DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDSs) submitted on 7/26/24, 3/29/26 are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kondo et al. (US 9,424,966 B2).
Regarding claim 1, Kondo teaches a motor for a compressor, comprising:
a stator (62A) provided with an inner hole (62H, see examiner annotated fig. 7 below) and a plurality of stator slots (62S) in communication with the inner hole (62H), the plurality of stator slots (62S) being uniformly distributed in a circumferential direction of the stator (62A), a toothed portion (62T) being formed between any two adjacent stator slots (62S) among the plurality of stator slots, and a coil (62C) made of an aluminum-containing material (col 8 ln 14-18) being wound in the stator slots (62S) and/or around the toothed portion (62T) to form a winding (fig 7), wherein the winding comprises a first connecting portion (20, fig 1);
a rotor (64) located in the inner hole (62H), the rotor (64) rotating by means of electromagnetic induction of the coil (62C); and
a lead wire (30), which is a copper wire and has an end portion (30A, col 6 ln 65-68), the end portion (30A) being connected to the first connecting portion (20) via a first crimp terminal (50) so as to connect the winding to an external power supply,
wherein the first crimp terminal (50) wraps and presses the end portion (20) and the first connecting portion (30A) in an axial direction of the lead wire (fig 5), and a space defined by the first crimp terminal is filled with a tin material (col 7 ln 14-20).
Regarding claim 2, Kondo teaches the end portion (30A), the first connecting portion (20) and one end of the first crimp terminal (50) are flush with one another, and an outer surface of the first crimp terminal is coated with the tin material (col 7 ln 14-20).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3-4, 10, 12, 16-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kondo in view of Matsuoka et al. (US 2016/0064885 A1).
Regarding claim 3, Kondo teaches the claimed invention as set forth in claim 2, except for the added limitation of the first connecting portion comprises a first part with insulation removed, the end portion comprises a second part with insulation removed, and an axial length of the first part and an axial length of the second part are both larger than an axial length of the first crimp terminal.
Matsuoka teaches a method for connecting insulated wires having the first connecting portion (11) comprises a first part with insulation removed (fig 2A, para p0037]), the end portion (11) comprises a second part with insulation removed (fig 2A, para [0037]), and an axial length of the first part and an axial length of the second part (11) are both larger than an axial length of the first crimp terminal (20) to provide reliable electric and mechanical connection at a joint portion of the insulated wire (para [0012]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kondo’s motor with the first connecting portion comprises a first part with insulation removed, the end portion comprises a second part with insulation removed, and an axial length of the first part and an axial length of the second part are both larger than an axial length of the first crimp terminal as taught by Matsuoka. Doing so would provide reliable electric and mechanical connection at a joint portion of the insulated wire (para [0012]).
Regarding claim 4, Kondo teaches the claimed invention as set forth in claim 1, except for the added limitation of an insulating sleeve is disposed outside the first crimp terminal.
Matsuoka teaches a method for connecting insulated wires having an insulating sleeve (30) is disposed outside the first crimp terminal (20, fig 3B) to provide reliable electric and mechanical connection at a joint portion of the insulated wire (para [0012]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kondo’s motor with an insulating sleeve is disposed outside the first crimp terminal as taught by Matsuoka. Doing so would provide reliable electric and mechanical connection at a joint portion of the insulated wire (para [0012]).
Regarding claim 10, Kondo in view of Matsuoka teaches the claimed invention as set forth in claim 3, except for the added limitation of respective outer surfaces of the first connecting portion and of the end portion are both coated with the tin material.
Matsuoka further teaches a method for connecting insulated wires having respective outer surfaces of the first connecting portion and of the end portion are both coated with the tin material (para [0047]) to provide reliable electric and mechanical connection at a joint portion of the insulated wire (para [0012]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kondo in view of Matsuoka’s motor with respective outer surfaces of the first connecting portion and of the end portion are both coated with the tin material as further taught by Matsuoka. Doing so would provide reliable electric and mechanical connection at a joint portion of the insulated wire (para [0012]).
Regarding claim 12, Kondo in view of Matsuoka teaches the claimed invention as set forth in claim 10, except for the added limitation of a coating length of the tin material on the first connecting portion is greater than the axial length of the first part, and a coating length of the tin material on the end portion is greater than the axial length of the second part.
Matsuoka further teaches a method for connecting insulated wires having a coating length of the tin material on the first connecting portion (11) is greater than the axial length of the first part, and a coating length of the tin material on the end portion is greater than the axial length of the second part (11 para [0047]) to provide reliable electric and mechanical connection at a joint portion of the insulated wire (para [0012]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kondo in view of Matsuoka’s motor with a coating length of the tin material on the first connecting portion is greater than the axial length of the first part, and a coating length of the tin material on the end portion is greater than the axial length of the second part as further taught by Matsuoka. Doing so would provide reliable electric and mechanical connection at a joint portion of the insulated wire (para [0012]).
Regarding claim 16, Kondo teaches a method for processing a motor of a compressor(70), the motor comprising a stator (62A), a rotor (64) and a lead wire (30A), wherein the stator (62A) is provided with an inner hole (62H) and a plurality of stator slots (62S) in communication with the inner hole (62H), the plurality of stator slots (62A) are uniformly distributed in a circumferential direction of the stator (62A), a toothed portion (62T) is formed between any two adjacent stator slots (62S) among the plurality of stator slots, an aluminum coil (62C) is wound in the stator slots (62S) and/or around the toothed portion (62T) to form a winding which comprises a first connecting portion (20), the rotor (64) is located in the inner hole (62H), the rotor (64) rotates by means of electromagnetic induction of the coil (62C), and the lead wire (30) is a copper wire and has an end portion, the end portion (30) being connected to the first connecting portion (20) via a first crimp terminal (50) so as to connect the winding to an external power supply. However, Kondo does not teach removing insulation from the end portion and the first connecting portion, placing the end portion and the first connecting portion into the first crimp terminal, curling the first crimp terminal by means of a crimping process to wrap and press the end portion and the first connecting portion, filling a space defined by the first crimp terminal with a tin material; and sleeving an insulating sleeve onto the first crimp terminal.
Matsuoka teaches a method for connecting insulated wires having steps of removing insulation from the end portion (11) and the first connecting portion (11, fig 2A), placing the end portion and the first connecting portion into the first crimp terminal (20, fig 2B), curling the first crimp terminal (20) by means of a crimping process to wrap and press the end portion and the first connecting portion (11), filling a space defined by the first crimp terminal with a tin material (para [0047]); and sleeving an insulating sleeve (30) onto the first crimp terminal (20) to provide reliable electric and mechanical connection at a joint portion of the insulated wire (para [0012]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kondo’s method with removing insulation from the end portion and the first connecting portion, placing the end portion and the first connecting portion into the first crimp terminal, curling the first crimp terminal by means of a crimping process to wrap and press the end portion and the first connecting portion, filling a space defined by the first crimp terminal with a tin material; and sleeving an insulating sleeve onto the first crimp terminal as taught by Matsuoka. Doing so would provide reliable electric and mechanical connection at a joint portion of the insulated wire (para [0012]).
Regarding claim 17, Kondo in view of Matsuoka teaches the claimed invention as set forth in claim 16, Kondo further teaches before curling the first crimp terminal (50) by means of the crimping process to wrap and press the end portion (20) and the first connecting portion (30), the method comprises disposing the end portion (20), the first connecting portion (30) and the first crimp terminal (50) flush with one another.
Regarding claim 18, Kondo in view of Matsuoka teaches the claimed invention as set forth in claim 16, except for the added limitation of the insulation removal depth is less than 0.1 milimeters.
An artisan would have ordinary skill in the art to modify the insulation removal depth less than 0.1 mm for suitable fix in the crimp terminal to provide a mechanical connection at a joint portion.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kondo in view of Matsuoka’s method with the insulation removal depth less than 0.1 mm as recited in the instant claimed invention. Doing so would provide a mechanical connection at a joint portion, because it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Regarding claim 19, Kondo in view of Matsuoka teaches the claimed invention as set forth in claim 16, Kondo further teaches filling the space defined by the first crimp terminal with the tin material by means of tin-dipping soldering. However, Kondo does not teach the tin-dipping time is greater than or equal to 2 seconds.
An artisan would have ordinary skill in the art to modify the tin-dipping time is greater than or equal to 2 seconds for suitable fix in the crimp terminal to provide a mechanical connection at a joint portion.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kondo in view of Matsuoka’s method with the tin-dipping time is greater than or equal to 2 seconds as recited in the instant claimed invention. Doing so would provide a mechanical connection at a joint portion, because it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Regarding claim 20, Kondo in view of Matsuoka teaches the claimed invention as set forth in claim 16, Kondo further teaches the insulating sleeve is a heat-shrinkable sleeve (col 14, ln 30-35).
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kondo in view of Nishiki et al. (US 6,648,618 B2).
Regarding claim 15, Kondo teaches the claimed invention as set forth in claim 1, Kondo further teaches a scroll compressor (70) comprising a shell (housing), the motor (60) located in the shell and configured to provide a driving force. However, Kondo does not teach a compression unit located in the shell and comprising an orbiting scroll and a fixed scroll, the orbiting scroll and the fixed scroll engaging with each other to form a compression chamber; and a crankshaft mechanism, one end of the crankshaft mechanism being connected to the orbiting scroll, and the other end of the crankshaft mechanism being connected to the motor, such that the motor drives the crankshaft mechanism so as to drive the compression unit to perform compression.
Nishiki teaches a scroll compressor having a compression unit (fig 1) located in the shell (10) and comprising an orbiting scroll (2) and a fixed scroll (1), the orbiting scroll (2) and the fixed scroll (1) engaging with each other to form a compression chamber (fig 1); and a crankshaft mechanism (4), one end of the crankshaft mechanism being connected to the orbiting scroll (2), and the other end of the crankshaft mechanism being connected to the motor (7-8), such that the motor drives the crankshaft mechanism (4) so as to drive the compression unit to perform compression, thus improving reliability (col 7 ln 4-6).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kondo’s motor with a compression unit located in the shell and comprising an orbiting scroll and a fixed scroll, the orbiting scroll and the fixed scroll engaging with each other to form a compression chamber; and a crankshaft mechanism, one end of the crankshaft mechanism being connected to the orbiting scroll, and the other end of the crankshaft mechanism being connected to the motor, such that the motor drives the crankshaft mechanism so as to drive the compression unit to perform compression as taught by Nishiki. Doing so would improve reliability (col 7 ln 4-6).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-8, 11, 13-14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: the record of prior art by itself or in combination with other references does not show a motor wherein the winding is a three-phase winding, each phase winding of the three-phase winding comprises a second connecting portion, a second crimp terminal wraps and presses the second connecting portion in an axial direction of the second connecting portion, the second connecting portion and one end of the second crimp terminal are flush with each other, an outer surface of the second crimp terminal is coated with the tin material, and a space defined by the second crimp terminal is filled with the tin material, as recited in claim 5.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Frey (US 3,728,665 A) teaches an improved electrical connector having a calculably determinable number of suitably formed generally upstanding piercing members selectively disposed on at least one surface of a base member and selectively proportioned to provide a predetermined, sufficiently extensive area of contact between the conductor contacting portion of each piercing member and the conductive portion of an adjacently disposed insulated or non-insulated conductor.
Sato et al. (US 2015/0140856 A1) teaches a crimped terminal attached aluminum electric wire includes an aluminum electric wire that includes a conductor part made of aluminum or aluminum alloy and an insulative coating part which surrounds the periphery of the conductor part, and a crimped terminal that is crimped to the conductor part which is exposed by removing the insulative coating part at an end of the aluminum electric wire. The crimped terminal includes a conductor crimping part which is crimped to the exposed conductor part, and an end side conductor crimping part which is formed at an end at the side of the crimped terminal to which the aluminum electric wire is connected, and which is crimped to the conductor part at a radial compression rate which is smaller than that at which the conductor part is crimped by the conductor crimping part.
/LEDA T PHAM/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834