Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the ink follower introduced in claim 1 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ogura (US 6132124) in view of Han (CN 108189588).
Regarding claim 1, Ogura teaches a liquid storage member for coating tools comprising a liquid storage tube (4); and an ink follower (6) having a yield strength of 16 Pa or more; filled in the storage tube.
While Ogura does not explicitly teach that the ink follower has a yield strength of 16 Pa or more, Ogura does teach a follower that is substantially the same as Example 6 of the present application (see col. 3, ll. 26-34, teaching the use of silicone oils as a base, and col. 4, ll. 15-25, teaching the use of Aerosyl R-974 in the range of 1% to 6% by weight). As the follower taught by Ogura is substantially the same as that of Applicant’s Example 6, the yield stress is also substantially the same.
Ogura does not teach that the liquid storage tube uses a paper base material.
Han teaches a liquid storage tube (1) that uses a paper base material (kraft paper 12 and paper 15).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have replaced the tube of Ogura with the paper-based tube of Han for the purpose of reducing plastic pollution (Han, Abstract).
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Ogura and Han teaches the liquid storage member for coating tools according to claim 1, wherein the ink follower has a phase angle of 35° or more when the shear strain amplitude at 25° C and 1 Hz is 0 to 30% (the ink follower of Ogura is substantially the same as that of Applicant’s Example 6, and therefore has substantially the same phase angle).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Ogura and Han teaches the liquid storage member for coating tools according to claim 1 or 2, being a paper refill for a writing instrument (Ogura col. 10-13).
Conclusion
/BRADLEY S OLIVER/Examiner, Art Unit 3754
/DAVID P ANGWIN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3754