DETAILED ACTION
2. This Office Action is in response to application filed on 07/26/2024. Claims 1-3, 6-7, 12-14, 42-53 were previously pending. Claims 1-3, 6-7, 12-14, 42-53 are rejected.
Information Disclosure Statement
3. The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 07/26/2024, 06/23/2025, 07/01/2025, 12/02/2025 is/are is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the IDS(s) is/are being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
4.1. The drawings FIG. 3 is/are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) S3031, mentioned in the description [0196].
4.2. The drawings FIG. 6 is/are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) S603, S604, S605, mentioned in the description [0167, 186], [0188], [0193] respectively.
4.3. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Specification
5. The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: “Method for determining the random access response (RAR) window's start position based on the first or second random access occasions RO, establishing precise RAR reception times.
Claim Objections
6. Claims 12, 42, 49 objected to because of the following informalities: “a second CSS” should be –a second common search space (CSS)--. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
7.1. The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action:
7.2. Claim(s) 1-3, 6, 14, 43-47, 51-53 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Zhang et al., (“Zhang”, US 2023/0209606 A1)
Regarding Claim 1, Zhang teaches, A random access (RA) method, applied to a terminal device (FIG.10, UE 115) and comprising (Zhang, FIG.10, [0122]: UE 115 utilizes a pool of RA preambles and a pool of ROs for RA in a PRACH configuration):
sending a first preamble (410) at a first random access channel occasion (RO) (402a), and sending a second preamble (416) at a second RO (402d) (Zhang, FIG.10, ROs 402, PRACH preamble 410, 412, 414, 416, [0121]: UE 115 transmits the PRACH preamble sequences 410, 412, 414, 416 each in one of the multiple ROs 402a (“1st RO”), 402b, 402c, 402d (“2nd RO”)); and
receiving a random access response (RAR) in a RAR window (1004), wherein a start position of the RAR window is determined based on the first RO (402a) or the second RO (402d) (Zhang, FIG.10, RAR window 1004, [0125]: the RAR window 1004 start after an offset from an latest RO (402d) of the multiple ROs).
Regarding Claim 2, Zhang teaches, The RA method according to claim 1, wherein the first RO (402a) is located before the second RO (402d) (Zhang, FIG.10, [0124]: the earliest 402a (“1st RO) is located before 402d (“2nd RO”).
Regarding Claim 3, Zhang teaches, The RA method according to claim 2, wherein the first RO (402a) is a start RO for initiating a random access procedure (RAP), and the second RO (402d) is a last RO for initiating the RAP (Zhang, [0124, 43] the RAR window 1004 may start after an offset from an earliest RO 402a (“1st RO”) of the multiple ROs, or a latest RO 402d (“2nd RO”) of the multiple RO. ([0120]: in FIG.10, The x-axis represents time in some arbitrary units and shows RO 402d is the last of the multiple RO).
Regarding Claim 6, Zhang teaches, The RA method according to claim 2, wherein the start position of the RAR window (1004) is determined based on the second RO (402d), which comprises:
determining the start position of the RAR window (1004) after an end position of the second RO (402d) (Zhang, [0124]: the RAR window 1004 may start after an offset from a latest RO 402d (“2nd RO”) of the multiple RO).
Regarding Claim 14, Zhang teaches, The RA method according to claim 1, further comprising:
determining a random access radio network temporary identifier (RA-RNTI) (1020) based on the first RO (402a) or the second RO (402d) (Zhang, FIG.10, RA-RNTI 1020, [0121]: UE 115 may determine an RA-RNTI 1020 for the multiple ROs 402 where the UE 115 transmitted the random access preamble using a formulation).
Regarding Claim 43, Zhang teaches, An electronic device (FIG.10, UE 115), comprising:
at least one processor (1202); and
at least one memory (1204) communicatively connected to the processor (1202);
wherein the at least one memory (1204) stores a computer program (1208) executable by the at least one processor, the at least one processor runs the computer program (1208) to implement a random access (RA) method, and the RA method comprises (Zhang, FIG.12, RA module 1208, [0138]: RA module 1208 may be implemented as a processor, circuit, and/or instructions 1206 stored in the memory 1204 and executed by the processor 1202):
sending a first preamble (410) at a first random access channel occasion (RO) (402a) , and sending a second preamble (416) at a second RO (402d) (Zhang, FIG.10, ROs 402, PRACH preamble 410, 412, 414, 416, [0121]: UE 115 transmits the random access PRACH preamble sequences 410, 412, 414, 416 each in one of the multiple ROs 402a (“1st RO”), 402b, 402c 402d (“2nd RO”)); and
receiving a random access response (RAR) in a RAR window (1004), wherein a start position of the RAR window (1004) is determined based on the first RO (402a) or the second RO (402d) (Zhang, FIG.10, RAR window 1004, [0125]: the RAR window 1004 start after an offset from an latest RO (402d) of the multiple ROs)).
Regarding Claims 44-47, see similar rejection to Claims 2, 3, 6, 6 respectively.
Regarding Claim 51, see similar rejection to Claim 14.
Regarding Claim 52, Zhang teaches, A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium (FIG.12, 1204), wherein the computer-readable storage medium (1204) stores a computer program (1208), and the computer program is run by a computer (1200) to implement a random access (RA) method, and the RA method comprises (Zhang, FIG.12, [0137-138]: The memory 1204 includes a non-transitory computer-readable medium. The memory 1204 may store, or have recorded thereon, instructions 1206. The instructions 1206 may include instructions that, when executed by the processor 1202, cause the processor 1202 to perform the operations.):
sending a first preamble (410) at a first random access channel occasion (RO) (402a), and sending a second preamble (416) at a second RO (402d) (Zhang, FIG.6, ROs 402, PRACH preamble 410, 412, 414, 416, [0091]: UE 115 transmits the random access PRACH preamble sequences 410, 412, 414, 416 each in one of the multiple ROs 402a (“1st RO”), 402b, 402c, 402d (“2nd RO”)); and
receiving a random access response (RAR) in a RAR window (1004), wherein a start position of the RAR window (1004) is determined based on the first RO (402a) or the second RO (402d) (Zhang, FIG.10, RAR window 1004, [0125]: the RAR window 1004 start after an offset from an latest RO (402d) of the multiple ROs).
Regarding Claim 53, see similar rejection to Claim 2.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
8.1. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action:
8.2. The factual inquiries for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows:
8.3. Claim(s) 7, 48 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over by Zhang et al., (“Zhang”, US 2023/0209606 A1) in view of Shrestha et al., (“Shrestha”, US 2023/0094907 A1).
Regarding Claim 7, Zhang teaches, The RA method according to claim 6.
Zhang does not expressly teach wherein the start position of the RAR window (1004) is separated from the end position of the second RO (402d) by at least one time unit, but Shrestha teaches wherein the start position of the RAR window is separated from the end position of the second RO by at least one time unit (Shrestha, FIG.1, UE 104, [0027], FIG.7, S702, [0057]: The first timing offset parameter may specified as a minimum gap used between the transmission of the last repetition of the preamble and the start position of the RAR window to maintain synchronization between the UE and network., S706, [0059]: the UE 104 may monitor for a RAR within a RAR window with a start position determined based at least in part on a RA occasion (e.g., the RA occasion used at step 704), the first timing offset parameter. For example, the RAR window may start at the subframe (or slot) that includes the end of the preamble transmission or last preamble repetition (at step 704) plus X′ subframes (or slots)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to perform RA method as taught by Zhang, to determine the start position of the RAR window is separated from the end position of the last RO by at least one time unit, as taught by Shrestha.
Doing so provides a method to perform a RA method and the determination of start position of the RAR window is separated from the end position of the second RO by at least one time unit (Shrestha, FIG.7, [0057-59]).
Regarding Claim 48, see similar rejection to Claim 7.
8.4. Claim(s) 42 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over by Zhang et al., (“Zhang”, US 2023/0209606 A1) in view of Shrestha et al., (“Shrestha”, US 2023/0094907 A1), and further in view of Xiong et al., (“Xiong”, US 2020/0374928 A1).
Regarding Claim 42, Zhang-Shrestha teaches, The RA method according to of claim 7
Zhang-Shrestha does not expressly teaches wherein the start position of the RAR window is determined based on a second CSS, and the second CSS is a Type1-CSS corresponding to a downlink reference signal associated with the second RO, but Xiong teaches wherein the start position of the RAR window is determined based on a second CSS, and the second CSS is a Type1-CSS corresponding to a downlink reference signal associated with the second RO (Xiong, [0028-29]: the RAR window starts at the first symbol of the earliest COntrol REsource SET (CORESET) on which the UE is configured to receive Physical Downlink Control Channel (PDCCH) for Type 1-PDCCH Common Search Space (CSS) set, that is at least one symbol after the last symbol of the PRACH occasion corresponding to the PRACH transmission. The symbol duration may correspond to the subcarrier spacing (SCS) for Type 1-PDCCH CSS set).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to perform RA method as taught by Zhang-Shrestha, to determine wherein the start position of the RAR window is separated from the end position of the second RO by at least one time unit, as taught by Xiong.
Doing so provides a method to perform a RA method and the determination of start position of the RAR window is separated from the end position of the second RO by at least one time unit (Xiong, [0028-29]).
8.5. Claim(s) 12-13, 49-50 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over by Zhang et al., (“Zhang”, US 2023/0209606 A1) in view of Xiong et al., (“Xiong”, US 2020/0374928 A1).
Regarding Claim 12, Zhang teaches, The RA method according to of claim 6.
Zhang does not expressly teach wherein the start position of the RAR window (1004) is determined based on a second CSS, and the second CSS is a Type1-CSS corresponding to a downlink reference signal associated with the second RO (402d), but Xiong teaches wherein the start position of the RAR window is determined based on a second CSS, and the second CSS is a Type1-CSS corresponding to a downlink reference signal associated with the second RO (Xiong, [0028-29]: the RAR window starts at the first symbol of the earliest COntrol REsource SET (CORESET) on which the UE is configured to receive Physical Downlink Control Channel (PDCCH) for Type 1-PDCCH Common Search Space (CSS) set, that is at least one symbol after the last symbol of the PRACH occasion corresponding to the PRACH transmission. The symbol duration may correspond to the subcarrier spacing (SCS) for Type 1-PDCCH CSS set).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to perform RA method as taught by Zhang, to determine wherein the start position of the RAR window is separated from the end position of the second RO by at least one time unit, as taught by Xiong.
Doing so provides a method to perform a RA method and the determination of start position of the RAR window is separated from the end position of the second RO by at least one time unit (Xiong, [0028-29]).
Regarding Claim 13, Zhang teaches, The RA method according to claim 12, wherein the start position of the RAR window is a first monitoring position (Zhang, [0043]: The RAR window may begin (“start position”) after a last RO (402d) (“2nd RO) of the multiple ROs).
Zhang does not expressly teach a first monitoring position of the second CSS.
Xiong teaches (Xiong, [0028-29]: the RAR window starts at the first symbol of the earliest COntrol REsource SET (CORESET) on which the UE is configured to receive Physical Downlink Control Channel (PDCCH) for Type 1-PDCCH Common Search Space (CSS) set, that is at least one symbol after the last symbol of the PRACH occasion corresponding to the PRACH transmission. The symbol duration may correspond to the subcarrier spacing (SCS) for Type 1-PDCCH CSS set).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to determine the start position of the RAR window as taught by Zhang, to begin monitoring for a RAR starts at the first position of the second CSS as taught by Xiong.
Doing so provides a method to determine the start position of the RAR window is a first monitoring position of the second CSS (Xiong, [0028-29]).
Regarding Claims 49-50 see similar rejection to Claims 12-13 respectively.
Conclusion
9. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure.
Turtinen et al., US 2022/0159728 A1, Method For Indication Of Random Access Response Transmission In Long Term Evolution System, Involves Providing Random Access Channel Occasion (RO) To Lower Layer And Receiving Indication Of RO From Lower Layer Succeeding Listen Before Talk.
/C.L./
Examiner
Art Unit 2418
/Moo Jeong/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2418