DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I, claims 1-8 in the reply filed on 08/25/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the simultaneous examination of the two groups will not be a burden. This is not found persuasive because, the inventions as claimed do not encompass overlapping subject matter and there is nothing of record to show them to be obvious variants. Applicant has failed to provide any reasons to support the conclusion that there is no serious burden and, therefore, the remarks that there is no serious burden to search all the claimed invention and species is unpersuasive.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 9 and 23-36 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 08/25/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-4 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 2-4 and 8, the phrase "for example" and “e.g.” renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claims 2 and 4 contain the trademark/trade name Amberlite IRP-69 and Aquoat, respectively. Where a trademark or trade name is used in a claim as a limitation to identify or describe a particular material or product, the claim does not comply with the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph. See Ex parte Simpson, 218 USPQ 1020 (Bd. App. 1982). The claim scope is uncertain since the trademark or trade name cannot be used properly to identify any particular material or product. A trademark or trade name is used to identify a source of goods, and not the goods themselves. Thus, a trademark or trade name does not identify or describe the goods associated with the trademark or trade name. In the present case, the trademark/trade name is used to identify/describe a co-polymer of polystyrene and divinylbenzene and hydroxypropylmethylcellulose acetate succinate, accordingly, the identification/description is indefinite.
Claim 6 recites the granulating agent comprises polyethylene glycol and the plasticizer comprises polyethylene glycol; it is not clear how the components differ and therefore the claim is indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bess et al. (US Patent Pub. 2006/0204559).
Bess et al. disclose an ion exchange resin wherein the resin include sulfonated polymers composed of polystyrene cross-linked with divinylbenzene ([0047]). Bess et al. disclose film-forming agents include sodium alginate and polyethylene glycol at a concentration of 0.01 to about 99 wt.% ([0049]). Bess et al. disclose the films include preservative in amount form about 0.001 wt. % to about 5 wt. % including EDTA ([0071]). Bess et al. disclose the amount of the pharmaceutically active agent adsorbed to the ion exchange resin is in the range from about 25 to about 75% by weight of the pharmaceutically active agent ([0085]). Bess et al. disclose other coating materials include cellulose acetate ([0090]).
The prior discloses compositions containing a) drug-ion exchange resin complex comprising an ion exchange resin and one or more active pharmaceutical agents; and b) a coating comprising a cellulose acetate-containing polymer. Together these would provide a composition as claimed instantly.
The prior art is not anticipatory insofar as these combinations must be selected from various lists/locations in the reference. It would have been obvious, however, to make the combination since each component is taught as being useful in making the compositions of the prior art.
Since this modification of the prior art represents nothing more than “the predictable use of prior art elements according to their established functions” a prima facie case of obviousness exists.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-8 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-5 of copending Application No. 18/778729 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because in each cases the claim are directed to coated drug-ion exchange resin particle comprising: a) a drug-ion exchange resin complex comprising an ion exchange rein and one or more active pharmaceutical agent; and b) a coating comprising a cellulose acetate-containing polymer. The claims are not patentable distinct from each other
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
/NANNETTE HOLLOMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1612