DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
No new information disclosure statement (IDS) is submitted with the amendment/request for reconsideration.
Response to Amendment
This office action is in reply to Applicant’s Response dated 09/08/2026. Claims 21-40 were canceled. Claims 41-60 were newly added. Claims 41-60 remain pending in the application.
Response to Arguments
A new set of references is used to teach the new claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 41, 42, 50, 51, 59 and 60 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Xu et al. ( U.S. PGPUB 2023/0171807), Xu hereinafter.
Regarding Claim 41, Xu teaches an apparatus for a user equipment (UE) comprising: processing circuitry configured to: perform sidelink communication in an unlicensed spectrum; (paragraph 0030 - ... NR-U can bring a benefit for sidelink services, for example, by offloading sidelink traffic to the unlicensed spectrum at no cost. However, channel access in a shared spectrum or an unlicensed spectrum is not guaranteed. Thus, to provision for sidelink services over a shared spectrum or unlicensed spectrum, sidelink user equipment devices (UEs) contend for channel access in the spectrum, for example, via CCA and/or LBT procedures.)
identify a plurality of candidate starting positions for a sidelink transmission comprising at least one of a physical sidelink control channel (PSCCH) transmission or a physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH) transmission; ([0035] In some aspects, an initiating sidelink UE may define a plurality of starting points for transmitting a sidelink communication and determine a first starting point from the plurality of starting points. The UE may perform a CAT4 LBT to contend for the COT and start transmission of a sidelink communication beginning at the selected starting point if the CAT4 LBT results in an LBT pass. After acquiring the COT, the UE may transmit a sidelink data via a physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH), a physical sidelink control channel (PSCCH), and/or a physical sidelink feedback channel (PSFCH) to another sidelink UE. ...)
determine a candidate starting position for the sidelink transmission from the plurality of candidate starting positions; ([0097] In some examples, the UE 115 may select the first starting point from the plurality of starting points 630, 632, 634, 636, and 638 in various ways. …)
determine a cyclic prefix extension (CPE) configuration for the sidelink transmission; ([0035] ... After acquiring the COT, the UE may transmit a sidelink data via a physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH), a physical sidelink control channel (PSCCH), and/or a physical sidelink feedback channel (PSFCH) to another sidelink UE. ...) ... [0098] .. The UE 115 may determine a CP extension length based on a first duration 642 between the first starting point 630 of the COT 610 and the beginning symbol 616 of the slot 608, which immediately succeeds the slot 606, and may apply a CP extension 644 having the CP extension length to the sidelink transmission 604. The CP extension length may be based on the starting point 630, and the last symbol 614 of the slot 606 may include the gap duration 640 and the first duration 642. Based on the CAT4 LBT 626 resulting in an LBT pass, the UE 115 may transmit the sidelink transmission 604 with the CP extension 644, the transmission beginning at the starting point 630)
and send at least one of the PSCCH transmission or the PSSCH transmission from the selected candidate starting position using the determined cyclic prefix extension configuration; ([0098] .. The UE 115 may determine a CP extension length based on a first duration 642 between the first starting point 630 of the COT 610 and the beginning symbol 616 of the slot 608, which immediately succeeds the slot 606, and may apply a CP extension 644 having the CP extension length to the sidelink transmission 604. The CP extension length may be based on the starting point 630, and the last symbol 614 of the slot 606 may include the gap duration 640 and the first duration 642. Based on the CAT4 LBT 626 resulting in an LBT pass, the UE 115 may transmit the sidelink transmission 604 with the CP extension 644, the transmission beginning at the starting point 630)
and a memory for storing the plurality of candidate starting positions. [0074] FIG. 4 is a block diagram of an example UE 400 according to one or more aspects of the present disclosure. The UE 400 may be a UE 115 discussed above in FIG. 1. As shown, the UE 400 may include a processor 402, a memory 404, a COT module 408, a sidelink communication module 409, a transceiver 410 including a modem subsystem 412 and a radio frequency (RF) unit 414, and one or more antennas 416. ... [0078] The COT module 408 and/or the sidelink communication module 409 may be used for various aspects of the present disclosure, for example, aspects of FIGS. 1-3 and 6-11. In some aspects, the COT module 408 may be configured to determine a first starting point from a plurality of starting points.
Regarding Claim 42, Xu teaches claim 41.
Xu further teaches wherein the plurality of candidate starting positions comprises a first starting symbol and a second starting symbol within a slot ([0130] If the UE 115 selects the starting point 838 in FIG. 9 as the first starting point and performs the CAT4 LBT 880 during the gap duration 852 in the symbol 914 and the first portion 915 of the symbol 916 of the slot 906, it may be unnecessary for the UE 115 to determine a CP extension length between the first starting point 838 of the COT 910 and the second portion 917 of the symbol 916 because the CP extension would be zero. The UE 115 may puncture the first portion 915 (e.g., puncture a portion between a start of the symbol 916 until a start of the second portion 917 of the symbol 916). Note that symbol 912 to symbol 920 is within the slot 906 in fig. 9.
Regarding Claim 50, Xu teaches a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing computer-executable instructions which when executed by one or more processors result in performing operations comprising: (fig. 4 and paragraphs 0074 to 0076)
performing sidelink communication in an unlicensed spectrum; ([0030] ... NR-U can bring a benefit for sidelink services, for example, by offloading sidelink traffic to the unlicensed spectrum at no cost. However, channel access in a shared spectrum or an unlicensed spectrum is not guaranteed. Thus, to provision for sidelink services over a shared spectrum or unlicensed spectrum, sidelink user equipment devices (UEs) contend for channel access in the spectrum, for example, via CCA and/or LBT procedures.)
identifying a plurality of candidate starting positions for a sidelink transmission comprising at least one of a physical sidelink control channel (PSCCH) transmission or a physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH) transmission; ([0035] In some aspects, an initiating sidelink UE may define a plurality of starting points for transmitting a sidelink communication and determine a first starting point from the plurality of starting points. The UE may perform a CAT4 LBT to contend for the COT and start transmission of a sidelink communication beginning at the selected starting point if the CAT4 LBT results in an LBT pass. After acquiring the COT, the UE may transmit a sidelink data via a physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH), a physical sidelink control channel (PSCCH), and/or a physical sidelink feedback channel (PSFCH) to another sidelink UE. ...)
determining a candidate starting position for the sidelink transmission from the plurality of candidate starting positions; ([0097] In some examples, the UE 115 may select the first starting point from the plurality of starting points 630, 632, 634, 636, and 638 in various ways. …)
determining a cyclic prefix extension (CPE) configuration for the sidelink transmission; ([0035] ... After acquiring the COT, the UE may transmit a sidelink data via a physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH), a physical sidelink control channel (PSCCH), and/or a physical sidelink feedback channel (PSFCH) to another sidelink UE. ...) ... [0098] .. The UE 115 may determine a CP extension length based on a first duration 642 between the first starting point 630 of the COT 610 and the beginning symbol 616 of the slot 608, which immediately succeeds the slot 606, and may apply a CP extension 644 having the CP extension length to the sidelink transmission 604. The CP extension length may be based on the starting point 630, and the last symbol 614 of the slot 606 may include the gap duration 640 and the first duration 642. Based on the CAT4 LBT 626 resulting in an LBT pass, the UE 115 may transmit the sidelink transmission 604 with the CP extension 644, the transmission beginning at the starting point 630)
and sending at least one of the PSCCH transmission or the PSSCH transmission from the selected candidate starting position using the determined cyclic prefix extension configuration. ([0098] .. The UE 115 may determine a CP extension length based on a first duration 642 between the first starting point 630 of the COT 610 and the beginning symbol 616 of the slot 608, which immediately succeeds the slot 606, and may apply a CP extension 644 having the CP extension length to the sidelink transmission 604. The CP extension length may be based on the starting point 630, and the last symbol 614 of the slot 606 may include the gap duration 640 and the first duration 642. Based on the CAT4 LBT 626 resulting in an LBT pass, the UE 115 may transmit the sidelink transmission 604 with the CP extension 644, the transmission beginning at the starting point 630)
Regarding Claim 51, Xu teaches claim 50.
Xu further teaches wherein the plurality of candidate starting positions comprises a first starting symbol and a second starting symbol within a slot. ([0130] If the UE 115 selects the starting point 838 in FIG. 9 as the first starting point and performs the CAT4 LBT 880 during the gap duration 852 in the symbol 914 and the first portion 915 of the symbol 916 of the slot 906, it may be unnecessary for the UE 115 to determine a CP extension length between the first starting point 838 of the COT 910 and the second portion 917 of the symbol 916 because the CP extension would be zero. The UE 115 may puncture the first portion 915 (e.g., puncture a portion between a start of the symbol 916 until a start of the second portion 917 of the symbol 916) . Note that symbol 912 to symbol 920 is within the slot 906 in fig. 9.
Regarding Claim 59, Xu teaches a method comprising: performing sidelink communication in an unlicensed spectrum; ([0030] ... NR-U can bring a benefit for sidelink services, for example, by offloading sidelink traffic to the unlicensed spectrum at no cost. However, channel access in a shared spectrum or an unlicensed spectrum is not guaranteed. Thus, to provision for sidelink services over a shared spectrum or unlicensed spectrum, sidelink user equipment devices (UEs) contend for channel access in the spectrum, for example, via CCA and/or LBT procedures.)
identifying a plurality of candidate starting positions for a sidelink transmission comprising at least one of a physical sidelink control channel (PSCCH) transmission or a physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH) transmission; ([0035] In some aspects, an initiating sidelink UE may define a plurality of starting points for transmitting a sidelink communication and determine a first starting point from the plurality of starting points. The UE may perform a CAT4 LBT to contend for the COT and start transmission of a sidelink communication beginning at the selected starting point if the CAT4 LBT results in an LBT pass. After acquiring the COT, the UE may transmit a sidelink data via a physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH), a physical sidelink control channel (PSCCH), and/or a physical sidelink feedback channel (PSFCH) to another sidelink UE. ...)
determining a candidate starting position for the sidelink transmission from the plurality of candidate starting positions; ([0097] In some examples, the UE 115 may select the first starting point from the plurality of starting points 630, 632, 634, 636, and 638 in various ways. …)
determining a cyclic prefix extension (CPE) configuration for the sidelink transmission; ([0035] ... After acquiring the COT, the UE may transmit a sidelink data via a physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH), a physical sidelink control channel (PSCCH), and/or a physical sidelink feedback channel (PSFCH) to another sidelink UE. ...) ... [0098] .. The UE 115 may determine a CP extension length based on a first duration 642 between the first starting point 630 of the COT 610 and the beginning symbol 616 of the slot 608, which immediately succeeds the slot 606, and may apply a CP extension 644 having the CP extension length to the sidelink transmission 604. The CP extension length may be based on the starting point 630, and the last symbol 614 of the slot 606 may include the gap duration 640 and the first duration 642. Based on the CAT4 LBT 626 resulting in an LBT pass, the UE 115 may transmit the sidelink transmission 604 with the CP extension 644, the transmission beginning at the starting point 630)
and sending at least one of the PSCCH transmission or the PSSCH transmission from the selected candidate starting position using the determined cyclic prefix extension configuration. ([0098] .. The UE 115 may determine a CP extension length based on a first duration 642 between the first starting point 630 of the COT 610 and the beginning symbol 616 of the slot 608, which immediately succeeds the slot 606, and may apply a CP extension 644 having the CP extension length to the sidelink transmission 604. The CP extension length may be based on the starting point 630, and the last symbol 614 of the slot 606 may include the gap duration 640 and the first duration 642. Based on the CAT4 LBT 626 resulting in an LBT pass, the UE 115 may transmit the sidelink transmission 604 with the CP extension 644, the transmission beginning at the starting point 630).
Regarding Claim 60, Xu teaches claim 59.
Xu further teaches wherein the plurality of candidate starting positions comprises a first starting symbol and a second starting symbol within a slot ([0130] If the UE 115 selects the starting point 838 in FIG. 9 as the first starting point and performs the CAT4 LBT 880 during the gap duration 852 in the symbol 914 and the first portion 915 of the symbol 916 of the slot 906, it may be unnecessary for the UE 115 to determine a CP extension length between the first starting point 838 of the COT 910 and the second portion 917 of the symbol 916 because the CP extension would be zero. The UE 115 may puncture the first portion 915 (e.g., puncture a portion between a start of the symbol 916 until a start of the second portion 917 of the symbol 916) . Note that symbol 912 to symbol 920 is within the slot 906 in fig. 9.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
In event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Claims 43, 44, 52 and 53 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu et al. (U.S. PGPUB 2023/0171807), Xu hereinafter, in view of Lei et al. (U.S. PGPub 2023/0146718), Lei hereinafter.
Regarding Claim 43, Xu teaches claim 41.
Yet, Xu does not expressly teach wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to perform a sidelink channel access procedure comprising a listen-before-talk (LBT) operation prior to transmission from a first candidate starting position of the plurality of candidate starting positions, and wherein the sidelink channel access procedure comprises a Type-1 channel access procedure.
However, in the analogous art, Lei explicitly discloses wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to perform a sidelink channel access procedure comprising a listen-before-talk (LBT) operation prior to transmission from a first candidate starting position of the plurality of candidate starting positions, and wherein the sidelink channel access procedure comprises a Type-1 channel access procedure. ([0026] … . For a Type-1 channel access procedure, also named “LBT Category 4 or LBT Cat.4 procedure”, usually, the energy detection needs to be performed in a range from several sensing slots to hundreds of sensing slots. A random backoff counter is selected from a contention window at the beginning of the LBT Cat.4 procedure. The random backoff counter will be decremented by 1 each time when the Tx UE detects that the channel is empty in one sensing slot. When the random backoff counter counts down to zero, the channel can be regarded as available and the LBT Cat.4 procedure is successful. Then, the Tx UE can determine a COT not larger than an MCOT and start the sidelink transmission on the channel within the COT. ...).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Xu’s multiple starting points in relation to a channel occupancy time (COT) for sidelink communication to include Lei's type-1 and type-2 channel access procedure to achieve high collision avoidance and ultra low latency.
Regarding Claim 44, Xu teaches claim 41.
Yet, Xu does not expressly teach wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to perform a sidelink channel access procedure comprising a listen-before-talk (LBT) operation prior to transmission from a first candidate starting position of the plurality of candidate starting positions, and wherein the sidelink channel access procedure comprises a Type-2 channel access procedure including Type-2A, Type-2B, or Type-2C channel access.
However, in the analogous art, Lei explicitly discloses wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to perform a sidelink channel access procedure comprising a listen-before-talk (LBT) operation prior to transmission from a first candidate starting position of the plurality of candidate starting positions, and wherein the sidelink channel access procedure comprises a Type-2 channel access procedure including Type-2A, Type-2B, or Type-2C channel access. ([0040] FIG. 4(e) illustrates an embodiment according to the present disclosure for providing multiple candidate ending positions to adapt a gap for other UEs to perform a Type-2 channel access procedure, also named an “LBT Cat.2 procedure”, which is an LBT procedure different from the Type-1 channel access procedure. One-shot energy detection within a sensing interval of at least 16 us or 25 us is required for the Type-2 channel access procedure. So there is no random backoff counter generation and decrement procedure in the Type-2 channel access procedure, which is the major difference compared to the Type-1 channel access procedure. The more detailed procedure for the Type-2 channel access procedure is specified in 3GPP standard document TS37.213. ...). Note that TS37.213 contains type-2A, type-2B and type-2C.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Xu’s multiple starting points in relation to a channel occupancy time (COT) for sidelink communication to include Lei's type-1 and type-2 channel access procedure to achieve high collision avoidance and ultra-low latency.
Regarding Claim 52, Xu teaches claim 50.
Yet, Xu does not expressly teach wherein the operations further comprise performing a sidelink channel access procedure comprising a listen- before-talk (LBT) operation prior to transmission from a first candidate starting position of the plurality of candidate starting positions, and wherein the sidelink channel access procedure comprises a Type-1 channel access procedure.
However, in the analogous art, Lei explicitly discloses wherein the operations further comprise performing a sidelink channel access procedure comprising a listen- before-talk (LBT) operation prior to transmission from a first candidate starting position of the plurality of candidate starting positions, and wherein the sidelink channel access procedure comprises a Type-1 channel access procedure. ([0026] … . For a Type-1 channel access procedure, also named “LBT Category 4 or LBT Cat.4 procedure”, usually, the energy detection needs to be performed in a range from several sensing slots to hundreds of sensing slots. A random backoff counter is selected from a contention window at the beginning of the LBT Cat.4 procedure. The random backoff counter will be decremented by 1 each time when the Tx UE detects that the channel is empty in one sensing slot. When the random backoff counter counts down to zero, the channel can be regarded as available and the LBT Cat.4 procedure is successful. Then, the Tx UE can determine a COT not larger than an MCOT and start the sidelink transmission on the channel within the COT. ...).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Xu’s multiple starting points in relation to a channel occupancy time (COT) for sidelink communication to include Lei's type-1 and type-2 channel access procedure to achieve high collision avoidance and ultra low latency.
Regarding Claim 53, Xu teaches claim 50.
Yet, Xu does not expressly teach wherein the operations further comprise performing a sidelink channel access procedure comprising a listen- before-talk (LBT) operation prior to transmission from a first candidate starting position of the plurality of candidate starting positions, and wherein the sidelink channel access procedure comprises a Type-2 channel access procedure including Type-2A, Type-2B, or Type-2C channel access.
However, in the analogous art, Lei explicitly discloses wherein the operations further comprise performing a sidelink channel access procedure comprising a listen- before-talk (LBT) operation prior to transmission from a first candidate starting position of the plurality of candidate starting positions, and wherein the sidelink channel access procedure comprises a Type-2 channel access procedure including Type-2A, Type-2B, or Type-2C channel access ([0040] FIG. 4(e) illustrates an embodiment according to the present disclosure for providing multiple candidate ending positions to adapt a gap for other UEs to perform a Type-2 channel access procedure, also named an “LBT Cat.2 procedure”, which is an LBT procedure different from the Type-1 channel access procedure. One-shot energy detection within a sensing interval of at least 16 us or 25 us is required for the Type-2 channel access procedure. So there is no random backoff counter generation and decrement procedure in the Type-2 channel access procedure, which is the major difference compared to the Type-1 channel access procedure. The more detailed procedure for the Type-2 channel access procedure is specified in 3GPP standard document TS37.213. ...). Note that TS37.213 contains type-2A, type-2B and type-2C.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Xu’s multiple starting points in relation to a channel occupancy time (COT) for sidelink communication to include Lei's type-1 and type-2 channel access procedure to achieve high collision avoidance and ultra-low latency.
Claims 45, 47, 48, 54, 56 and 57 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu et al. (U.S. PGPUB 2023/0171807), Xu hereinafter, in view of Xue et al. (U.S. PGPub 2023/0319872), Xue hereinafter.
Regarding Claim 45, Xu teaches claim 41.
Yet, Xu does not expressly teach wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to determine the cyclic prefix extension configuration based on a priority associated with the sidelink transmission.
However, in the analogous art, Xue explicitly discloses wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to determine the cyclic prefix extension configuration based on a priority associated with the sidelink transmission ([0184] Clause 10: The method alone or in combination with the first clause, wherein: the SCI carries a channel access priority class (CAPC) mapped to different values for the CPE, and the method further comprising randomly selecting one value within the different values for the CPE.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Xu’s multiple starting points in relation to a channel occupancy time (COT) for sidelink communication to include Xue's channel access priority class (CAPC) mapping to different values for the CPE to achieve differentiated Quality of Service.
Regarding Claim 47, Xu teaches claim 41.
Yet, Xu does not expressly teach discloses wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to select the cyclic prefix extension configuration from a plurality of configured cyclic prefix extension values.
However, in the analogous art, Xue explicitly discloses wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to select the cyclic prefix extension configuration from a plurality of configured cyclic prefix extension values. ([0181] Clause 7: The method alone or in combination with the first clause, further comprising selecting a duration of the CPE based on a mapping of one or more variables comprising at least one of a priority value, a packet delay budget value, or a channel busy ratio (CBR).).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Xu’s multiple starting points in relation to a channel occupancy time (COT) for sidelink communication to include Xue's channel access priority class (CAPC) mapping to different values for the CPE to achieve differentiated Quality of Service.
Regarding Claim 48, Xu in view of Xue teaches claim 47.
Xue further teaches wherein the cyclic prefix extension configuration is randomly selected from the plurality of configured cyclic prefix extension values. ([0184] Clause 10: The method alone or in combination with the first clause, wherein: the SCI carries a channel access priority class (CAPC) mapped to different values for the CPE, and the method further comprising randomly selecting one value within the different values for the CPE.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Xu’s multiple starting points in relation to a channel occupancy time (COT) for sidelink communication to include Xue's channel access priority class (CAPC) mapping to different values for the CPE to achieve differentiated Quality of Service.
Regarding Claim 54, Xu teaches claim 50.
Yet, Xu does not expressly teach wherein the operations further comprise determining the cyclic prefix extension configuration based on a priority associated with the sidelink transmission.
However, in the analogous art, Xue explicitly discloses wherein the operations further comprise determining the cyclic prefix extension configuration based on a priority associated with the sidelink transmission ([0184] Clause 10: The method alone or in combination with the first clause, wherein: the SCI carries a channel access priority class (CAPC) mapped to different values for the CPE, and the method further comprising randomly selecting one value within the different values for the CPE).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Xu’s multiple starting points in relation to a channel occupancy time (COT) for sidelink communication to include Xue's channel access priority class (CAPC) mapping to different values for the CPE to achieve differentiated Quality of Service.
Regarding Claim 56, Xu teaches claim 50.
Yet, Xu does not expressly teach wherein the operations further comprise selecting the cyclic prefix extension configuration from a plurality of configured cyclic prefix extension values.
However, in the analogous art, Xue explicitly discloses wherein the operations further comprise selecting the cyclic prefix extension configuration from a plurality of configured cyclic prefix extension values ([0181] Clause 7: The method alone or in combination with the first clause, further comprising selecting a duration of the CPE based on a mapping of one or more variables comprising at least one of a priority value, a packet delay budget value, or a channel busy ratio (CBR)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Xu’s multiple starting points in relation to a channel occupancy time (COT) for sidelink communication to include Xue's channel access priority class (CAPC) mapping to different values for the CPE to achieve differentiated Quality of Service.
Regarding Claim 57, Xu in view of Xue teaches claim 56.
Xue further teaches wherein the cyclic prefix extension configuration is randomly selected from the plurality of configured cyclic prefix extension values. ([0184] Clause 10: The method alone or in combination with the first clause, wherein: the SCI carries a channel access priority class (CAPC) mapped to different values for the CPE, and the method further comprising randomly selecting one value within the different values for the CPE.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Xu’s multiple starting points in relation to a channel occupancy time (COT) for sidelink communication to include Xue's channel access priority class (CAPC) mapping to different values for the CPE to achieve differentiated Quality of Service.
Claims 46 and 55 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu et al. (U.S. PGPUB 2023/0171807), Xu hereinafter, in view of Sun et al. (U.S. PGPub 2023/0146161), Sun hereinafter.
Regarding Claim 46, Xu teaches claim 41.
Yet, Xu does not expressly teach , wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to determine the cyclic prefix extension configuration based on whether the sidelink transmission initiates a channel occupancy time (COT) or occurs within an existing COT.
However, in the analogous art, Sun explicitly discloses wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to determine the cyclic prefix extension configuration based on whether the sidelink transmission initiates a channel occupancy time (COT) or occurs within an existing COT. ([0035] ... In some examples, to control the gap duration for COT sharing, the responding UE may use a CP extension to create a gap duration between the initiating UE's transmission and the responding UE's transmission, where the gap duration satisfies an LBT gap time threshold (e.g., about 16 μs to about 25 μs). The responding UE may determine a CP extension length for transmitting a sidelink transmission after the initiating UE's sidelink transmission, where the gap duration between the responding UE's sidelink transmission and the initiating UE's sidelink transmission satisfies an LBT gap time threshold (e.g., about 16 μs or about 25 μs). Mechanisms for sidelink COT sharing using a CP extension are described in greater detail herein.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Xu’s multiple starting points in relation to a channel occupancy time (COT) for sidelink communication to include Sun's cyclic prefix extension configuration based on initiating or responding UE to achieve efficient resource sharing.
Regarding Claim 55, Xu teaches claim 50.
Yet, Xu does not expressly teach wherein the operations further comprise determining the cyclic prefix extension configuration based on whether the sidelink transmission initiates a channel occupancy time (COT) or occurs within an existing COT.
However, in the analogous art, Sun explicitly discloses wherein the operations further comprise determining the cyclic prefix extension configuration based on whether the sidelink transmission initiates a channel occupancy time (COT) or occurs within an existing COT ([0035] ... In some examples, to control the gap duration for COT sharing, the responding UE may use a CP extension to create a gap duration between the initiating UE's transmission and the responding UE's transmission, where the gap duration satisfies an LBT gap time threshold (e.g., about 16 μs to about 25 μs). The responding UE may determine a CP extension length for transmitting a sidelink transmission after the initiating UE's sidelink transmission, where the gap duration between the responding UE's sidelink transmission and the initiating UE's sidelink transmission satisfies an LBT gap time threshold (e.g., about 16 μs or about 25 μs). Mechanisms for sidelink COT sharing using a CP extension are described in greater detail herein.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Xu’s multiple starting points in relation to a channel occupancy time (COT) for sidelink communication to include Sun's cyclic prefix extension configuration based on initiating or responding UE to achieve efficient resource sharing.
Claims 49 and 58 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu et al. (U.S. PGPUB 2023/0171807), Xu hereinafter, in view of Deng et al. (U.S. PGPub 2025/0142595), Deng hereinafter.
Regarding Claim 49, Xu teaches claim 41.
Yet, Xu does not expressly teach wherein the cyclic prefix extension configuration is applicable to a physical sidelink feedback channel (PSFCH) transmission and a sidelink synchronization signal block (S-SSB) transmission.
However, in the analogous art, Deng explicitly discloses wherein the cyclic prefix extension configuration is applicable to a physical sidelink feedback channel (PSFCH) transmission and a sidelink synchronization signal block (S-SSB) transmission ([0237] ... For the first transmission over one or more symbols or one or more consecutive SL slots, a WTRU may perform a Type 2 LBT channel access and transmission of a channel reservation signal and/or CPE based on the SCI indication or priority of the TB(s) to transmit in the COT. The first transmission may, for example, be a PSFCH and/or PSSCH. The second transmission will depend on the availability of the spectrum, and may have one or more approaches. ... [0361] ... A WTRU may perform a reservation signal transmission and/or CPE transmission from the starting position to the start of the S-SSB candidate occasion. In another example, a starting position may be indicated by a duration of a CPE transmission performed before the symbol boundary of the first symbol of a S-SSB transmission. A WTRU may be (pre)configured with a set of CPE durations to indicate a starting position for a S-SSB candidate occasion.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Xu’s multiple starting points in relation to a channel occupancy time (COT) for sidelink communication to include Deng's CPE applicable to PSFCH and sidelink synchronization signal block (S-SSB)to combat severe Multi-UE Propagation Delay and overcome High Multipath Delay Spread.
Regarding Claim 58, Xu teaches claim 50.
Yet, Xu does not expressly teach wherein the cyclic prefix extension configuration is applicable to a physical sidelink feedback channel (PSFCH) transmission and a sidelink synchronization signal block (S-SSB) transmission.
However, in the analogous art, Deng explicitly discloses wherein the cyclic prefix extension configuration is applicable to a physical sidelink feedback channel (PSFCH) transmission and a sidelink synchronization signal block (S-SSB) transmission. ([0237] ... For the first transmission over one or more symbols or one or more consecutive SL slots, a WTRU may perform a Type 2 LBT channel access and transmission of a channel reservation signal and/or CPE based on the SCI indication or priority of the TB(s) to transmit in the COT. The first transmission may, for example, be a PSFCH and/or PSSCH. The second transmission will depend on the availability of the spectrum, and may have one or more approaches. ... [0361] ... A WTRU may perform a reservation signal transmission and/or CPE transmission from the starting position to the start of the S-SSB candidate occasion. In another example, a starting position may be indicated by a duration of a CPE transmission performed before the symbol boundary of the first symbol of a S-SSB transmission. A WTRU may be (pre)configured with a set of CPE durations to indicate a starting position for a S-SSB candidate occasion.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Xu’s multiple starting points in relation to a channel occupancy time (COT) for sidelink communication to include Deng's CPE applicable to PSFCH and sidelink synchronization signal block (S-SSB)to combat severe Multi-UE Propagation Delay and overcome High Multipath Delay Spread.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/A.L.O./Examiner, Art Unit 2472
/ANH VU H LY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2472