DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the UE" in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: claim 1 refers to “the UE”. UE should be spelled out as to what it means before using an acronym. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 11, 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang, (US Publication No. 2010/0146262), hereinafter “Zhang”, and further in view of Kolekar, (International Publication No. Wo2022/031505), hereinafter “Kolekar”.
Regarding claims 1, 11, 19, Zhang discloses
generate, for transmission to anrequest comprising a list of authentication mechanisms supported by the UE [Zhang, paragraphs 34-45],
wherein the Zhang, paragraphs 34-45]; and
process, based on signaling from the a response to the request [Zhang, paragraphs 34-45],
wherein response comprises an indication of the selected authentication mechanism [Zhang, paragraphs 34-45].
Zhang does not specifically disclose, however Kolekar teaches
edge configuration server (ECS) [Kolekar, Abstract, paragraph 112].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include an edge configuration server used to negotiate for mutual authentication in order to provide security for the system.
It would have been obvious to combine Kolekar with Zhang as both arts relate to a similar concept.
Regarding claims 2, 12, 20, Zhang-Kolekar further discloses
generate, after the reception of the response, a key or a certificate for the selected authentication mechanism [Zhang, paragraph 38, 78].
Regarding claim 3, Zhang-Kolekar further discloses
generate, prior to the reception of the response, a key or a certificate for one or more authentication mechanisms included in the list of authentication mechanisms [Zhang, paragraph 38, 78].
Regarding claims 4, 13, Zhang-Kolekar further discloses
initiate an authentication procedure with the ECS using the selected authentication mechanism [Zhang, paragraphs 34-45, 78].
Regarding claims 5, 14, Zhang-Kolekar further discloses
generate, prior to transmitting the request, credentials corresponding to an authentication mechanism included in the list of authentication mechanism supported by the UE, wherein the credentials are included in the request [Zhang, paragraphs 34-45, 78].
Regarding claims 6, 15, Zhang-Kolekar further discloses
wherein the request is a first message of an authentication procedure between the UE [Zhang, paragraphs 34-45, 78] and the ECS [Kolekar, Abstract, paragraph 112].
Regarding claims 7, 16, Zhang-Kolekar further discloses
wherein the request includes two or more authentication mechanisms comprising at least a first authentication mechanism with corresponding credentials and a second authentication mechanisms without corresponding credentials [Zhang, paragraphs 34-48, 78].
Regarding claims 8, 17, Zhang-Kolekar further discloses
wherein the selected authentication mechanism is the first authentication mechanism and the response further indicates that a negotiation between the UE and the ECS is successful [Zhang, paragraphs 34-48, 78].
Regarding claims 9, 18, Zhang-Kolekar further discloses
wherein the selected authentication mechanism is the second authentication mechanism, wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to: generate credentials for the selected authentication mechanisms based on the response [Zhang, paragraphs 34-48, 78].
Regarding claim 10, Zhang-Kolekar further discloses
wherein the request is configured to indicate that the first authentication procedure is prioritized over the second authentication procedure by the UE [Zhang, paragraphs 34-48, 78].
Conclusion
/William J. Goodchild/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2433