DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 07/26/2024 is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3, 5, 8, 10, 11, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
CLAIM 3 — “CYLINDERS COAXIAL WITH SAID TRACTION MOTOR”
Claim 3 recites “the airflow hood by the airflow outlet in a substantially tangential direction with respect to cylinders coaxial with said traction motor.”
The claim is indefinite because the term “cylinders coaxial with said traction motor” lacks clear antecedent basis and does not identify what cylinders are being used as the reference for determining the “substantially tangential direction.” The claim does not previously recite any cylinder, cylindrical surface, imaginary reference cylinder, radius, or reference surface relative to which tangency is to be evaluated. As a result, it is unclear whether the claimed tangential direction is tangential to the casing, the motor shaft, an imaginary cylinder centered on the longitudinal axis, or some other cylindrical geometry.
Suggested correction: Applicant may amend the claim to clarify the reference geometry, for example, “in a direction substantially tangential to an imaginary cylinder coaxial with the longitudinal axis of the traction motor and passing through the airflow outlet,” or another definite structural reference supported by the disclosure.
CLAIM 5 — “A SECTION OF SAID AIR DUCT PROGRESSIVELY INCREASES”
Claim 5 recites “a section of said air duct progressively increases toward the airflow outlet.”
The claim is indefinite because “a section of said air duct” is unclear. The term “section” may refer to a cross-sectional flow area, a transverse profile, a longitudinal duct portion, a width, a height, or another dimensional feature of the duct. The claim therefore does not clearly define what structural characteristic “progressively increases” toward the airflow outlet.
Suggested correction: Applicant may amend the claim to specify the structural characteristic that increases, for example, “a cross-sectional flow area of said air duct progressively increases toward the airflow outlet,” if supported by the original disclosure.
CLAIM 8 — “THE OTHER SIDE OF THE AXLE” AND “THE SECTION OF SAID AIR DUCT”
Claim 8 recites “the air duct extends beyond said main body so that it passes to the other side of the axle.”
The claim is indefinite because “the other side of the axle” lacks a clear reference side. Claim 7, from which claim 8 depends, recites alternatives using “and/or.” Thus, claim 8 may depend from an embodiment in which claim 7 only requires the airflow outlet to be “arranged substantially horizontally,” without requiring that the airflow outlet be “located on a side of the axle opposed to the traction motor.” In that circumstance, it is unclear what side is the original side and what side is “the other side.”
Claim 8 further recites “the section of said air duct is progressively decreasing toward the airflow outlet.” The phrase “the section” lacks proper antecedent basis in claim 8 and is unclear for the same reasons discussed above regarding claim 5. It is unclear whether “section” means cross-sectional area, duct profile, duct portion, or some other structural dimension.
Suggested correction: Applicant may amend claim 8 to recite a definite reference, for example, “the air duct extends beyond said main body and across the axle from a traction-motor side of the axle to an opposite side of the axle.” Applicant may further amend “the section” to “a cross-sectional flow area” or another clearly identified duct dimension, if supported.
CLAIM 10 — UNCLEAR ANTECEDENT BASIS FOR “SAID TRACTION MOTOR” AND UNCLEAR MOUNTED STATUS OF THE HOOD
Claim 10 recites “A self-ventilated motor traction assembly,” and later recites “the self-ventilated traction motor assembly,” “the self-ventilated traction motor,” and “said traction motor.”
The claim is indefinite because the claim uses inconsistent terminology for the same apparent subject matter. It is unclear whether the claimed article is a “motor traction assembly,” a “traction motor assembly,” or a “traction motor.” In addition, “said traction motor” lacks clear antecedent basis because claim 10 does not first positively introduce “a traction motor” as a claimed component separate from the assembly. The casing, motor shaft, fan, and airflow hood are recited, but the claim does not clearly establish whether the “traction motor” is the entire assembly, a subassembly, or a separate component within the assembly.
Claim 10 also recites an airflow hood comprising “a main body mountable on said casing” and later recites “when said airflow hood is mounted on said casing.” Because claim 10 is directed to an assembly, it is unclear whether the claimed assembly requires the airflow hood to actually be mounted on the casing or merely requires an airflow hood that is capable of being mounted. This ambiguity affects whether the claimed proximal-end placement is a present structural limitation of the assembly or only a conditional capability.
Suggested correction: Applicant may amend claim 10 to consistently recite “a self-ventilated traction motor assembly comprising a self-ventilated traction motor including a casing...” and to state whether the airflow hood is actually mounted on the casing. For example, “wherein the airflow hood is mounted on the casing at a proximal axial end...” would clarify the present structure of the claimed assembly, if supported.
CLAIM 11 — “SELF-VENTILATED TRACTION MOTOR ACCORDING TO CLAIM 10,” “CORRESPONDING AXLE,” AND “PARALLELLY TO AND SPACE APART”
Claim 11 recites “at least one self-ventilated traction motor according to claim 10.”
The claim is indefinite because claim 10 is directed to a “self-ventilated motor traction assembly,” not expressly to a “self-ventilated traction motor.” Thus, the phrase “self-ventilated traction motor according to claim 10” creates uncertainty as to whether claim 11 incorporates the entire traction motor assembly of claim 10, only a traction motor within that assembly, or another structure. The dependency should be clarified so that the subject matter incorporated from claim 10 is definite.
Claim 11 also recites “said corresponding axle.” The phrase lacks clear antecedent basis because the claim first recites “at least one axle,” “at least one gearbox,” and “at least one self-ventilated traction motor,” but does not clearly define which axle corresponds to which traction motor or gearbox when more than one axle, gearbox, or motor is present.
Claim 11 further recites that “said traction motor” is “arranged parallelly to and space apart from said corresponding axle.” The phrase “parallelly to and space apart from” is grammatically unclear. In addition, it is unclear what part or axis of the traction motor is arranged parallel to the axle. The claim may intend to recite that the longitudinal axis of the traction motor, or the motor shaft axis, is parallel to and spaced apart from the axle axis, but this is not clearly stated.
Suggested correction: Applicant may amend claim 11 to recite, for example, “at least one self-ventilated traction motor assembly according to claim 10,” if the entire assembly is intended. Applicant may also define the correspondence among each motor, gearbox, and axle, and may amend the orientation limitation to recite “a longitudinal axis of the traction motor is parallel to and spaced apart from an axis of the corresponding axle,” if supported.
CLAIM 12 — “UPSTREAM” AND “DOWNSTREAM”
Claim 12 recites “an upstream self-ventilated traction motor” and “a downstream self-ventilated traction motor.”
The claim is indefinite because “upstream” and “downstream” are relative terms, but claim 12 does not recite the reference airflow direction, vehicle travel direction, or other reference frame used to determine which traction motor is upstream and which is downstream. The specification describes upstream and downstream with respect to an airstream relative to the vehicle when the rolling stock is in motion, but claim 12 does not include that reference frame. Without such a reference, the metes and bounds of the claim are unclear.
Suggested correction: Applicant may amend claim 12 to specify the reference direction, for example, “with respect to an airstream travelling below the railway bogie during forward motion of the rolling stock,” if supported.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Claim 11 depends from claim 10 but recites “at least one self-ventilated traction motor according to claim 10,” whereas claim 10 is directed to “a self-ventilated motor traction assembly.” Because claim 11 does not clearly recite the “assembly” of claim 10, it is unclear whether claim 11 incorporates all limitations of claim 10 or only an unidentified traction motor portion of claim 10. Dependent claims must reference a previous claim and then specify a further limitation of the subject matter claimed, and a dependent claim is construed to incorporate all limitations of the claim to which it refers.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
OBJECTIONS AND INFORMALITIES
Claims 3, 5, 7, and 8 use “and/or” language. Although alternative limitations are not per se indefinite, the use of “and/or” in this claim set contributes to uncertainty in later dependent claims, particularly claim 8, because it is unclear which alternative limitation supplies the reference basis for “the other side of the axle.” Applicant is required to clarify the alternatives, preferably by separating the alternatives into separate dependent claims.
Claim 2 recites “air-flow outlet,” whereas the other claims generally recite “airflow outlet.” Applicant should use consistent terminology.
Claim 10 recites “self-ventilated motor traction assembly” in the preamble and “self-ventilated traction motor assembly” in the body. Applicant should use consistent terminology.
Claim 11 recites “parallelly to and space apart from.” Applicant should correct this phrase to “parallel to and spaced apart from,” and should identify the relevant axes or structural portions being compared.
REFERENCES USED
Reference 1: Nagayama et al., US 2015/0000549 A1. Reference 1 is used as the primary reference.
Reference 2: Wang et al., CN 208337341 U. Reference 2 is used as a secondary reference for the compact volute-type, laterally/asymmetrically directed air outlet features.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8 and 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reference 1 in view of Reference 2.
Reference 1 discloses a railway-vehicle motor 4 mounted in a truck 3, the motor 4 including a casing 40, a rotor shaft 31, fans 60, a discharge channel 70, an entrance port 70a, and an exit port 70b. The casing 40 includes bearing housings 41A, 41B and connecting housings 42A, 42B. The first housing portion 65, guide wall 65a, second housing portion 66, and thin wall portion 66a define a hood-like exhaust structure at an axial end of the motor 4. The discharge channel 70 is formed between guide wall 65a and thin wall portion 66a and guides air to exit port 70b in a downward direction.
Reference 2 discloses a motor cooling structure having a fan volute 4, a cooling fan 3 coaxial with a motor shaft, and an outlet 5 directed away from the motor. Reference 2 is relied upon for the known use of a compact volute/duct outlet displaced to one side of a motor/fan axis to route cooling air away from the motor and adjacent equipment.
────────────────────────────────────────
Claim 1 — Rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 over Reference 1 in view of Reference 2
An airflow hood for a self-ventilated traction motor mechanically attachable to a casing of said traction motor, said airflow hood comprising: a main body mountable on said casing and substantially surrounding a longitudinal axis of said traction motor; and an air duct presenting at one end an airflow inlet and at the other end an airflow outlet; wherein, said airflow outlet is oriented downwardly; and, when said airflow hood is mounted on said casing, said airflow hood is located at a proximal axial end of the casing opposed to a distal axial end of the casing where a fan is located and from which a rotatable motor shaft axially protrudes to drive an axle.
Analysis
Reference 1 discloses a railway traction motor 4. The motor 4 is a vehicle-driving motor arranged on a truck 3 and includes a casing 40 surrounding a stator 20, rotor 30, rotor shaft 31, and motor axis O. The rotor shaft 31 is the claimed rotatable motor shaft, and the axis O corresponds to the claimed longitudinal axis of the traction motor.
Reference 1 discloses the claimed casing because casing 40 includes bearing housings 41A, 41B and connecting housings 42A, 42B arranged around the rotor shaft 31 and motor axis O. Reference 1 further discloses that the rotor shaft 31 protrudes on the driving side and is connected through coupling 12 to driving shaft 13a of gearbox 13, which includes gear 13b mechanically connected with axle 10 and pinion 13c connected with driving shaft 13a. Thus, rotor shaft 31 axially protrudes from the motor 4 to transmit driving power to axle 10 through gearbox 13.
Reference 1 discloses a hood-like exhaust structure mechanically associated with the casing 40. In particular, the first housing portion 65, guide wall 65a, second housing portion 66, and thin wall portion 66a are arranged at the axial end of the motor 4 and define discharge channel 70. The guide wall 65a is connected to bearing housing 41A and may be provided as a separate element or as an integral extension of the bearing housing 41A. Under the broadest reasonable interpretation, this structure is mechanically attachable to the casing because it is connected to, supported by, or formed as a casing-associated exhaust component.
Reference 1 discloses the claimed main body because bearing housing 41A, connecting housing 42A, and associated housing portions 65, 66 form an end-body structure surrounding motor axis O and receiving air from the motor/fan region. The main body is mountable on the casing 40 because the housing portions are connected to the casing structures including bearing housing 41A and connecting housing 42A.
Reference 1 discloses the claimed air duct because discharge channel 70 is an airflow passage formed between guide wall 65a and thin wall portion 66a. The discharge channel 70 has entrance port 70a at one end, corresponding to the claimed airflow inlet, and exit port 70b at the other end, corresponding to the claimed airflow outlet.
Reference 1 discloses that the airflow outlet is oriented downwardly because guide wall 65a extends downwardly and guides outside air A to exit port 70b in a downward direction toward the lower track-side region. The exit port 70b is therefore oriented downwardly.
Reference 1 discloses the claimed proximal/distal axial-end relationship. The discharge channel 70 and exit port 70b are arranged at the side of the motor 4 opposite the driving side, adjacent bearing housing 41A. The rotor shaft 31 protrudes at the driving side and is connected to gearbox 13 through coupling 12. A fan 60 is positioned at the driving side between rotor iron core 32 and bearing 33B. Thus, the hood-like discharge structure at the side of bearing housing 41A is located at a proximal axial end opposed to a distal axial end where fan 60 is located and from which rotor shaft 31 axially protrudes to drive axle 10 through gearbox 13.
Reference 1 also includes another fan 60 at the non-driving side. This additional fan does not remove the teaching of the claimed distal fan/shaft relationship because claim 1 does not exclude an additional fan. The claim only requires that the hood be at an axial end opposed to an axial end where a fan is located and from which the motor shaft protrudes to drive an axle, and Reference 1 discloses that arrangement through the driving-side fan 60 and protruding rotor shaft 31.
Reference 2 further teaches a compact volute-type airflow guiding structure, including fan volute 4, cooling fan 3, and outlet 5. Reference 2 reinforces that providing a motor-mounted airflow guiding duct/hood with a directed outlet was known for compact motor cooling arrangements.
Motivation for Claim 1
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to use the compact outlet/volute arrangement of Reference 2 with the railway traction motor exhaust structure of Reference 1 to guide cooling air from the motor 4 through a casing-mounted exhaust duct while preserving compact packaging. Reference 1 expressly addresses severe space constraints around motor 4, wheels 8, axle 10, beam portion 3a, coupling 12, and gearbox 13, and Reference 2 teaches that a fan volute 4 and outlet 5 can route cooling air away from a motor in a compact structure. The combination would predictably provide a compact, casing-mounted airflow hood/duct for directing heated cooling air downward and away from adjacent railway components while retaining the cooling and noise-reduction benefits of discharge channel 70 and guide wall 65a.
────────────────────────────────────────
Claim 2 — Rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 over Reference 1 in view of Reference 2
The airflow hood for a self-ventilated traction motor of claim 1, wherein said air-flow outlet is arranged asymmetrically with respect to a vertical axial plane containing said longitudinal axis of said traction motor.
Analysis
Reference 1 discloses the airflow hood structure of claim 1 as discussed above, including discharge channel 70 and exit port 70b associated with motor axis O.
Reference 1 teaches that the air inlet port 56 and discharge channel 70 need not be limited to the lower illustrated position and may be positioned at other locations around bearing 33A, including right-side or left-side locations. Thus, Reference 1 teaches that discharge channel 70 and exit port 70b are position-variable around the motor axis O to suit the available installation space.
Reference 2 discloses an asymmetrically arranged outlet structure. In Reference 2, fan volute 4 surrounds cooling fan 3, and outlet 5 projects to one side of the volute rather than being arranged symmetrically about the motor/fan axis. Outlet 5 therefore teaches a laterally displaced, asymmetric air outlet arrangement for a motor cooling air guide.
It would have been obvious to modify the discharge channel 70 and exit port 70b of Reference 1 so that the outlet is offset to one lateral side of the vertical axial plane containing motor axis O, as taught by outlet 5 of Reference 2. The modified outlet remains an airflow outlet for the discharge channel 70 but is arranged asymmetrically to one side of the traction motor axis.
Motivation for Claim 2
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to arrange exit port 70b asymmetrically in view of Reference 2’s outlet 5 because Reference 1 places motor 4 in a railway truck region with severe packaging constraints among axle 10, wheels 8, gearbox 13, coupling 12, and beam portion 3a. Reference 1 already teaches that discharge channel 70 can be repositioned around bearing 33A. Reference 2 demonstrates that a one-sided volute outlet 5 is a known compact way to route cooling air away from a motor/fan axis. A person of ordinary skill would have had reason to laterally offset the outlet to use available space, reduce interference with adjacent bogie components, and direct hot exhaust away from sensitive equipment, with predictable airflow-guiding results.
────────────────────────────────────────
Claim 3 — Rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 over Reference 1 in view of Reference 2
The airflow hood for a self-ventilated traction motor of claim 1, wherein: a cooling airflow coming out of said casing enters the main body and comes out of the airflow hood by the airflow outlet in a substantially tangential direction with respect to cylinders coaxial with said traction motor, and/or the airflow outlet is arranged substantially horizontally facing downwardly.
Analysis
Reference 1 discloses cooling airflow A generated by fans 60 and guided through casing-associated flow passages. At the non-driving end, airflow A enters entrance port 70a and passes through discharge channel 70 formed between guide wall 65a and thin wall portion 66a. The discharge channel 70 is part of the hood-like exhaust structure at the axial end of casing 40 and leads to exit port 70b.
Reference 1 discloses that guide wall 65a and thin wall portion 66a extend in circular-arc shapes around motor axis O. Because discharge channel 70 follows a circular-arc path around axis O, the airflow passing through the channel has a circumferential component relative to the motor axis O. Under the broadest reasonable interpretation, this airflow path corresponds to airflow moving substantially tangentially with respect to cylindrical surfaces coaxial with motor axis O.
Reference 1 also discloses the alternative limitation that the airflow outlet is arranged substantially horizontally facing downwardly. Exit port 70b is located at the lower track-side region of casing 40 and forms the outlet of downwardly extending discharge channel 70. Guide wall 65a directs air downward through exit port 70b, and the outlet extends as a generally slot-like opening across the lower portion of the discharge channel 70. Thus, even if the tangential-flow alternative is not relied upon, Reference 1 teaches the substantially horizontal, downward-facing outlet alternative.
Reference 2 further teaches a volute 4 and side outlet 5 in which air leaving cooling fan 3 is redirected through a curved housing toward a defined outlet. This supports the ordinary use of curved or tangential motor cooling discharge paths.
Motivation for Claim 3
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to configure the discharge channel 70 of Reference 1 so that airflow exits through a substantially horizontal, downward-facing outlet, and/or through an arcuate/tangential discharge path, because Reference 1 teaches that guide wall 65a directs air downward and shifts exit port 70b away from impellers 60b to reduce air-discharge noise while maintaining cooling flow. Reference 2 confirms that a curved volute 4 and outlet 5 are known for redirecting fan-driven cooling air through a defined duct. The combination would predictably guide exhaust air to the lower track-side region while reducing turbulence and wind noise.
────────────────────────────────────────
Claim 4 — Rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 over Reference 1 in view of Reference 2
The airflow hood for a self-ventilated traction motor of claim 1, wherein said airflow outlet is located on a side of said traction motor opposed to the axle driven by said traction motor.
Analysis
Reference 1 discloses that each motor 4 is mounted in truck 3 between axle 10 and beam portion 3a, with rotor shaft 31 parallel to axle 10 and connected to gearbox 13 for driving axle 10. Reference 1 further teaches that discharge channel 70 and exit port 70b can be arranged at selected positions around bearing 33A, including right-side or left-side locations, depending on packaging needs.
Reference 1 therefore teaches a traction motor environment in which a side of motor 4 faces axle 10 and an opposite side faces away from axle 10 toward other truck structure. Reference 1 also teaches that the discharge channel 70 location is not fixed and may be varied. It would have been obvious to place exit port 70b on the side of motor 4 opposed to axle 10 when that side provides a clearer exhaust path and reduces heating of axle-adjacent components.
Reference 2 discloses outlet 5 of volute 4 directed away from the motor/fan body. Outlet 5 teaches positioning an airflow outlet to one side of the motor cooling structure so that air is discharged away from the motor and adjacent structures. Applied to Reference 1, this supports placing exit port 70b on the side of motor 4 opposed to axle 10.
Motivation for Claim 4
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to locate the airflow outlet on the side of motor 4 opposed to axle 10 because Reference 1 identifies a crowded railway truck environment with motor 4, axle 10, wheels 8, gearbox 13, coupling 12, and beam portion 3a. Directing heated air away from axle 10 and axle-associated components would reduce local heating and avoid interference with rotating or load-bearing components. Reference 2’s outlet 5 provides a known compact example of directing motor cooling discharge laterally away from the motor/fan body. The modification would be a predictable placement of a known outlet structure in an available side space to route heated air away from axle-side hardware.
────────────────────────────────────────
Claim 5 — Rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 over Reference 1 in view of Reference 2
The airflow hood for a self-ventilated traction motor of claim 4, wherein: a section of said air duct progressively increases toward the airflow outlet; and/or the airflow outlet extends substantially on a lower side of the main body of said airflow hood.
Analysis
Reference 1 discloses the airflow hood arrangement and the axle-opposed outlet placement as discussed for claims 1 and 4.
Reference 1 discloses the alternative limitation that the airflow outlet extends substantially on a lower side of the main body. Exit port 70b is positioned at the lower track-side region of the casing-associated exhaust structure and forms the outlet of discharge channel 70. Guide wall 65a extends downwardly, and exit port 70b is located at the lower end of the hood-like structure formed by first housing portion 65, guide wall 65a, second housing portion 66, and thin wall portion 66a. Thus, the airflow outlet extends on a lower side of the main body.
To the extent the claim is interpreted as requiring the progressively increasing duct-section alternative, Reference 2 teaches a fan volute 4 with outlet 5. Volute 4 is a curved housing around cooling fan 3 that guides air to outlet 5. The volute-type shape shown by volute 4 and outlet 5 provides a known motor-cooling duct form in which the flow passage expands toward the outlet to accommodate fan discharge. It would have been obvious to use such a progressively increasing duct section when the design goal is to reduce pressure loss and route cooling air smoothly to an outlet.
Motivation for Claim 5
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to extend the airflow outlet along the lower side of the hood body because Reference 1 teaches that downward discharge through exit port 70b and guide wall 65a reduces wind noise and directs air toward the track-side region. It also would have been obvious, to the extent required, to provide a progressively increasing duct section in view of Reference 2’s volute 4 and outlet 5 because a volute shape is a known compact way to collect fan discharge and reduce airflow impedance as air approaches an outlet. The combination would predictably maintain cooling performance while directing heated air downward and away from crowded bogie components.
────────────────────────────────────────
Claim 6 — Rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 over Reference 1 in view of Reference 2
The airflow hood for a self-ventilated traction motor of claim 4, wherein the air duct extends substantially along a side of said main body opposed to said axle.
Analysis
Reference 1 discloses motor 4 mounted between axle 10 and beam portion 3a, with casing 40 and associated exhaust structure at the end of the motor. Reference 1 further discloses discharge channel 70 as an air duct formed between guide wall 65a and thin wall portion 66a. Reference 1 teaches that the location of air inlet port 56 and discharge channel 70 may be varied around bearing 33A.
When discharge channel 70 and exit port 70b are placed on the side of motor 4 opposed to axle 10 as discussed for claim 4, discharge channel 70 necessarily extends along that axle-opposed side of the main body. Reference 2 further teaches laterally extending volute 4 and outlet 5, supporting the use of a side-extending duct to route cooling air away from the motor.
Motivation for Claim 6
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to extend the air duct along the side of the hood body opposed to axle 10 because Reference 1 teaches that the motor 4 is installed in a spatially constrained truck environment and that the discharge channel 70 location may be varied. Extending the duct on the axle-opposed side would make use of available lateral space, reduce heating of axle 10 and gearbox 13, and preserve the downward exhaust/noise-reduction function of guide wall 65a and exit port 70b. Reference 2’s laterally directed volute outlet 5 provides a predictable compact configuration for such side routing.
────────────────────────────────────────
Claim 7 — Rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 over Reference 1 in view of Reference 2
The airflow hood for a self-ventilated traction motor of claim 1, wherein: said airflow outlet is located on a side of the axle opposed to the traction motor; and/or said airflow outlet is arranged substantially horizontally.
Analysis
Reference 1 discloses the airflow hood arrangement of claim 1, including discharge channel 70 and exit port 70b.
Reference 1 discloses the alternative limitation that the airflow outlet is arranged substantially horizontally. Exit port 70b is the outlet opening of the downwardly extending discharge channel 70 and is located at the lower side of the casing-associated exhaust structure. The slot-like outlet at exit port 70b is arranged across the lower track-side region and faces downward. Under the broadest reasonable interpretation, exit port 70b is substantially horizontally arranged.
To the extent the claim is interpreted as also encompassing or requiring the first alternative, Reference 1 discloses that motor 4 is adjacent axle 10 and that the discharge channel 70 may be repositioned around bearing 33A. In view of this teaching and the lateral outlet 5 of Reference 2, it would have been obvious to route the outlet to an open side of axle 10 opposed to motor 4 where packaging space and thermal routing requirements favor that location. However, the rejection of claim 7 is independently supported by the substantially horizontal outlet alternative.
Motivation for Claim 7
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to arrange the airflow outlet substantially horizontally because Reference 1 teaches a downward discharge through exit port 70b guided by guide wall 65a for noise reduction and cooling-flow control. A substantially horizontal downward-facing outlet predictably directs heated air to the track-side region while preserving the discharge channel 70 geometry. If the outlet is further routed relative to axle 10, Reference 1’s recognized space constraints and Reference 2’s lateral outlet 5 would have motivated moving the outlet to the available side of axle 10 to avoid heating or interfering with axle-side hardware.
────────────────────────────────────────
Claim 8 — Rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 over Reference 1 in view of Reference 2
The airflow hood for a self-ventilated traction motor of claim 7, wherein: the air duct extends beyond said main body so that it passes to the other side of the axle; and/or the section of said air duct is progressively decreasing toward the airflow outlet.
Analysis
Reference 1 discloses the airflow hood arrangement of claim 7, including discharge channel 70 and exit port 70b.
Reference 1 discloses the alternative limitation that the section of the air duct progressively decreases toward the airflow outlet. Specifically, guide wall 65a and thin wall portion 66a define discharge channel 70. These surfaces approach each other in the direction from entrance port 70a to exit port 70b, so that discharge channel 70 narrows toward exit port 70b. Accordingly, the duct section progressively decreases toward the airflow outlet.
Reference 1 further teaches that the narrowing of discharge channel 70 reduces the discharge angle and wind noise while maintaining cooling performance. Thus, the progressively decreasing duct-section limitation is taught by Reference 1.
To the extent the claim is interpreted as additionally covering the duct passing to the other side of axle 10, Reference 1 discloses a confined truck arrangement including axle 10, motor 4, gearbox 13, coupling 12, and beam portion 3a, and teaches that discharge channel 70 may be located at different positions. Reference 2 teaches laterally projecting outlet 5. However, the rejection of claim 8 is supported by the progressively decreasing duct-section alternative.
Motivation for Claim 8
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to provide a progressively decreasing section toward the airflow outlet because Reference 1 expressly uses the narrowing relationship between guide wall 65a and thin wall portion 66a to reduce the discharge angle and wind noise at exit port 70b while maintaining airflow. This is a predictable aerodynamic design choice for a motor exhaust duct. Reference 2’s volute outlet 5 further confirms that shaping a fan-driven air duct to manage pressure, direction, and outlet placement was known in compact motor cooling structures.
────────────────────────────────────────
Claim 9 — Not presently rejected based on the reviewed prior art
The airflow hood for a self-ventilated traction motor of claim 8, wherein: the airflow hood is substantially U-shaped, wherein the main body forms a first leg of the U-shaped airflow hood, and the air duct forms a second leg of the U-shaped airflow hood; and the axle driven by said traction motor is arranged between said first and second legs of the U-shaped airflow hood.
Analysis
A solid rejection of claim 9 is not recommended based only on Reference 1 and Reference 2.
Reference 1 discloses motor 4, axle 10, casing 40, discharge channel 70, guide wall 65a, thin wall portion 66a, entrance port 70a, and exit port 70b. Reference 1 also discloses that motor 4 is positioned near axle 10 in truck 3. However, Reference 1 does not clearly disclose an airflow hood that is substantially U-shaped with the main body forming a first leg, the air duct forming a second leg, and axle 10 arranged between the first and second legs.
Reference 2 discloses volute 4, cooling fan 3, and outlet 5. Reference 2 teaches a compact asymmetric volute outlet, but it is not a railway bogie traction motor reference and does not disclose routing an air duct around an axle so that an axle lies between two legs of a U-shaped hood.
Accordingly, claim 9 appears to require additional prior art showing a duct or hood routed around an axle or comparable intervening rotating shaft such that the duct and main body form opposing legs with the axle between them. Without such a teaching, the proposed rejection of claim 9 would be vulnerable.
────────────────────────────────────────
Claim 10 — Rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 over Reference 1 in view of Reference 2
A self-ventilated motor traction assembly comprising a casing surrounding a rotatable motor shaft transmitting driving power to a gearbox, and a fan attached to the rotatable motor shaft on the side of the gearbox for generating a cooling airflow circulating longitudinally through the self-ventilated traction motor, wherein the self-ventilated traction motor assembly further comprises an airflow hood for guiding a cooling airflow exhaust, the airflow hood comprising: a main body mountable on said casing and substantially surrounding a longitudinal axis of said traction motor; and an air duct presenting at one end an airflow inlet and at the other end an airflow outlet; wherein, said airflow outlet is oriented downwardly; and, when said airflow hood is mounted on said casing, said airflow hood is located at a proximal axial end of the casing opposed to a distal axial end of the casing where a fan is located and from which a rotatable motor shaft axially protrudes to drive an axle.
Analysis
Reference 1 discloses a self-ventilated motor traction assembly. Motor 4 is a vehicle-driving motor mounted in railway truck 3. Motor 4 includes casing 40 surrounding rotor shaft 31. Rotor shaft 31 extends along axis O and transmits driving power to gearbox 13 through coupling 12 and driving shaft 13a.
Reference 1 discloses the claimed gearbox because gearbox 13 includes gear 13b mechanically connected with axle 10 and pinion 13c mechanically connected with driving shaft 13a. The rotational force generated by motor 4 is transmitted through gearbox 13 to axle 10 and wheels 8.
Reference 1 discloses a fan attached to the rotatable motor shaft on the side of the gearbox. Fan 60 is mounted to rotate with rotor shaft 31 and is positioned at the driving side between rotor iron core 32 and bearing 33B, which is the side where rotor shaft 31 protrudes toward coupling 12 and gearbox 13. The fan 60 introduces outside air A and generates cooling airflow.
Reference 1 discloses cooling airflow circulating longitudinally through the self-ventilated traction motor. Air introduced by the driving-side fan 60 passes into air channel R2, continues through air channel R1 formed in stator iron core 21, and exits through air outlet port 51. Air channel R1 extends longitudinally through the stator iron core 21, and the airflow cools bearing 33B, rotor 30, and stator 20.
Reference 1 discloses an airflow hood for guiding cooling airflow exhaust as discussed for claim 1. The hood-like exhaust structure includes first housing portion 65, guide wall 65a, second housing portion 66, thin wall portion 66a, discharge channel 70, entrance port 70a, and exit port 70b. This structure guides airflow A through discharge channel 70 and out exit port 70b.
Reference 1 discloses the claimed main body because the end casing structures including bearing housing 41A, connecting housing 42A, and housing portions 65, 66 surround axis O and support the discharge channel 70. The main body is mountable on casing 40 because the discharge structure is connected to or formed as part of the casing structure.
Reference 1 discloses the claimed air duct because discharge channel 70 has entrance port 70a at one end and exit port 70b at the other end.
Reference 1 discloses the downwardly oriented airflow outlet because guide wall 65a extends downwardly and guides air to exit port 70b in a downward direction.
Reference 1 discloses the claimed proximal/distal end relationship because discharge channel 70 is at the end adjacent bearing housing 41A, opposed to the driving-side end where fan 60 is located and rotor shaft 31 protrudes toward gearbox 13 for driving axle 10.
Reference 2 further teaches a fan volute 4 with cooling fan 3 and outlet 5, reinforcing the known use of a motor-mounted airflow guide/hood with a directed outlet for compact cooling-air discharge.
Motivation for Claim 10
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to provide the traction motor assembly of Reference 1 with the compact airflow hood/volute outlet arrangement of Reference 2 because Reference 1 already uses fan-driven motor cooling and a downward discharge channel 70 for cooling and noise reduction, while Reference 2 teaches a compact motor cooling volute 4 with a directed outlet 5. A person of ordinary skill would have been motivated to combine these teachings to route heated cooling exhaust from motor 4 in a controlled downward direction while maintaining compact packaging around gearbox 13, axle 10, wheels 8, coupling 12, and truck beam 3a.
────────────────────────────────────────
Claim 11 — Rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 over Reference 1 in view of Reference 2
A railway bogie comprising a frame, at least one axle rotatably attached to said frame, and at least one gearbox mechanically connected to said at least one axle, wherein the railway bogie further comprises at least one self-ventilated traction motor according to claim 10 for driving said at least one gearbox, said traction motor being arranged parallelly to and space apart from said corresponding axle, wherein the casing is mechanically attached to said frame.
Analysis
Reference 1 discloses a railway bogie corresponding to the claimed bogie. Reference 1 discloses railway vehicle 1 including truck 3 disposed below vehicle body 2. The truck 3 corresponds to the claimed railway bogie.
Reference 1 discloses the claimed frame because truck 3 includes beam portion 3a and truck beam 3b. These frame structures support axles 10, motors 4, and associated drive components.
Reference 1 discloses at least one axle rotatably attached to the frame because axles 10 connect left and right wheels 8 and are attached to truck 3 through shaft bearing boxes 3c.
Reference 1 discloses at least one gearbox mechanically connected to the axle because gearbox 13 includes gear 13b mechanically connected with axle 10 and pinion 13c connected with driving shaft 13a.
Reference 1 discloses at least one self-ventilated traction motor according to claim 10 because motor 4 includes casing 40, rotor shaft 31, fan 60, cooling air passages R1 and R2, and the hood-like discharge structure including discharge channel 70 and exit port 70b, as discussed for claim 10.
Reference 1 discloses the traction motor driving the gearbox because rotor shaft 31 is connected to driving shaft 13a of gearbox 13 through coupling 12, and gearbox 13 transmits torque to axle 10 through pinion 13c and gear 13b.
Reference 1 discloses that the traction motor is arranged parallel to and spaced apart from the corresponding axle. Rotor shaft 31 of motor 4 extends parallel with axle 10, and motor 4 is fixed between axle 10 and beam portion 3a, thereby being spaced apart from axle 10.
Reference 1 discloses the casing mechanically attached to the frame. Upper attachment arms 11a and lower attachment arms 11b are attached to casing 40 and fixed to beam portion 3a of truck 3 by fastening members. Thus, casing 40 is mechanically attached to the truck frame.
Reference 2 is incorporated for the airflow hood/outlet features as discussed above.
Motivation for Claim 11
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the modified self-ventilated traction motor assembly of claim 10 into the railway truck 3 of Reference 1 because Reference 1 already discloses that motors 4 are mounted to truck 3 by attachment arms 11a, 11b and drive axles 10 through gearbox 13. The Reference 2 modification merely provides a known compact airflow-guiding outlet arrangement for routing cooling exhaust from the motor in the existing bogie environment. A person of ordinary skill would have expected the modified motor assembly to remain compatible with the railway bogie because the modification concerns the casing-mounted exhaust guide and outlet location, not the fundamental motor-to-frame or motor-to-gearbox mounting arrangement.
────────────────────────────────────────
Claim 12 — Rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 over Reference 1 in view of Reference 2
The railway bogie of claim 11, further comprising two gearboxes, two axles, an upstream self-ventilated traction motor; and a downstream self-ventilated traction motor, each of the upstream self-ventilated traction motor and the downstream self-ventilated traction motor being connected to the corresponding gearbox for driving the respective axle.
Analysis
Reference 1 discloses the railway bogie of claim 11 as discussed above.
Reference 1 discloses two axles because truck 3 includes two axles 10, each connecting left and right wheels 8.
Reference 1 discloses two traction motors because two motors 4 are mounted in truck 3. Each motor 4 is positioned between a corresponding axle 10 and beam portion 3a and between the left and right wheels 8 of that axle.
Reference 1 discloses two gearboxes because each motor 4 is connected to a corresponding gearbox 13. Each gearbox 13 includes gear 13b connected with the corresponding axle 10 and pinion 13c connected to driving shaft 13a.
Reference 1 discloses each traction motor connected to the corresponding gearbox for driving the respective axle. Each rotor shaft 31 is connected through coupling 12 to driving shaft 13a of a corresponding gearbox 13, and gearbox 13 transmits torque to corresponding axle 10 and wheels 8.
Reference 1 discloses a front/rear truck arrangement along traveling direction L1. When railway vehicle 1 moves along a travel direction, one motor 4 is located upstream relative to under-vehicle airflow and the other motor 4 is located downstream. Thus, the two motors 4 correspond to an upstream self-ventilated traction motor and a downstream self-ventilated traction motor under the broadest reasonable interpretation of upstream/downstream relative to vehicle motion and underbody airflow.
Reference 2 is incorporated for the airflow hood/outlet features as discussed above.
Motivation for Claim 12
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to provide the modified self-ventilated traction motor assemblies of claims 10 and 11 as two motors in the two-axle truck arrangement of Reference 1 because Reference 1 already teaches two axles 10, two motors 4, and corresponding gearboxes 13 in one truck 3. Applying the same compact exhaust-hood modification to each motor would predictably provide consistent cooling-exhaust routing for both traction motors. A person of ordinary skill would have been motivated to use the same discharge-channel/volute outlet arrangement on both motors to maintain uniform cooling performance, reduce noise, and route heated air away from adjacent bogie components in the front and rear motor positions.
Conclusion
US6570276B1 was reviewed but not used in the rejection. It is relevant because it discloses a rail traction electric motor 1 with shaft 2, fan 24, nozzle 17, ducts 31, and outlet orifices 30, 32. It was not used because it does not provide a stronger teaching of a downwardly oriented airflow hood at the traction motor end, nor does it disclose the claimed axle-relative airflow hood arrangements.
CN102874265B was reviewed but not used in the rejection. It is relevant because it concerns a traction motor ventilating duct in a locomotive environment. It was not used because it appears directed to an inlet/ventilating duct connection structure rather than the claimed exhaust airflow hood with downward outlet, asymmetrical outlet placement, or axle-straddling U-shaped hood.
The applicant’s WO/EP family publication corresponding to the present claimed air-outlet hood was not used as prior art. It appears to be the same applicant/family disclosure and is therefore not appropriate as an independent prior-art basis for this draft rejection.
/Jason C Smith/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3615