DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Invention I (claims 1 and 2) in the reply filed on July 28, 2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 3 and 4 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention (Invention II), there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on July 28, 2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Margavio (U.S. Patent Application Publication Number 2021/0074569), as evidence by Collins (U.S. Patent Application Publication Number 2002/0004309).
As to claim 1, Margavio teaches a holding member (figure 1, element 110 being the ‘holding member’; paragraph 25) that contains alpha-type alumina as a main component and that is configured to hold a target object (figures 1, 2I, and 2J, element 110; paragraphs 25 and 34). Examiner notes that this can be found because Margavio teaches that holding member comprises sapphire (paragraph 34), which is known in the art as a type of alpha-type alumina. This is evidence by Collins, which teaches a holding member (abstract) which comprises an alpha-type alumina (paragraph 43). Examiner notes that Collins expressly teaches that sapphire is an alpha-type alumina (paragraph 43). Margavio further teaches that the holding member has a holding surface that is a surface on which the target object is to be held (figures 2I and 2J, element 160 being the ‘holding surface’; paragraph 34), wherein the holding surface has a projection and a recess formed thereon and therein (figures 2I and 2J, elements 112’ being the ‘projection’ and recess between elements 112’ being the ‘recess’; paragraph 34), and wherein a proportion of gamma-type alumina contained in a bottom surface that defines a bottom portion of the recess is 0% (figures 2I and 2J; paragraph 34). This can ben found because Margavio teaches that the entirety of the holding surface, including the bottom surface of the bottom portion of the recess, comprises alpha-type alumina (sapphire) (figures 2I and 2J, element 160; paragraph 34). Therefore, because the holding surface only contains alumina-type alumina, and does not contain gamma-type alumina, the proportion of gamma-type alumina is 0%.
As to claim 2, Margavio further teaches that the proportion of gamma-type alumina contained in the bottom surface is equal to a proportion of gamma-type alumina contained in a top surface that defines a top portion of the projection (figures 2I and 2J, top surface of elements 112’ being the ‘top surface’ and ‘top portion’; paragraph 34). This can be found because Margavio teaches that the entirety of the holding surface, including the bottom surface of the bottom portion and the top surface of the top portion contains only alpha-type alumina (sapphire) (figures 2I and 2J, element 160; paragraph 34) and does not contain gamma-type alumina. Therefore, each of the top surface and the bottom surface equally contain 0% of gamma-type alumina.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Lee (U.S. Patent Application Publication Number 2020/0227300) teaches a holding member that contains alpha-type alumina as a main component, wherein the holding member has a holding surface, wherein the holding surface has a projection and a recess, and wherein a proportion of gamma-type alumina contained in a bottom surface of the recess is less than 5%.
Chadha (U.S. Patent Application Publication Number 2024/0249965) teaches a holding member that contains alpha-type alumina as a main component and a proportion of gamma-type alumina contained in a holding surface of the holding member is less than 5%.
Fujita (U.S. Patent Application Publication Number 2024/0105489) teaches a holding member that contains alpha-type alumina as a main component and a proportion of gamma-type alumina contained in a holding surface of the holding member is less than 5%.
/CHRISTOPHER J. BESLER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3726