DETAILED ACTION
2. This action is in response to the Amendment filed March 9, 2026.
3. Claims 1, 12, and 17 have been amended.
4. Claims 1-5, 7-19, and 21-22 have been examined and are pending with this action.
Response to Arguments
5. Applicant's arguments filed March 9, 2026 with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-5, 7-19, and 21-22, previously rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejection has been withdrawn based on the amendment to claims 1, 12, and 17.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 12-16 and 22, previously rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Baskaran et al. (US 20250133399 A1), herein referenced Baskaran, have been fully considered but are not persuasive.
Applicant argues Baskaran is not prior art. Examiner disagrees. In review of the specification of the Provisional application No. 63/304,229 (filed January 28, 2022), it is clear that the provisional appropriately supports the rejections set forth below. Such support is expressed as {Baskaran ‘229 provisional, [****]} below.
Applicant argues Baskaran does not disclose or suggest “an identifier that indicates a UE hosted application” as recited in independent claim 12 and thus allowable. The examiner disagrees. Baskaran clearly and explicitly teaches in paragraph [0064], “To establish a secure session between an API invoker and the CCF during onboarding, the API invoker either directly, via a UE, or the UE itself implemented the onboarding enrolment procedure 300 to fetch a set of enrollment credentials to authenticate the API invoker and to secure a subsequent onboarding procedure.” {Baskaran ‘229 provisional, [0051]}, emphasis added, and further teaches in paragraph [0065], “Accordingly, as part of the onboarding enrollment procedure 300, the API invoker 116 generates an enrollment request 306 and communicates the enrollment request 306 to the API provider domain 206. The API invoker 116, for instance, can send the enrollment request to a network function (e.g., core network function such as an AEF, an API publishing function, an API management function, etc.) in the API provider domain 206. The enrollment request 306 includes various data including API invoker IDs such as Application Identifiers (A-IDs), Application Function Identifiers (AF-IDs), UE ID, and user consent information attributes for one or more API service(s).” {Baskaran ‘229 provisional, [0052]}, emphasis added.
Clearly, although one would construe such request to inherently comprise such data, Baskaran explicitly teaches so. Furthermore, data/information in it of itself, is not afforded patentable weight because data is not inventive, but merely subjective.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-5, 7-11, 17-19, and 21, previously rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baskaran et al. (US 20250133399 A1) in view of Sabella et al. (US 2022/0086218 A1), herein referenced Sabella, have been fully considered but are not persuasive.
The applicant again argues that independent claims 1 and 17 are allowable because Baskaran does not teach data (“one or more descriptions of the APIs”). The examiner disagrees. Again Baskaran teaches in paragraph [0065], “Accordingly, as part of the onboarding enrollment procedure 300, the API invoker 116 generates an enrollment request 306 and communicates the enrollment request 306 to the API provider domain 206. The API invoker 116, for instance, can send the enrollment request to a network function (e.g., core network function such as an AEF, an API publishing function, an API management function, etc.) in the API provider domain 206. The enrollment request 306 includes various data including API invoker IDs such as Application Identifiers (A-IDs), Application Function Identifiers (AF-IDs), UE ID, and user consent information attributes for one or more API service(s).” {Baskaran ‘229 provisional, [0052]}, emphasis added.
For the reasons above and the rejections set forth below, claims 1-5, 7-19, and 21-22 remain rejected and pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
6. Claims 12-16 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Baskaran et al. (US 20250133399 A1) (Baskaran, Provisional application No. 63/604,229, herein referenced {Baskaran ‘229 provisional, [****]}).
As per claim 12, Baskaran teaches a method for an application function (AF) providing 5G system management functionality to applications hosted on a user equipment (UE), the method comprising:
receiving a request with information associated with the UE, the information associated with the UE comprising an identifier that indicates a UE hosted application (see Baskaran, [0008]: “an enrollment request requesting enrollment for onboarding with a CCF of a wireless network, the enrollment request including a UE identifier for the API invoker, sending, to an authentication function of the wireless network, an authentication/authorization request that includes the UE identifier and a CCF identifier for the CCF of the wireless network”, {Baskaran ‘229 provisional, [0006]}; and [0065], “Accordingly, as part of the onboarding enrollment procedure 300, the API invoker 116 generates an enrollment request 306 and communicates the enrollment request 306 to the API provider domain 206. The API invoker 116, for instance, can send the enrollment request to a network function (e.g., core network function such as an AEF, an API publishing function, an API management function, etc.) in the API provider domain 206. The enrollment request 306 includes various data including API invoker IDs such as Application Identifiers (A-IDs), Application Function Identifiers (AF-IDs), UE ID, and user consent information attributes for one or more API service(s).”, {Baskaran ‘229 provisional, [0052]});
determining, based on pre-provisioned information and the request, that the UE hosted application provides owner consent for accessing a protected resource when an application programming interface (API) is invoked (see Baskaran, Abstract: “The present disclosure relates to methods, apparatuses, and systems that support API access management in wireless systems. For instance, an API invoker (e.g., a user or UE) can be authenticated and authorized to access or register with a common API framework (CAPIF) function to enable real-time user consent driven API invocation authorization and secured user service data exposure by a network.”, {Baskaran ‘229 provisional, [0004]}; [0062]: “The CAPIF-8 reference point 236, which exists between the resource owner 212 and the AEF 214, is used for allowing resource owner consent for accepting, providing, or exposing user related data (e.g., resource owner related data) to a service API 220. The CAPIF-8 reference supports: generating CAPIF keys for the resource owner 212 CAPIF authentication and authorization; registering the resource owner 212 for CAPIF authentication and authorization; and performing user consent collection upon API invocation.”, {Baskaran ‘229 provisional, [0049]}; [0066]: “user consent information attributes for one or more service(s), SUPI, API provider domain ID, and CCF ID, CCF address, and so forth.”, {Baskaran ‘229 provisional, [0053]}; [0105]: “The onboard invoker request 412 message includes an onboard credential obtained during pre-provisioning of the onboard enrollment information (e.g., based on the onboarding enrollment procedure 300), which may include K.sub.CCF ID and/or CCF access token. The onboard invoker request 412 message can also include”, {Baskaran ‘229 provisional, [0074]}; and [0106]: “In at least some implementations, if the CCF 204 determines that the onboarding procedure 400 is related to potential UE service data exposure, then the CCF 204 performs operations with UDM/UDR 304 to check if the UE has given prior consent information related to allowing the API invoker 116 to consume a service API invocation related to the UE.”, {Baskaran ‘229 provisional, [0075]});
determining to register the UE hosted application with a second network application function in a 5G system, such that invocation of the API results in the UE hosted application being triggered to provide owner consent (see Baskaran, Abstract: “The present disclosure relates to methods, apparatuses, and systems that support API access management in wireless systems. For instance, an API invoker (e.g., a user or UE) can be authenticated and authorized to access or register with a common API framework (CAPIF) function to enable real-time user consent driven API invocation authorization and secured user service data exposure by a network.”; [0006]: “By utilizing the described techniques, a UE/API invoker is enabled to securely register with a wireless network to invoke APIs managed and/or exposed by the wireless network. For instance, to maintain security, a UE (e.g., an application/service/client of the UE, the UE itself or an application server related to the application in the UE) is able to initiate an onboarding enrollment with an API provider domain of a wireless network followed by onboarding with a CAPIF core function (CCF) associated with the wireless network… By utilizing the described techniques, a UE/API invoker is enabled to securely register with a wireless network to invoke APIs managed and/or exposed by the wireless network. For instance, to maintain security, a UE (e.g., an application/service/client of the UE, the UE itself or an application server related to the application in the UE) is able to initiate an onboarding enrollment with an API provider domain of a wireless network followed by onboarding with a CAPIF core function (CCF) associated with the wireless network.”, {Baskaran ‘229 provisional, [0005]}; and [0027]: “In some other implementations, the wireless communications system 100 may be a 5G network, such as a NR network. In other implementations, the wireless communications system 100 may be a combination of a 4G network and a 5G network. The wireless communications system 100 may support radio access technologies beyond 5G.”, {Baskaran ‘229 provisional, [0026]}); and
sending a request response, the request response comprising an indication whether the UE hosted application is registered with the second network application function (see Baskaran, [0006]: “… By utilizing the described techniques, a UE/API invoker is enabled to securely register with a wireless network to invoke APIs managed and/or exposed by the wireless network. For instance, to maintain security, a UE (e.g., an application/service/client of the UE, the UE itself or an application server related to the application in the UE) is able to initiate an onboarding enrollment with an API provider domain of a wireless network followed by onboarding with a CAPIF core function (CCF) associated with the wireless network.”; [0008]: “… and sending, to the API invoker, an enrollment response that includes an indication that the API invoker is successfully enrolled for onboarding with the CCF of the wireless network, a key data identifier, and the key data for the CCF of the wireless network.”; [0012]: “… and sending, over the secure connection and to the API invoker, a service invocation response indicating a result of the API invocation action”, {Baskaran ‘229 provisional, [0011]}; and [0139]: “… and receive, over the secure connection and from the application programming interface exposing function, a service invocation response indicating a result of the application programming interface request”, {Baskaran ‘229 provisional, [0102]}).
As per claim 13, which depends on claim 12, Baskaran further teaches wherein the information associated with the UE comprises one or more identifiers of applications hosted on the UE (see Baskaran, [0011]: “the service invocation request including one or more of: UE identifier, an access token, or an API request identifying an API to be invoked,”; and [0065]: “the service invocation request including one or more of: UE identifier, an access token, or an API request identifying an API to be invoked,”).
As per claim 14, which depends on claim 12, Baskaran further teaches wherein the second network application function uses information in a message of the UE hosted application client and pre-provisioned information about the API requiring owner consent to determine a protected resource owner, wherein the information used to determine the protected resource owner comprises one or more identifiers for APIs requiring owner consent for accessing protected resources (see Baskaran, [0062]: “The CAPIF-8 reference point 236, which exists between the resource owner 212 and the AEF 214, is used for allowing resource owner consent for accepting, providing, or exposing user related data (e.g., resource owner related data) to a service API 220. The CAPIF-8 reference supports: generating CAPIF keys for the resource owner 212 CAPIF authentication and authorization; registering the resource owner 212 for CAPIF authentication and authorization; and performing user consent collection upon API invocation.”; and [0090]: “In such examples the UDSF or other network function stores Subscriber aware API Invocation information such as API details, service ID(s), required API(s) information, exposure information details, user consent information, application client/application server identification exposure restriction data were stored and managed by the network, and so forth.”).
As per claim 15, which depends on claim 14, Baskaran further teaches wherein the information used to determine the protected resource owner comprises one or more consent triggering allowed conditions (see Baskaran, [0066]: “Further, based on an A-ID(s) and/or AF-ID(s) and operator local policy for an associated network, the API provider domain 206 may check if the A-ID(s) and/or AF-ID(s) are allowed to consume service APIs and/or perform API invocation from the network.”; and [0091]: “For the access token, the access token may include addition service authorization information or a list that points to a type of service allowed for the API invoker 116.”).
As per claim 16, which depends on claim 14, Baskaran further teaches wherein the information used to determine the protected resource owner comprises one or more contact addresses for targeting owner consent requests (see Baskaran, [0103]: “The CCF 204 receives the onboarding service request 402 and uses the API provider domain ID and/or address to contact a network function in the API provider domain 206 to request authentication and CCF security context for the API invoker onboarding.”).
As per claim 22, which depends on claim 12, Baskaran further teaches wherein the pre-provisioned information comprises one or more identifiers for APIs requiring owner consent for accessing protected resources (see Baskaran, [0062]: “The CAPIF-8 reference point 236, which exists between the resource owner 212 and the AEF 214, is used for allowing resource owner consent for accepting, providing, or exposing user related data (e.g., resource owner related data) to a service API 220. The CAPIF-8 reference supports: generating CAPIF keys for the resource owner 212 CAPIF authentication and authorization; registering the resource owner 212 for CAPIF authentication and authorization; and performing user consent collection upon API invocation.”; and [0090]: “In such examples the UDSF or other network function stores Subscriber aware API Invocation information such as API details, service ID(s), required API(s) information, exposure information details, user consent information, application client/application server identification exposure restriction data were stored and managed by the network, and so forth.”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
7. Claims 1-5, 7-11, 17-19, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baskaran et al. (US 20250133399 A1) and Sabella et al. (US 2022/0086218 A1).
INDEPENDENT:
As per claim 1, Baskaran teaches a method for an application function (AF) of a network, the AF providing 5G system management functionality to applications hosted on a user equipment (UE) (see Baskaran, [0034]: “The core network 106 may support user authentication, access authorization, tracking, connectivity, and other access, routing, or mobility functions. The core network 106 may be an evolved packet core (EPC), or a 5G core (5GC), which may include a control plane entity that manages access and mobility (e.g., a mobility management entity (MME), an access and mobility management functions (AMF)), and a user plane entity that routes packets or interconnects to external networks (e.g., a serving gateway (S-GW), a Packet Data Network (PDN) gateway (P-GW), or a user plane function (UPF)).”), the method comprising:
receiving a request from an application hosted on the UE, wherein the request comprises one or more descriptions of application programming interfaces (APIs) (see Baskaran, [0008]: “an enrollment request requesting enrollment for onboarding with a CCF of a wireless network, the enrollment request including a UE identifier for the API invoker, sending, to an authentication function of the wireless network, an authentication/authorization request that includes the UE identifier and a CCF identifier for the CCF of the wireless network”; and [0065], “Accordingly, as part of the onboarding enrollment procedure 300, the API invoker 116 generates an enrollment request 306 and communicates the enrollment request 306 to the API provider domain 206. The API invoker 116, for instance, can send the enrollment request to a network function (e.g., core network function such as an AEF, an API publishing function, an API management function, etc.) in the API provider domain 206. The enrollment request 306 includes various data including API invoker IDs such as Application Identifiers (A-IDs), Application Function Identifiers (AF-IDs), UE ID, and user consent information attributes for one or more API service(s).”);
determining, based on the request and pre-provisioned information, a set of onboarding conditions, wherein the first network entity manages authorization of a UE as an API invoker, wherein the second network entity exposes the APIs (see Baskaran, [0006]: “and receive, via the secure connection and from the application programming interface framework core function, an onboard application programming interface invoker response that identifies an instance of an application programming interface invoker identifier assigned to the apparatus and application programming interface exposing function access information”; [0034]: “The core network 106 may support user authentication, access authorization, tracking, connectivity, and other access, routing, or mobility functions. The core network 106 may be an evolved packet core (EPC), or a 5G core (5GC), which may include a control plane entity that manages access and mobility (e.g., a mobility management entity (MME), an access and mobility management functions (AMF)), and a user plane entity that routes packets or interconnects to external networks (e.g., a serving gateway (S-GW), a Packet Data Network (PDN) gateway (P-GW), or a user plane function (UPF)). In some implementations, the control plane entity may manage non-access stratum (NAS) functions, such as mobility, authentication, and bearer management for the one or more UEs 104 served by the one or more base stations 102 associated with the core network 106”; [0064]: “To establish a secure session between an API invoker and the CCF during onboarding, the API invoker either directly, via a UE, or the UE itself implemented the onboarding enrolment procedure 300 to fetch a set of enrollment credentials to authenticate the API invoker and to secure a subsequent onboarding procedure.”; [0086]: “and receive, via the secure connection and from the application programming interface framework core function, an onboard application programming interface invoker response that identifies an instance of an application programming interface invoker identifier assigned to the apparatus and application programming interface exposing function access information”; [0105]: “The onboard invoker request 412 message includes an onboard credential obtained during pre-provisioning of the onboard enrollment information (e.g., based on the onboarding enrollment procedure 300), which may include K.sub.CCF ID and/or CCF access token. The onboard invoker request 412 message can also include”; and [0106]: “In at least some implementations, if the CCF 204 determines that the onboarding procedure 400 is related to potential UE service data exposure, then the CCF 204 performs operations with UDM/UDR 304 to check if the UE has given prior consent information related to allowing the API invoker 116 to consume a service API invocation related to the UE.”);
determining to send an onboarding request comprising the set of onboarding conditions to the first network entity in order to enable the application hosted on the UE access to the APIs (see Baskaran, [0007]: “receiving an enrollment response that includes enrollment data including key data associated with the CCF of the wireless network, and storing the enrollment data for use by the apparatus to perform an onboarding procedure for onboarding one or more of the apparatus or an application related to the apparatus with the CCF of the wireless network to enable the apparatus to invoke one or more APIs exposed by the API provider domain.”; [0023]: “the UE itself or an application server related to the application in the UE) is able to initiate an onboarding enrollment with an API provider domain of a wireless network followed by onboarding with a CCF associated with the wireless network.”; and [0035]: “For instance, a UE 104 implements and/or interacts with an API invoker 116 to cause the API invoker 116 to exchange API configuration messages 118 with an API system 120 implemented by the core network 106. For instance, the API invoker 116 and the API system 120 exchange the API configuration messages 118 to configure the API invoker 116 and the API system 120 to enable the API invoker 116 to perform API invocations 122 to invoke APIs 124 exposed and/or managed by the API system 120.”); and
sending a response to the application hosted on the UE, the response comprising:
result of the onboarding request (see Baskaran, [0012]: “and sending, over the secure connection and to the API invoker, a service invocation response indicating a result of the API invocation action”; and [0139]: “and receive, over the secure connection and from the application programming interface exposing function, a service invocation response indicating a result of the application programming interface request”);
information identifying the second network entity exposing the APIs (see Baskaran, [0006]: “The onboarding provides the UE with access credentials for accessing an API exposing function (AEF) of the wireless network for invoking APIs.”; and [0136]: “and receive, via the secure connection and from the application programming interface framework core function, an onboard application programming interface invoker response that identifies an instance of an application programming interface invoker identifier assigned to the apparatus and application programming interface exposing function access information”); and
information enabling the application hosted on the UE to access the APIs (see Baskaran, Abstract: “an API invoker (e.g., a user or UE) can be authenticated and authorized to access or register with a common API framework (CAPIF) function to enable real-time user consent driven API invocation authorization and secured user service data exposure by a network”; [0007]: “… to enable the apparatus to invoke one or more APIs exposed by the API provider domain.”; and [0051]: “he AEF 214 is the provider of the service APIs 220 and is also the service communication entry point of the service APIs 220 to the API invokers 208 and 210. The API exposing function includes one or more of the following capabilities: authenticating the API invoker based on the identity and other information required for authentication of the API invoker provided by the CAPIF core function; validating the authorization provided by the CAPIF core function; and logging the service API invocations at the CAPIF core function”).
Baskaran does not explicitly teach determining a first network entity and a second network entity.
Sabella teaches determining a first network entity and a second network entity (see Sabella, [0222]: “a) provisioning of configuration information to EEC 2115, enabling exchange of application data traffic with the Edge Application Server; b) supporting the functionalities of API invoker 410 and API exposing function as specified in [TS23222];”).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the system of Baskaran in view of Sabella by implementing determining a first network entity and a second network entity. One would be motivated to do so because Baskaran teaches in paragraph [0003], “A wireless communications system may include one or multiple network communication devices, such as base stations, which may be otherwise known as an eNodeB (eNB), a next-generation NodeB (gNB), or other suitable terminology and core network functions. Each network communication device, such as a base station, may support wireless communications for one or multiple user communication devices, which may be otherwise known as user equipment (UE), or other suitable terminology.”, emphasis added.
As per claim 17, Baskaran and Sabella teach an apparatus comprising:
a processor (see Baskaran, [0147]: “The processor 706 may include an intelligent hardware device (e.g., a general-purpose processor, a DSP, a CPU, a microcontroller, an ASIC, an FPGA, a programmable logic device, a discrete gate or transistor logic component, a discrete hardware component, or any combination thereof).”); and
a memory coupled with the processor, the memory storing executable instructions that when executed by the processor cause the processor to effectuate operations (see Baskaran, [0148]: “The memory 708 may include random access memory (RAM) and read-only memory (ROM). The memory 708 may store computer-readable, computer-executable code including instructions that, when executed by the processor 706 cause the device 702 to perform various functions described herein. The code may be stored in a non-transitory computer-readable medium such as system memory or another type of memory.”) to:
receiving a request from an application hosted on a user equipment (UE), wherein the request comprises one or more descriptions of application programming interfaces (APIs) (see Claim 1 rejection above);
determining, based on the request and pre-provisioned information, a first network entity, a second network entity, and a set of onboarding conditions, wherein the first network entity manages authorization of a UE as an API invoker, wherein the second network entity exposes the APIs (see Claim 1 rejection above);
determining to send an onboarding request comprising the set of onboarding conditions to the first network entity in order to enable the application hosted on the UE access to the APIs (see Claim 1 rejection above); and
sending a response to the application hosted on the UE, the response comprising:
result of the onboarding request (see Claim 1 rejection above);
information identifying the second network entity exposing the APIs (see Claim 1 rejection above); and
information enabling the application hosted on the UE to access the APIs (see Claim 1 rejection above).
DEPENDENT:
As per claims 2 and 18, which respectively depend on claims 1 and 17, Baskaran further teaches wherein the first network entity is a common API framework core function (CCF) (see Baskaran, [0006]: “For instance, to maintain security, a UE (e.g., an application/service/client of the UE, the UE itself or an application server related to the application in the UE) is able to initiate an onboarding enrollment with an API provider domain of a wireless network followed by onboarding with a CAPIF core function (CCF) associated with the wireless network.”).
As per claims 3 and 19, which respectively depend on claims 1 and 17, Baskaran further teaches wherein the second network entity is an API exposure function (AEF) (see Baskaran, [0006]: “The onboarding provides the UE with access credentials for accessing an API exposing function (AEF) of the wireless network for invoking APIs.”).
As per claims 4 and 21, which respectively depend on claims 1 and 17, Baskaran further teaches wherein the first network entity and the second network entity are the same (see Baskaran, FIG. 8).
As per claim 5, which depends on claim 1, Baskaran further teaches wherein the AF is a common API framework function (see Baskaran, [0005]: “he present disclosure relates to methods, apparatuses, and systems that support API access management in wireless systems. For instance, an API invoker (e.g., a user or UE) can be authenticated and authorized to access or register with a common API framework (CAPIF) function to enable real-time user consent driven API invocation authorization and secured user service data exposure by a network.”; and [00]: “”).
As per claim 7, which depends on claim 1, Baskaran further teaches wherein the request comprises: an invocation of a described API and information for obtaining API invocation consent (see Baskaran, Abstract: “For instance, an API invoker (e.g., a user or UE) can be authenticated and authorized to access or register with a common API framework (CAPIF) function to enable real-time user consent driven API invocation authorization and secured user service data exposure by a network.”; and [0062]: “The CAPIF-8 reference point 236, which exists between the resource owner 212 and the AEF 214, is used for allowing resource owner consent for accepting, providing, or exposing user related data (e.g., resource owner related data) to a service API 220. The CAPIF-8 reference supports: generating CAPIF keys for the resource owner 212 CAPIF authentication and authorization; registering the resource owner 212 for CAPIF authentication and authorization; and performing user consent collection upon API invocation.”).
As per claim 8, which depends on claim 7, Baskaran further teaches wherein the information for obtaining API invocation consent comprises: information identifying a resource owner (see Baskaran, [0062]: “The CAPIF-8 reference point 236, which exists between the resource owner 212 and the AEF 214, is used for allowing resource owner consent for accepting, providing, or exposing user related data (e.g., resource owner related data) to a service API 220. The CAPIF-8 reference supports: generating CAPIF keys for the resource owner 212 CAPIF authentication and authorization; registering the resource owner 212 for CAPIF authentication and authorization; and performing user consent collection upon API invocation.”).
As per claim 9, which depends on claim 1, Baskaran further teaches wherein the response comprises information enabling the AF to invoke the APIs on behalf of the UE hosted application (see Baskaran, Abstract: “For instance, an API invoker (e.g., a user or UE) can be authenticated and authorized to access or register with a common API framework (CAPIF) function to enable real-time user consent driven API invocation authorization and secured user service data exposure by a network.”).
As per claim 10, which depends on claim 1, Baskaran teaches further comprising determining the first network entity or the second network entity based on a location of the UE (see Baskaran, [0031]: “a location server that implements the location management function (LMF)”; and [0254]: “Features implementing functions may also be physically located at various positions, including being distributed such that portions of functions are implemented at different physical locations.”).
As per claim 11, which depends on claim 1, Baskaran teaches further comprising:
monitoring location of the UE (see Claim 10 rejection above);
based on the location, determining a third network entity to expose the APIs at a second location (see Baskaran, [0031]: “a location server that implements the location management function (LMF)”); and
sending updated information associated with the APIs to the UE hosted application, wherein the updated information comprises information associated with the third network entity (see Baskaran, [0061]: “enabling the API provider to monitor the status of service APIs 220 (e.g. pilot or live status, start or stop status of service API 220); registering API provider domain functions on the CCF; and update of the registration information of API provider domain functions on the CCF.”).
Conclusion
8. For the reasons above, claims 1-5, 7-19, and 21-22 have been rejected and remain pending.
9. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Michael Won/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2443