DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-4, 6-10, 12, and 15-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schmitt et al. (US 2018/0344174; hereinafter Schmitt) in view of Brauer et al. (US 2023/0130046; hereinafter Brauer) and Dzenis et al. (US 2012/0084064; hereinafter Dzenis).
Schmitt shows a system and method for recommending a treatment of a vessel, the system for use in conjunction with an intravascular imaging system, the intravascular imaging system configured for obtaining a plurality of images of the vessel and providing information on location of each image of the plurality of images along a longitudinal length of the vessel ([0057]-[0059]), the system comprising a processor, wherein the processor is adapted to: receive a plurality of intravascular images of the vessel at respective locations along the vessel ([0057]-[0059]); determine, from the plurality of images, at least one cross sectional area of a portion of the vessel ([0076]); determine, from the plurality of images and the respective locations of the plurality of images along the vessel, a flow resistance ([0077]-[0078], [0113], [0125]-[0126], [0129]); and output a treatment recommendation based on the at least one cross sectional area of the vessel and the flow resistance ([0114]-[0117], [0119]-[0121]).
Schmitt also shows wherein the treatment recommendation is based on at least one of: the at least one cross-sectional area being within a first predetermined range (stent optimization, create arrays of area and diameter for each cross-section along the vessel; [0121]); and the flow resistance being within a second predetermined range (stent optimization, VRR; [0117]-[0121]); wherein outputting the treatment recommendation is based on a decision tree comprising an assessment of the flow resistance is within a second predetermined range (stent optimization encompasses a decision tree, as the processor decides an appropriate sized stent based on the area of the vessel and the resistance; [0121]); determine, from the plurality of images, multiple cross sectional areas of a portion of the vessel at respective locations of the plurality of images along the vessel ([0076]-[0077]); determine, from the multiple cross sectional areas and the respective locations of the images along the vessel, a cumulative flow resistance ([0078]); and output a treatment recommendation based on the cumulative flow resistance and the at least one of the multiple cross sectional areas ([0114]-[0117], [0119]-[0121]); wherein the treatment recommendation is based on a reduction of the at least one cross sectional area with respect to the cross sectional area without lesion above a predetermined threshold and based on the flow resistance (stent recommendation based on all calculated cross sectional area segments of the vessel and corresponding resistance of each segment, including both lesion and lesion free segments of the vessel; [0078], [0113]-[0114]); wherein the flow resistance is calculated as a fraction of the flow resistance of the vessel without lesion ([0078], [0113]); wherein outputting the treatment recommendation comprises recommending a stent from a plurality of stents ([0117], [0121]); wherein the intravascular imaging system comprises one or more of an intravascular ultrasound system and optical coherence tomography system ([0057]); a motorized pullback device ([0058]).
Schmitt fails to show determine a reference cross sectional area of the vessel without the lesion, wherein the at least one cross-sectional area at the lesion is determined as a fraction of the reference cross sectional area.
Schmitt fails to show determine whether or not the at least one cross-sectional area is within a first predetermined range for generating the treatment recommendation. Schmitt also fails to show wherein the first predetermined range is a range of the fraction of the reference cross sectional area; wherein, to generate the treatment recommendation, the processor is adapted to: generate the treatment recommendation independently of whether or not the flow resistance is within the second predetermined range, when the at least one cross sectional area at the lesion is outside the first predetermined range; and generate the treatment recommendation based on whether or not the flow resistance is within the second predetermined range when the at least one cross sectional area at the lesion is within the first predetermined range; wherein the second predetermined range depends on the at least one cross sectional area at the lesion.
Schmitt fails to show wherein the flow resistance R is given by: R=f/x2R0, R0 where R0 is the flow resistance of the vessel without reduced cross sectional area due to lesion, f is the length of a section with reduced cross sectional area, due to lesion, as a fraction of the length of the vessel and x is the reduced cross sectional area of the vessel as a fraction of the cross sectional area of the vessel being free from lesion.
Brauer discloses systems and methods for displaying stenosis measurements and calculations. Brauer teaches determine a reference cross sectional area of the vessel without the lesion, wherein the at least one cross-sectional area at the lesion is determined as a fraction of the reference cross sectional area ([0038]).
Dzenis discloses model-based systems and methods for analyzing and predicting outcomes of vascular intervention and reconstruction. Dzenis teaches determine whether or not the at least one cross-sectional area is within a first predetermined range for generating the treatment recommendation (computing maxima/minima and/or areas/volumes over a threshold for quantitative comparison of multiple treatment options, [0076]; [0053], [0061]-[0063], [0091]-[0092], [0108]-[0109], [0117]). Dzenis also teaches wherein the first predetermined range is a range of the fraction of the reference cross sectional area ([0076]; [0053], [0061]-[0063], [0091]-[0092], [0108]-[0109], [0117]); wherein, to generate the treatment recommendation, the processor is adapted to: generate the treatment recommendation independently of whether or not the flow resistance is within the second predetermined range, when the at least one cross sectional area at the lesion is outside the first predetermined range ([0076]; [0053], [0061]-[0063], [0091]-[0092], [0108]-[0109], [0117]); and generate the treatment recommendation based on whether or not the flow resistance is within the second predetermined range when the at least one cross sectional area at the lesion is within the first predetermined range; wherein the second predetermined range depends on the at least one cross sectional area at the lesion ([0076]; [0053], [0061]-[0063], [0091]-[0092], [0108]-[0109], [0117]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the invention of Schmitt to determine a reference cross sectional area of the vessel without the lesion, wherein the at least one cross-sectional area at the lesion is determined as a fraction of the reference cross sectional area as taught by Bauer, as Bauer teaches that a variety of stenosis type measurements may be performed, and where characterizing the lesion in relation to a healthy/reference region of the vessel allows for a more accurate evaluation of the stenosis for the particular patient being evaluated
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the combined invention of Schmitt and Bauer to determine whether the area is within a range for generating the treatment recommendation as taught by Dzenis, as it would be within the level of one of ordinary skill in the art to account for additional known diagnostic variables to improve the overall accuracy of the treatment recommendation. Furthermore, Bauer teaches utilizing a reference cross-sectional area for analyzing the vessel, and it would be within the level of one of ordinary skill in the art, without undue experimentation, to apply a specific geometrical evaluation of the blood vessel such as related to a reference cross-sectional area, in the treatment evaluation of Dzenis, as Dzenis teaches that geometrical features of the blood vessel may be analyzed when comparing treatment options (results mapping over blood vessel sections, including regions where factors exceed set thresholds, [0117]; [0053], [0062], [0108]-[0109]).
Furthermore, Schmitt teaches resistance equations which account for different lengths of the vessel including segments including a lesion and segments of the vessel being free from lesion ([0082], [0091]). Lacking further criticality or unexpected results, the equations of Schmitt are considered a suitable equivalent to the claimed equation R=f/x2R0, as the equations of Schmitt account for flow resistance along the different lengths of the vessel including both a lesion segment and lesion free segment, and provide the same end result of obtaining diagnostic values to output a treatment recommendation such as an appropriately sized stent.
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schmitt et al. (US 2018/0344174; hereinafter Schmitt) in view of Brauer et al. (US 2023/0130046; hereinafter Brauer) and Dzenis et al. (US 2012/0084064; hereinafter Dzenis) as applied to claim 9 above, and further in view of Eck et al. (US 2010/0049034; hereinafter Eck).
Schmitt fails to show an X-ray imaging system for determining a location of an intravascular imaging device of the intravascular imaging system.
Eck discloses vessel imaging techniques. Eck teaches an X-ray imaging system for determining a location of an intravascular imaging device of the intravascular imaging system ([0020]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the combined invention of Schmitt, Bauer, and Dzenis to utilize x-ray imaging to locate the intravascular imaging device as taught by Eck, in order to visualize the location of the device to thereby more accurately correlate the obtained measurement data with the corresponding vessel segment.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/JONATHAN CWERN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3797