Election/Restrictions
1. Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I: Claims 1-9 in the reply filed on 01/08/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Objections
2. Claims 1-3 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 lines 9-10 reads “receive at least the at least one material layer”. This is verbose grammar and should be corrected to “receive the at least one material layer” for concise writing.
Claim 2 line 3 reads “receive at least the at least one material layer”. This is verbose grammar and should be corrected to “receive the at least one material layer” for concise writing.
Claim 3 lines 3-4 reads “receiving at least the at least one material layer”. This is verbose grammar and should be corrected to “receive the at least one material layer” for concise writing.
Appropriate correction is required.
Drawings
3. The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a) because Figure 4 fails to show the titles/descriptions of each numbered step of its flowchart as described in the specification, and remains as empty black boxes. These titles/descriptions are specifically listed in [0022] and should be labelled within the black boxes. Any structural detail that is essential for a proper understanding of the disclosed invention should be shown in the drawing. MPEP § 608.02(d). Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Interpretation
4. This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“application unit” in claim 1 line 4. “Application” is a function, “unit” is a generic placeholder, and the claims do not provide the structure to perform said functions. Structure is found in [0048] of Applicant’s Specification filed 07/25/2024 as print head or recoated and will be interpreted as such and equivalents.
“rotating device” in claim 4 line 2. “Rotating” is a function, “device” is a generic placeholder, and the claims do not add structure sufficient to perform said function. Structure is found in Figure 5 of Applicant’s Drawings filed 07/25/2024 which shows rotating pivot and will be interpreted as such and equivalents.
“cleaning device” in claim 5 line 2. “Cleaning” is a function, “device” is a generic placeholder, and the claims lack structure to perform said function. Structure is found in [0059] and [0061] of Applicant’s Specification filed 07/25/2024 as either a blower or vacuum cleaner and will be interpreted as such and equivalents.
“vibration generating device” in claim 6 line 2. “vibration generating” is a function, “device” is a generic placeholder, and the claims lack structure to perform said function. Structure is found in [0294] of Applicant’s Specification filed 07/25/2024 as an ultrasonic probe or sound wave generator and will be interpreted as such and equivalents.
“fiber application device” in claim 7 line 2. “fiber application” is a function, “device” is a generic placeholder, and the claims lack structure to perform said function. Structure is found in [0068] of Applicant’s Specification filed 07/25/2024 as a recoater will be interpreted as such and equivalents.
“energy application device” in claim 9 line 2. “energy application” is a function, “device” is a generic placeholder, and the claims lack structure to perform said function. Structure is found in [0181]-[0182] of Applicant’s Specification filed 07/25/2024 as a resistance heater or high-frequency generator and will be interpreted as such and equivalents.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
5. Claims 1-3, 5-6, and 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Rogren (US 2020/0298477).
Regarding claim 1, Rogren teaches a manufacturing device for manufacturing an object in layers (Abstract) comprising at least one transfer platform (transfer modules B) with a transfer platform surface (carrier substrate- 220; [0088]), at least one application unit (printing device- 40 and dispensing device- 20) configured to apply at least one treatment layer on the transfer platform surface (printing device- 20 and liquid binding material; [0081]-[0082]) and at least one material layer on the transfer platform surface (dispensing device -20 and fluidized material; [0078]) and a construction platform (assembly or build station- 110) configure to receive material layers so that the object is manufactured in layers on the construction platform in a third direction (stacked implies z-axis direction; [0066]-[0067]). The application unit is meant to make a single layer, which means the treatment or material layers are in a first or second direction (x and/or y axis directions).
Regarding treatment layers, material layers, and so forth, these are materials worked upon by an apparatus. MPEP 2115 teaches that claim analysis is highly fact-dependent. A claim is only limited by positively recited elements. Thus, "[i]nclusion of the material or article worked upon by a structure being claimed does not impart patentability to the claims." In re Otto, 312 F.2d 937, 136 USPQ 458, 459 (CCPA 1963); see also In re Young, 75 F.2d 996, 25 USPQ 69 (CCPA 1935). See MPEP 2115. Claim limitations related to these materials in this claim and subsequent claims do not differentiate the immediate application from the prior art. If a structure is capable of using a material, it is configured for it.
Regarding claim 2, Rogren teaches that the construction platform comprises construction platform surface (build plate- 80) configured to receive material objects ([0097]).
Regarding claim 3, as seen in Figure 5, the construction platform surface (build plate- 80) is oriented substantially parallel to the transfer platform surface (carrier substrate- 200). The position of the construction platform surface is carefully controlled while receiving printed materials ([0097]).
Regarding claim 5, Rogren teaches of at least one cleaning device configured to remove excess material from the transfer platform by sucking-off (vacuum port- 64) and blowing-off (air knife- 62) a fluid (air; [0130]).
Regarding claim 6, Rogren teaches of vibration generation device (compaction device- 30; [0080]), that could be used to remove excess material from a transfer platform (it is noted to apply pressure to carrier substrate- 200 in [0080], and thus vibrate the transfer platform which would remove some excess material).
Regarding claim 8, Rogren teaches of a plurality of transfer platforms ([0065]).
Regarding claim 9, Rogren teaches the inclusion of an energy application device configured to supply energy to materials, notably of plasticizing materials (fixing device- 50; solidifies liquid binding material; [0085]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
7. Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rogren as applied to claim 1 above, and in further view of Sachs et al. (US 2021/0245249; hereafter Sachs).
Regarding claim 4, Rogren does not teach the inclusion of a rotating device. Sachs teaches of a depowdering system with a rotating device (actuate holder- 514) movable in any number of directions, which would include about axes substantially parallel in x, y, and z directions ([0082]). Sacks teaches that the advantage of a rotating device is to ensure the full removal of loose powder from a material layer ([0070]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the proposed invention to include the rotating device of Sachs to rotate the transfer platform of Rogren for the advantage of full removal of loose powder from the material layer.
8. Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rogren as applied to claim 1 above, and in further view of Cui et al. (US 2015/0375340; hereafter Cui).
Regarding claim 7, Rogren does not teach of a fiber application device. Cui teaches the inclusion of a fiber application device (fiber weaver- 180) that can apply fibers on a variety of materials and directions on a transfer platform (build plate- 50; [0025]-[0026]). The advantage of adding a fiber application device is the ability to make fiber-reinforced composite objects that have improved properties ([0018]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the proposed invention to include the fiber application device of Cui in the apparatus of Rogren for the advantage of making fiber-reinforced composite objects that have improved properties.
Conclusion
/ALEXANDER S WRIGHT/Examiner, Art Unit 1745
/ALEX B EFTA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1745