Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 7 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Atsushi (WO 2021038377 A1) in view of Qiao et al. (CN 215729697) hereinafter Qiao.
Regarding Claim 1 Atsushi teaches a hydraulic pressure control unit (1) for a straddle-type vehicle (200), the hydraulic pressure control unit comprising: a hydraulic pressure sensor (103) that detects a hydraulic pressure of a brake fluid (Fig 1-5); a hydraulic pressure control mechanism (31, 32) for controlling the hydraulic pressure; a control board (36) that controls operation of the hydraulic pressure control mechanism (31, 32); and a base body (10) to which the hydraulic pressure sensor (103) and the hydraulic pressure control mechanism (31, 32)) are attached (Fig 1-5). Atsushi is silent regarding the control board being electrically connected to the base body via a terminal that is provided to the hydraulic pressure sensor.
However, Qiao teaches a sensor module and a circuit board arrangement having a control board (120), base body (111) and a pressure sensor (112) (Fig 7). Qiao further teaches the control board (120) being electrically connected to the base body (111) via a terminal (113) that is provided to the hydraulic pressure sensor (112) (Fig 7).
Since both Atsushi and Qiao both teach known sensor and board arrangements that are known in the art, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have replaced one connection type for the other by forming the control board electrically connected to the base body via a terminal that is provided to the hydraulic pressure sensor to achieve a predictable result of forming a pressure sensing mechanism.
Regarding Claim 7 Atsushi teaches wherein the hydraulic pressure control mechanism (31, 32) includes a valve (31, 32) for controlling the hydraulic pressure (Fig 2).
Regarding Claim 9 Atsushi teaches wherein the straddle-type vehicle (200) is a bicycle.
Claim 1, 8 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Odaka (JP 2021133808) in view of Qiao et al. (CN 215729697) hereinafter Qiao.
Regarding Claim 1 Odaka teaches a hydraulic pressure control unit (70) for a straddle-type vehicle (10), the hydraulic pressure control unit comprising: a hydraulic pressure sensor (35) that detects a hydraulic pressure of a brake fluid (Fig 1-5); a hydraulic pressure control mechanism (28-29, 31, 40) for controlling the hydraulic pressure; a control board (76) that controls operation of the hydraulic pressure control mechanism (28-29, 31, 40); and a base body (80) to which the hydraulic pressure sensor (35) and the hydraulic pressure control mechanism (28-29, 31, 40) are attached (Fig 1-5).
Odaka is silent regarding the control board being electrically connected to the base body via a terminal that is provided to the hydraulic pressure sensor.
However, Qiao teaches a sensor module and a circuit board arrangement having a control board (120), base body (111) and a pressure sensor (112) (Fig 7). Qiao further teaches the control board (120) being electrically connected to the base body (111) via a terminal (113) that is provided to the hydraulic pressure sensor (112) (Fig 7).
Since both Odaka and Qiao both teach known sensor and board arrangements that are known in the art, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have replaced one connection type for the other by forming the control board electrically connected to the base body via a terminal that is provided to the hydraulic pressure sensor to achieve a predictable result of forming a pressure sensing mechanism.
Regarding Claim 8 Odaka teaches wherein the hydraulic pressure control mechanisms include a pump (31) for controlling the hydraulic pressure and a motor (40) for driving the pump (31).
Regarding Claim 10 Odaka teaches wherein the straddle-type vehicle (10) is a motorcycle (Fig 1).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-6 are objected to but would be allowable if rewritten to include all the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/ABIY TEKA/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3745