CTNF 18/833,628 CTNF 89464 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Priority Examiner acknowledges the following data: Parent data 18833628 filed 07/26/2024 is a National Stage entry of PCT/US2023/013190, International Filing Date: 02/16/2023 PCT/US2023/013190 Claims Priority from Provisional Application 63312333, filed 02/21/2022 PCT/US2023/013190 Claims Priority from Provisional Application 63313864, filed 02/25/2022. Information Disclosure statements 06-52 The information disclosure statements (IDS) were submitted and filed on 11/20/2024. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 1-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yerramalli (US 2022/0030543) in view of Ameixieira (US 2018/0013655) . Regarding claim 1 , Yerramalli et al discloses base station (fig. 1 item 102, BS) comprising: a transmitter configured to transmit, to a plurality user equipment (UE) devices, a location information request instructing each UE device to transmit location information of a neighbor device (network component, e.g., serving BS transmits to wireless node group of UEs (plurality user equipment (UE) devices), a position estimate (location information) request of a UE (neighbor device) associated with a specified time, [0141], lines 1-10) ; a receiver configured to receive location information transmitted from a plurality of reporting UE devices of the plurality of UE devices (wireless node group of UEs (plurality of reporting UE devices) transmit positioning estimate (location information) to wireless node corresponds to the BS (base station), [0141], lines 1-10, [0144], lines 1-7) , the location information based at least partially on at least one measurement of a wireless signal transmitted by the neighbor device and measured by each reporting UE device (wireless node group of UEs (plurality of reporting UE devices) determines the positioning estimate of a UE (neighbor device) associated with the specified time of request based on the positioning measurements; thus is seen as wireless node group of UEs (plurality of reporting UE devices) receives positioning measurements wireless signal from a UE (neighbor device) associated with the specified time of requests and the wireless node group of UEs (plurality of reporting UE devices) measures the positioning estimate of a UE (neighbor device), [0141], lines 1-10, [0143], lines 1-7 and [0144], lines 1-8) ; and Yerramalli et al does not specifically disclose concept of processor configured to determine a neighbor device geographical location of the neighbor device based at least partially on the location information. However, Ameixieira specifically teaches concept of processor configured to determine a neighbor device geographical location of the neighbor device based at least partially on the location information (when a new network device arrives as a neighbor and compares its own geographic location with the geographic locations of its neighbors (e.g., via messages broadcast by those neighbor network devices), the SME of the new network device may, for example, determine that one or more of the neighboring network devices are within a certain threshold geographic distance of the new network device, and then use the information shared by those neighboring network devices to set initial values of the physical layer parameter(s) to be used by the SME of the new network device when probing one or more of those neighboring network devices (i.e., a target network device of the new network device), [0160], lines 5-10) . At the time the invention was filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified system of Yerramalli et al with concept of processor configured to determine a neighbor device geographical location of the neighbor device based at least partially on the location information of Ameixieira. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve supporting a network comprising a complex array of both moving and static nodes (e.g., the Internet of moving things)., (Ameixieira, [0002], lines 2-3) Regarding claim 2 , Yerramalli et al discloses base station (fig. 1 item 102, BS) , Yerramalli et al does not specifically disclose concept of wherein the processor is configured to determine the geographical location of the neighbor device by evaluating the location information based on the at least one measurement of a first reporting UE device and evaluating the location information based on the at least one measurement of a second reporting UE device. However, Ameixieira specifically teaches concept of wherein the processor is configured to determine the geographical location of the neighbor device by evaluating the location information based on the at least one measurement of a first reporting UE device and evaluating the location information based on the at least one measurement of a second reporting UE device (when a new network device arrives as a neighbor and compares its own geographic location with the geographic locations of its neighbors (e.g., via messages broadcast by those neighbor network devices), the SME of the new network device may, for example, determine that one or more of the neighboring network devices are within a certain threshold geographic distance of the new network device, and then use the information shared by those neighboring network devices to set initial values of the physical layer parameter(s) to be used by the SME of the new network device when probing one or more of those neighboring network devices (i.e., a target network device of the new network device), [0160], lines 5-10) . At the time the invention was filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified system of Yerramalli et al with concept of wherein the processor is configured to determine the geographical location of the neighbor device by evaluating the location information based on the at least one measurement of a first reporting UE device and evaluating the location information based on the at least one measurement of a second reporting UE device of Ameixieira. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve supporting a network comprising a complex array of both moving and static nodes (e.g., the Internet of moving things)., (Ameixieira, [0002], lines 2-3) Regarding claim 3 , Yerramalli et al discloses base station (fig. 1 item 102, BS) , wherein the location information request comprises a plurality of device identifiers, each device identifier uniquely identifying each UE device of the plurality of UE devices (one or more cells may be supported by a base station 102 in each coverage area 110. A “cell” is a logical communication entity used for communication with a base station (e.g., over some frequency resource, referred to as a carrier frequency, component carrier, carrier, band, or the like), and may be associated with an identifier (e.g., a physical cell identifier (PCI), a virtual cell identifier (VCI)) for distinguishing cells operating via the same or a different carrier frequency, [0041], lines 2-6) . Regarding claim 4 , Yerramalli et al discloses base station (fig. 1 item 102, BS) , wherein the processor is further configured to select the reporting UE device from a plurality of candidate UE devices ( at least one of the plurality of wireless node group of UEs (plurality of reporting UE devices) transmit positioning estimate (location information) to wireless node corresponds to the BS (base station), [0141], lines 1-10, [0144], lines 1-7) . Regarding claim 5 , Yerramalli et al discloses base station (fig. 1 item 102, BS) , Yerramalli et al does not specifically disclose concept of wherein the plurality of candidate UE devices is a cluster within a moving geographical area where each candidate UE device is within direct communication range of each other candidate UE device. However, Ameixieira specifically teaches concept of wherein the plurality of candidate UE devices is a cluster within a moving geographical area where each candidate UE device is within direct communication range of each other candidate UE device (public buses are moving along city routes and/or taxis are performing their private transportation services, the OBU is able to collect large quantities of real-time data from the positioning systems (e.g., GPS, etc.), from accelerometer modules, etc. The OBU may then, for example, communicate such data to the Cloud, where the data may be processed, reported and viewed, for example to support such public or private bus and/or taxi operations, for example supporting efficient remote monitoring and scheduling of buses and taxis, respectively, [0042], lines 1-5) . At the time the invention was filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified system of Yerramalli et al with concept of wherein the plurality of candidate UE devices is a cluster within a moving geographical area where each candidate UE device is within direct communication range of each other candidate UE device of Ameixieira. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve supporting a network comprising a complex array of both moving and static nodes (e.g., the Internet of moving things)., (Ameixieira, [0002], lines 2-3) Regarding claim 6 , Yerramalli et al discloses base station (fig. 1 item 102, BS) , Yerramalli et al does not specifically disclose concept of wherein the processor is further configured to track a geographical location of each candidate UE device based on the location information. However, Ameixieira specifically teaches concept of wherein the processor is further configured to track a geographical location of each candidate UE device based on the location information (when a new network device arrives as a neighbor and compares its own geographic location with the geographic locations of its neighbors (e.g., via messages broadcast by those neighbor network devices), the SME of the new network device may, for example, determine that one or more of the neighboring network devices are within a certain threshold geographic distance of the new network device, and then use the information shared by those neighboring network devices to set initial values of the physical layer parameter(s) to be used by the SME of the new network device when probing one or more of those neighboring network devices (i.e., a target network device of the new network device), [0160], lines 1-6) . At the time the invention was filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified system of Yerramalli et al with concept of wherein the processor is further configured to track a geographical location of each candidate UE device based on the location information of Ameixieira. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve supporting a network comprising a complex array of both moving and static nodes (e.g., the Internet of moving things)., (Ameixieira, [0002], lines 2-3) Regarding claim 7 , Yerramalli et al discloses base station (fig. 1 item 102, BS) , further comprising a memory configured to store stored location information based on the location information received from each reporting UE device, the receiver further configured to receive location information updates from each reporting UE device, the processor further configured to update the stored location information based on the location information updates (non-transitory computer-readable medium containing instructions stored thereon, for causing at least one processor in a wireless node to receive a request for a positioning estimate of a user equipment (UE) associated with a specified time, perform positioning measurements at a plurality of times, determine the positioning estimate associated with the specified time based on the positioning measurements, and transmit a report comprising the determined positioning estimate, [0012], lines 1-5) . Regarding claim 8 , Yerramalli et al discloses base station (fig. 1 item 102, BS) , Yerramalli et al does not specifically disclose concept of wherein the processor is further configured to track a geographical location of each candidate UE device based on location information received only from a cluster head reporting UE device of the plurality of reporting UE devices. However, Ameixieira specifically teaches concept of wherein the processor is further configured to track a geographical location of each candidate UE device based on location information received only from a cluster head reporting UE device of the plurality of reporting UE devices (when a new network device arrives as a neighbor and compares its own geographic location with the geographic locations of its neighbors (e.g., via messages broadcast by those neighbor network devices), the SME of the new network device may, for example, determine that one or more of the neighboring network devices are within a certain threshold geographic distance of the new network device, and then use the information shared by those neighboring network devices to set initial values of the physical layer parameter(s) to be used by the SME of the new network device when probing one or more of those neighboring network devices (i.e., a target network device of the new network device), [0160], lines 1-6) . At the time the invention was filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified system of Yerramalli et al with concept of wherein the processor is further configured to track a geographical location of each candidate UE device based on location information received only from a cluster head reporting UE device of the plurality of reporting UE devices of Ameixieira. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve supporting a network comprising a complex array of both moving and static nodes (e.g., the Internet of moving things)., (Ameixieira, [0002], lines 2-3). Regarding claim 9 , Yerramalli et al discloses base station (fig. 1 item 102, BS) , wherein the processor (processor, [0034], line 3) is further configured to: detect that the cluster head reporting UE device has ceased to move with the cluster (UE 704 receives an NLOS data stream 723 of RF signals transmitted on beam 713 and an LOS data stream 724 of RF signals transmitted on beam 714. Although FIG. 7 illustrates the NLOS data stream 723 and the LOS data stream 724 as single lines (dashed and solid, respectively), as will be appreciated, the NLOS data stream 723 and the LOS data stream 724 may each comprise multiple rays (i.e., a “cluster”) by the time they reach the UE 704 due, for example, to the propagation characteristics of RF signals through multipath channels, [0131], lines 1-5) ; and select another cluster head reporting UE device of the plurality of reporting UE devices in response to detecting the cluster head reporting UE device has ceased to move with the cluster (cluster of RF signals is formed when an electromagnetic wave is reflected off of multiple surfaces of an object, and reflections arrive at the receiver (e.g., UE 704) from roughly the same angle, each travelling a few wavelengths (e.g., centimeters) more or less than others. A “cluster” of received RF signals generally corresponds to a single transmitted RF signal, [0131], lines 5-8) . Regarding claim 10 , Yerramalli et al discloses base station (fig. 1 item 102, BS) , wherein the processor (processor, [0034], line 3) is further configured to select a number of the plurality of UE devices based on a communication traffic-load at the base station ( at least one of the plurality of wireless node group of UEs (plurality of reporting UE devices) transmit positioning estimate (location information) to wireless node corresponds to the BS (base station), [0141], lines 1-10, [0144], lines 1-7) . Regarding claim 11 , Yerramalli et al discloses base station (fig. 1 item 102, BS) , wherein the location information request includes, for each UE device of the plurality of UE devices, at least one of: an update periodicity indicator indicative of the period between location information transmissions (non-transitory computer-readable medium containing instructions stored thereon, for causing at least one processor in a wireless node to receive a request for a positioning estimate of a user equipment (UE) associated with a specified time, perform positioning measurements at a plurality of times, determine the positioning estimate associated with the specified time based on the positioning measurements, and transmit a report comprising the determined positioning estimate, [0012], lines 1-5) ; a link change trigger indicative of a minimum change in a communication link quality change of a communication link between the reporting UE device and the neighbor device to trigger the reporting UE device to transmit the location information (when a receiver is said to beamform in a certain direction, it means the beam gain in that direction is high relative to the beam gain along other directions, or the beam gain in that direction is the highest compared to the beam gain in that direction of all other receive beams available to the receiver. This results in a stronger received signal strength (e.g., reference signal received power (RSRP), reference signal received quality (RSRQ), signal-to-interference-plus-noise ratio (SINR), etc.) of the RF signals received from that direction, [0049], lines 3-8) ; a maximum device indicator indicative of a maximum number of neighbor devices identified in the location information (The WWAN transceivers 310 and 350 may be variously configured for transmitting and encoding signals 318 and 358 (e.g., messages, indications, information, and so on), respectively, and, conversely, for receiving and decoding signals 318 and 358 (e.g., messages, indications, information, pilots, and so on), respectively, in accordance with the designated RAT, [0063], lines 6-9) ; a minimum device indicator indicative of a minimum number of neighbor devices identified in the location information (WLAN transceivers 320 and 360 may be variously configured for transmitting and encoding signals 328 and 368 (e.g., messages, indications, information, and so on), respectively, and, conversely, for receiving and decoding signals 328 and 368 (e.g., messages, indications, information, pilots, and so on), respectively, in accordance with the designated RAT. Specifically, the transceivers 320 and 360 include one or more transmitters 324 and 364, respectively, for transmitting and encoding signals 328 and 368, respectively, and one or more receivers 322 and 362, respectively, for receiving and decoding signals 328 and 368, respectively, [0064], lines 5-10) ; a minimum link quality indicator indicative of a minimum link quality between the reporting UE device and the neighbor device required for the neighbor device to be identified in the location information (when a receiver is said to beamform in a certain direction, it means the beam gain in that direction is high relative to the beam gain along other directions, or the beam gain in that direction is the highest compared to the beam gain in that direction of all other receive beams available to the receiver. This results in a stronger received signal strength (e.g., reference signal received power (RSRP), reference signal received quality (RSRQ), signal-to-interference-plus-noise ratio (SINR), etc.) of the RF signals received from that direction, [0049], lines 3-8) ; a destination identity (ID) reserved for transmission of the location information (A “cell” is a logical communication entity used for communication with a base station (e.g., over some frequency resource, referred to as a carrier frequency, component carrier, carrier, band, or the like), and may be associated with an identifier (e.g., a physical cell identifier (PCI), a virtual cell identifier (VCI)) for distinguishing cells operating via the same or a different carrier frequency, [0041], lines 4-6) : and a discovery pool indicator identifying a discovery resource pool reserved for transmission of location information (base stations 102 may wirelessly communicate with the UEs 104. Each of the base stations 102 may provide communication coverage for a respective geographic coverage area 110. In an aspect, one or more cells may be supported by a base station 102 in each coverage area 110. A “cell” is a logical communication entity used for communication with a base station (e.g., over some frequency resource, referred to as a carrier frequency, component carrier, carrier, band, or the like), and may be associated with an identifier (e.g., a physical cell identifier (PCI), a virtual cell identifier (VCI)) for distinguishing cells operating via the same or a different carrier frequency, 0041], lines 1-6) . Regarding claim 12 , Yerramalli et al discloses base station (fig. 1 item 102, BS) , wherein the processor (processor, [0034], line 3) is further configured to select the minimum link quality indicator at least partially based on a communication traffic- load at the base station (Functions of the UPF include acting as an anchor point for intra-/inter-RAT mobility (when applicable), acting as an external protocol data unit (PDU) session point of interconnect to the data network (not shown), providing packet routing and forwarding, packet inspection, user plane policy rule enforcement (e.g., gating, redirection, traffic steering), lawful interception (user plane collection), traffic usage reporting, quality of service (QoS) handling for the user plane (e.g., UL/DL rate enforcement, [0059], lines 1-5) . Regarding claim 13 , Yerramalli et al discloses base station (fig. 1 item 102, BS) , wherein the processor (processor, [0034], line 3) is further configured to select the maximum link quality indicator at least partially based on a communication traffic- load at the base station (L1 and L2 signaling has been contemplated for use in association with PRS-based reporting. For example, L1 and L2 signaling is currently used in some systems to transport CSI reports (e.g., reporting of Channel Quality Indications (CQIs), [0118], lines 1-3) . Regarding claim 14 , Yerramalli et al discloses base station (fig. 1 item 102, BS) , wherein the location information is received in a neighbor list (NL) message from each reporting UE device, the NL message comprising (wireless node group of UEs (plurality of reporting UE devices) transmit positioning estimate (location information) to wireless node corresponds to the BS (base station), [0141], lines 1-10, [0144], lines 1-7) : a plurality of device identifiers, each device identifier uniquely identifying a neighbor device of the reporting UE device (one or more cells may be supported by a base station 102 in each coverage area 110. A “cell” is a logical communication entity used for communication with a base station (e.g., over some frequency resource, referred to as a carrier frequency, component carrier, carrier, band, or the like), and may be associated with an identifier (e.g., a physical cell identifier (PCI), a virtual cell identifier (VCI)) for distinguishing cells operating via the same or a different carrier frequency, [0041], lines 2-6) ; and a plurality of distance indicators, each distance indicator associated indicative of a distance between one of the plurality of neighbor devices and the reporting UE device (UE 604 (e.g., based in part on the assistance data, if provided) can measure and (optionally) report the OTDOA from individual network nodes and/or RSTDs between reference RF signals received from pairs of network nodes. Using these measurements and the known locations of the measured network nodes (i.e., the base station(s) 602 or antenna(s) that transmitted the reference RF signals that the UE 604 measured), the UE 604 or the location server can determine the distance between the UE 604 and the measured network nodes and thereby calculate the location of the UE 604, [0122], lines 5-10) . Regarding claim 15 , Yerramalli et al discloses base station (fig. 1 item 102, BS) , wherein each NL message further comprises a cell identifier identifying a serving cell of at least one of the plurality of neighbor devices (“cell” is a logical communication entity used for communication with a base station (e.g., over some frequency resource, referred to as a carrier frequency, component carrier, carrier, band, or the like), and may be associated with an identifier (e.g., a physical cell identifier (PCI), a virtual cell identifier (VCI)) for distinguishing cells operating via the same or a different carrier frequency, [0041], lines 3-6) . Regarding claim 16 , Yerramalli et al discloses base station (fig. 1 item 102, BS) , wherein each NL message further comprises a plurality of cell identifiers, each of the plurality of cell identifiers identifying a serving cell of at least one of the plurality of neighbor devices (base stations 102 may include macro cell base stations (high power cellular base stations) and/or small cell base stations (low power cellular base stations). In an aspect, the macro cell base station may include eNBs where the wireless communications system 100 corresponds to an LTE network, or gNBs where the wireless communications system 100 corresponds to a NR network, or a combination of both, and the small cell base stations may include femtocells, picocells, microcells, etc., [0039], lines 3-7) . Regarding claim 17 , Yerramalli et al discloses base station (fig. 1 item 102, BS) , wherein the processor (processor, [0034], line 3) is configured to select the plurality of reporting UE devices at least partially based on a distance measurement capability of each UE device of the plurality of UE devices (UE 604 (e.g., based in part on the assistance data, if provided) can measure and (optionally) report the OTDOA from individual network nodes and/or RSTDs between reference RF signals received from pairs of network nodes. Using these measurements and the known locations of the measured network nodes (i.e., the base station(s) 602 or antenna(s) that transmitted the reference RF signals that the UE 604 measured), the UE 604 or the location server can determine the distance between the UE 604 and the measured network nodes and thereby calculate the location of the UE 604, [0122], lines 5-10) . Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to FRANTZ BATAILLE whose telephone number is (571)270-7286. The examiner can normally be reached Monday-Friday 9:00 AM-5:00 PM. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Akwasi Sarpong can be reached on 571-270-3438. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /FRANTZ BATAILLE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2681 Application/Control Number: 18/833,628 Page 2 Art Unit: 2681 Application/Control Number: 18/833,628 Page 3 Art Unit: 2681 Application/Control Number: 18/833,628 Page 4 Art Unit: 2681 Application/Control Number: 18/833,628 Page 5 Art Unit: 2681 Application/Control Number: 18/833,628 Page 6 Art Unit: 2681 Application/Control Number: 18/833,628 Page 7 Art Unit: 2681 Application/Control Number: 18/833,628 Page 8 Art Unit: 2681 Application/Control Number: 18/833,628 Page 9 Art Unit: 2681 Application/Control Number: 18/833,628 Page 10 Art Unit: 2681 Application/Control Number: 18/833,628 Page 11 Art Unit: 2681 Application/Control Number: 18/833,628 Page 12 Art Unit: 2681 Application/Control Number: 18/833,628 Page 13 Art Unit: 2681 Application/Control Number: 18/833,628 Page 14 Art Unit: 2681 Application/Control Number: 18/833,628 Page 15 Art Unit: 2681 Application/Control Number: 18/833,628 Page 16 Art Unit: 2681 Application/Control Number: 18/833,628 Page 17 Art Unit: 2681 Application/Control Number: 18/833,628 Page 18 Art Unit: 2681 Application/Control Number: 18/833,628 Page 19 Art Unit: 2681