DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
IDS filed 7/25/2024 is being considered by the examiner
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Response to Preliminary Amendment
Applicant's preliminary amendment filed 7/25/2024 has been received and entered into the record. As a result, claims 5 and 9 have been amended. Therefore, claims 1-11 are presented for examination.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word "means," but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
"a feedback controller that feedback-controls", "a friction compensator that … adds", and "a reverse response reducer that reduces" in claim 1;
"an additional input unit that … adds" in claim 2;
"a feedback controller that feedback-controls", "a friction compensator that … adds", and "a reverse response reducer that reduces" in claim 10.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 10, and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fujimoto et al. [US Pub. 2015/0145464] ("Fujimoto") in view of Lee et al. [US Pub. 2021/0373533] ("Lee").
Regarding claim 1, Fujimoto teaches a machine tool ("machine tool [par. 0055]") comprising:
a feed driver that moves a moving body in the machine tool ("A feed apparatus 20 is provided in a machine tool, for example, and, as shown in FIG. 1, it has a guide unit 30 and a drive unit 40, which are disposed on a base 21 [par. 0055]");
a feedback controller that feedback-controls said feed driver ("the control unit 3 performs feedback control on the drive motor 43 in order to correct deviation between the command movement position and the present position [par. 0059]") in accordance with a state variable ("a control unit generating, based on given target movement position and moving velocity, a command movement position at time intervals corresponding to the moving velocity and generating a control signal in accordance with the generated command movement position to control the drive motor [par. 0027]");
a friction compensator ("friction compensation unit 4 [par. 0060]") that, to compensate for rolling friction that occurs in said feed driver ("rolling guide mechanism [par. 0004]" and "compensate for at least a positioning error caused by friction in the guide unit [par. 0028]"), adds, in advance, one of
a friction compensation value obtained from measurement data of rolling friction and
a friction compensation value ("the friction compensation unit 4 sets the friction compensation value to a maximum friction compensation value F0 or a minimum friction compensation value -F0 for a section where the movable body 22 moves at a constant velocity [par. 0061]")
to a command value to be input to said feed driver ("generates a friction compensation signal, and adds the generated friction compensation signal to the current control signal output from the control unit 3 [par. 0060]" and); and
a reverse response reducer that reduces, using the state variable of said feedback controller ("The friction compensation unit 4 receives the commands relating to the target movement position output from the program analysis unit 2 and a signal relating to the command movement position output from the control unit 3, calculates a friction compensation value corresponding to the position of the movable body 22 [par. 0060]"), a reverse response that occurs due to addition of the friction compensation value ("the friction compensation value is calculated in accordance with the non-linear S-shaped curve of the above function f(x) while the movable body 22 is further decelerated and stopped and then is accelerated in the opposite direction [par. 0065];" and see [figs. 3 and 5] where f(x) is reduced from its maximum value F0 that was added due to friction compensation as the movement initiates a reverse movement).
Although Fujimoto teaches the friction compensation value for rolling friction (as presented above), Fujimoto does not explicitly teach where the friction compensation value is calculated using a rolling friction model.
In an analogous art (friction compensation), Lee teaches where a friction compensation value is calculated using a friction model ("c) performing a calculation, based on the multiple records of friction data and the multiple angle-position signals respectively corresponding to each of the records of friction data, for creating a friction model with respect to the motor [par. 0010]" and "d) importing a current record of the angle-position signal of the motor to the friction model for predicting a predicted friction of the feed system [par. 0011]" and "e) calculating a corresponding compensation current based on the predicted friction [par. 0012]").
Lee further teaches, "analyze the motor of the feed system, for predicting the power the motor may need as dealing with the friction at each rotating position and compensating such power for the motor. Therefore, the manufacturing quality and accuracy of the feed system can be effectively increased [par. 0005]."
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the invention to have modified Fujimoto's teachings of a friction compensation value, with Lee's teachings of determining a friction compensation value based on a model, allowing friction to be compensated at each rotating position of motor, improving quality and accuracy of the feed system.
Regarding claims 10 and 11, the combination above teaches claim 1. Claims 10 and 11 recite limitations having the same scope as those pertaining to claim 1; therefore, claims 10 and 11 are rejected along the same grounds as claim 1.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-9 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Takayuki [JP 2019221032A] teaches where the output of an integral element is output in a direction opposite to a friction force when a rotation direction is switched and the integration element is reset to zero.
Kishimoto [US Pub. 2019/0260322] teaches suppressing quadrant projection by compensating for friction torque at timings of quadrant switches.
Popp et al. [US Pub. 2024/0176323] teaches a mechanism to compensate for friction effects occulting at reversal points.
Zhi et al. [US Pub. 2019/0317472] teaches estimating coefficients of a friction model used when position control is performed.
While the prior art of record teaches various methods to mitigate quadrant glitch/reverse response by using friction compensation, the prior art of record fails to teach or suggest, alone or in combination, to reduce the reverse response that occurs due to addition of the friction compensation value by adding an additional input value equivalent to reset of the state variable of said feedback controller to the command value as presented in claim 2 and to reduce the reverse response that occurs due to addition of the friction compensation value by performing initial value compensation of resetting the state variable of said feedback controller as presented in claim 6.
Conclusion
/VINCENT WEN-LIANG CHANG/
Examiner
Art Unit 2119
/MOHAMMAD ALI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2119