DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Claims 1-15 are pending and are examined on their merits.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statement filed on July 26th 2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97 and has been considered in full. A signed copy of references cited from the IDS is included with this Office Action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 11 is indefinite because one of ordinary skill in the art could not reasonably determine the metes and bounds of the claim. The claim recites “A method of treating a disease comprising administering to a patient a therapeutically effective amount of the compound of claim 1.” The term “disease” is overly broad in scope, encompassing everything from metabolic diseases and neurodegenerative diseases to cancers and viral infections, and thus one of ordinary skill in the art could not reasonably determine the entire scope of the patient population described by the claim language.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(a)
Claim 11 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 11 is directed towards “A method of treating a disease comprising administering to a patient a therapeutically effective amount of the compound of claim 1.” The claim encompasses a method of treating any disease using the compounds of claim 1 (identified in the specification as inhibitors of dihydroorotate dehydrogenase). However, the specification fails to demonstrate that the applicant was in possession of the full scope of the invention at the time of filing. In particular, the specification describes the treatment of cancers and the treatment or prevention of viral infections. The relevant disclosure of the mechanistic nature of the compounds is in regards to the DHODH inhibition leading to reduced pyrimidine nucleotide levels and p53 activation:
Without wishing to be bound by theory, compounds as described herein are thought to be potent inhibitors of DHODH, which leads to activity as inhibitors of de novo pyrimidine nucleotide synthesis. Cancer cells are known to have greater susceptibility to nucleotide level modulation, due to their defective cell cycle check points. This allows for potent and selective inhibition of cancer cell growth and promotion of cancer cell death. Further, combining compounds as described herein with therapeutic agents that are able to decrease the level of nucleotides and nucleosides, such as pyrimidine nucleotides and nucleosides, in the cell (for example, by inhibiting uptake or preventing retention within the cell; such as the therapeutic agent nilotinib) are thought to provide an effective and synergistic combination therapy.
[Specification, paragraph [0512]]
Applicant has further cited relevant art regarding the treatment of viral infections with compounds of the described nature (Specification, paragraph [0009]). However, there is no description or even suggestion that the disclosed compounds, or even the disclosed method of activity (DHODH inhibition) would be relevant in the vast array of other conditions potentially described by the umbrella term “diseases.” The term, as written, is far broader than the disclosure, and applicant’s written description is considered inadequate to support the term as filed. See MPEP 2163.03(V).
Applicant will not be considered to have possession of the entire genus of claim 11, but only the treatment of cancers and treatment/prevention of viral infections.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by CAS Registry No. 2469431-94-3 (Entered STN on September 2nd 2020):
.
The compound is anticipatory of claims 1-5.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lain (U.S. Patent No. 10,889,564 issued on January 12th 2021) in view of Brown (Brown, Bioisosteres in Medicinal Chemistry, 2012).
Claims 1-9 are directed towards compounds of formula I:
.
One such compound is
(see claim 9).
Lain teaches the compound,
(Lain, col. 90, claim 37),
which differs from applicant’s compound only in the bioisosteric replacement of a ring -O- with a -CH2-. One of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in performing such a bioisosteric replacement, because it is a well-known ring-equivalent substitution in the field of medicinal chemistry (Brown, pg. 19). Claims 1-9 are thereby prima facie obvious.
Claim 10 is directed towards a pharmaceutical composition comprising the compound of claim 1 and is rendered prima facie obvious by Lain (Lain, col. 88, claim 25), who teaches such a composition.
Claim 11 is directed towards the treatment of a disease via administration of the compound of claim 1, and is rendered prima facie obvious by Lain (Lain, col. 87, claim 22), who teaches the treatment of cancers.
Claim 12 is directed towards the treatment of cancer with the compound of claim 1, and is rendered prima facie obvious by Lain (Lain, col. 87, claim 22), who teaches the treatment of cancers.
Claim 13 is directed towards a combination product comprising the compound of claim 1 and an additional therapeutic agent, and is rendered prima facie obvious by Lain (Lain, col. 88, claim 28), who teaches such a product.
Claim 14 is directed towards a kit comprising the compound of claim 1 and additional agents, and is rendered prima facie obvious by Lain (Lain, col. 88, claim 29), who teaches such a kit.
Claim 15 is directed towards a particular preparation process for the compound of claim 1. Lain teaches a substantially identical preparation process, differing only in the ring O vs ring CH2 in the starting material (Lain, col. 88-89, claim 34). Claim 15 is thereby prima facie obvious.
Nonstatutory Double Patenting
Claims 1-15 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-38 of U.S. Patent No. 10,889,564 in view of Brown (Brown, Bioisosteres in Medicinal Chemistry, 2012). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other for the reasons listed in the above 103 rejection over the claims of U.S. Patent No. 10,889,564 and Brown.
Claims 1-8 and 10-12 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-12 of U.S. Patent No. 11,795,157 in view of Brown (Brown, Bioisosteres in Medicinal Chemistry, 2012). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because U.S. Patent No. 11,795,157 claims the treatment of particular cancers via administration of a subgenus of the compounds described in U.S. Patent No. 10,889,564, of which it is a continuation. Thereby, the rejections over U.S. Patent No. 10,889,564 and Brown analogously apply here.
Conclusion
/A.J.S./Examiner, Art Unit 1629
/JEFFREY S LUNDGREN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1629