DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of the invention of Group I (claims 1-10) and the species Ex. 97 (shown below) in the reply filed on 09/29/2026 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Regarding applicant’s remarks, applicant is reminded that a timely filed traverse is required to preserve the right to petition. See MPEP 818.01(c) and 37 C.F.R. 1.144.
Examiner searched the species of Ex. 97 and did not find art. Examiner expanded the search scope to the species of claim 6 and did not find art. Examiner further expanded the search to that of Ex. 3 and 6 in claim 5 and found art. Claims 1-10 read on the search scope.
Claims 11-31 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 09/29/2026.
Priority
Examiner acknowledges that, according to the Filing receipt received 01/28/2025, that the instant application 18/833,591 filed 07/26/2024 is a 371 of PCT/US2023/061507 filed 01/27/2023, which claims benefit of U.S. provisional application 63/304,151 filed 01/28/2022.
However, the limitations of the instant claims are not adequately supported or enabled in the manner provided by 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or pre-AIA U.S.C. 112, first paragraph by 63/304,151. More specifically, the limitations of R1 or R2, R2 or R3, or R3 or R4 optionally forming a substituted bicyclic group and Ex. 41-116 are not taught or suggested in their entirety by 63/304,151. Other deficiencies may be present. As such, all the instant claims have been awarded the effective filing date of PCT/US2023/061507 filed 01/27/2023.
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statement filed on 07/26/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97 and has been considered in full. A signed copy of list of references cited from the IDS is included with this Office Action.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: page 44, lines 23-24, "intrathecal" is listed twice.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “wherein R1, R2, R3, R4, R5, or R6 is…”. The R variables are set forth in the alternative (i.e., “or”) which suggests that only one of R1-R6 needs to be one of the subsequently listed alternatives (“hydrogen… halo…”). It is therefore unclear whether each of R1-R6 are independently selected from the subsequent list of alternatives or if R1-R6 can be a different moiety that has not been listed. Correction is required.
Regarding claim 1, the phrase "e.g." renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claim 1 recites “C3-10cycloalkyl (e.g., phenyl)”, “halogen-substituted C3-10cycloalkyl (e.g., chlorophenyl)”, “C3-10cycloalkoxy (e.g., phenyl propoxy)”, and “alkoxy C3-10cycloalkyl (e.g., methoxy phenyl)”. However, phenyl is not a cycloalkyl as it aromatic and fully unsaturated. The instant specification does not clearly redefine cycloalkyl to include aryl groups, as such the scope of the claim is unclear.
Claim 1 recites “halogen substituted C1-8alkyl (e.g., trifluoromethyl, trifluorobutoxy, trifluoropentoxy)”. However, neither butoxy nor pentoxy are alkyl groups. The scope of the claim is unclear.
Claim 1 recites “R1 or R2, R2 or R3, or R3 or R4 optionally form a ring”. The alternative phrase “or” causes confusion as it is unclear how “R1 or R2” is intended to form a ring. Does only R1, R2, R3, or R4 form a ring (spirocyclic) or does applicant mean “R1 and R2, R2 and R3, or R3 and R4” form a ring fused to the core structure of formula (I)? For purposes of examination, the latter interpretation has been adopted by the examiner. However, correction is required.
Claims 2-10 do not clarify the aforementioned limitations at issue and are also rejected.
Claims 5 and 6 recite “or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof, including all tautomers and stereoisomers, and optionally substituted analogs thereof”. This limitation is unclear as it cannot be ascertained whether “tautomers and stereoisomers, and optionally substituted analogs thereof” only pertains to the pharmaceutically acceptable salt or if tautomers, stereoisomers, and optionally substituted analogs of formula (I) are also within the scope of the claim.
Claims 5 and 6 recite “optionally substituted analogs thereof”. The term “optionally substituted analog” renders the claims indefinite as analogs do not have a defined structure known in the art. Moreover, an analog that is “optionally substituted” provides for a virtually infinite number of compounds. One could not possibly envisage all the possibilities of an optionally substituted analog of any compound of the instant invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(d)
Claims 2-6 and 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Claim 2 sets forth compounds of Ex 48 and 97. Claim 4 sets forth Ex 97. Ex 48 and 97 are not within the scope of claim 1 as pyridinyl (substituted or unsubstituted) is not a listed alternative for R1-R6.
Claims 2 and 3 recite “the autophagy modulating agent is… a 5,6-disubstituted quinolone”. This limitation does not clearly incorporate the limitations of the claim from which 2 and 3 depend, wherein “5,6-disubstituted” is broader in scope than the substituents set forth in claim 1 and “quinolone” does not delineate where the oxo substituent is located on the quinoline.
Claims 5 and 6 recite “or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof, including tautomers and stereoisomers, and optionally substituted analogs thereof”. However, these limitations are not within the scope of claim 1. Claims 5 and 6 therefore fail to incorporate the limitations of the claim from which they depend.
Claim 5 sets forth compounds of Ex 11, 12, and 27. These compounds are not within the scope of claim 1 because halogen-substituted alkoxy is not a listed alternative for R1-R6.
Claim 6 sets forth compounds of Ex 44, 45, 48, 53, 54, 56, 65, 67, 74, 75, 79, 80, 83, 84, 85, 86, 89, 90, 91, 93, 94, 95, 96, 97, 98, 99, 100, 102, 103, 107, 109, 110, 111, 114, 115, and 116. These compounds are not within the scope of claim 1 because thio or alkylthio, pyridinyl, substituted piperidinyl, piperazinyl, substituted pyrimidinyl, bridged heterocyclyl, fused heterocyclyl, and hydroxyl are not listed alternatives for R1-R6, nor can the carbons of the core quinolone be replaced with heteroatoms.
Claims 8-10 set forth inherent properties and/or an intended use of the compounds of formula (I). Inherent properties do not further limit a claimed compound, nor is intended use given substantial patentable weight. These claims therefore fail to further limit the claim from which they depend.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 5, and 7-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Oh et al. (Nature Neuroscience; 2022).
Oh et al. discloses a composition comprising the following compound in DMSO (p. 1426, Fig. 4). The compound is identical to that of Ex. 3 as in instant claim 5.
Oh et al. further discloses that G2-115 enhances autophagy and rescues medium spiny neurons from fibroblasts of patients with Huntington’s disease from degeneration (p. 1423, col. 2, par. 3).
Claim(s) 1, 5, and 7-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Yoo et al. (US 2024/0011034 A1; effectively filed 2022).
Yoo et al. discloses a composition comprising the following compound (Fig. 7A; p. 27-28 bridging paragraph [0151]).
Yoo et al. further discloses that G2-115 enhances autophagy and rescues medium spiny neurons from fibroblasts of patients with Huntington’s disease from degeneration (p. 27-28 bridging paragraph [0151]).
The applied reference has a common assignee with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2). This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B) if the same invention is not being claimed; or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed in the reference and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/103
Claim(s) 1, 5, and 7-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Zaragoza et al. (Journal of Medicinal Chemistry; 2005).
Zaragoza et al. discloses a composition comprising 5,7-dichloro-2-quinolone in DMSO (p. 309, col. 1) which has the following structure (drawn by STN).
The compound is identical to that of Ex. 3 as in claim 5. While Zaragoza et al. is silent as to the properties of the above compound as an autophagy modulating agent having autophagy modulating activity, being an autophagy enhancing or pathway modulating agent, or being used to treat an autophagy-associated disease, disorder, or condition, MPEP 2112 states:
“I. SOMETHING WHICH IS OLD DOES NOT BECOME PATENTABLE UPON THE DISCOVERY OF A NEW PROPERTY
"[T]he discovery of a previously unappreciated property of a prior art composition, or of a scientific explanation for the prior art’s functioning, does not render the old composition patentably new to the discoverer." Atlas Powder Co. v. IRECO Inc., 190 F.3d 1342, 1347, 51 USPQ2d 1943, 1947 (Fed. Cir. 1999). Thus the claiming of a new use, new function or unknown property which is inherently present in the prior art does not necessarily make the claim patentable. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1254, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). In In re Crish, 393 F.3d 1253, 1258, 73 USPQ2d 1364, 1368 (Fed. Cir. 2004), the court held that the claimed promoter sequence obtained by sequencing a prior art plasmid that was not previously sequenced was anticipated by the prior art plasmid which necessarily possessed the same DNA sequence as the claimed oligonucleotides. The court stated that "just as the discovery of properties of a known material does not make it novel, the identification and characterization of a prior art material also does not make it novel." Id.”
Furthermore, while the claims are directed toward a composition, the properties as recited in the instant claims are that of the compound itself. Regarding properties and functions of identical structures, MPEP 2112.01 states:
I. PRODUCT AND APPARATUS CLAIMS — WHEN THE STRUCTURE RECITED IN THE REFERENCE IS SUBSTANTIALLY IDENTICAL TO THAT OF THE CLAIMS, CLAIMED PROPERTIES OR FUNCTIONS ARE PRESUMED TO BE INHERENT
Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). "When the PTO shows a sound basis for believing that the products of the applicant and the prior art are the same, the applicant has the burden of showing that they are not." In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). Therefore, the prima facie case can be rebutted by evidence showing that the prior art products do not necessarily possess the characteristics of the claimed product. In re Best, 562 F.2d at 1255, 195 USPQ at 433. See also Titanium Metals Corp. v. Banner, 778 F.2d 775, 227 USPQ 773 (Fed. Cir. 1985) (Claims were directed to a titanium alloy containing 0.2-0.4% Mo and 0.6-0.9% Ni having corrosion resistance. A Russian article disclosed a titanium alloy containing 0.25% Mo and 0.75% Ni but was silent as to corrosion resistance. The Federal Circuit held that the claim was anticipated because the percentages of Mo and Ni were squarely within the claimed ranges. The court went on to say that it was immaterial what properties the alloys had or who discovered the properties because the composition is the same and thus must necessarily exhibit the properties.).
Since the compound of Zaragoza et al. is identical to that of Ex. 3 as in the instant claims, it is presumed that the two compounds necessarily share the same properties and/or functions. As such, the instantly claimed invention is anticipated by and/or prima facie obvious over the disclosure of Zaragoza et al.
Claim(s) 1-3, 5, and 7-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Neeb et al. (WO 2008/011551; 2008).
Neeb et al. discloses a composition comprising the following compound (p. 47).
The compound is identical to that of Ex. 6 as in claim 5 and is a 5,6-disubstituted quinolone. While Neeb et al. is silent as to the properties of the above compound as an autophagy modulating agent having autophagy modulating activity, being an autophagy enhancing or pathway modulating agent, or being used to treat an autophagy-associated disease, disorder, or condition, MPEP 2112 states:
“I. SOMETHING WHICH IS OLD DOES NOT BECOME PATENTABLE UPON THE DISCOVERY OF A NEW PROPERTY
"[T]he discovery of a previously unappreciated property of a prior art composition, or of a scientific explanation for the prior art’s functioning, does not render the old composition patentably new to the discoverer." Atlas Powder Co. v. IRECO Inc., 190 F.3d 1342, 1347, 51 USPQ2d 1943, 1947 (Fed. Cir. 1999). Thus the claiming of a new use, new function or unknown property which is inherently present in the prior art does not necessarily make the claim patentable. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1254, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). In In re Crish, 393 F.3d 1253, 1258, 73 USPQ2d 1364, 1368 (Fed. Cir. 2004), the court held that the claimed promoter sequence obtained by sequencing a prior art plasmid that was not previously sequenced was anticipated by the prior art plasmid which necessarily possessed the same DNA sequence as the claimed oligonucleotides. The court stated that "just as the discovery of properties of a known material does not make it novel, the identification and characterization of a prior art material also does not make it novel." Id.”
Furthermore, while the claims are directed toward a composition, the properties as recited in the instant claims are that of the compound itself. Regarding properties and functions of identical structures, MPEP 2112.01 states:
“I. PRODUCT AND APPARATUS CLAIMS — WHEN THE STRUCTURE RECITED IN THE REFERENCE IS SUBSTANTIALLY IDENTICAL TO THAT OF THE CLAIMS, CLAIMED PROPERTIES OR FUNCTIONS ARE PRESUMED TO BE INHERENT
Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). "When the PTO shows a sound basis for believing that the products of the applicant and the prior art are the same, the applicant has the burden of showing that they are not." In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). Therefore, the prima facie case can be rebutted by evidence showing that the prior art products do not necessarily possess the characteristics of the claimed product. In re Best, 562 F.2d at 1255, 195 USPQ at 433. See also Titanium Metals Corp. v. Banner, 778 F.2d 775, 227 USPQ 773 (Fed. Cir. 1985) (Claims were directed to a titanium alloy containing 0.2-0.4% Mo and 0.6-0.9% Ni having corrosion resistance. A Russian article disclosed a titanium alloy containing 0.25% Mo and 0.75% Ni but was silent as to corrosion resistance. The Federal Circuit held that the claim was anticipated because the percentages of Mo and Ni were squarely within the claimed ranges. The court went on to say that it was immaterial what properties the alloys had or who discovered the properties because the composition is the same and thus must necessarily exhibit the properties.).”
Since the compound of Neeb et al. is identical to that of Ex. 6 as in the instant claims, it is presumed that the two compounds necessarily share the same properties and/or functions. As such, the instantly claimed invention is anticipated by and/or prima facie obvious over the disclosure of Neeb et al.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
/MADELINE E BRAUN/Examiner, Art Unit 1624 10/22/2026