DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-7, 36-42, 45 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1) as being anticipated by Chien et al. (Pub. No. 20200267672).
- With respect to claims 1, 36 and 45, Chien teaches an apparatus for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE) (e.g. Fig. 3 shows the BS and UE communication with 108), comprising: one or more memories; and one or more processors, coupled to the one or more memories, configured to: receive, from a radio access network (RAN) node, an indication that a time synchronization change has been detected (e.g. par. 77 discloses “When the first time synchronization error is larger than or equal to the second time synchronization error, the BS 1 generates the synchronization indication message 108 and transmits the synchronization indication message 108, indicating the satellite ECS, to the UE 2”); and adjust a clock associated with the UE based at least in part on the indication (see par. 39 discloses UE adjust clock).
- With respect to claims 2, 37, Chien teaches wherein the indication that the time synchronization change has been detected is included in a broadcast message (e.g. par. 45 discloses reference time information is broadcasted).
- With respect to claims 3, 38, Chien teaches wherein the indication that the time synchronization change has been detected is included in a dedicated radio resource control (RRC) message (par. 36, 45 discloses the unicast reference time information through RRC message).
- With respect to claims 4, 39, Chien teaches wherein the indication that the time synchronization change has been detected is included in a precision time protocol (PTP) message (see par. 65).
- With respect to claim 5, 40, Chien teaches wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: transmit a precision time protocol (PTP) message indicating the time synchronization change (see claim 9).
- With respect to claims 6, 41, Chien teaches wherein the PTP message is transmitted by a device- side time sensitive networking (TSN) translator (DS-TT) co-located with the UE (see par. 29, 49, ).
- With respect to claims 7, 42, Chien teaches wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: receive, from a time synchronization node, a request for a time synchronization status associated with the UE; and transmit, based at least in part on the request, an indication of the time synchronization change (such as the requirement for time synchronization between UE and system see par. 7, 103).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8-9, 43-44 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chien et al. (Pub. No. 20200267672) in view of Chandramouli et al. (Pub. No. 20220053327).
- With respect to claims 8, 43, Chien fails to teach wherein the request and the indication of the time synchronization change are included in non-access stratum (NAS) messages. Chandramouli teaches NAS message for network using (see par. 56), therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to implement the method of using NAS message into Chien’s invention for carry time synchronization information in high-level signaling message in wireless communication.
- With respect to claims 9, 44, Chandramouli teaches wherein the NAS messages comprise port management information containers (PMICs) (see par. 56).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 10 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892.
. Examiner's Note: Examiner has cited particular paragraphs or columns and line numbers in the references applied to the claims above for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings of the art and are applied to specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested from the applicant in preparing responses, to fully consider the references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner.Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to PHUC H TRAN whose telephone number is (571)272-3172. The examiner can normally be reached M-F 8-5 Flex.
/PHUC H TRAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2471