DETAILED ACTION
Summary
This is the initial Office action on the 18/833422 application with claims filed on 7/26/24.
Claims 1-18 and 22-26 are pending and have been fully considered.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/22/25 and 7/26/24 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: the continuing information paragraph should be updated to include reference to the PCT filing that the current application is a 371 filing from.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 7, the phrase "such as" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s)1-3, 5-9, 11-13, 22-25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by DOWNEY (WO 2020/041454) as supplied by applicant on the IDS dated 7/26/24.
Regarding claim 1, 2, 11 DOWNEY discloses a system for predicting concentrations (assessing biomass) in a bioreactor system (Abs) comprising a bioreactor 50 including a reactor (container) including a fixed bed [0095, Fig 2]; a biomass sensor 24 or analyzer 70 (at least one sensor for sensing one or more parameters representative of biomass) [0043-44, 0047, 0081], and a controller 60 which receives data on various parameters or attributes from the sensor/analyzer and includes predictive models to forecast concentrations in the future [0053, 0066-67] as well as maintain cell density or volume [0060-61], in which the quality attribute monitored can be lactate concentration (parameter comprises cell culture byproduct) [0034] or glucose concentration [0053].
Regarding claim 3, DOWNEY discloses the analyzer may comprise mass spectrometers (sensor comprises a spectroscopic sensor) [0088].
Regarding claim 5-6, DOWNEY discloses an inline (adapted to determine oxygen input or outlet concentration depending where in the line it is placed) oxygen sensor (sensor comprises a gas sensor associated with bioreactor) [0047, 0068].
Regarding claim 7, DOWNEY discloses the sensor 24 is positioned in a dedicated line for drawing liquid from the bottom of the reactor (other than a surface of the bioreactor) [Fig 1].
Regarding claim 8, DOWNEY discloses the system may use an aseptic auto sampler to deliver samples for measuring or monitoring one or more parameters (sensor is associated with automated sampler) [0048-0052].
Regarding claim 9, 12 DOWNEY discloses the controller can include a model (correlation model) that is capable of forecasting concentrations in the future (controller adapted to estimate amount of biomass at future time) based on monitored parameters [0010-11, 0067].
Regarding claim 13, DOWNEY discloses sampling is done aseptically (bioreactor must remain sealed to be aseptic) [0048].
Regarding claim 22-23, DOWNEY discloses a system for predicting concentrations (assessing biomass) in a bioreactor system (Abs) comprising a bioreactor 50 including a reactor (container) including a fixed bed [0095, Fig 2]; a biomass sensor 24 or analyzer 70 (at least one sensor for sensing one or more parameters representative of biomass) [0043-44, 0047, 0081], and a controller 60 which receives data on various parameters or attributes from the sensor/analyzer and includes predictive models to forecast concentrations in the future [0053, 0066-67] as well as maintain cell density or volume [0060-61], in which the sensor 24 is positioned in a dedicated line for drawing liquid from within the bottom of the reactor (other than a surface of the bioreactor) [Fig 1]. As the sensor of DOWNEY meets the claimed limitation regarding location, it is considered capable of providing the functional limitation of limiting the incidence of bubbles.
Regarding claim 24-25, DOWNEY discloses the controller can include a model (correlation model) that is capable of forecasting concentrations in the future (controller adapted to estimate amount of biomass at future time) based on monitored parameters [0010-11, 0067].
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by of MAIRESSE (US 2021/0155892) as supplied by applicant on the IDS dated 7/26/24.
Regarding claim 14, MAIRESSE discloses a system for producing biomolecules comprising assessing the cell density of structured fixed beds in a bioreactor [0059] comprising a bioreactor, which is a fixed bed bioreactor (bioreactor including container and fixed bed within) [0071-73, fig 1], the bioreactor in a recirculation loop 301, 300 [0166, Fig 1] and at least one sensor for sensing one or more parameters provided at a location before fluid enters/re-enters the chamber (sensor associated with recirculation loop) [0183].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DOWNEY (WO 2020/041454) as applied above and further in view CLARK (US 2013/0038727).
Regarding claim 4, DOWNEY discloses a variety of sensors and analyzers [0043-44, 0047, 0081] can be used but does not explicitly disclose an enzymatic sensor.
However, CLARK discloses a system for monitoring cell culture comprising a sensor which can be a sensing device that measures information such as enzyme-based parameters (enzymatic sensor) [0050, 0052].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the invention was filed to modify the sensor used by DOWNEY to include the enzyme sensor as taught by CLARK because it allows for monitoring enzyme-based parameters [0050] which would provide for a greater range of parameters that could be monitored.
Claim(s) 10, 26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DOWNEY (WO 2020/041454) as applied above and further in view of MAIRESSE (US 2021/0155892) as supplied by applicant on the IDS dated 7/26/24.
Regarding claim 10, 26 DOWNEY discloses the results of the model produced by the controller can be presented to a user [0069] but does not explicitly disclose a display.
However, MAIRESSE discloses a bioreactor system with a process controller that records data from sensors and has software for monitoring the process flow, in which access to the controller is provided by a computer with a screen 29 [0177-178]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the invention was filed to modify the controller system of DOWNEY to include the screen as taught by MAIRESSE because it allows the user to follow the process and operate the system [0178].
Claim(s) 15-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MAIRESSE (US 2021/0155892) as applied to claim 14 above, in view of DOWNEY (WO 2020/041454) as supplied by applicant on the IDS dated 7/26/24.
Regarding claim 15-17, MAIRESSE discloses the system of claim 14 and further discloses a controller for monitoring the bioreactor that is provided with software for monitoring controlling and recording the process flow and parameters [0152-154] but does not explicitly disclose the controller is adapted for correlating the parameters to an amount of biomass.
However, DOWNEY discloses a system for predicting concentrations (assessing biomass) in a bioreactor system (Abs) comprising a bioreactor 50 including a reactor (container) including a fixed bed [0095, Fig 2]; a biomass sensor 24 or analyzer 70 (at least one sensor for sensing one or more parameters representative of biomass) [0043-44, 0047, 0081], and a controller 60 which receives data on various parameters or attributes from the sensor/analyzer and includes predictive models to forecast concentrations in the future [0053, 0066-67] as well as maintain cell density or volume [0060-61] in which the controller can include a model (correlation model) that is capable of forecasting concentrations in the future (controller adapted to estimate amount of biomass at future time) based on monitored parameters [0010-11, 0067].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the invention was filed to modify the controller of MAIRESSE to include the models for correlating the one or more parameters to an amount of biomass as taught by DOWNEY because it allows for a simplification of the detection of the effect of changing an attribute influencing parameter on the cellular growth/density [0032-34].
Regarding claim 18, MAIRESSE discloses a process controller that records data from sensors and has software for monitoring the process flow, in which access to the controller is provided by a computer with a screen 29 [0177-178].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See references on the attached PTO 892 that represent the state of the art of applicant’s endeavor.
/DANIELLE B HENKEL/Examiner, Art Unit 1799
/William H. Beisner/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1799