CTNF 18/833,621 CTNF 100127 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 1, 3-4, 9, 11-12, and 17-19 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guo et al. (US 20220330086 A1, hereinafter Guo) in view of YEO et al. (US 20210321291 A1, hereinafter Yeo) . Regarding claims 1 and 17 Guo discloses: generate, for transmission to a base station, an indication to use for uplink (UL) data compression (UDC) operations; (Paragraph [0117], “ The UE may actively send the first information to the base station…” and paragraph [0118], “The first information is used to indicate whether the UE supports the UDC capability and indicate a maximum quantity of DRBs for which UDC is simultaneously supported. In some embodiments, the first information may alternatively be UDC capability information. The UDC capability information includes information about whether the UE supports the UDC capability and/or a maximum quantity of DRBs that are supported by the UE and for which UDC is simultaneously activated.” Indication in which the UE discloses its UDC capabilities.) process, based on signals received from the base station, a radio resource control (RRC) configuration for UDC parameters to configure UDC data radio bearers (DRBs); ([0166], “The base station may send the UDC activation information to the UE after setting the UDC parameter. In some embodiments, the UDC activation information may be used to indicate, to the UE, specific DRBs for which UDC is activated and/or UDC parameters of the DRBs . The UDC activation information may be RRC signaling .” BS sends UE UDC info so that the UE can process and activates the corresponding UDCs.) Guo does not disclose: of a scaling factor parameter along with the indication associate the scaling factor parameter with configured UDC DRBs and calculating a maximum uplink data rate for the configured UDC DRBs in dependence on the scaling factor parameter; and perform UDC for UL packets in dependence on the calculated maximum uplink data rate. (NOTE: for 17 it indicates max data rate limit which is interpreted by the examiner as interchangeable with the scaling factor) Yeo discloses: of a scaling factor parameter along with the indication (Paragraph [0468], “The configured band combination may be one of those included in the UE capability reported by the terminal to the base station.” And paragraph [0469], “the base station may perform DL and UL scheduling by considering the scaling factor that the terminal reports ” The UE is capable of reporting a scaling factor with the indication (UE capability report).) associate the scaling factor parameter with configured UDC DRBs and calculating a maximum uplink data rate for the configured UDC DRBs in dependence on the scaling factor parameter; (Paragraph [0472], “the terminal may determine whether DL data (PDSCH) reception and UL data (PUSCH) transmission are performed in the n71 band, based on the maximum data rate in the n71 band calculated based on f=0.75.” f is a scaling factor used to calculate the max data rate in which it will be used for UL data transmission PUSCH associated with the DRBs.) and perform UDC for UL packets in dependence on the calculated maximum uplink data rate. (Paragraph [0472], “the terminal may determine whether DL data (PDSCH) reception and UL data (PUSCH) transmission are performed in the n71 band, based on the maximum data rate in the n71 band calculated based on f=0.75.” perform UL transmission in dependence of the max data rate.) Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Guo’s UE capability report and UDC operations with Yeo’s scaling factor for max data rate. One would have been motivated to do this to optimize the throughput estimation and avoid overlading the UE. Regarding claim 9 Guo discloses: process, based on signals received from a user equipment (UE) an indication use for uplink (UL) data compression (UDC) operations; (Paragraph [0150], “After receiving the UDC capability information sent by the UE, the base station may configure a DRB based on a DRB establishment request sent by the UE”) generate, for transmission to the UE a radio resource control (RRC) configuration for UDC parameters; (Paragraph [0152], “the base station may send the DRB configuration information through serving cell handover or radio resource control (radio resource control, RRC ) signaling.”) and perform UDC decompression for UL packets in dependence on the calculated maximum uplink data rate and using the indicated scaling factor parameter as an input for resource allocation and scheduling for the UE. (Paragraph [0093], “The UE may then transmit the compressed data packet 212 and the triplet 213 to the base station.” And paragraph [0094], “the base station may decompress the data packet 212 based on data stored in the buffer 201, to obtain the data packet 211.” The base station performing decompression on the packets, but Guo does not teach ) Guo does not disclose: Scaling factor in the UE indication calculate a maximum uplink data rate for UDC data radio bearers (DRBs) in dependence on the indicated scaling factor parameter; in dependence on the calculated maximum uplink data rate and using the indicated scaling factor parameter as an input for resource allocation and scheduling for the UE. Yeo discloses: Scaling factor in the UE indication (Paragraph [0468], “The configured band combination may be one of those included in the UE capability reported by the terminal to the base station.” And paragraph [0469], “the base station may perform DL and UL scheduling by considering the scaling factor that the terminal reports ” The UE is capable of reporting a scaling factor with the indication (UE capability report).) calculate a maximum uplink data rate for UDC data radio bearers (DRBs) in dependence on the indicated scaling factor parameter; (Paragraph [0484], “the base station processor 2305 may calculate a peak data rate of the terminal , determine TBS within a range not exceeding the peak data rate, and schedule the TBS so as to generate control information .” As disclosed above in [0469] the UE capability report includes the scaling factor. Here the base station is calculating the max data rate of the UE which inherently involves the scaling factor as it is apart of the UE’s capability. This is all for the base station to schedule the UE accurately.) in dependence on the calculated maximum uplink data rate and using the indicated scaling factor parameter as an input for resource allocation and scheduling for the UE. (Paragraph [0468], “The configured band combination may be one of those included in the UE capability reported by the terminal to the base station.” And paragraph [0469], “the base station may perform DL and UL scheduling by considering the scaling factor that the terminal reports ”) Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Guo’s Base station UDC operation and UE capability report with Yeo’s UE capability scaling factor and max data rate calculation. One would have been motivated to do this to optimize the throughput estimation and avoid overlading the UE. Regarding claims 3, 11 and 17 Guo does not disclose: wherein the scaling factor parameter is indicated for scaling factor f (j) in a UE capability report. (NOTE: for 17 it indicates max data rate limit which is interpreted by the examiner as interchangeable with the scaling factor) Yeo discloses: wherein the scaling factor parameter is indicated for scaling factor f (j) in a UE capability report. (Paragraph [0468], “The configured band combination may be one of those included in the UE capability reported by the terminal to the base station.” And paragraph [0469], “the base station may perform DL and UL scheduling by considering the scaling factor that the terminal reports ”) Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Guo’s UE capability report and UDC operations with Yeo’s scaling factor for max data rate. One would have been motivated to do this to optimize the throughput estimation and avoid overlading the UE. Regarding claims 4 and 12 Guo does not discloses: wherein the scaling factor f (j) comprises one value from a set of {x, y, z}. Yeo discloses: wherein the scaling factor f (j) comprises one value from a set of {x, y, z}. (Paragraph [0187], “f.sup.(j) is the scaling factor given by higher layer parameter scalingFactor and can take the values 1, 0.8, 0.75, and 0.4.” set of scaling factor.) Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Guo’s UE capability report and UDC operations with Yeo’s scaling factor for max data rate. One would have been motivated to do this to optimize the throughput estimation and avoid overlading the UE. Regarding claim 19 Guo does not disclose: wherein the maximum data rate limit or the maximum data rate reduction is restricted to apply only to traffic over the UDC DRBs. Yeo discloses: wherein the maximum data rate limit or the maximum data rate reduction is restricted to apply only to traffic over the UDC DRBs. (Paragraph [0472], “ the terminal may determine whether DL data (PDSCH) reception and UL data (PUSCH) transmission are performed in the n71 band , based on the maximum data rate in the n71 band calculated based on f=0.75.” the scaling factor is calculated and limited over the PUSCH that the DRBs are on.) Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Guo’s UE capability report and UDC operations with Yeo’s scaling factor for max data rate. One would have been motivated to do this to optimize the throughput estimation and avoid overlading the UE . Allowable Subject Matter 12-151-08 AIA 07-43 12-51-08 Claim s 2, 5-8, 10,13-16 and 20 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Regarding claims 2 and 10, the prior art in single or in combination fails to teach, “wherein a value relating to the maximum uplink data rate has no restriction when UDC is active and the UE is in a single carrier NR standalone (SA) operating mode, and the value has a restriction when UDC is not active, wherein the value comprises a product of the (i) scaling factor, (ii) a parameter associated with a maximum number of supported layers and (iii) a parameter associated with a maximum supported modulation order.” In combination with other limitation of the claim(s). Regarding claims 5 and 13, the prior art in single or in combination fails to teach, “wherein the scaling factor f (j) comprises one value from a first set of values when UDC is not configured for an associated DRB and the scaling factor f (j) comprises one value from a second set of values when UDC is configured for an associated DRB.” In combination with other limitation of the claim(s). Regarding claims 6 and 14, the prior art in single or in combination fails to teach, “The apparatus of claim 5, wherein the first set of values is {x1, y1, z1} and the second set of values is {x2, y2, z2}.” In combination with other limitation of the claim(s). Regarding claims 7 and 15, the prior art in single or in combination fails to teach, “The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the scaling factor parameter is indicated for new scaling factor f U (j) in a capability report, wherein the maximum uplink data rate for the configured UDC DRBs is calculated using both the new scaling factor f U (j) and scaling factor f (j) .” In combination with other limitation of the claim(s). Regarding claims 8 and 16, the prior art in single or in combination fails to teach, “The apparatus of claim 7, wherein the scaling factor f U (j) comprises one value from a first set of values and the scaling factor f (j) comprises one value from a second set of values, wherein the first set of values is associated with the scaling factor f U (j) independently from the second set of values associated with the scaling factor f (j) ” In combination with other limitation of the claim(s). Regarding claim 20, the prior art in single or in combination fails to teach, “The apparatus of claim 17, wherein the maximum data rate limit or the maximum data rate reduction is restricted to apply only whenever UDC is active on a DRB even with concurrent traffic on DRBs where UDC is not active.” In combination with other limitation of the claim(s). Conclusion 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Guo et al. (US 20230058672 A1) discloses 2 scaling factor set S j and F j relating to maximum rate for UE UL/DL, however, their combine usage for a newly calculated max data rate was not taught . Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to NAM P CAO whose telephone number is (571)270-0614. The examiner can normally be reached M-F 8:30-5. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Jae Y Lee can be reached at 5712703936. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /NAM P. CAO/ Examiner, Art Unit 2479 /JAE Y LEE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2479 Application/Control Number: 18/833,621 Page 2 Art Unit: 2479 Application/Control Number: 18/833,621 Page 3 Art Unit: 2479 Application/Control Number: 18/833,621 Page 4 Art Unit: 2479 Application/Control Number: 18/833,621 Page 5 Art Unit: 2479 Application/Control Number: 18/833,621 Page 6 Art Unit: 2479 Application/Control Number: 18/833,621 Page 7 Art Unit: 2479 Application/Control Number: 18/833,621 Page 8 Art Unit: 2479 Application/Control Number: 18/833,621 Page 9 Art Unit: 2479 Application/Control Number: 18/833,621 Page 10 Art Unit: 2479