Claims 1-6 are examined in this office action
Claim Objections
Claim 1 recites the limitations “a linear movement of the slider in one linear direction revealed the tip” and “the lug urging the ramp” in lines 13-14. The current wording could be clarified by replacing “revealed” with “reveals” and “urging” with “urges.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the center axis" in line 9. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 1 recites the limitation “a tip of a needle held by a hub centrifugally at one end thereof” in line 1 and Claim 6 recites the limitation “the pivot and the slider are installed centrifugally” in line 2. It is unclear what the term centrifugally means in this context. Based on the specification and drawings, “radially” or “coaxially” may be clearer.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 5, and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Srinivasan et al. (US Patent No. 9623194 B2) in view of Wittland et al. (US Pub No. 20180161512 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Srinivasan in view of Wittland discloses a pen needle (Srinivasan, safety pen needle assembly 10, Fig. 1) having a tip of needle (Srinivasan, distal end of needle 48, Fig. 5) held by a hub (Srinivasan, columnar support 32, Fig. 4) centrifugally at one thereof (Srinivasan, "Columnar support 32 [is] … configured to receive and support the needle 14 …" - Col. 2 Line 25), the pen needle comprising:
a torsion spring (Srinivasan, biasing element 20, Fig. 4);
a pivot (Srinivasan, hub 12, Fig. 1) rotatably disposed on the hub (Srinivasan, columnar support 32, Fig. 4) about the needle (Srinivasan, needle 14, Fig. 4), the pivot is engaging with the hub through a torsion spring (Srinivasan, "… the element 20 to be compressed inside the hub 12." - Col. 4 Line 3), wherein the pivot having a ramp (Srinivasan, guide slot, Fig. 7), the ramp further include a holding bar (Srinivasan, See annotated Fig. 2) projected over the ramp of the pivot; and
a slider (Srinivasan, shield 16, Fig. 1) installed over the hub (Srinivasan, columnar support 32, Fig. 4) for covering the tip of the needle (Srinivasan, “ … the first shield 16 is located to cover at least a substantial portion of the injection length I of the needle 14 …” Col. 3 Line 44), the slider is slidable linearly along a longitudinal of the center axis (Srinivasan, See annotated Fig. 2) (Srinivasan, "… the first shield 16 is caused to be displaced proximally ..." - Col. 3 Line 60), with lug (Srinivasan, guide protrusion 64, Fig. 13) defined radially at the proximal end the slider (Srinivasan, as shown in Fig. 13), wherein when the pen needle is assembled, the lug of the slider is parked on the holding bar supporting the slider at a position covering the tip of the needle thereunder (Srinivasan, as shown in Fig. 1);
wherein operationally a linear movement of the slider in one linear direction revealed the tip of the needle (Srinivasan, "… the first shield 16 is caused to be displaced proximally so as to expose at least a substantial portion of the injection length of the needle 14." - Col. 3 Line 60) and the lug urging the ramp to toggle rotation of the pivot (Srinivasan, "With proximal movement of the first shield 16, the guide protrusion 64 is caused to traverse the first portion 92 of the guide slot 40 resulting in rotation of the first shield 16 …" - Col. 3 Line 64) to store energy in the torsion spring (Srinivasan, "Proximal retraction of the first shield 16 causes the biasing element 20 to be compressed inside the hub 12." - Col. 4 Line 2).
Srinivasan does not expressly disclose that when the stored energy is released, the torsion spring urges the pivot to rotate in reverse to urge the lug lifting the slider back to cover the tip of the needle.
Wittland teaches that when the stored energy is released ("After the syringe has been used, the sleeve element automatically slides over the cannula again, driven by the force of the spring element." - Para [0020]), the torsion spring urges the pivot to rotate in reverse to urge the lug lifting the slider back to cover the tip of the needle ("The guidance of the guide projection in the guide track causes the collar element to rotate counter to the circumferential direction (U)." - Para [0020]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the pen needle of Srinivasan to include that when the stored energy is released, the torsion spring urges the pivot to rotate in reverse to urge the lug lifting the slider back to cover the tip of the needle as taught by Wittland so the user is thus protected from stab injuries with the used and contaminated lancing agent (Wittland, Col. 4 Line 39).
Regarding claim 2, Srinivasan in view of Wittland discloses the pen needle (Srinivasan, safety pen needle assembly 10, Fig. 1) as recited above, further comprising
a channel (Srinivasan, See annotated Fig. 2) defined between the ramp (Srinivasan, guide slot 40, Fig. 2) and the holding bar (Srinivasan, See annotated Fig. 2), operationally receiving the lug (Srinivasan, protrusion 64, Fig. 2) of the slider (Srinivasan, first shield 16, Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 5, Srinivasan in view of Wittland discloses the pen needle (Srinivasan, safety pen needle assembly 10, Fig. 1) as recited above,
the slider (Srinivasan, shield 16, Fig. 1) is guided on the hub (Srinivasan, columnar support 32, Fig. 4) to move only in a linear movement (Srinivasan, "… the first shield 16 is caused to be pressed against a patient's skin and with force applied to the safety pen needle assembly 10, the first shield 16 is caused to be displaced proximally …" - Col. 3 Line 60).
Regarding claim 6, Srinivasan in view of Wittland discloses the pen needle (Srinivasan, safety pen needle assembly 10, Fig. 1) as recited above, wherein
the torsion spring (Srinivasan, biasing element 20, Fig. 4), the pivot (Srinivasan, hub 12, Fig. 1) and the slider (Srinivasan, shield 16, Fig. 1) are installed centrifugally (Srinivasan, as shown in Figs. 1, 2, 4, and 9) and externally around the hub (Srinivasan, columnar support 32, Fig. 4) (Srinivasan, as shown in Fig. 4).
Claim(s) 3 and 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Srinivasan et al. (US Patent No. 9623194 B2) in view of Wittland et al. (US Pub No. 20180161512 A1) and in further view of Infranger et al. (US Patent No. 10342930 B1).
Regarding claim 3, Srinivasan in view of Wittland and Infranger discloses the pen needle (Srinivasan, safety pen needle assembly 10, Fig. 1) as recited above, wherein
Srinivasan does not expressly disclose that an end of the channel comprises a locking platform for holding the lug from moving linearly.
Infranger teaches that an end of the channel (first and second lengthwise slots 76, 77, Figs. 15-16) comprises a locking platform (second extended lock slots 86, 87, Fig. 16) for holding the lug from moving linearly ("The user twists the cylindrical body 66 until the first and second lock tabs 94, 95 are retained in the first and second extended lock slots 86, 87." - Col. 7 Line 40).
Therefore, it would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the pen needle of Srinivasan to include that an end of the channel comprises a locking platform for holding the lug from moving linearly as taught by Infranger so the syringe may now be used to dispense the contents therein (Infranger, Col. 7 Line 49).
Regarding claim 4, Srinivasan in view of Wittland and Infranger discloses the pen needle (Srinivasan, safety pen needle assembly 10, Fig. 1) as recited above, wherein
Srinivasan does not expressly disclose that the locking platform is a channel having a perpendicular inclination against center axis.
Infranger teaches that the locking platform (second extended lock slots 86, 87, Fig. 16) is a channel having a perpendicular inclination against center axis ("… first and second extended lock slots 86, 87, which extend substantially perpendicular to the lengthwise axis …" - Col. 6 Line 67).
Therefore, it would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the pen needle of Srinivasan to include that the locking platform is a channel having a perpendicular inclination against center axis as taught by Infranger so the syringe may now be used to dispense the contents therein (Infranger, Col. 7 Line 49).
Conclusion
/ESHA PRAKASH KASHYAP/Examiner, Art Unit 3783 /CHELSEA E STINSON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3783