DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Status
Claims 1-7 and 10-24 are pending.
Restriction/Election
Applicant’s election with traverse of Group III (claims 14 and 24) in the reply filed 6/30/2026 is acknowledged. Applicant’s species election with traverse of i) maltol (fragrance compound and ii) home care product (consumer product) in the reply filed 6/30/2026 is acknowledged.
The traversal is on the grounds that the instant application maintains unity of invention in view of the prior art. Applicant argues that the prior art does not disclose, teach, suggest, or provide motivation to replace dipropylene glycol with a mixture of 1,3-butylene glycol and triethyl citrate. However, this is not found persuasive as Applicant has not shown that the groups of inventions have a general inventive concept under PCT rule 13.1. Unity of invention only exists when there is a special technical relationship among the claimed inventions involving one or more of the same or corresponding special technical features, meaning those technical features that define a contribution which each of the inventions, considered as a whole, makes over the prior art. As set forth in the restriction requirement mailed 4/30/2026, Applicant’s special technical feature recited in claim 1 is a solvent mixture of 1,3-butylene glycol and triethyl citrate. However, Mitsuhiro et al. (JP2001261521A, published 9/26/2001, cited in IDS filed 7/26/2024) reads on the claims. Mitsuhiro teaches a surfactant-free cosmetic composition that comprises 1,3-butylene glycol and triethyl citrate. Mitsuhiro states that the cosmetic as a whole comprises water, one or more oily components selected from the group including triethyl citrate, and ethanol and/or a polyhydric alcohol selected from the group including 1,3-butylene glycol. Based on these teachings, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to develop a composition wherein the solvent system is triethyl citrate and 1,3-butylene glycol, and the cosmetic composition it is a part of further comprises water. Hence, there is not special technical feature or relationship left over the prior art among the claimed inventions involving one or more of the same or corresponding special technical features, leaving two of more dependent claims without a single general inventive concept.
Claims 1-7, 10-13, and 15-23 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to nonelected inventions, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made with traverse in the reply filed 6/30/2026.
Claims 14 and 24 are under consideration to the extent of the elected fragrance compound, e.g. maltol, and to the extent of the elected consumer product, e.g. home care product.
Claim Objections
Claims 14 and 24 are objected to as being dependent upon a withdrawn base claim, claim 1. Claims 14 and 24 should be written in independent form.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 14 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Semoff et al. (US6071506A, published 6/6/2000) in view of Hooth et al. (Toxicology and carcinogenesis studies of dipropylene glycol in rats and mice, Toxicology, Vol. 204, Issues 2-3, pg. 123-140, published 11/15/2004), Hatakeyama et al. (US20140162932A1, published 6/12/2014), Ebisawa et al. (US5677353A, published 10/14/1997), and Evans et al. (US20090257974A1, published 10/15/2009).
Semoff teaches a gel air freshener and method of preparing the same, wherein the gel composition comprises an aqueous gel, a fragrance, a surfactant, and a co-solvent (abstract). Semoff teaches that the method for making said air freshener comprises steps including “mixing together an initial mixture” wherein said mixture comprises about 0.1-30 wt % dipropylene glycol (claim 1). As taught by Semoff, dipropylene glycol (DPG) is required in the mixture to produce the gel air freshener, and DPG is a required solvent in the composition.
Semoff does not teach the replacement of DPG with other solvents such as a combination of 1,3-butylene glycol and triethyl citrate.
This deficiency is made up for by Hooth, Hatakeyama, Ebisawa, and Evans.
Hooth teaches the toxicological and carcinogenic properties of dipropylene glycol (abstract). Hooth and colleagues investigated the effects of varying levels of DPG exposure via drinking water in rats and mice over the course of 2 weeks, 3 months, or 2 years (abstract). Hooth teaches that, while all rats and mice survived to study completion, prolonged exposure to DPG at 10,000 ppm or greater resulted in increased liver weight, and prolonged exposure to DPG at 40,000 ppm or greater resulted in increased kidney weight (abstract). Liver and kidney lesions were also more common when exposed to DPG (abstract). Over the course of two years, mean body weights of rats exposed to 40,000 ppm or more were less than the control groups (section 3.1.3). There were also increased incidences and severity of chronic nephropathy in male rats exposed to 40,000 ppm. Further, these rats also experienced significantly increased incidences of parathyroid gland hyperplasia and heart mineralization (section 3.1.3). The livers of rats under observation when exposed to DPG also experienced incidences of bile duct hyperplasia, shown to be significant when compared to control (section 3.1.3). In mice, overall body weights were 23% and 14% less for males and females, respectively, when compared to control (section 3.2.3). Further, increased incidences of olfactory epithelial atrophy and thrombosis of the nose were observed in male rats, and olfactory epithelial degeneration was observed in both male and female rats (section 4).
Hatakeyama teaches an aqueous liquid fragrance composition, wherein the composition contains a fragrance, gluconate, an anionic surfactant, a non-ionic surfactant, and water. Hatakeyama continues that, according to need, in addition to these components, other components may be included in the composition (par. [0042]). Hatakeyama teaches that solvents may be included in the composition, naming water-soluble organic solvent as one type of additional element, and oil-soluble organic solvent as another (par. [0043]-[0044]). When discussing water-soluble organic solvent as being included in the composition, Hatakeyama names a variety of potential solvents that could be used, said group including butylene glycol (par. [0043]). These solvents may be used solely or in combination with each other (par. [0043]). When discussing oil-soluble organic solvent as being included in the composition, Hatakeyama names a variety of potential solvents that could be used, said group including triethyl citrate (par. [0044]).
Ebisawa teaches a low-alcohol perfume composition comprising a single or mixed solvent of a lower glycol and/or a lower alcohol having at least 4 carbon atoms in its principal chain, water, and a perfume component (abstract). Ebisawa names 1,3-butylene glycol in particular as being useful to said perfume composition (claim 5). Ebisawa clearly teaches the inclusion of this specific compound for this fragrance composition, as evidenced by the claims, indicating its usefulness in compositions such as that.
Evans teaches a perfume composition comprising perfume ingredients selected from two groups (abstract). Of importance in Evans’ teachings is the inclusion of solvents (par. [0019]). In particular, Evans discloses that “it has also been discovered that the presence of different perfume solvents within the composition may affect activity” and that “embodiments incorporating triethyl citrate are preferred” (par. [0076]). In light of this, Evans clearly establishes preference for triethyl citrate as a solvent for a fragrance composition such as that described.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant application to come to the conclusion of removing DPG from a fragrance composition such as the gel air freshener taught by Semoff, wherein the gel composition comprises an aqueous gel, a fragrance, a surfactant, and a co-solvent, and replacing it with a solvent mixture of 1,3-butylene glycol and triethyl citrate. The teachings of Hooth clearly motivate the removal of DPG from goods such as fragrance compositions, given the health detriments exemplified in mouse and rat models. Applying these teachings to the teachings of Semoff would result in the exclusion of DPG from the composition. Further, the teachings of Hatakeyama suggest the inclusion of both a water-soluble and oil-soluble solvent, each selected from their respective groups in paragraphs [0043] and [0044], which include 1,3-butylene glycol as a water-soluble solvent and triethyl citrate as an oil-soluble solvent. One would be motivated to select 1,3-butylene glycol as the water-soluble solvent in particular from said group as Ebisawa teaches the selection of this compound in particular and applies it to a fragrance composition, as described supra. One would be motivated to select triethyl citrate as the oil-soluble solvent in particular from said group as Evans teaches that triethyl citrate in particular is preferred in embodiments of the fragrance composition.
The teachings of Hooth, Hatakeyama, Ebisawa, and Evans applied to the teachings of Semoff would result in the removal of DPG from a composition and replace it with a solvent mixture of the water-soluble 1,3-butylene glycol and the oil-soluble triethyl citrate.
Therefore, the invention as a whole was prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, as evidenced by the references.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
/MATTHEW RYAN BURKE/Examiner, Art Unit 1619
/DAVID J BLANCHARD/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1619