses the hermetic compressor of claim 1, but does not explicitly disclose that the cylinder tubular portion has a circular shape as viewed from the front.
However, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to have the cylinder tubular portion with a circular shape as viewed from the front, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the form or shape of a component. A change in form or shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Dailey, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1976).
Regarding claim 5, Zhuhai discloses the hermetic compressor of claim 1, but does not explicitly disclose that the cylinder tubular portion is formed in the shape of an ellipse or a rectangle having rounded corners as viewed from the front.
However, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to have the cylinder tubular portion formed in the shape of an ellipse or a rectangle having rounded corners as viewed from the front, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the form or shape of a component. A change in form or shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Dailey, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1976).
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhuhai as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US 2017/0045268 to Fujisue.
Regarding claim 6, Zhuhai discloses a refrigeration cycle apparatus comprising: the hermetic compressor of claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above), but does not explicitly disclose which Fujisue discloses:
an outdoor-side heat exchanger (104, fig. 3; [36]);
a pressure reducing device (105, fig. 3; [36]); and
an indoor-side heat exchanger (106, fig. 3; [36]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to the one with ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to add the outdoor-side heat exchanger; the pressure reducing device; and the indoor-side heat exchanger of Fujisue to the device of Zhuhai so to provide a highly reliable refrigeration cycle apparatus ([8]; Fujisue).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 4/9/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Zhuhai fails “to disclose at least the following limitations of claim 1:
between the cylinder suction hole and the cylindrical groove, a cylinder tubular portion is provided, and
to an outer circumferential surface of the cylinder tubular portion, a connecting pipe provided at one end of a suction pipe is connected, the suction pipe being a pipe through which the fluid is guided from outside of the hermetic container to the cylinder chamber
Furthermore, Zhuhai fails to disclose at least the following limitations of claim 7:
between the cylinder suction hole and the cylindrical groove, a cylinder tubular portion is provided, and
to an outer circumferential surface of the cylinder tubular portion, a suction pipe is connected, the suction pipe being a pipe through which the fluid is guided from outside of the hermetic container to the cylinder chamber.” However, the office respectfully disagrees. As shown in annotated fig. 2 above, portion X is the tubular portion and on the outside of this portion, pipe section 62 is connected. As such, the claim limitations are met.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DAPINDER SINGH/Examiner, Art Unit 3746