DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Examiner acknowledges that, according to the Filing receipt received 01/30/2025, that the instant application 18/833,526 filed 07/26/2024 is a 371 of PCT/US2023/061462 filed 01/27/2023 which claims benefit of U.S. provisional application 63/304,058 filed 01/28/2022.
However, the limitations of the instant claims are not adequately supported or enabled in the manner provided by 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or pre-AIA U.S.C. 112, first paragraph by 63/304,058. More specifically, the limitations of the claimed genus of compounds, as in claim 1, are not taught or suggested in their entirety by 63/304,058. In the 63/304,058 application, the broadest disclosed genus is on page 9 of the specification filed 01/28/2022, which is narrower in scope that the instantly claimed compounds. Other deficiencies may be present. As such, all the instant claims have been awarded the effective filing date of PCT/US2023/061462 filed 01/27/2023.
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statement filed on 08/01/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97 and has been considered in full. A signed copy of list of references cited from the IDS is included with this Office Action. Examiner notes that foreign reference WO 2023147478 A3 was only considered to the extent of the cover page and international search report, to which the filed portion of the document was limited.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: on pages 19-20, the phrases in quotation marks contain quotation marks and additional single quotes (i.e., “’).
Appropriate correction is required.
The use of terms such as "Microsoft Office PowerPoint" and "Microsoft Office Inc.", which is a trade name or a mark used in commerce, has been noted in this application. The term should be accompanied by the generic terminology; furthermore the term should be capitalized wherever it appears or, where appropriate, include a proper symbol indicating use in commerce such as ™, SM , or ® following the term.
Although the use of trade names and marks used in commerce (i.e., trademarks, service marks, certification marks, and collective marks) are permissible in patent applications, the proprietary nature of the marks should be respected and every effort made to prevent their use in any manner which might adversely affect their validity as commercial marks.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claims 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites that X and Y can be selected from “N”. Nitrogen is trivalent, however, only two of its bonds are specified. It is unclear what N is additionally bound to and/or substituted by.
Claim 1 recites “N-alkyl”. In the art, “N-alkyl” refers to an alkyl group with “N” repeating units (ethyl, pentyl, etc.). However, it is unclear whether “N-alkyl” in the claims refers to the meaning accepted in the art or refers to nitrogen bound to an alkyl chain. Moreover, no guidance or definition is provided in the instant specification such that one of ordinary skill in the art could ascertain the meaning of “N-alkyl”. Where applicant acts as his or her own lexicographer to specifically define a term of a claim contrary to its ordinary meaning, the written description must clearly redefine the claim term and set forth the uncommon definition so as to put one reasonably skilled in the art on notice that the applicant intended to so redefine that claim term. Process Control Corp. v. HydReclaim Corp., 190 F.3d 1350, 1357, 52 USPQ2d 1029, 1033 (Fed. Cir. 1999). The scope of the claims is therefore unclear. Claims 2-14 do not clarify the limitation at issue and are also rejected.
Claim 1 recites “the alkyl group of the… N-acyl groups”. It is unclear to what “alkyl group” this limitation refers in the N-acyl group. “N-acyl”, absent any definition set forth in the specification, has been interpreted by Examiner in view of the art to mean a nitrogen atom bound to an acyl (R-C=O) group. As an acyl group does not inherently contain an alkyl group, “the alkyl group” appears to lack antecedent basis. Claims 2-14 do not clarify the limitation at issue and are also rejected.
Claim 1 recites that X and Y can be selected from “N-alkyl, N-acyl, N-sulfonyl”. It is unclear whether the alkyl, acyl, and/or sulfonyl are linkers between N and the next adjacent atom in the X-Y-Z chain, or if they are side chains. Additionally, see the above rejection over N-alkyl, which can be interpreted as an alkyl group with “N” units. If the alkyl, acyl, and/or sulfonyl are side chains, it is unclear what they are bound to in addition to nitrogen, as acyl and sulfonyl are divalent but only have one bond specified. No examples or definitions have been set forth in the instant specification wherein X or Y is nitrogen, thus one of ordinary skill in the art would not be able to ascertain the scope of the claims in view of the specification. The scope of the claims is therefore unclear. Claims 2-14 do not clarify the limitation at issue and are also rejected.
Claim 1 recites “with one or more substitutions selected from the group consisting of… and mixtures thereof”. It is unclear what structure is implied by “mixtures” of the listed substituents. Claims 2-14 do not clarify the limitation at issue and are also rejected.
Claims 7-9 recite “The composition of claim 5”. These claims lack antecedent basis as claim 5 is not directed toward and does not recite a composition. Should claims 7-9 each depend upon claim 6?
Claims 11-13 recite “The method of claim 7”. These claims lack antecedent basis as claim 7 is not directed toward and does not recite a method. Should claims 11-13 each depend upon claim 10?
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(d)
Claim 7-9 and 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Claims 7-9 recite “The composition of claim 5”. However, claim 5, which claims a compound, is not directed toward and does not recite a composition.
Claims 11-13 recite “The method of claim 7”. However, claim 7, which claims a composition, is not directed toward and does not recite a method.
The claims at issue therefore fail to further limit the subject matter of the claims upon which they depend and do not comply with 35 U.S.C. 112(d).
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(a)
Claims 10 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, because the specification, while being enabling for treating a disease or disorder associated with PAK1, or treating cancerous cells, selected from the group consisting of prostate breast, pancreatic, head and neck, NSCLC, melanoma, skin, and liver cancer, does not reasonably provide enablement for treating PAK-1 related diseases or disorder, or cancerous cells, generally. The specification does not enable any person skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to use the invention commensurate in scope with these claims.
As a general rule, enablement must be commensurate with the scope of claim language. MPEP 2164.08 states, "The Federal Circuit has repeatedly held that "the specification must teach those skilled in the art how to make and use the full scope of the claimed invention without undue experimentation." In re Wright, 999 F.2d 1557, 1561, 27 USPQ2d 1510, 1513 (Fed. Cir. 1993)" (emphasis added). The "make and use the full scope of the invention without undue experimentation" language was repeated in 2005 in Warner-Lambert Co. v. Teva Pharmaceuticals USA Inc., 75 USPQ2d 1865, and Scripps Research Institute v. Nemerson, 78 USPQ2d 1019 asserts: "A lack of enablement for the full scope of a claim, however, is a legitimate rejection." The principle was explicitly affirmed most recently in Liebel-Flarsheim Co. v. Medrad, Inc., 481 F.3d 1371, 82 USPQ2d 1113; Auto. Tech. Int'l, Inc. v. BMW of N. Am., Inc., 501 F.3d 1274, 84 USPQ2d 1108 (Fed. Cir. 2007), Monsanto Co. v. Syngenta Seeds, Inc., 503 F.3d 1352, 84 U.S.P.Q.2d 1705 (Fed. Cir. 2007), and Sitrick v. Dreamworks, LLC, 516 F.3d 993, 85 USPQ2d 1826 (Fed. Cir. 2008).
Pursuant to In re Wands, 858 F.2d 731, 737, 8 USPQ2d 1400, 1404 (Fed. Cir. 1988), one considers the following factors to determine whether undue experimentation is required: (A) The breadth of the claims; (B) The nature of the invention; (C) The state of the prior art; (D) The level of one of ordinary skill; (E) The level of predictability in the art; (F) The amount of direction provided by the inventor; (G) The existence of working examples; and (H) The quantity of experimentation needed to make or use the invention based on the content of the disclosure. Some experimentation is not fatal; the issue is whether the amount of experimentation is "undue"; see In re Vaeck, 20 USPQ2d 1438, 1444.
The treatment of cancer generally cannot possibly be considered enabled.
By way of background, four cases are of particular relevance to the question of enablement of a method of treating cancers broadly or even generally:
In In re Buting, 57 CCPA 777, 418 F.2d 540, 163 USPQ 689, the claim was drawn to "The method of treating a malignant condition selected from the group consisting of leukemias, sarcomas, adenocarcinomas, lymphosarcomas, melanomas, myelomas, and ascitic tumors" using a small genus of compounds. The Court decided that human testing "limited to one compound and two types of cancer" was not "commensurate with the broad scope of utility asserted and claimed".
In Ex parte Jovanovics, 211 USPQ 907 the claims were drawn to "the treatment of certain specified cancers in humans" by the use of a genus of exactly two compounds, the N-formyl or N-desmethyl derivative of leurosine. Applicants submitted "affidavits, publications and data" for one of the compounds, and a dependent claim drawn to the use of that species was allowed. For the other, no data was presented, applicants said only that the other derivative would be expected to be less effective; claims to the genus were refused.
In Ex parte Busse, et al., 1 USPQ2d 1908, claims were drawn to "A therapeutic method for reducing metastasis and neoplastic growth in a mammal" using a single species. The decision notes that such utility "is no longer considered to be "incredible", but that "the utility in question is sufficiently unusual to justify the examiner's requirement for substantiating evidence. Note also that there is also a dependent claim 5 which specified "wherein metastasis and neoplastic growth is adenocarcinoma, squamous cell carcinoma, melanoma, cell small lung or glioma." The decision notes that "even within the specific group recited in claim 5 some of the individual terms used actually encompass a relatively broad class of specific types of cancer, which specific types are known to respond quite differently to various modes of therapy."
In Ex parte Stevens, 16 USPQ2d 1379 a claim to "A method for therapeutic or prophylactic treatment of cancer in mammalian hosts" was refused because there was "no actual evidence of the effectiveness of the claimed composition and process in achieving that utility."
Pursuant to In re Wands, 858 F.2d 731, 737, 8 USPQ2d 1400, 1404 (Fed. Cir. 1988), one considers the following factors to determine whether undue experimentation is required: (A) The breadth of the claims; (B) The nature of the invention; (C) The state of the prior art; (D) The level of one of ordinary skill; (E) The level of predictability in the art; (F) The amount of direction provided by the inventor; (G) The existence of working examples; and (H) The quantity of experimentation needed to make or use the invention based on the content of the disclosure. Some experimentation is not fatal; the issue is whether the amount of experimentation is "undue"; see In re Vaeck, 20 USPQ2d 1438, 1444.
The analysis is as follows:
1) Breadth of claims.
"Cancer" is not a single disease, or cluster of closely related disorders. There are hundreds of cancers, which have in common only some loss of controlled cell growth. Cancers are highly heterogeneous at both the molecular and clinical level, something seen especially in, for example, the cancers of the breast, brain and salivary glands. They can occur in pretty much every part of the body. To be able to simply stop cancer cells generally from being able to proliferate. Many of these approaches --- and there have been others as well --- have produced anti-cancer drugs. However, despite high hopes for success, and a plausible theory why these should work for cancers generally, none of these approaches have ever produced a drug which come remotely near such a goal.
Specifically, the prior art knows that there never has been a compound capable of treating cancers generally. "The cancer therapy art remains highly unpredictable, and no example exists for efficacy of a single product against tumors generally." (www.uspto.gov/web/offices/pac/dapp/1pecba.htm#7 ENABLEMENT DECISION TREE, Example F, situation 1). A similar statement appears at In re Application of Hozumi et al., 226 USPQ 353: "In spite of the vast expenditure of human and capital resources in recent years, no one drug has been found which is effective in treating all types of cancer. Cancer is not a simple disease, nor is it even a single disease, but a complex of a multitude of different entities, each behaving in a different way". There are compounds that treat a modest range of cancers, but no one has ever been able to figure out how to get a compound to be effective against cancer generally, or even a majority of cancers.
The attempts to find compounds to treat the various cancers arguably constitute the single most massive enterprise in all of pharmacology. This has not resulted in finding any treatment for tumors generally. Indeed, the existence of such a "silver bullet" is contrary to our present understanding in oncology. This is because it is now understood that there is no "master switch" for cancers generally; cancers arise from a bewildering variety of differing mechanisms. Even the most broadly effective antitumor agents are only effective against a small fraction of the vast number of different cancers known. This is true in part because cancers arise from a wide variety of sources, primarily a wide variety of failures of the body's cell growth regulatory mechanisms, but also such external factors such as viruses (an estimated at least 20% are of viral origin e.g. Human papillomavirus, EBV, Hepatitis B and C, HHV-8, HTLV-1 and other retroviruses, and quite possibly Merkel cell polyomavirus, and there is some evidence that CMV is a causative agent in glioblastoma), exposure to chemicals such as tobacco tars, excess alcohol consumption (which causes hepatic cirrhosis, an important cause of HCC), ionizing radiation, and unknown environment factors.
Accordingly, there is substantive "reason for one skilled in the art to question the objective truth of the statement of utility or its scope" (In re Langer, 183 USPQ 288, 297), specifically, the scope of covering cancer generally.
Similarly, In re Novak, 134 USPQ 335, 337-338, says "unless one with ordinary skill in the art would accept those allegations as obviously valid and correct, it is proper for the examiner to ask for evidence which substantiates them." There is no such evidence in this case. Likewise, In re Cortright, 49 USPQ2d 1464, states: "Moreover, we have not been shown that one of ordinary skill would necessarily conclude from the information expressly disclosed by the written description that the active ingredient" does what the specification surmises that it does. That is exactly the case here. Moreover, even if applicants' assertion that cancer in general could be treated with these compounds were plausible --- which it is not ---, that "plausible" would not suffice, as was stated in Rasmusson v. SmithKline Beecham Corp., 75 USPQ2d 1297, 1301: "If mere plausibility were the test for enablement under section 112, applicants could obtain patent rights to "inventions" consisting of little more than respectable guesses as to the likelihood of their success."
Different types of cancers affect different organs and have different methods of growth and harm to the body, and different vulnerabilities. The skill thus depends on the particular cancer involved. There are some cancers where the chemotherapy skill level is high and there are multiple successful chemotherapeutic treatments. The mechanism in these situations, however, is not necessarily the same as is alleged for these compounds.
One skilled in the art knows that chemotherapy of brain tumors is especially difficult. This is because 1) the blood-brain barrier, which is often intact in parts or all of a brain tumor, will block out many drugs, as it is the purpose of the blood-brain barrier to protect the brain from alien chemicals, and 2) CNS tumors are characterized by marked heterogeneity, which greatly decreases vulnerability to chemotherapy. As a result, many categories of CNS tumors simply have no chemotherapy available. These include, generally, hemangioblastomas, meningiomas, craniopharyngiomas, acoustic neuromas, pituitary adenomas, optic nerve gliomas, glomus jugulare tumors and chordomas, to name just some. With regard to gliomas, GBM is considered untreatable; no effective agents have emerged for the treatment of GBM, despite 20 years of enrolling patients in clinical trials. It is radiation and surgery which are used for low grade gliomas (e.g. pilocytic astrocytoma and diffuse astrocytomas), as no drug has been found effective. There is no drug treatment established as effective for optic nerve gliomas or gangliogliomas. Indeed, very few gliomas of any type are treated with pharmaceuticals; it is one of the categories of cancer that is the least responsive to drugs.
Lymphomas of the stomach are not commonly treated with anti-cancer agents per se, but instead, surgery or radiation and antibiotic therapy (e.g. amoxicillin, metronidazole, bismuth, and omeprazole) are the primary treatments.
Neuroendocrine tumors of the cervix generally do not respond to chemotherapy.
A number of sarcomas, including alveolar soft part sarcoma (ASPS), retroperitoneal sarcoma, most liposarcomas, and the assorted chondrosarcomas, are generally considered not to respond to chemotherapy; no chemotherapeutic agent has been established as effective.
It is important to note that tumors can need to be treated quite differently even though they are tumors of the same organ. For example, the drugs used most often to treat Wilms tumor, the most common malignant tumor of the kidneys in children, are actinomycin D and vincristine. Such drugs are never used with clear cell renal carcinoma, which is treated, although without much success, with immunotherapy using the cytokines interleukin-2 and interferon-alpha. However, such immunotherapy has never been established as effective in non-clear cell RCC forms such as papillary renal cell carcinoma. Despite strenuous efforts over a period of decades, no chemotherapeutic agent has ever been found effective against this cancer. Cancers of the stomach can be lymphomas, GISTs, carcinoid tumors, carcinomas, or soft tissue sarcomas, and for a single agent to be effective against all or even most of these categories would be contrary to what is known in oncology.
The scope of treating inflammation generally is extraordinarily broad. Inflammation is a process which can take place in virtually any part of the body. There is a vast range of forms that it can take, causes for the problem, and biochemical pathways that mediate the inflammatory reaction. It is one of the most pervasive of all body processes. Inflammation is a very general term which encompasses a huge variety of specific processes.
The scope of PAK1-related diseases and disorders additionally includes neurological disorders such as Alzheimer’s. The development of Alzheimer’s, its treatment, and its prophetic prevention is very unpredictable. Alzheimer’s can develop in an individual due to numerous factors, including genetics, age, environment, sex, family history, brain injury, and comorbidities. Current treatment for Alzheimer’s has shown no success in reversing or otherwise preventing the disease. Many approaches to treating Alzheimer’s, such as the amyloid hypothesis or anti-tau therapies, have thus far been unsuccessful.
2) The nature of the invention and predictability in the art.
With specific reference to cancer, Ex parte Kranz, 19 USPQ2d 1216, 1219 notes the "general unpredictability of the field [of] …anti-cancer treatment." In re Application of Hozumi et al., 226 USPQ 353 notes the "fact that the art of cancer chemotherapy is highly unpredictable". More generally, the invention is directed toward medicine and is therefore physiological in nature. It is well established that "the scope of enablement varies inversely with the degree of unpredictability of the factors involved," and physiological activity is generally considered to be an unpredictable factor. See In re Fisher, 427 F.2d 833, 839, 166 USPQ 18, 24 (CCPA 1970).
3) State of the Prior Art. The claimed compounds are of the generic formula of claim 1. So far as the examiner is aware these compounds have not been successfully used as broad range anticancer agents or for treating PAK1-related diseases and disorders generally.
4) Working Examples. Applicants have provided no working examples which are successfully used as broad range agents for treating cancer and/or PAK1-related diseases and disorders generally. Applicants have, however, demonstrated the cytotoxicity of Compound 1, Compound 3, and Compound 4 in human prostate cancer cells (specification, pages 20-23). Additionally, no working examples have been set forth that suggest the instant compounds would be effective in treating other PAK1-related diseases such as Alzheimer’s, or other cancers such as hematological cancers.
5) Skill of those in the art. Many, many mechanisms have been proposed over the decades as methods of treating the assorted cancers generally. Cytotoxic agents could be applied directly to the tumor cells, directly killing them. Immunotherapy involves stimulating the patient's immune system to attack cancer cells generally, either by immunization of the patient, in which case the patient's own immune system is trained to recognize tumor cells as targets, or by the administration of therapeutic antibodies as drugs, so the patient's immune system is recruited to destroy tumor cells by the therapeutic antibodies. Another approach would be to increase the amount or activity of the body's tumor suppressor genes, e.g. p53, PTEN, APC and CD95, which can for example activate DNA repair proteins, suppress the Akt/PKB signaling pathway, or initiate apoptosis of cancer cells. The angiogenesis inhibitor strategy was based on cutting off the blood supply that growing tumors need by shutting off the growth of new blood vessels by, for example, suppressing proliferation of endothelial cells or inducing apoptosis of endothelial cells. There is also the cancer stem cell paradigm, which hypothesizes that cancer could be treated generally, either by targeting the cancer stem cells themselves, or by targeting the epithelial-to-mesenchymal transition which supposedly generates the cancer stem cells. Yet another approach is to inhibit one or more of the assorted HSP90 proteins, which will supposedly disrupt the proper folding of signaling proteins that all cancers rely on. Inhibiting telomerase was said to be able to be able to simply stop cancer cells generally from being able to proliferate. Many of these approaches --- and there have been others as well --- have produced anti-cancer drugs. However, despite high hopes for success, and a plausible theory why these should work for cancers generally, none of these approaches have ever produced a drug which come remotely near such a goal.
Accordingly, there is substantive "reason for one skilled in the art to question the objective truth of the statement of utility or its scope" (In re Langer, 183 USPQ 288, 297), specifically, the scope of covering cancer generally. Moreover, even if applicants' assertion that cancer in general could be treated with these compounds were plausible --- which it is not ---, that "plausible" would not suffice, as was stated in Rasmusson v. SmithKline Beecham Corp., 75 USPQ2d 1297, 1301: "If mere plausibility were the test for enablement under section 112, applicants could obtain patent rights to "inventions" consisting of little more than respectable guesses as to the likelihood of their success."
6) Scope of the claims. The scope of the claims involves the compounds of the following formulae:
and their use as potential treatment to PAK1-related diseases and disorders, as well as cancers, thus, the scope of claims is very broad.
7) The quantity of experimentation needed. Given the fact that, historically, the development of new cancers drugs has been difficult and time consuming, and especially in view of factors 1 and 4 and 6, the quantity of experimentation needed is expected to be great.
MPEP 2164.01(a) states, "A conclusion of lack of enablement means that, based on the evidence regarding each of the above factors, the specification, at the time the application was filed, would not have taught one skilled in the art how to make and/or use the full scope of the claimed invention without undue experimentation. In re Wright, 999 F.2d 1557, 1562, 27 USPQ2d 1510, 1513 (Fed. Cir. 1993)." That conclusion is clearly justified here.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2 and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by SID 347805524 (PubChem; 2017; IDS filed 08/01/2025).
SID 347805524 discloses the following compound (p. 1).
The compound is within the scope of the instant claims wherein W and V are H, X is an attachment site, and Y and Z are methylene (CH2). Claim 6 necessarily requires the above compound and is also rejected.
Claim(s) 1, 4, and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Vojacek et al. (Archiv der Pharmazie; 2017; IDS filed 08/01/2025).
Vojacek et al. discloses the following compound, which was obtained by crystallizing the compound from solution (p. 7, Scheme 3).
The compound is identical to that of claim 4 wherein W and V are OH, Y is S, and X and Z are methylene (CH2).
Claim(s) 1-2 and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by Hay et al. (US 5011998 A; 1991).
Hay et al. discloses the compound (1-naphthylmethoxy)-1-naphthalene, in solution (col. 13, lines 52-54). The compound has the following structure (drawn via STN).
The compound is within the scope of the instant claims wherein W and V are H, X is an attachment site, Y is O, and Z is methylene (CH2).
Claim(s) 1 and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Minchin et al. (EP0345068A2; 1989).
Minchin et al. discloses the compound N,N-bis-(1-naphthalenemethyl)amine, crystallized from solution in ethanol (p. 18, line 4). The compound has the following structure (drawn via STN).
The compound is within the scope of the claims wherein W and V are H, Y is N, and X and Z are methylene (CH2).
Examiner notes that, in view of the above rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) over “N” lacking a third substituent, for purposes of moving prosecution forward “N” has been interpreted as “NH”.
Claim(s) 1 and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chen et al. (CN 104387252 A; 2015).
Chen et al. discloses the following compound (p. 10).
The compound is within the scope of the claims wherein W and V are H, X is CO, and Y and Z are methylene (CH2).
Claim(s) 1 and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Brozic et al. (Molecular and Cellular Endocrinology; 2009).
Brozic et al. discloses the following compound evaluated aldo-keto reductase 1C1 (p. 247, Table 1; Abstract).
The compound is within the scope of the claims wherein W and V are H, Y is S, and X and Z are methylene (CH2).
Examiner’s Note
Examiner notes that while claims 3, 5, and 7-14 are rejected, they are free of the art. The closest prior art to claims 3, 5, and 7-14 is Brozic et al. (Molecular and Cellular Endocrinology; 2009) who discloses the following compound, which was evaluated for activity against aldo-keto reductase 1C1 (AKR1C1) (p. 247, Table 1; Abstract).
However, Brozic et al. further discloses that the above compound was not selected as an inhibitor capable of inhibiting AKR1C1 in a low molecular range of IC50 values (p. 249, col. 1, par. 1; Table 2). Brozic et al. therefore teaches away from selecting the above compound for therapeutic use. One of ordinary skill in the art would not be motivated, based on the teachings of Brozic et al., to modify the above compound or compositions thereof to arrive at the instant invention.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
/MADELINE E BRAUN/Examiner, Art Unit 1624 07/16/2026