DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to Application filed on July 25, 2024 in which claims 22, 26-28 and 42-51 are presented for examination; of which, claims 22 and 27 were amended; claims 23-25 and 29-41 were canceled; claims 42-51 were newly added.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on August 02, 2024 and July 25, 2024 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim 42 is objected to because it is dependent on canceled claim 21. Accordingly, the claim 42 not been further treated on the merits.
Claim 43 is objected to because claim 43 does not end with a period.
608.01(m) Form of Claims [R-10.2019]
The claim or claims must commence on a separate physical sheet or electronic page and should appear after the detailed description of the invention. Any sheet including a claim or portion of a claim may not contain any other parts of the application or other material. While there is no set statutory form for claims, the present Office practice is to insist that each claim must be the object of a sentence starting with "I (or we) claim," "The invention claimed is" (or the equivalent). If, at the time of allowance, the quoted terminology is not present, it is inserted by the Office of Data Management. Each claim begins with a capital letter and ends with a period. Periods may not be used elsewhere in the claims except for abbreviations. See Fressola v. Manbeck, 36 USPQ2d 1211 (D.D.C. 1995). Where a claim sets forth a plurality of elements or steps, each element or step of the claim should be separated by a line indentation, 37 CFR 1.75(i).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 22, 26-28 and 42-51 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CALLARD US Publication No. 2018/0091248 in view of Xu et al. US Publication No. 2025/0351150.
Regarding claim 22, CALLARD discloses “an apparatus for use in a user equipment (UE)” (See Figure 2 Paragraphs 0037-0041), wherein the apparatus comprises: a memory to store instructions and one or more processors configured to execute the instructions to: encode a first uplink signal for transmission to a first transmission reception point (TRP)” (See Paragraph 0039 describing when a RP receives an uplink wireless signal, the RP sends the received uplink signal to the associated lossy encoder. That lossy encoder encodes the received information by the RP into information which is efficient to send over the link (126a); Figure 4; Paragraph 0018 describing method of encoding a wireless signal; Paragraphs 0043-0049 describing method (400) comprises an encoder 221a at the receive point 120a encoding a received wireless uplink signal (420) into an encoded uplink signal using a practically disconnected many-to-one encoding scheme. The encoded uplink signal is then sent to the network node 110 (430). The method (400) optionally includes the receive point 120a receiving the wireless uplink signal (410). The wireless uplink signal would typically have been transmitted by a UE) (See Paragraph 0049 describing a method (400) that includes the receive point receiving instructions from the network node 110 to send a specified test signal at a specified time for channel estimation purposes), and CALLARD discloses “encode a second uplink signal for transmission to a second TRP” (this is achieved by iteration or by the act of repeating the encoding process), “wherein the transmission of the second uplink signal overlaps in time with the transmission of the first uplink signal” (Paragraph 0028 describing in a full-duplex environment, the receive point RHs may receive wireless signals and send them to the network node at the same time as the network node 110 is generating and sending signals to respective transmit point RHs). It is noted however, CALLARD did not specifically detail the aspects of “based on a first timing advance” and “based on a second timing advance” as recited in the instant claim 22. On the other hand, Xu et al. achieved the aforementioned claimed features by describing [0270] methods, wherein the configuration parameters further indicate: the first TAG associated with the first CORESET pool index; and the second TAG associated with the second CORESET pool index. [0271] methods, wherein the association between the first TAG and the first CORESET pool index indicates that the wireless device performs transmission based on a timing advance value of the first TAG with the first TRP having the first CORESET pool index. [0272] methods, wherein the association between the second TAG and the second CORESET pool index indicates that the wireless device performs transmission based on a timing advance value of the second TAG with the second TRP having the second CORESET pool index. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have combined CALLARD with Xu et al. because that would have allowed CALLARD to encode uplink signals while the wireless device transmits, using the joint TCI state, an uplink signal based on the TA value in response to the joint TCI state being associated with the TAG.
As per claim 26, most of the limitations of this claim have been noted in the rejection of claim 22. Applicant’s attention is directed to claim 22. It is noted however, CALLARD did not specifically detail the aspects of “wherein the first timing advance is associated with a first control resource set (CORESET) pool index, and the second timing advance is associated with a second CORESET pool index” as recited in the instant claim 26. On the other hand, Xu et al. achieved the aforementioned claimed features (See Figures 14-Figure 25; Paragraphs 0217-0267 describing configuration parameters indicating first unified TCI states associated with a first control resource set (CORESET) pool index; and the second unified TCI states associated with a second CORESET pool index). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have combined CALLARD with Xu et al. because that would have allowed CALLARD to encode uplink signals because that would have allowed CALLARD to encode uplink signals while the wireless device transmits, using the joint TCI state, an uplink signal based on the TA value in response to the joint TCI state being associated with the TAG.
As per claim 27, Xu et al. disclose “wherein the first uplink signal is scheduled by a first downlink control information (DCI) of a first physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) associated with the first CORESET pool index and the second uplink signal is scheduled by a second PDCCH associated with the second CORESET pool index” (Paragraphs 0217-0297; Figure 14B; Paragraphs 0193-0199 describing an example of a CCE-to-REG mapping for DCI transmission on a CORESET and PDCCH processing).
As per claim 28, Xu et al. disclose “wherein the first and second signals each include a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH), a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH), or a sounding reference signal (SRS)” (Paragraphs 0217-0297; Figure 14B; Paragraphs 0193-0199 describing an example of a CCE-to-REG mapping for DCI transmission on a CORESET and PDCCH processing).
As per claim 42, Xu et al. disclose “a radio front end coupled to the one or more processors” (Paragraphs 0217-0297; Figure 15; Paragraphs 0200-0208).
As per claim 43, Xu et al. disclose “one or more antennas coupled to the radio front end, the antennas to transmit and receive signals wirelessly” Paragraphs 0217-0297.
Regarding claim 44, CALLARD discloses “One or more tangible non-transitory machine-readable storage media (See Figure 2 Paragraphs 0037-0041), comprising instructions that, when executed by one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to perform operations including: encoding a first uplink signal for transmission to a first transmission reception point (TRP)” (See Paragraph 0039 describing when a RP receives an uplink wireless signal, the RP sends the received uplink signal to the associated lossy encoder. That lossy encoder encodes the received information by the RP into information which is efficient to send over the link (126a); Figure 4; Paragraph 0018 describing method of encoding a wireless signal; Paragraphs 0043-0049 describing method (400) comprises an encoder 221a at the receive point 120a encoding a received wireless uplink signal (420) into an encoded uplink signal using a practically disconnected many-to-one encoding scheme. The encoded uplink signal is then sent to the network node 110 (430). The method (400) optionally includes the receive point 120a receiving the wireless uplink signal (410). The wireless uplink signal would typically have been transmitted by a UE) “based on a first timing advance” (See Paragraph 0049 describing a method (400) that includes the receive point receiving instructions from the network node 110 to send a specified test signal at a specified time for channel estimation purposes), and CALLARD discloses “encode a second uplink signal for transmission to a second TRP based on a second timing advance” (this is achieved by iteration or by the act of repeating the encoding process), “wherein the transmission of the second uplink signal overlaps in time with the transmission of the first uplink signal” (Paragraph 0028 describing in a full-duplex environment, the receive point RHs may receive wireless signals and send them to the network node at the same time as the network node 110 is generating and sending signals to respective transmit point RHs).
As per claim 45, most of the limitations of this claim have been noted in the rejection of claim 44. Applicant’s attention is directed to claim 44. It is noted however, CALLARD did not specifically detail the aspects of “wherein the first timing advance is associated with a first control resource set (CORESET) pool index, and the second timing advance is associated with a second CORESET pool index” as recited in the instant claim 45. On the other hand, Xu et al. achieved the aforementioned claimed features (See Figures 14-Figure 25; Paragraphs 0217-0267 describing configuration parameters indicating first unified TCI states associated with a first control resource set (CORESET) pool index; and the second unified TCI states associated with a second CORESET pool index). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have combined CALLARD with Xu et al. because that would have allowed CALLARD to encode uplink signals because that would have allowed CALLARD to encode uplink signals while the wireless device transmits, using the joint TCI state, an uplink signal based on the TA value in response to the joint TCI state being associated with the TAG.
As per claim 46, Xu et al. disclose “wherein the first uplink signal is scheduled by a first downlink control information (DCI) of a first physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) associated with the first CORESET pool index and the second uplink signal is scheduled by a second PDCCH associated with the second CORESET pool index” (Paragraphs 0217-0297; Figure 14B; Paragraphs 0193-0199 describing an example of a CCE-to-REG mapping for DCI transmission on a CORESET and PDCCH processing).
As per claim 47, Xu et al. disclose “wherein the first and second signals each include a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH), a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH), or a sounding reference signal (SRS)” (Paragraphs 0217-0297; Figure 14B; Paragraphs 0193-0199 describing an example of a CCE-to-REG mapping for DCI transmission on a CORESET and PDCCH processing).
Regarding claim 48, CALLARD discloses “a method to be performed by an apparatus of a New Radio (NR) User Equipment (UE)” (See Figure 2 Paragraphs 0037-0041), the method including: encoding a first uplink signal for transmission to a first transmission reception point (TRP)” (See Paragraph 0039 describing when a RP receives an uplink wireless signal, the RP sends the received uplink signal to the associated lossy encoder. That lossy encoder encodes the received information by the RP into information which is efficient to send over the link (126a); Figure 4; Paragraph 0018 describing method of encoding a wireless signal; Paragraphs 0043-0049 describing method (400) comprises an encoder 221a at the receive point 120a encoding a received wireless uplink signal (420) into an encoded uplink signal using a practically disconnected many-to-one encoding scheme. The encoded uplink signal is then sent to the network node 110 (430). The method (400) optionally includes the receive point 120a receiving the wireless uplink signal (410). The wireless uplink signal would typically have been transmitted by a UE) “based on a first timing advance” (See Paragraph 0049 describing a method (400) that includes the receive point receiving instructions from the network node 110 to send a specified test signal at a specified time for channel estimation purposes), and CALLARD discloses “encode a second uplink signal for transmission to a second TRP based on a second timing advance” (this is achieved by iteration or by the act of repeating the encoding process), “wherein the transmission of the second uplink signal overlaps in time with the transmission of the first uplink signal” (Paragraph 0028 describing in a full-duplex environment, the receive point RHs may receive wireless signals and send them to the network node at the same time as the network node 110 is generating and sending signals to respective transmit point RHs).
As per claim 49, most of the limitations of this claim have been noted in the rejection of claim 48. Applicant’s attention is directed to claim 48. It is noted however, CALLARD did not specifically detail the aspects of “wherein the first timing advance is associated with a first control resource set (CORESET) pool index, and the second timing advance is associated with a second CORESET pool index” as recited in the instant claim 49. On the other hand, Xu et al. achieved the aforementioned claimed features (See Figures 14-Figure 25; Paragraphs 0217-0267 describing configuration parameters indicating first unified TCI states associated with a first control resource set (CORESET) pool index; and the second unified TCI states associated with a second CORESET pool index). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have combined CALLARD with Xu et al. because that would have allowed CALLARD to encode uplink signals because that would have allowed CALLARD to encode uplink signals while the wireless device transmits, using the joint TCI state, an uplink signal based on the TA value in response to the joint TCI state being associated with the TAG.
As per claim 50, Xu et al. disclose “wherein the first uplink signal is scheduled by a first downlink control information (DCI) of a first physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) associated with the first CORESET pool index and the second uplink signal is scheduled by a second PDCCH associated with the second CORESET pool index” (Paragraphs 0217-0297; Figure 14B; Paragraphs 0193-0199 describing an example of a CCE-to-REG mapping for DCI transmission on a CORESET and PDCCH processing).
As per claim 51, Xu et al. disclose “wherein the first and second signals each include a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH), a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH), or a sounding reference signal (SRS)” (Paragraphs 0217-0297; Figure 14B; Paragraphs 0193-0199 describing an example of a CCE-to-REG mapping for DCI transmission on a CORESET and PDCCH processing).
Conclusion
/FRANTZ COBY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2459
August 04, 2026